Site areas:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlights

POINT ZERO—Human.0, Machine.0, Data.0

THU Sept. 7-SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 10:00 AM-7:30 PM
MON Sept. 11, 2017, 10:00 AM-6:00 PM
POSTCITY
Bodyscape
Credit: Kyle Smithers

The art projects assembled in the spacious confines of the venue’s lower levels are dedicated to the question of essences—of being human, of the machine, and what it means to be born out of code. Set in a spectacular bomb shelter and spaces housing this building’s mechanical infrastructure, this exhibition takes full advantage of the unique atmosphere of a former postal service logistics facility.

Asemic-Languages_Kikuyama_01_web

Asemic Languages

Characters are a means of visual communication and recording a language. Civilizations throughout the world have created various characters that convey their culture and history. This project focuses purely on the form of the characters rather than their meaning.

AI-Messianic-Window_Theresa-Reimann-Dubbers_1_web

A(.I.) Messianic Window

A(.I.) Messianic Window is a project addressing AI’s oversimplification of complex human concepts. The stained-glass window depicts an artificial-intelligence interpretation of the term Messiah. The context of A(.I.) Messianic Window is the current trend of applying humanistic, cultural and non-universally defined concepts to artificial intelligence.

ModularRhythmMachine_web

Modular Rhythm Machine

The importance of sound and rhythm is manifested in events such as military marches, protests, manifestations of celebration or spiritual rituals. Interested in the relationship between power and amplification or multiplication of sound, this machine was designed and built as a vehicle to explore and discover such subjects.

Ad-lib_web

Ad lib.

A medical machine for pulmonary ventilation plays a musical chord on a few organ pipes, a fragment of music (in reference to Johannes Brahms’ German Requiem) frozen to the constant rhythm of the automatic breath. The action of this artificial organ raises ethical questions about the will and responsibility involved in this mechanical requiem, a metaphor for a limit that people delegate to technology.

selectedworks_TobiasGremmler_web

Selected Works 2016–2017

The project unifies Tobias Gremmler’s most recent video works. The comprehensive topic concerns the digital virtualization of the human, culture and mind.

our_first_audible_profitable_economy_exhibtion_MichaelJohannesMuik_web

our audible/profitable economy/exhibition

In our audible/profitable economy/exhibition financial microtransactions are transformed into extra tonal sound structures. The exhibition consists of several coin-operated machines, each dedicated to a specific sonic event.

Until-i-die_Miha-Fras_2_web

Until I Die

The large-scale project Until I Die is a hybrid installation that uses the artist’s blood, extracted and accumulated over a long period of time. The blood is used to generate electricity for a small sound synthesizer.

Sunspring_4_web

Sunspring

In the wake of Google’s AI Go victory, filmmaker Oscar Sharp turned to his technologist collaborator Ross Goodwin to build a machine that could write screenplays. They created “Jetson” who later renamed himself “Benjamin”, and fuelled him with hundreds of sci-fi TV and movie scripts.

red

Red

The center elements of the work are a red glass crystal and a flexible Fresnel lens. The project includes many reworked electronic devices – a CD-ROM, an old scanner, reused electric motors. Multiple moving elements provide a wide variability for rather primitive optical elements.

singularity_Solveig-Settemsdal_web

Singularity

A technological singularity: the point where artificial intelligence surpasses that of humans and continues to accelerate. A gravitational singularity: a theoretical point in space-time of infinite density. The emergence of a thought is imagined here in parallel to extreme gravitational phenomena.

Hybrid-Sensorium_SaintMachine_4_web

Hybrid Sensorium

Hybrid Sensorium explores the way we sense our body within physical space and the sensory distortions caused both by mediating technology and direct contact. The artwork is placed in immediate physical contact with the visitor, both thus becoming vulnerable to emotional contamination.

Inner-Telescope_Thomas-Pesquet_2_web

Inner Telescope

Inner Telescope is centered on a visionary artwork conceived by Eduardo Kac and realized in space in collaboration with the French astronaut Thomas Pesquet.

chains_Tobias-Wootton_Jonas-Zilius_web

chains

Chains is an interactive installation dealing with the bitcoin cryptocurrency. Based on experiments with automatic trading systems, the artists developed a system to visualize and thereby study the principle of block chains.

Bodyscape_KyleSmithers_web

Bodyscape / Synapse

Synapse and Bodyscape are both examples of fashion items which integrate the latest digital fabrication techniques with robotic and sensor technologies in order to explore how our wearables can become an interface with the world around us.

Data-Stratification_JoanneThies_web

Data Stratification

Data Stratification evolved from ideas of the tools and technologies that colonizers use to inhabit and disrupt the colonized in Australia, and to fragment these people and their culture. The artist sees text as one of these colonizing technologies.

Wind-of-Boston-Data-Paintings_RefikAnadol_web

Wind of Linz: Data Paintings

Wind of Linz: Data Paintings is a site-specific work commissioned by Ars Electronica that turns the invisible patterns of wind in and around the city of Linz into a series of poetic data paintings within a 6ʹ x 12ʺ digital canvas.

All-up-in-my-grill_TobySmith_2_web

All Up In My Grill

As the beat drops and the stage lights strobe, pop stars dripping with bling flash their jeweled gold teeth. A world away, in a hole in the ground in the wild-west mining town of Ilakaka, Madagascar, another ensemble of bodies move in rhythm, to dig dirt by hand out of the bottom of a precious gem mine.

wachstropf_martin-hieslmair_web

Wachstropf

Domas Schwarz’s installation Wachstropf showcases the beauty of natural processes and the transience of the environmental states that we have naturally grown accustomed to, and constitutes a metaphor for the works created in this world by nature and humankind.

Field_MarleneReischl_2_web

Field

Field is a light installation combining fluorescent tubes and Tesla coils. It utilizes the coils’ high-voltage fields to illuminate surrounding tubes without the use of physical power connections.

AllofUs_RobertBauernhansl_web

All of Us

All of Us explores the aesthetics of scars to highlight their visual aspects and exhibit something that is usually not on display. Apart from the visible wound, scars are also constant reminders of injuries and events.

Sculpture-of-Time_Akinori-Goto_web

Sculpture of Time

Sculpture of Time is several works developed from the toki- series. Their creation started with the question of what it means to “move.” These works realize time, something that cannot be seen, by connecting two-dimensional movement to the third dimension through 3D printing.

Reading-Plan_Haochiang-Chien_2_web

Reading Plan

Reading Plan is an interactive artwork with 23 automatic page-turning machines. When audiences enter the exhibition room, the machines start to turn the pages automatically and read their contents in the voice of elementary school students. The machines are a metaphor for a Taiwanese classroom.

Regenerative Reliquary

Regenerative Reliquary

Leveraging the intelligence of human stem cells, Amy Karle created Regenerative Reliquary a bioprinted scaffold in the shape of a human hand 3D-printed in a biodegradable PEGDA-hydrogel that disintegrates over time.

pool_of_fingerprints_YuichiroTamura,-Courtesy-1_web

Pool of Fingerprints

Pool of Fingerprints consists of a large display surface and a fingerprint scanner. The display surface is populated with fingerprints swimming like a school of fish. The visitor can release his or her own fingerprint and watch it swim with others.

Nyloid_Gridspace_web

Nyloïd

Nyloïd is an impressive sound sculpture, a huge tripod consisting of three six-meter-long nylon limbs animated by sophisticated mechanical and sound devices. Sensual, animal and threatening, this mobile draws its dramatic power from the reactivity of its plastic and sound material to diverse mechanical constraints.

MoRFES_02_Maria-Yablonina_2_web

MoRFES_02: Robot Ecologies for Construction

MoRFES_02 (Mobile Robotic Fabrication Eco-System 02) is an iteration of a series of experiments and demonstrators conducted by Maria Yablonina as part of her ongoing research on collaborative mobile robots for architectural fabrication.

Fidgety_GayBird_3_web

Fidgety (In Between Up & Down)

The adjective “fidgety” describes a nervous and jumpy feeling. Normally people see this as a bad feeling. However, the artist treats it as a musical idea.

Seitenbereiche:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlights

POINT ZERO—Human.0, Machine.0, Data.0

DO 7.9.-SO 10.9.2017, 10:00-19:30
MO 11.9.2017, 10:00-18:00
POSTCITY
Bodyscape
Credit: Kyle Smithers

Die künstlerischen Projekte, die in den weitläufigen Ausstellungsflächen in den Untergeschossen versammelt sind, beschäftigen sich alle mit der Frage des Seins – was macht einen Menschen, eine Maschine aus? Was bedeutet es, wenn etwas aus Code entstanden ist? Diese Ausstellung im spektakulären Luftschutzkeller und in den Räumen, die die mechanische Infrastruktur des früheren Postsortierzentrums beherbergen, nutzt die einzigartige Atmosphäre des Gebäudes.

Asemic-Languages_Kikuyama_01_web

Asemic Languages

Schrift ist ein Mittel der visuellen Kommunikation und dient zur Aufzeichnung der Sprache. Zivilisationen auf der ganzen Welt haben verschiedenen Schriftzeichen und Buchstaben entwickelt, die ihre Kultur und Geschichte darstellen. “Asemic Writing” bezeichnet Schreiben ohne wörtliche Bedeutung, Buchstaben ohne Sinn.

AI-Messianic-Window_Theresa-Reimann-Dubbers_1_web

A(.I.) Messianic Window

A(.I.) Messianic Window beschäftigt sich mit der groben Vereinfachung von komplexen menschlichen Konzepten durch künstliche Intelligenz (AI). Das Glasfenster zeigt eine AI-Interpretation des Begriffs Messias. Damit hinterfragt die Installation den aktuellen Trend, humanistische, kulturelle, nicht allgemeingültige Konzepte auf künstliche Intelligenz anzuwenden.

ModularRhythmMachine_web

Modular Rhythm Machine

Die Bedeutung von Klang und Rhythmus zeigt sich in Militärmärschen, Protesten, feierlichen Kundgebungen oder spirituellen Ritualen. Diese wechselseitige Beziehung zwischen Macht und Verstärkung beziehungsweise Multiplikation von Klang und Rhythmus war ausschlaggebend für die Entwicklung der Modular Rhythm Machine, die diese Themen entdeckt und erforscht.

Ad-lib_web

Ad lib.

Ein medizinisches Beatmungsgerät spielt einen Akkord auf Orgelpfeifen wie erstarrt, im konstanten Rhythmus der automatischen Atmung. Die Tätigkeit dieses künstlichen Organs wirft ethische Fragen auf: Sie thematisiert den freien Willen und die Verantwortung, die Teil dieses mechanischen Requiems sind; und sie ist auch eine Metapher für die Kontrolle, die Menschen der Technologie übertragen.

selectedworks_TobiasGremmler_web

Selected Works 2016–2017

Das Projekt fasst die neuesten Videoarbeiten von Thomas Gremmler zusammen. Im Fokus steht die digitale Virtualisierung von Mensch, Kultur und Geist.

our_first_audible_profitable_economy_exhibtion_MichaelJohannesMuik_web

our audible/profitable economy/exhibition

In our audible/profitable economy/exhibition werden finanzielle Mikrotransaktion in extratonale Klangstrukturen transformiert. Die Ausstellung besteht aus mehreren Maschinen, die jeweils durch Münzeinwurf aktiviert werden. Jeder dieser Münzautomaten widmet sich einem eindeutigen klanglichen Ereignis.

Until-i-die_Miha-Fras_2_web

Until I Die

Das großangelegte Projekt Until I die ist eine hybride Installation, die mit dem Blut des Künstlers arbeitet. Das Blut wurde über einen langen Zeitraum hinweg abgenommen und gesammelt. Das Blut generiert Strom für einen kleinen Klang-Synthesizer.

Sunspring_4_web

Sunspring

Nach dem Sieg von Googles AI beim Go-Spiel wandte sich der Filmemacher Oscar Sharp an seinen Technologen-Mitarbeiter Ross Goodwin: Er sollte eine Maschine bauen, die Drehbücher schreiben kann. Sie schufen „Jetson“, der sich später auf „Benjamin“ umtaufte, und füllten ihn mit Hunderten von Science-Fiction-Drehbüchern für Film und Fernsehen.

red

Red

Die zentralen Elemente dieser Arbeit sind ein Kristall aus rotem Glas und eine flexible Fresnel-Linse. Das Projekt umfasst viele umgebaute elektronische Geräte – eine CD-ROM, einen alten Scanner und wiederverwertete Elektromotoren. Dank zahlreicher beweglicher Elemente erreichen die eher primitiven optischen Elementen eine große Variabilität.

singularity_Solveig-Settemsdal_web

Singularity

Eine technologische Singularität beschreibt den Punkt, an dem die künstliche Intelligenz die des Menschen übertrifft und weiter beschleunigt; eine Gravitations-Singularität einen theoretischer Punkt in der Raumzeit der unendlichen Dichte. Die Arbeit imaginiert die Entstehung eines Gedankens parallel zu extremen Erscheinungen von Gravitation.

Hybrid-Sensorium_SaintMachine_4_web

Hybrid Sensorium

Hybrid Sensorium erforscht, wie wir unseren Körper innerhalb eines physischen Raumes wahrnehmen, der durch technologische und physische Störungen sensorisch verzerrt wird. Die Installation zielt auf den unmittelbaren körperlichen Kontakt mit den BesucherInnen ab, die dadurch emotional angreifbar werden.

Inner-Telescope_Thomas-Pesquet_2_web

Inner Telescope

Inner Telescope steht im Mittelpunkt eines visionären Kunstwerkes, das von Eduardo Kac konzipiert und mithilfe des französischen Astronauten Thomas Pesquet im Weltraum umgesetzt wurde.

chains_Tobias-Wootton_Jonas-Zilius_web

chains

Chains ist eine interaktive Installation, die sich mit der Kryptowährung Bitcoin auseinandersetzt. Basierend auf Experimenten mit automatischen Handelssystemen entwickelten die Künstler ein System, das das Prinzip von Blockchains untersucht und visualisiert.

Bodyscape_KyleSmithers_web

Bodyscape / Synapse

Synapse und Bodyscape sind Modeartikel, die die neuesten digitalen Fertigungstechniken mit Roboter- und Sensortechnologien kombinieren. Behnaz Farahi erforscht Wearables als Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und der ihn umgebenden Welt.

Data-Stratification_JoanneThies_web

Data Stratification

Data Stratification basiert auf der Vorstellung von Werkzeugen und Technologien, die KolonisatorInnen verwenden, um die Kolonisierten in Australien zu vertreiben und die Menschen und ihre Kultur zu zerstören. Der Künstler Robert Andrew begreift Text als eine dieser kolonisierenden Technologien.

Wind-of-Boston-Data-Paintings_RefikAnadol_web

Wind of Linz: Data Paintings

Wind of Linz: Data Paintings ist eine ortsspezifische, von Ars Electronica beauftragte Arbeit, die unsichtbare Wind-Muster in und rund um die Stadt Linz auf einer 6 mal 12 Zoll großen digitalen Leinwand in eine Serie poetischer Daten-Gemälde verwandelt.

All-up-in-my-grill_TobySmith_2_web

All Up In My Grill

Während der Rhythmus langsamer wird und die Beleuchtung die Bühne abtastet, lassen die schmuckbehängte Popstars mit ihren choreografierten Tanzbewegungen ihre vergoldeten Zähne. In einer anderen Welt – in einem Loch in der Erde in der Wildwest-Bergbaustadt Ilaka in Madagaskar – bewegt sich eine andere Gruppe von Körpern im gemeinsamen Rhythmus, um mit der bloßen Hand Erde aus einer Edelsteinmine zu graben.

wachstropf_martin-hieslmair_web

Wachstropf

Die Installation Wachstropf von Domas Schwarz weist auf die Schönheit natürlicher Vorgänge und die Vergänglichkeit unserer gewohnten Umweltzustände hin und stellt eine Metapher für die Werke der Welt dar – von der Natur und von Menschenhand erzeugt.

Field_MarleneReischl_2_web

Field

Field ist eine Lichtinstallation, die Leuchtstoffröhren und Teslaspulen kombiniert. Die Hochspannungsfelder der Spulen bringen die Röhren zum Leuchten, ganz ohne die Verwendung von Stromanschlüssen.

AllofUs_RobertBauernhansl_web

All of Us

Wir alle haben Narben. Keine gleicht der anderen und mit jeder ist eine größere oder kleinere Geschichte verbunden. Der Körper der BesucherInnen wird von einem Kamerasystem erfasst; berührt man sich mit der Hand am eigenen Körper, werden Makrovideos von Narben ebendieser Körperstelle abgespielt.

Sculpture-of-Time_Akinori-Goto_web

Sculpture of Time

„Was ist Bewegung, was bedeutet es, sich zu bewegen?” fragte sich Akinori Goto zu Beginn seiner Arbeit. Sculpture of Time visualisiert Zeit und verweist so auf ihre Beziehung zu Bewegung. Die Werke untersuchen die Schönheit, Charakteristik und Hintergründe der Entstehung von Zeit, indem sie über die Dimensionen hinausgehen.

Reading-Plan_Haochiang-Chien_2_web

Reading Plan

Reading Plan ist eine interaktive Arbeit mit 23 Maschinen, die automatisch Seiten umblättern. Betritt man den Ausstellungsraum, beginnen die Maschinen die Seiten zu wenden und zu lesen. Die Maschinen lesen mit Kinderstimmen und dienen als Metapher für Klassenräume in Taiwan

Regenerative Reliquary

Regenerative Reliquary

Amy Karle machte sich die Intelligenz menschlicher Stammzellen zunutze. Sie entwickelte Regenerative Reliquary, ein in Bioprint-Technik hergestelltes Gerüst in Form einer menschlichen 3-D-gedruckten Hand in einem biologisch abbaubaren PEGDA-Hydrogel, das sich im Laufe der Zeit zersetzt.

pool_of_fingerprints_YuichiroTamura,-Courtesy-1_web

Pool of Fingerprints

Pool of Fingerprints besteht aus einer großen Bildschirmfläche und einem Fingerabdruckscanner. Die Oberfläche ist dicht gefüllt von Fingerabdrücken, die wie ein Fischschwarm über den Bildschirm schwimmen.

Nyloid_Gridspace_web

Nyloïd

Nyloïd ist eine beeindruckende Klangskulptur in Form eines riesigen Stativs. Die drei sechs Meter langen Nylonbeine werden von hochentwickelten mechanischen und klanglichen Geräten zum Leben erweckt. Sinnlich, animalisch und bedrohlich – dieses Mobile zeigt seine dramatische Kraft, indem sein plastisches und klangliches Material auf verschiedene mechanische Zwänge reagiert.

MoRFES_02_Maria-Yablonina_2_web

MoRFES_02: Robot Ecologies for Construction

In ihrer aktuellen Forschungstätigkeit untersucht Maria Yablonina, wie kollaborative mobile Roboter in der architektonischen Fertigung eingesetzt werden können. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die Produktion von dehnbaren Faserstrukturen, die durch den Einsatz von verschiedenen mobilen Robotern auf der Baustelle ermöglicht wird.

Fidgety_GayBird_3_web

Fidgety (In Between Up & Down)

Das Adjektiv “fidgety” beschreibt ein nervöses, aufgeregtes und unruhiges Gefühl, das Menschen oft als unangenehm empfinden. Der Künstler jedoch verwendet diese Emotion als Ausgangspunkt für eine musikalische Idee.