Site areas:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsProgramm

Pacathon

Opening: WED Sept. 6, 2017, 9 PM-10 PM
THU Sept. 7-SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 10:00 AM-8:00 PM
MON Sept. 11, 2017, 10:00 AM-6:00 PM
Ars Electronica Center
pacathon_web

BANDAI NAMCO Holdings Inc. (JP), Hakuhodo Inc. (JP), Ars Electronica Futurelab (AT)

Pacathon is an open innovation lab for discussing future play and future society through prototypes exploring new utilizations of PAC-MAN for people. PAC-MAN is a video game algorithm that was released by BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment Inc. (formerly NAMCO) in 1980.

It became a mega-hit not only in its birthplace Japan but across the world and is loved still today by many people. PAC-MAN attracted not only the traditional game fans but also a new wave audience of young and old alike who were captivated by the game’s simple rules, profound game system, colorful and cute characters design, rhythmical BGM and unique SE and the comical intermission sequences between each level. In many ways, PAC-MAN was the first avatar to create a communication bridge between a coded, virtual world and the people. As the hype grew, approximately 400 different types of merchandise were released one after another and PAC-MAN became a social phenomenon embedded in the human psyche as a symbolic icon representing game culture and the social impact.

And now, if we regard PAC-MAN as a reflection of human social instinct and release it from the game screen into the actual world, what kind of and characteristics will it feature and what will PAC-MAN‘s new role be in the future?

Pacathon is an open innovation process that was born out of a research project: an adventure to explore what a next generation of PAC-MAN could look like. Through the collective minds of the BANDAI NAMCO group, Ars Electronica and Hakuhodo, these three collaborators have been carrying out research and workshops since May 2017 to understand the essence of future playing and to unearth the social value of PAC-MAN in order to prototype PAC-MAN’s future. This project aims to explore the potential of innovative gamification with the Ars Electronica Festival participants through Pacathon.

Credits

Text: Hideaki Ogawa (Ars Electronica Futurelab), Rena Tanaka (Hakuhodo Inc.)

PAC-MANTM&©BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment Inc.

Seitenbereiche:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsProgramm

Pacathon

Eröffnung: MI 6.9.2017, 21:00-22:00
DO 7.9.-SO 10.9.2017, 10:00-20:00
MO 11.9.2017, 10:00-18:00
Ars Electronica Center
pacathon_web

BANDAI NAMCO Holdings Inc. (JP), Hakuhodo Inc. (JP), Ars Electronica Futurelab (AT)

Das Open-Innovation-Lab Pacathon erforscht die Zukunft des Spielens und der Gesellschaft anhand von Prototypen, die neue Nutzungsformen für Pac-Man testen. PAC-MAN ist ein Videospielalgorithmus, der von Bandai Namco Entertainment Inc. (früher: Namco) 1980 veröffentlicht wurde.

Das Spiel wurde nicht nur in seinem Geburtsland Japan, sondern auch international ein Megahit und hat noch heute seine AnhängerInnen. PAC-MAN zog nicht nur traditionelle Game-Fans an, sondern auch eine ganz neue Publikumsschicht aus Jung und Alt, die fasziniert war von den einfachen Regeln des Spiels, dem ausgefeilten Game-System, den bunten, niedlichen Charakteren, der rhythmischen Hintergrundmusik, den einzigartigen Standard Versionen und den komischen Übergangssequenzen zwischen den einzelnen Levels. In vielerlei Hinsicht war PAC-MAN der erste Avatar, der eine Kommunikationsbrücke zwischen einer virtuellen Welt aus Codes und den Menschen herstellte. Im Zuge des Hypes rund um das Spiel kamen ungefähr 400 verschiedene Typen von Merchandising-Produkten auf den Markt, und PAC-MAN wurde zu einem in der menschlichen Psyche verankerten gesellschaftlichen Phänomen – ein symbolisches Icon, das für die Game-Kultur und ihre gesellschaftliche Wirkung stand.

Wollten wir heute PAC-MAN als Widerspiegelung menschlicher sozialer Instinkte betrachten und es aus dem Game-Screen befreien und in die tatsächliche Welt holen – welche Merkmale müsste es aufweisen? Welche neue Rolle könnte PAC-MAN in der Zukunft spielen?

Pacathon ist ein Open-Innovation-Prozess, der aus einem Forschungsprojekt entstand: ein Abenteuer, das herausfinden will, wie die neue Generation von PAC-MAN ausschauen könnte. Die Bandai Namco Group, Ars Electronica und Hakuhodo haben seit Mai 2017 Forschungen und Workshops durchgeführt, um zu verstehen, wie wir in Zukunft spielen werden und wie wir die sozialen Werte von PAC-MAN bei der Entwicklung eines PAC-MAN der Zukunft nutzen könnten. Bei diesem Pacathon wollen wir gemeinsam mit BesucherInnen des Ars Electronica Festival das Potenzial innovativer Gamification explorieren.

Credits

Text: Hideaki Ogawa (Ars Electronica Futurelab), Rena Tanaka (Hakuhodo Inc.)

PAC-MANTM&©BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment Inc.