Site areas:

Conferences, Lectures, Workshops

The subject of AI—and especially the perspective evoked by this year’s subtitle “The Other I”—deter- mines the core of the program. Symposia staged throughout the festival’s run will shed light on the social and cultural aspects of the development of and discussion about artificial intelligence. The lineup of symposia and lectures is being enhanced with workshops and tutorial sessions that will deal primarily with the artistic possibilities of machine learning. The opening symposium on Thursday asks How Cultures Shape Technology. The cultural and social aspects of artificial intelligence R&D will dominate these proceedings on Friday; technical aspects occupy the spotlight on Sunday.

Symposium

AI—The other I Symposium

The “AI—The other I” symposium considers theoretical implications of the increasing integration of neural networks and machine learning in advanced as well as everyday technology. Art and science are heavily influenced by the impact of new exploration methods that these recent technologies provide.

conf_opening_tom-mesic_web

Opening Panel „How Cultures Shape Technology“

We usually focus our considerations on the impact that the introduction of new technologies makes on culture and society. But technology has always been a central part of culture, and not only in its applications. How different cultures form technological developments and applications is the question at this opening symposium.

Future in a Nutshell

Future in a Nutshell – Future for All

“Future in a Nutshell – Future for All” stands for an intensive examination of the most important technological developments that are imminent over the course of the coming decade. Internationally renowned experts from various fields present highly relevant topics in concise keynotes. They highlight the most important technical research areas that are about to change our lives, our economy and our society far beyond the reach of past technological trends.

gluon

GLUON SESSION

The Gluon Foundation fosters collaboration among artists and scientists. At Ars Electronica, they will present a new model for cooperation among artists, scientists and art collectors. This entails placing scientists-in-residence as staff members in the ateliers of top-name artists.

Prix-Forum I

Prix Forum I – Computer Animation/Film/VFX

One of the absolute highlights of every Ars Electronica is the opportunity to meet Prix Ars Electronica prizewinners. Chaired by Prix Ars Electronica jurors, these discussions provide fascinating insights into the individual categories.

Prix Forum 2

Prix Forum II – Digital Musics & Sound Art

One of the absolute highlights of every Ars Electronica is the opportunity to meet Prix Ars Electronica prizewinners. Chaired by Prix Ars Electronica jurors, these discussions provide fascinating insights into the individual categories.

Prix Forum

Prix Forum III – Hybrid Art

One of the absolute highlights of every Ars Electronica is the opportunity to meet Prix Ars Electronica prizewinners. Chaired by Prix Ars Electronica jurors, these discussions provide fascinating insights into the individual categories.

Future Innovators Summit 2017

Future Innovators Summit

Future Innovators from different cultures and backgrounds and from different fields such as artists, designers, scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs, social activists and philosophers will gather in September in Linz to explore new ways of collective brainstorming and creative prototyping on the crucial questions of the future.

Expanded Animation

Expanded Animation – Hybrid Technologies in Animation

The discussion will focus on hybrid technologies and their impact on animation production. Several panels will discuss the developments from the various perspectives of animation filmmakers, media artists, game designers and scientists. One of the Prix forums will host a discussion of current trends by winners in the Prix Ars Electronica’s Computer Animation/Film/VFX category.

Hiroshi Ishii

Art Science: From Vision to Practice

In the first panel “Art Science: From Vision to Practice” Prof. Hiroshi Ishii from MIT Media Lab’s Tangible Media Group will lead the discussion about the transdisciplinary nature of creative work that crosses art, design, science and technology.

Art & Science

European Digital Art and Science Network

Recent experiences and insights are presented from the European Digital Art and Science Network, which between 2015 and 2017 brought artists to residencies at leading research institutions—CERN, ESO, ESA, and Fraunhofer MEVIS—as well as at Ars Electronica Futurelab.

conference_spaxels_mercedes_benz_web

Spaxels Research Initiative

The Spaxels Research Initiative (SRI) is a loose association of partners in industry and research whose shared interest in swarms has brought them together. Each one—NTT, Audi, Autodesk, Tangible Bits, et al.—pursues this project in accordance with its own particular aims.

The School of Creative Media 2012

Feminist Climate Change: Beyond the Binary Panel

When it comes to equal opportunities for women, things don’t seem to have improved too much in new media and technologies of late, and that holds true for the media-art genre as well. What initiatives are in place to remedy this situation and what can/should institutions contribute to a solution?

HelferInnenkonferenz

Third Conference for People Providing Aid to Refugees

ZusammenHelfen in Oberösterreich, the contact point for involvement with Gemeinsam für geflüchtete Menschen (Together for Refugees) will stage the third HelferInnenkonferenz on September 9, 2017. This conference will offer committed individuals in Upper Austria as well as an extended community of participants a highly diversified lineup of presentations including new prospects, current developments, challenges and projects to do with the subject of working together to aid refugees.

Media Art and the Art Market

Media Art and the Art Market II Symposium

The Media Art and the Art Market Symposium faces the challenge of collecting media art—especially the conservation of media art—and presents innovative methods and formats for the management, preservation and exhibition of media art.

MemoriesOfBorderline_CyberRaeuber_2_web

Theater and Digital Media – A Platform Event

In collaboration with the European Theatre Convention, Ars Electronica is hosting a special program to deepen the reciprocal exchange of practical experience about the work on the intersection of digital media and theater.

STARTS Prize Forum

STARTS Prize Forum

Attention is not only focused on the prize-winning projects of the STARTS Prize 2017; Ars Electronica’s spotlight also shines on the people who produced them.
At the STARTS Prize Forum 2017 they will have an opportunity to elaborate on their approach and point of view, their methodology and the results they have achieved with it.

WiMA_Website_ganz_web

Women in Media Arts

Women in Media Arts is one of the most comprehensive databases dedicated to women working in these genres. It was started with information about women who have made a mark on the 36-year history of Ars Electronica and was opened to the public last year.

riatresearch

Research Institute for Arts and Technology

Production in the 21st century works with distributed authorship and identities-artists present their processes “coded” in the fragmentations of global networks. Contemporary artistic output is developed out of collective inquiries, research processes are results of distributed agency between humans, machines, and programs.

Crowd-Sourced-Intelligence-Agency_Derek-Curry_web

Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA)

The “CSIA” is a creative research project that partially replicates an open-source intelligence (OSINT) system, including an interface that allows users to experience how intelligence agents surveil social media posts and two machine-learning classifiers for predictive policing.

STARTS Prize Talks I

At the STARTS Prize Talks the STARTS Prize – Honorary Mentions and Nominations winners will have an opportunity to elaborate on their approach and point of view, their methodology and the results they’ve achieved with it.

teaching-city-image_web

Teaching City

Teaching City is an experiential learning framework highlighting urban issues through playful interactions. It offers an antidote to the industrial-age pedagogy of the classroom, subverting the preconceptions of citizens through “knowledge interventions” embedded in urban spaces—the city is the teacher.

Workshop Space

The Workshop Space is located in a room with a big triangular table with room for speakers, artists and visitors alike. Visitors can join the discussions and presentations or just sit at the table and listen.

Lecture Stage

Being the smaller sister of the big Conference Stage so to speak, the Lecture Stage will also be a hot spot for attending high-level panel discussions with top-class lecturers.

AI Tutorial Sessions

AI Tutorial Sessions

Tutorials by artists for artists—and, of course, for anyone else interested in this field. How hard is it to work with machine learning software, and what creative possibilities do these skills open up? Experienced users present projects that illustrate what you need to know.

CYBATHLON_Alessandro-Della-Bella_web

Cybathlon

Cybathlon is a project by ETH Zurich to promote an exchange between people with disabilities, technology providers and the public in order to raise awareness of the challenges faced by people with disabilities. The goal of the Cybathlon is to promote the development of assistive technologies that are useful for everyday life.

Symposiumsreihe_Perspektiven_politischer_Bildung_tom-mesic_web

Symposiumsreihe Perspektiven Politischer Bildung

„Ich mach’ mir die Welt, widiwidiwie sie mir gefällt …“ sang Pippi Langstrumpf in der legendären TV-Kinderserie der 60er- und 70er-Jahre des vorigen Jahrhunderts. Wie geht es Kindern, Jugendlichen, aber auch Erwachsenen heute, die in einer globalisierten und digitalisierten Welt aufwach(s)en?

Ethics in Art and Science Panel

Discussion about the significance of ethics for disciplines whose research seems to approximate limits of moral principles. Bold experiments in artistic as well as scientific exploration are under examination from a religious and an ethical point of view.

Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität

Sonic Saturday Symposium

This year Ö1 Radiokunst–Kunstradio together with the Anton Bruckner Private University and the Ars Electronica Festival is organizing the Sonic Saturday symposium Different Places: From broadcasting to transmitting to processing.

Linz_AEC_Robert-Bauernhansl_web

Small Cities Forum at Ars Electronica 2017

The Small Cities Forum is an initiative by Pordenone Design Week and Ars Electronica Linz to promote the power of small cities and to provide a place for the exchange of experiences and best-practice models.

Creative Europe

Creative Europe Brunch

Start off your Festival Saturday at the gemütlich Creative Europe Brunch and take advantage of this opportunity to gain insights into various cooperative projects at interdisciplinary interfaces in the field of media art from throughout Europe.

Media Art and the Art Market

Media Art and the Art Market II Round Table

On Friday, the Round Table discusses whether there is an existing market for media art. On Saturday, the participants talk about new technologies for presenting, collecting and storing media art.

Genecoop_web

Gene.coop

Recent decades have brought human genetics from laboratory studies to mainstream commercial products. Today’s genetic research is a multi-billion industry based on the indisputable value of scientific output for the pharmaceutical industry.

Mythos-von-Theuth_Eva-Maria-Dreisiebner_1_web

Myth of Theuth

When he came to the alphabet, Theuth said: “This art, O king, will make the Egyptians wiser and richer in memory.” This is the myth of the invention of writing according to Plato’s Phaidros, which Myth of Theuth takes as base for a playful examination of media theories.

STARTS Roundtable und Get-together

Here, you will have the opportunity to discuss future developments of STARTS, to nurture cooperation among industry, science and the arts and to engage with people working in this field.

STARTS Prize Talks II

At the STARTS Prize Talks the STARTS Prize – Honorary Mentions and Nominations winners will have an opportunity to elaborate on their approach and point of view, their methodology and the results they’ve achieved with it.

Shift-register_web

Talk: Shift Register / Chemical Park

A discussion with Jamie Allen (CA) and Merle Ibach (DE) about the Shift Register project, specifically focusing on experimental outputs and publications being generated through artistic research work undertaken.

Future Models for Transdisciplinary Education

QUT Vice Chancellor and honorary guest, Professor Peter Coaldrake, presents his view about the current state and future of tertiary education in Australia and also in reference to QUT’s established partnership with Ars Electronica since 2013.

Breaking-the-Wall_3@Thomas-Wagensommerer_web

Symposium Breaking The Wall

The FWF-funded art-based research project “Breaking The Wall“ explores how to use technology to involve the audience in live music performances. The symposium will combine talks about technology-mediated audience participation and a showcase of technologies for audience participation with a panel discussing the recent Breaking The Wall live music event with artists and researchers.

Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative

This panel discussion aims to talk about the role of art and industry and moreover the potential of the city as a laboratory for innovation.

Crowd Art

Crowd and Art

Book launch by Manuela Naveau (AT). In conversation with UBERMORGEN

Seitenbereiche:

Konferenzen, Vorträge, Workshops

Das diesjährige Thema „Artificial Intelligence“ und vor allem die Richtung, die der Untertitel – „Das andere Ich“ – vorgibt, bestimmen die wesentlichen Inhalte der Konferenzen und Workshops. Während des gesamten Festivals beleuchten Symposien die gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Aspekte der Entwicklung und Diskussion von Artificial Intelligence. Die Symposien und Vorträge werden von Workshops und Seminaren ergänzt, die sich in erster Linie mit den künstlerischen Möglichkeiten des maschinellen Lernens beschäftigen. Das Eröffnungssymposium am Donnerstag stellt die Frage: Wie formen unterschiedliche Kulturen technologische Entwicklungen und Anwendungen? Die kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Aspekte bei der Forschung und Entwicklung von AI stehen dann am Freitag im Mittelpunkt, während technische Aspekte am Sonntag diskutiert werden.

Symposium

AI – das andere Ich Symposium

Das Symposium AI – das Andere Ich beschäftigt sich mit den theoretischen Verflechtungen der steigenden Integration von neuronalen Netzwerken und maschinellem Lernen in fortschrittliche sowie Alltagstechnologien. Kunst und Wissenschaft werden stark von neuen Erkenntnismethoden dieser aktuellen Technologien beeinflusst.

conf_opening_tom-mesic_web

Opening Panel „How Cultures Shape Technology“

Meist beschäftigen wir uns mit der Frage, welche Auswirkungen die Einführung neuer Technologien auf Kultur und Gesellschaft hat. Wie unterschiedliche Kulturen technologische Entwicklungen und Anwendungen formen ist die Frage dieses Eröffnungssymposiums.

Future in a Nutshell

Future in a Nutshell – Zukunft für alle

„Future in a Nutshell – Zukunft für alle“ steht für eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit den wichtigsten Entwicklungen und technologischen Trends der nächsten zehn Jahre. In kurzen Sessions präsentieren international renommierte Fachleute aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Technik relevante Themen auf einer verständlichen Ebene. Sie geben wegweisende Impulse, um Entwicklungen, die weit über technische Forschungszusammenhänge hinaus unser Leben und unsere Wirtschaft verändern, kritisch zu reflektieren.

gluon

GLUON SESSION

Die Gluon Foundation forciert die Zusammenarbeit von KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen. Bei Ars Electronica präsentiert sie ein neues Modell der Kooperation zwischen KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und KunstsammlerInnen. Dazu schlüpfen WissenschaftlerInnen-in-Residence in den Ateliers renommierter KünstlerInnen in die Rolle von MitarbeiterInnen.

Prix-Forum I

Prix Forum I – Computer Animation/Film/VFX

Zweifelsohne ein Highlight jeder Ars Electronica ist die Möglichkeit, den PreisträgerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica zu begegnen. Moderiert von VertreterInnen der Jury, entsteht so ein spannender Einblick in die einzelnen Kategorien des Prix.

Prix Forum 2

Prix Forum II – Digital Musics & Sound Art

Zweifelsohne ein Highlight jeder Ars Electronica ist die Möglichkeit, den PreisträgerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica zu begegnen. Moderiert von VertreterInnen der Jury, entsteht so ein spannender Einblick in die einzelnen Kategorien des Prix.

Prix Forum

Prix Forum III – Hybrid Art

Zweifelsohne ein Highlight jeder Ars Electronica ist die Möglichkeit, den PreisträgerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica zu begegnen. Moderiert von VertreterInnen der Jury, entsteht so ein spannender Einblick in die einzelnen Kategorien des Prix.

Future Innovators Summit 2017

Future Innovators Summit

Future Innovators from different cultures and backgrounds and from different fields such as artists, designers, scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs, social activists and philosophers will gather in September in Linz to explore new ways of collective brainstorming and creative prototyping on the crucial questions of the future.

Expanded Animation

Expanded Animation – Hybrid Technologies in Animation

Im Mittelpunkt der Diskussion stehen hybride Technologien und deren Auswirkungen auf die Animationsproduktion. Die Entwicklungen werden in mehreren Panels aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven von AnimationsfilmemacherInnen, MedienkünstlerInnen, Game-DesignerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen ausgelotet. Zusätzlich diskutieren die GewinnerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica der Kategorie „Computer Animation/Film/VFX“ im Prix Forum aktuelle Trends.

Hiroshi Ishii

Art Science: From Vision to Practice

Im ersten Panel „Art Science: From Vision to Practice“ leitet Prof. Hiroshi Ishii von der MIT Media Lab Tangible Media Group die Diskussion über die transdisziplinäre Natur von kreativem Arbeiten, welches Kunst, Design, Wissenschaft und Technologie umspannt.

Art & Science

European Digital Art and Science Network

Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse aus dem European Digital Art and Science Network werden präsentiert, das Künstlern und Künstlerinnen zwischen 2015 und 2017 Residencies bei führenden Forschungsinstitutionen – CERN, ESO, ESA und Fraunhofer MEVIS – sowie beim Ars Electronica Futurelab ermöglicht hat.

conference_spaxels_mercedes_benz_web

Spaxels Research Initiative

Die Spaxels Research Initiative (SRI) ist ein loser Verbund von Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung, die sich in ihrem gemeinsamen Interesse am Schwarm begegnen. Jeder der Vertreter (NTT, Audi, Autodesk, Tangible Bits…) verfolgt seine dem Projekt entsprechende Zielsetzung.

The School of Creative Media 2012

Feminist Climate Change: Beyond the Binary Panel

Wenn es um Chancengleichheit für Frauen geht, scheinen auch die neuen Medien und Technologien nicht allzu viel verbessert zu haben – auch nicht in den medienkünstlerischen Arbeitsbereichen. Welche Initiativen es gibt, um diese Situation zu verbessern, und was Institutionen dazu beitragen können respektive sollen.

HelferInnenkonferenz

3. HelferInnenkonferenz: „ZusammenHelfen in OÖ – Gemeinsam für geflüchtete Menschen“

Am 9. September 2017 veranstaltet „ZusammenHelfen in Oberösterreich“ – die Anlaufstelle rund um das Thema „Gemeinsam für geflüchtete Menschen“ – die 3. HelferInnenkonferenz. Diese bietet für Engagierte in Oberösterreich, sowie einen erweiterten TeilnehmerInnenkreis, ein bunt gemischtes Programm, mit neuen Perspektiven, aktuellen Entwicklungen, Herausforderungen und Projekten, rund um das Thema „Gemeinsam für geflüchtete Menschen“.

Media Art and the Art Market

Media Art and the Art Market II Symposium

Das Symposium Media Art and the Art Market II thematisiert insbesondere die mit dem Sammeln und Bewahren von Medienkunst zusammenhängenden Herausforderungen, und stellt innovative Methoden wie auch Formen der Archivierung, Verwaltung und Präsentation vor.

MemoriesOfBorderline_CyberRaeuber_2_web

Theater and Digital Media – A Platform Event

In Zusammenarbeit mit der European Theatre Convention veranstaltet Ars Electronica ein spezielles Programm zur Vertiefung des Austauschs praktischer Erfahrungen bei der Arbeit an der Schnittstelle von digitalen Medien und Theater.

STARTS Prize Forum

STARTS Prize Forum

Nicht nur die Projekte, die beim STARTS Prize 2017 ausgezeichnet wurden, sollen im Rahmen der Ars Electronica 2017 vorgestellt werden, sondern auch die dahinter stehenden Menschen. Beim STARTS Prize Forum 2017 haben sie Gelegenheit, ihre Ansätze und Perspektiven, ihre Arbeitsweisen und die dabei erzielten Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

WiMA_Website_ganz_web

Women in Media Arts

Women in Media Arts ist eine umfangreiche Datenbank, die sich speziell den Frauen in der Medienkunst widmet. Die Datenbank startete mit Informationen über Protagonistinnen, die eine Spur in der 36-jährigen Geschichte der Ars Electronica hinterlassen haben und wurde um ein öffentliches Eingabemodul erweitert.

riatresearch

Research Institute for Arts and Technology

Im 21. Jahrhundert werden Werke mit verteilter Autorschaft und verteilten Identitäten produziert – die Künstler präsentieren ihre Arbeitsprozesse „kodiert“ in den zerstreuten Strukturen globaler Netzwerke. Das zeitgenössische künstlerische Schaffen wird in kollektiver Praxis entwickelt, Forschungsprozesse sind Ergebnisse eines zwischen Menschen, Maschinen und Programmen verteilten Agens.

Crowd-Sourced-Intelligence-Agency_Derek-Curry_web

Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA)

Die „CSIA“ ist ein kreatives Forschungsprojekt, das das System einer Open-Source Intelligenz nachbildet. Ein Interface ermöglicht es BenutzerInnen zu erfahren, wie Geheimdienste Social Media-Beiträge überwachen. Außerdem beinhaltet die Arbeit zwei maschinell lernende Klassifikatoren für vorausschauende Polizeiarbeit.

STARTS Prize Talks I

Bei den STARTS Prize Talks haben die STARTS Prize – Honorary Mentions und Nominations GewinnerInnen Gelegenheit, ihre Ansätze und Perspektiven, ihre Arbeitsweisen und die dabei erzielten Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

teaching-city-image_web

Teaching City

Teaching City ist ein experimentelles Lern-Framework, das städtische Problematiken mittels spielerischer Interaktionen beleuchtet. Es bietet ein Gegengewicht zu der aus dem Industriezeitalter stammenden Klassenzimmer-Pädagogik und stellt die vorgefassten Meinungen der Bürger durch in den städtischen Raum eingebettete „Wissensinterventionen“ auf dem Kopf – die Stadt ist dabei der Lehrer.

Workshop Space

Der Workshop Space befindet sich in einem Raum, in dessen Mitte ein großer dreieckiger Tisch Vortragenden, KünstlerInnen und FestivalbesucherInnen gleichermaßen Platz bietet. BesucherInnen können an Diskussionen und Präsentationen zu verschiedenen Themen teilnehmen oder einfach mit am Tisch sitzen und zuhören.

Lecture Stage

Sozusagen als kleinere Schwester der großen Konferenzbühne können dieses Jahr bei der Lecture Stage spannende Podiumsdiskussionen mit hochkarätigen Vortragenden besucht werden.

AI Tutorial Sessions

AI Tutorial Sessions

Tutorials von KünstlerInnen für KünstlerInnen (und natürlich auch für alle anderen Interessierten). Wie schwierig ist es, selbst mit Machine-Learning-Software zu arbeiten, und welche Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten gibt es dabei? Erfahrene AnwenderInnen erklären anhand ihrer Projekte, worauf es ankommt.

CYBATHLON_Alessandro-Della-Bella_web

Cybathlon

Cybathlon ist ein Projekt der ETH Zürich, das den Austausch zwischen Menschen mit Behinderung, Technologie-Entwicklern und -Entwicklerinnen und der Öffentlichkeit fördert, um auf die Herausforderungen für Menschen mit Behinderung aufmerksam zu machen. Ziel ist es, die Entwicklung von technischen Hilfsmitteln voranzutreiben, die den Alltag der Menschen erleichtern.

Talk: Bi.xels – Bio–Displays with Cell Free Technologies

Nehmen Sie Teil an einem interessanten Gespräch, mit Diskussion und praktischen Übungen, in denen Sie Ihr eigenes Bio-Display bauen. Dabei können Sie mehr über unsere Workshops, Projekte und unseren Lehrgang für Biodesign am Royal College of Art erfahren.

Symposiumsreihe_Perspektiven_politischer_Bildung_tom-mesic_web

Symposiumsreihe Perspektiven Politischer Bildung

„Ich mach’ mir die Welt, widiwidiwie sie mir gefällt …“ sang Pippi Langstrumpf in der legendären TV-Kinderserie der 60er- und 70er-Jahre des vorigen Jahrhunderts. Wie geht es Kindern, Jugendlichen, aber auch Erwachsenen heute, die in einer globalisierten und digitalisierten Welt aufwach(s)en?

Ethics in Art and Science Panel

Eine Diskussion über die Grundsätze jener Disziplinen, deren Forschung scheinbar an die Grenzen moralischer Prinzipien stößt. Couragierte Experimente der Kunst sowie der Medizin werden unter religiösen und ethischen Gesichtspunkten verhandelt.

Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität

Sonic Saturday Symposium

Dieses Jahr organisiert Ö1 Radiokunst – Kunstradio gemeinsam mit der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität das Sonic Saturday Symposium zum Thema Different Places. From Broadcasting to Transmitting to Processing.

Linz_AEC_Robert-Bauernhansl_web

Small Cities Forum at Ars Electronica 2017

The Small Cities Forum ist eine Initiative der Pordenone Design Week und Ars Electronica Linz mit dem Ziel Kleinstädte zu stärken und ihnen eine Plattform zu bieten für den Austausch an Erfahrungen und vorbildlichen Modellen.

Creative Europe

Creative Europe Brunch

Starten Sie den Festival Samstag beim gemütlichen Creative Europe Brunch und nutzen Sie die Gelegenheit, Einblicke in verschiedene Kooperationsprojekte an interdisziplinären Schnittstellen aus dem Bereich der Medienkunst aus ganz Europa zu erlangen.

Media Art and the Art Market

Media Art and the Art Market II Round Table

Am Round Table wird am Freitag der Frage nachgegangen, ob es einen existierenden Markt für Medienkunst gibt. Am Samstag geht es darum, wie Medienkunst künftig präsentiert, gesammelt und archiviert werden kann.

Genecoop_web

Gene.coop

In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Humangenetik von Studien im Labor zu kommerziellen Mainstream-Produkten weiterentwickelt. Heutzutage gilt die Genforschung als milliardenschwere Industrie, die grundlegend auf dem unbestritten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntniswert für die Pharmaindustrie gründet.

Mythos-von-Theuth_Eva-Maria-Dreisiebner_1_web

Mythos von Theuth

Als er aber an die Buchstaben gekommen, habe Theuth gesagt: „Diese Kunst, o König, wird die Ägypter weiser machen und gedächtnisreicher.“ So lautet der Mythos über die Erfindung der Schrift in Platons Schrift „Phaidros“. Mythos von Theuth nimmt dies als Fundament für eine spielerische Auseinandersetzung mit Medientheorien von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart.

STARTS Roundtable und Get-together

Hier gibt es die Möglichkeit gemeinsam über die künftigen Entwicklungen von STARTS zu diskutieren, Kooperationen zwischen Industrie, Wissenschaft und Kunst voranzutreiben und mit Personen zusammenkommen, die in diesem Bereich tätig sind.

STARTS Prize Talks II

Bei den STARTS Prize Talks haben die STARTS Prize – Honorary Mentions und Nominations GewinnerInnen Gelegenheit, ihre Ansätze und Perspektiven, ihre Arbeitsweisen und die dabei erzielten Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

Shift-register_web

Talk: Shift Register / Chemical Park

Eine Diskussion mit Jamie Allen (CA) und Merle Ibach (DE) über das Shift-Register-Projekt, die speziell die experimentellen Ergebnisse der künstlerischer Forschungsarbeiten präsentiert.

Future Models for Transdisciplinary Education

QUT Vice Chancellor and honorary guest, Professor Peter Coaldrake, presents his view about the current state and future of tertiary education in Australia and also in reference to QUT’s established partnership with Ars Electronica since 2013.

Breaking-the-Wall_3@Thomas-Wagensommerer_web

Symposium Breaking The Wall

Das vom FWF-geförderte künstlerische Forschungsprojekt „Breaking The Wall“ erforscht, wie man Technologie einsetzt, um das Publikum in Live-Musikaufführungen einzubeziehen. Das Symposium kombiniert Vorträge über technologiegestützte Publikumsbeteiligung und ein Technologie-Showcase mit einem Panel, in dem das Breaking The Wall Musik-Event mit Künstlern und Forschern diskutiert wird.

Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative

Diese Podiumsdiskussion zielt darauf ab über die Rolle von Kunst und Industrie und darüber hinaus über das Potenzial der Stadt als Innovationslabor zu sprechen.

Crowd Art

Crowd and Art

Buchvorstellung von Manuela Naveau (AT). Im Gespräch mit UBERMORGEN