Site areas:
Events, Concerts, PerformancesHighlightsProgramm

Ars Electronica Opening

THU Sept. 7, 2017, 7:30 PM-1:05 AM, POSTCITY
opening_web

Space and sound will transport you to distant spheres, so enjoy the trip as the 2017 Ars Electronica Opening in POSTCITY Linz takes its inimitable course. First of all, amid the breathtaking setting of St. Mary’s Cathedral, festivalgoers’ initial encounter is with L’Enfant, a four-part performance from Taiwan that uses sophisticated technology to deal with the subject of becoming an adult and dispatches a drone-mounted camera to capture the audience reactions to these developments. That followed, the festival opening’s performances and concerts begin at 7:30 PM in POSTCITY.

No less impressive is cellF, Guy Ben-Ary’s neuronal synthesizer that enables musicians to perform with neurons. From New Zealand we have Singularity, skillfully blending data, dance, music and architecture into a spectacular show for this year’s Ars Electronica Opening. On the main stage an interactive sound performance entitled Breaking the Wall, under the direction of Oliver Hödl and Peter Purgathofer, invites attendees to get actively involved with state-of-the-art technology and some cutting-edge artists. L’Etude, a project by Vibert Thio and Duanger Du, compiles a live set from melodies specially created via app by former victims of the “Formosa Fun Coast – Explosion.” Then, while still reeling from these unconventional sounds, the audience will be transported into unprecedented terpsichorean realms by _nybble_ from Paris and Kyoka from the Raster-Noton label. Finally, patten, a Warp Records live act will conclude the night.

7:30 PM / Mariendom
First performance of the Taiwanese dance performance L’Enfant (Derjk Wu)

7:30 PM / POSTCITY
The sound artists Ei Wada (JP), Megumi Takei (JP), Rinichi Washimi (JP) and Keisuke Tanaka (JP) present the Sempookin Quartette (Electric Fan Quartette), an electronic musical instrument of the Electronicos Fantasticos! project.

8 PM / POSTCITY (Upper Level)
Entropy

8 PM / POSTCITY (Train Hall)
cellF

8:30 PM / POSTCITY (Train Hall)
Breaking the Wall

9 PM / POSTCITY (Train Hall)
Étude

9:35 PM / POSTCITY (Train Hall)
_nybble_

10:20 PM / POSTCITY (Train Hall)
Kyoka (JP)

11:20 PM / POSTCITY (Train Hall)
SINØ (PT)

12:05 AM / POSTCITY (Train Hall)
patten, Wrap Records (UK)

L'Enfant-_I-Chun-Chen-He-Lin-Luo_web

L’Enfant

There is always a child living inside our mind. Jean-Jacques Rousseau might have called the child Émile or Sophie. This child has eternally coexisted with us and always gazed back at our heart. How do we define growing up? Or have we never grown older?

cellF_RafaelaPandolfini_web

cellF

cellF is Guy Ben-Ary’s self-portrait but also the world’s first neural synthesizer. cellF’s “brain” is made of a living neural network that grows in a Petri dish and controls analog synthesizers that work in synergy with the neural network in real time.

Sempookin_web

Sempookin Quartette

The Tokyo-based artist and musician Ei Wada started the “Electronicos Fantasticos!“ project, where he revives old domestic electronic devices and turns them into electronic musical instruments, in 2015. Among the various instruments the project has created is the “Sempookin“ (literally, “electric fan harp”).

ETUDE_web

Étude

Through this project the artists aim to bring back a colorful future to young victims of the Formosa Fun Coast explosion through music, art and technology.

Thomas-Wagensommerer_web

Breaking The Wall

Breaking The Wall invites the audience to participate in the interplay of artifacts, artists, audience and technology. The interactive performance focuses on the technological and dramaturgical connection of audience, sound, light and room and triggers questions of digital surveillance and technological authority.

SINGULARITY_CarolBrown_web

Singularity

SINGULARITY blends data, dance, music and architecture in an immersive performance that transports audiences into spaces of awe and delight. Large 3D holographic constructions appear interactively in space. The set-up combines a live-render program with motion-tracking cameras and triangulated projectors illuminating haze particles.

IMFREE_FaegheShahverdi_web

I.M. FREE

I.M. FREE is a program based on the free improvisation, using the non-harmonic music materials for its sound base. Noise produced by various sonic operations through the speakers mixes freely with saxophone sounds, transformed—rough and unleashed!

Entropy_nomad_web

Entropy

ENTROPY is an international, transdisciplinary research project on entropic processes. In the course of a two-year discourse process, artists and scientists have followed the traces of the famous “H-Theorem” of thermodynamic theory in collaborative settings.

_nybble_Quentin-Chevrier_web

_nybble_

_nybble_ is an audiovisual, formal and spatial performance in which the media fluctuate between minimal and organic digital aesthetics. Two poles on the same continuum.

Seitenbereiche:
Events, Concerts, PerformancesHighlightsProgramm

Ars Electronica Opening

DO 7.9.2017, 19:30-1:05, POSTCITY
opening_web

Wenn Raum und Klang dich in andere Welten transferieren – dann nimmt das Ars Electronica Opening 2017 in der POSTCITY Linz unverwechselbar seinen Lauf. Zunächst begegnet in der atemberaubenden Kulisse des Mariendoms den BesucherInnen die vierteilige Performance L’Enfant aus Taiwan, die sich mit raffiniertem technischen Einsatz der Thematik des Erwachsenwerdens widmet und mit einer Drohnenkamera die Reaktionen des Publikums einfängt. Ab 19:30 starten dann die Performances und Konzerte des Festival-Openings in der POSTCITY.

Ebenso beeindruckend ist der neuronale Synthesizer cellF, von Guy Ben-Ary, der Musiker einlädt mit Neuronen zu performen. Singularity aus Neuseeland, vermengt gekonnt Daten, Tanz, und Musik mit Architektur und kreiert aus dieser Mischung eine spektakuläre Show für das diesjährige Ars Electronica Opening. Auf der Mainstage lädt die interaktive Soundperformance Breaking the Wall unter der Leitung von Oliver Hödl und Peter Purgathofer das Publikum zur Beteiligung ein: neueste Technologien treffen auf KünstlerInnen und das Publikum. Das Projekt L‘Etude von Vibert Thio and Duanger Du stellt von ehemaligen Opfern der „Formosa Fun Coast – Explosion“ mittels einer App eigens kreierte Melodien zu einem Liveset zusammen. Nach diesen unkonventionellen Sounds geht es mit dem audiovisuellen Set _nybble_ von Alex Augier und Kyoka vom Raster-Noton Label weiter. Der Liveact patten von Warp Records beschließt mit seiner Show das Ars Electronica Opening Event.

19:30 / Mariendom
Erste Aufführung der taiwanesischen Tanzaufführung L’Enfant (Derjk Wu)

19:30 / POSTCITY
Die Soundkünstler Ei Wada (JP), Megumi Takei (JP), Rinichi Washimi (JP) und Keisuke Tanaka (JP) präsentieren das Sempookin Quartette (Electric Fan Quartette) in der POSTCITY, ein elektronisches Musikinstrument des „Electronicos Fantasticos!“-Projekts.

20:00 / POSTCITY (Obergeschoß)
Entropy

20:00 / POSTCITY (Gleishalle)
cellF

20:30 / POSTCITY (Gleishalle)
Breaking the Wall

21:00 / POSTCITY (Gleishalle)
Étude

21:35 / POSTCITY (Gleishalle)
_nybble_

22:20 / POSTCITY (Gleishalle)
Kyoka (JP)

23:20 / POSTCITY (Gleishalle)
SINØ (PT)

00:05 / POSTCITY (Gleishalle)
patten, Wrap Records (UK)

L'Enfant-_I-Chun-Chen-He-Lin-Luo_web

L’Enfant

Das ewige Kind in uns – Jean-Jacques Rousseau hätte es wahrscheinlich Émile oder Sophie genannt: Dieses Kind existiert schon immer und blickt uns ins Herz. Wie definieren wir das Erwachsenwerden? Oder sind wir nie erwachsen geworden?

cellF_RafaelaPandolfini_web

cellF

cellF ist das Selbstporträt des Künstlers Guy Ben-Ary und gleichzeitig der weltweit erste neuronale Synthesizer. Das “Gehirn” von cellF besteht aus einem lebendigen neuronalen Netzwerk, das in einer Petrischale wächst. Es steuert analoge Synthesizer, die in Synergie und in Echtzeit mit dem neuronalen Netzwerk arbeiten.

Sempookin_web

Sempookin Quartette

Der in Tokio lebende Künstler und Musiker Ei Wada startete das Projekt Electronicos Fantasticos! im Jahr 2015. Er baute aus alten Elektrogeräten Musikinstrumente. Eines der Instrumente, die so entstanden sind, ist die Sempookin, wörtlich die Ventilatoren-Harfe.

ETUDE_web

Étude

Mithilfe des Projektes Étude möchten die KünstlerInnen den jungen Opfern der Farbpulver-Explosion im „Formosa”-Freizeitpark eine bunte Zukunft zurückgeben – und zwar durch Musik, Kunst und Technologie.

Thomas-Wagensommerer_web

Breaking The Wall

Die Kooperation der Performancekünstler null.head (Didi Bruckmayr, Chris Bruckmayr) mit dem Team von Breaking The Wall (Fares Kayali, Oliver Hoedl, Uli Kühn, Thomas Wagensommerer) konzentriert sich auf die technologische und dramaturgische Verbindung von Körper, Klang, Licht und Raum.

SINGULARITY_CarolBrown_web

Singularity

Singularity ist eine zweiteilige Performance, die Daten, Tanz, Musik und Architektur in einer haptisch-digitalen 360-Grad-Umgebung vereint. Drei TänzerInnen, ausgestattet mit Peilsendern, werden zu einem erfahrbaren Interface, das virtuelle und physische Bewegungen in einen architektonischen Raum verwandelt.

IMFREE_FaegheShahverdi_web

I.M. FREE

I.M. FREE besteht aus freien Improvisationen, die unharmonisches musikalisches Material als Grundlage ihrer Klänge verwenden. Geräusche aus verschiedenen klanglichen Experimenten mischen sich durch die Lautsprecher mit Saxophon-Sound.

Entropy_nomad_web

Entropy

ENTROPY ist ein internationales, transdisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt zu entropischen Zerfallsprozessen. Im Laufe des Diskursverfahrens haben sich KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen in kollaborativen Settings auf die Spuren des berühmten „H-Theorems” thermodynamischer Theorie begeben.

_nybble_Quentin-Chevrier_web

_nybble_

_nybble_ ist eine audiovisuelle, formale und räumliche Performance, in der die verwendeten Medien zwischen minimaler und organischer digitaler Ästhetik schwanken – als zwei Pole eines gleichen Kontinuums.