Site areas:

u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD

The Future Festival of the Next Generation

Once again this year, the “festival within the festival” is an invitation to experiment and try out new things. At u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD, festival vistors can test new technologies, uncommon models for living, or concepts and ideas in this open lab. Everyone can decide for themselves how much time they want to devote to a project—whether it is only five minutes or a whole day. There a lot to experience and discover throughout the festival village. Artists, associations and companies make up the dramatis personae of this playground, where we can immerse ourselves in the world of tomorrow. This is the perfect spot for tinkerers, lateral thinkers and people with a thirst for knowledge! Read more about u19…

Mini Maker Faire

Mini Maker Faire Linz

Makers who love experimentation present their do-it-yourself projects on Sunday. Above all, this is about dialog: people can exchange their knowledge and experiences in speeches and workshops.

Zukunftsperspektiven: eine Frage des Geldes?

Was hat das Leben eines Steuerflüchtlings mit dem eines Kriegsflüchtlings zu tun? In der Ausstellung erhalten die handelnden Personen ein Gesicht. Ihre inneren Monologe bilden den Ausgangspunkt, um über Verteilungsgerechtigkeit und Zukunftsperspektiven nachzudenken.

nonvisual-art_flickr_web

nonvisual-art

Nonvisual-art is an image that is simultaneously visible and invisible. Cellophane foils and air bubbles trapped in a layer of adhesive refract in a highly artistic way the light shone onto them.

myRobot_AkosVecsei_web

#MyRobot: ROBOTIFICATION NOW!

Experience Workshop devotes its full program to children’s views on the robotification of society. Participating children can design, build and program the robot they need the most. By the end of the day we might have robots that go to school, do the homework and pass the exams.

nerve

NERVE – Lessons on Demand 

NERVE – Lessons on Demand is an up-to-date Web platform developed by Clemens Großberger and Thomas Übelacker. Their aim: Providing online access to previous classroom instruction that a student wishes to review.

The Unintelligent Machine

The Youth Exchange Project is a workshop that will be held in POSTCITY throughout the festival’s run together with groups of youngsters from other countries. Joseph Herscher is the artist who will be working together with young people to develop the language of the so-called unintelligent machine.

musicsummit

Music Summit

Music Summit provides the opportunity for common discussion on the future of young musicians. This event is supposed to be a starting shot for a multi-year and sustainable pilot project.

CognitionSchoeffer_AntalKelleArtformer_web

Cognition Schöffer

Cognition Schöffer is an abstract interactive mobil sculpture, dedicated to the pioneer of cybernetic art, Nicholas Schöffer.

Armprothese

Mitwachsende Armprothese

To start out, the various technologies used in existing 3D-printed arm prostheses were compared. In this phase of the project, a lively exchange of ideas via social media with prosthesis developers in Spain and the USA was of great importance.

Perspektivenbaustelle

construction site of perspectives

At a construction site everything should run fluently, to work most effective. But what if the machines get their own ideas and start to play?

MeYouUsAI_Kate-OSullivan_web

Me/You/Us + AI

This lab encourages you to explore this by “coding” your body (and others) to perform a series of interactive, collaborative, and highly playful instructions, using lo-fi and low-tech materials. Get ready to transform into smart machines.

ICH_ICH_WER_martinhieslmair_web

I + I = #Who?

Reality, fiction, wishful thinking?! Who am I; who can I be? We take selfies to place ourselves in the middle of the picture. How can I feature myself? How would I like to?

Whose Scalpel

Insight Inside

During a live remote hookup to the MRT laboratory, we’ll get a close-up look at an MR scanner and its functions, and get answers to our questions about them. We’ll scan a piece of fruit to examine its interior structures without cutting it open.

Rubik’s Cube Solver

Through the use of a smartphone camera’s object & color recognition capabilities, this app can automatically register the composition of a Rubik’s Cube.

fahnenhoch

Die Fahnen hoch?

In “Die Fahnen Hoch?”, I’ve endeavored to deal critically with the mass gatherings staged by the Nazis. I oriented my approach on Leni Riefenstahl’s 1934 propaganda film Triumph of the Will.

emotion

Emoticon

Using various animation techniques we engaged under the professional guidance of MUKATO (Muzak, Karoline Riha and Thomas Renoldner) in a very intensive, physically strenuous but fascinating and ultimately pleasurable production process that brought forth Emoticon.

hexapod_flickr_web

Hexapod

The Hexapod is a spider-like robot. Its research objective is to demonstrate the trainability of biomechanical processes in neuronal networks. Thanks to object recognition capabilities, the robot can navigate independently in it field of deployment and execute tasks.

FABLAB_textilcutting-trotec_TomMesic_web

FABLAB – Printing, Drawing, Cutting

Whether you’re interested in trimming textiles with a huge laser cutter, using a CNC milling machine, or simply assembling structures from a variety of materials, the FabLab at this year’s u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD offers do-it-yourself projects you can try out right on the festival grounds.

Holodeck

At the “Holodeck” you can try out the newest VR-technology and learn about the huge number of functions and possibilities.

The Perspective Machine

Better, simpler and faster, above all, faster. This development has come to prevail in our society. It is already taken for granted that we do not particularly like waiting for answers and results.

Composing:Lab

The Composing Lab offers a look at current practices in the musical creativity process. Computers running both notation & digital audio workstation software display their respective capabilities and limitations.

fm4_tom-mesic_web

Radio FM4 – mobile studio

In addition to live broadcasts direct from the Postcity festival venue, FM4 is staging a mobile radio studio, an opportunity for festival visitors to see what goes into an actual radio production.

comebuildwithus_Guerkan-Kurtbay_web

Come, Build With Us!

We are inviting everyone to come and build interactive visuals with us. Anyone can collaborate either by coding with us directly or simply by giving us input on what they would like to see.

festival_doku_Florian_Voggeneder_web

Festival Documentary – Live!

Here, you can be the director, operate the camera, or simply hang around and see how a documentary takes shape. Questions are welcome!

vorderhand_power-of-the-bauer

Vorderhand

This is a joint project by the crafts & trades guilds of Hittisau-Sibratsgfäll and Riefensberg-Krumbach together with the Hittisau Intermediate School. The aim is to encourage qualified youngsters to pursue a career in the crafts & trades and to help students find the occupation that’s right for them.

CoderDojo_CoderDojo_web

CoderDojo

CoderDojo Linz is a free, volunteer-led programming club for kids. In CoderDojo, young coders discover technology, learn to write code, develop their first websites, create apps and games etc.

BE_Chinese_Whispers_Helene_Siebermair_web

Chinese whispers

This digital activity project by Linz Art University’s Art Education program invites visitors to become interactive players of a popular game.

Changing Pixels

How does an artificial intelligence actually process graphic information? Here the arrangement of countless quadratic pixels can be tried out the other way round.

Borgplay_Elke-Hackl_web

BorgPlay

In this open lab’s Gamestation, you can play your own adventure games, and on the RasPi Station, you can try out old Nintendo and Playstation games on a DIY console constructed with Makey Makey.

ArduinoReload_TinyDrummer_CC0_web

Arduino Reload

In this open lab you have the chance to build a motor-controlled drumstick. We will show you how to assemble the parts and program an Arduino microcontroller.

AnimationLab_OMAi_2_web

Animation:Lab

This open and interactive workshop invites creative minds of all ages to enter a collaborative universe of animated light paintings.

ZusammenHelfenInOberoesterreich_Land-OOE_web

ZusammenKommenLab

The ZusammenKommenLab supports diversity and brings together refugees, voluntary workers and experts. Here you will find projects and ideas concerning refugees and integration and an exchange of experiences.

zukunftswerkstatt_aec_web

ZUKUNFTSWERKSTATT @ Festival

The Zukunftswerkstatt (FutureWorkshop) is the place to produce your own short films, reportage, blogs and animated clips. From brainstorming to shooting to editing to presenting the final cut—crews work together to bring a project to fruition.

Symposiumsreihe_Perspektiven_politischer_Bildung_tom-mesic_web

Symposiumsreihe Perspektiven Politischer Bildung

„Ich mach’ mir die Welt, widiwidiwie sie mir gefällt …“ sang Pippi Langstrumpf in der legendären TV-Kinderserie der 60er- und 70er-Jahre des vorigen Jahrhunderts. Wie geht es Kindern, Jugendlichen, aber auch Erwachsenen heute, die in einer globalisierten und digitalisierten Welt aufwach(s)en?

Tinkerbots_Workshop-1204_Tinkerbots-Kinematics-GmbH_2_web

Tinkerbots

Tinkerbots is a unique construction kit that makes it simple for kids of all ages to build and operate countless different robots. The kit consists of active modules and passive components.

Emergency Exit

Emergency Exit

Emergency Exit is a film about escape. It was produced with a 360° camera and thus conceived for virtual reality glasses. It’s the account of a protagonist who, due to social pressure, flees from her reality into the reality of her computer games.

TagTool_DeepSpace_MartinHieslmair_web

Tagtool Launch Event

OMAi is very happy to invite you to the launch event for the new Tagtool app! It takes place on the opening day of Ars Electronica Festival on Thursday September 7th, 6pm at Central in Linz, and entry is free.

camcar

CamCar

The idea behind CamCar is the development of a camera dolly that’s compatible with all types of cameras (e.g. single-lens reflex cameras).

StereNarrativity_ContentDemo2_KrmpfKrmpfStudios_web

Stereonarrativity

3D or stereoscopy is a widespread technique in cinema to visually immerse the audience. Nevertheless, the technology does not seem to be being used to create more immersive stories. Stereonarrativity is an attempt at an artistic use of 3D technology.

amazingcoco

BNC – The Amazing Coco Girls

In a three-day animation film workshop offered by the Media High School at BORG15, this crew used a cut-out technique to produce BNC – The Amazing Coco Girls.

Big Poop Data

Big Poop Data (.com)

The purveyors of Big Poop Data intend this as a critical commentary on the increasingly pervasive obsession with digital data-gathering, and as an appeal to safeguard our digital privacy.

fm4_spielekammerl_web

FM4 Spielekammerl live at Ars Electronica Festival

Since March 2017 Radio FM4 has its own gaming show on Twitch.tv: The FM4 Spielekammerl-Show. At Ars Electronica Festival, the FM4 games team will do its first ever shows outside of their Viennese headquarter.

youarepresident

You are President

You are President is a game in which the player is the head of government of a fictitious country. His decisions have an impact on six factors: diplomacy, the economy, the budget, popularity among the citizenry, the environment, and the armed forces. The object of the game is to successfully take actions to effectively manage the affairs of state. All of these factors are reflected by scores, which the player’s various decisions can influence either positively or negatively.

ROBO_CAR_Hedgehog_Practical-Robotics-Institute-Austria_web

RoboCar

RoboCar is an initiative to spotlight some trendy, cool technology to make young people aware of what is happening now and what future prospects are emerging in the ICT (IT, communication and technology) sector.

Point of View

Point of View

In contrast to the rest of the u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD festival, where lots of things can be tried out in open labs or learned in one-on-one conversations, there is stuff here that can be discovered only by careful examination and doesn’t come to light until you’re prepared to change your point of view.

AI Music

Innovative 3D-printing technology is used to make the robot safe to play music with: As a true virtuoso, the robot is focused on its music rather than the people around it, so we have it wear a soft, inflatable, AirSkin that was custom-fit through 3D-printing.

pselernspiele

PSE-Lernspiele

PSE-Lernspiele (PSE Learning Games) are fun ways to learn about the periodic table of the elements. The games involve cards, dice, atomic models, and other playful ideas. They’re for teachers to use in classroom instruction and for pupils as an enjoyable extracurricular learning tool.

ninja-training_flickr_web

Ninja Training

In the film “Ninja Training” by Jonathan Wimmer, a big Lego fan, a boy who wants to become a ninja has to learn various fighting techniques.

Show your character

Show Your Character is a project by students in David Panhofer’s course in Media-based Image Processing at the HBLA–High School for Artistic Design. The class spent a whole semester working on character design, whereby the assignment was for each character to embody three qualities selected at random.

thaibox

Thaiboxbrüderschaft

This music video for a rap song entitled Thaiboxbrüderschaft (Thai Boxing Brotherhood), which was composed and produced by the project team themselves, is actually a gangster rap parody.

perspektiv

Point of View Lab

Walls and ceilings throughout PostCity are adorned with examples of anamorphosis, graphics that, at first glance, seem to be nothing more than arbitrary blotches of color. At the Painting Station, festivalgoers can get hands-on experience creating these distortions.

schwarzeweg

Schwarze Weg, Weiße Weg

The film Schwarze Weg, Weiße Weg (Black Path, White Path) is a tale of two friends who, having fled Afghanistan, arrive together in Austria.

phi

Phi – Horror Short Film

The short film entitled Phi was created in conjunction with a horror-themed project in school. The aim of Phi is to treat this topic differently than a classic horror film.

Jospeh Herscher

Youth Exchange Project

The Youth Exchange Project is a workshop that will be held in POSTCITY throughout the festival’s run together with groups of youngsters from other countries and the artist Joseph Herscher.

u19 Ceremony

u19 Ceremony

The u19 Ceremony brings together all the prizewinners in this year’s u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD category of the Prix Ars Electronica. At this event, the spotlight is on the young people themselves. In a brief interview they get an opportunity to present their projects and also to communicate their enthusiasm.

Workshop with Young People from the BFI Upper Austria

The Ars Electronica Center has been collaborating with the BFI (Careers Advancement Institute) since spring 2017 to give youngsters the opportunity to work on projects in conjunction with the Ars Electronica Festival. The aim is to open up bright prospects for these young people and to strengthen their self-confidence as a solid foundation for their occupational future. In five sessions, the youngsters get support from experts in converting a remote-controlled model car into a self-driving car.

Kids Tour

Kids Tour

For youngsters between the ages of 8 and 14, we offer special tours through POSTCITY, that venture far beyond the friendly confines of u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD, the festival for the next generation.

Seitenbereiche:

u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD

Das Zukunftsfestival der nächsten Generation

Das „Festival im Festival“ lädt auch in diesem Jahr wieder zum Experimentieren und Ausprobieren ein. Bei u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD können neue Technologien, ungewöhnliche Lebensmodelle oder Konzepte und Ideen in einem Open Lab getestet werden. Dabei kann jede/r selbst entscheiden, wieviel Zeit sie/er einem Projekt widmen möchte: Ob nur 5 Minuten oder einen ganzen Tag – zu erleben und zu entdecken gibt es immer und überall etwas! Viele KünstlerInnen, Vereine und Unternehmen sind Teil dieses Tummelplatzes, an dem wir in die Welt von morgen eintauchen können. Der perfekte Ort für TüftlerInnen, QuerdenkerInnen und Wissensdurstige! Mehr zu u19 erfahren Sie auf www.aec.at/u19!

Mini Maker Faire

Mini Maker Faire Linz

Am Sonntag stellen experimentierfreudige MakerInnen ihre Do-it-yourself-Projekte vor: Die Mini Maker Faire Linz ist aber nicht nur eine Plattform zur Präsentation, sondern vor allem auch für den Dialog in Vorträgen und Workshops aus.

Zukunftsperspektiven: eine Frage des Geldes?

Was hat das Leben eines Steuerflüchtlings mit dem eines Kriegsflüchtlings zu tun? In der Ausstellung erhalten die handelnden Personen ein Gesicht. Ihre inneren Monologe bilden den Ausgangspunkt, um über Verteilungsgerechtigkeit und Zukunftsperspektiven nachzudenken.

nonvisual-art_flickr_web

nonvisual-art

Nonvisual-art ist ein Bild, das sichtbar und unsichtbar zugleich ist. Mittels Zellophan-Folien und in Kleber festgesetzten Luftbläschen wird das einfallende Licht kunstvoll gebrochen.

myRobot_AkosVecsei_web

#MyRobot: ROBOTIFICATION NOW!

Der Experience Workshop widmet sich ganz der Frage, wie Kinder die Robotifizierung der Gesellschaft sehen. Die TeilnehmerInnen können den Roboter, den sie am dringendsten brauchen, entwerfen, bauen und programmieren. Am Ende des Workshops entstehen vielleicht Roboter, die in die Schule gehen, Hausaufgaben machen und Prüfungen ablegen.

nerve

NERVE – Lessons on Demand 

Mit NERVE – Lessons on Demand haben Clemens Großberger und Thomas Übelacker eine zeitgemäße Bildungs-Webplattform entwickelt. Das Ziel: Verpasste Unterrichtsstunden können im Nachhinein online angesehen und nachgeholt werden.

The Unintelligent Machine

Das Jugendbegegnungsprojekt ist ein Workshop, der über den gesamten Festivalzeitraum mit einer internationalen Gruppe Jugendlichen in der POSTCITY stattfindet. Joseph Herscher ist der Künstler, der gemeinsam mit den Jugendlichen die Sprache der sogenannten „Unintelligent Machine“ entwickeln wird.

musicsummit

Music Summit

Beim Music Summit wird gemeinsam über die Zukunft der nächsten Generation von jungen Musikschaffenden nachgedacht.

CognitionSchoeffer_AntalKelleArtformer_web

Cognition Schöffer

Cognition Schöffer ist eine abstrakte und interaktive Skulptur, gewidmet Nicholas Schöffer, dem Pionier auf dem Gebiet kybernetischer Kunst.

Armprothese

Mitwachsende Armprothese

Zu Beginn des Projektes wurden die bei bereits existierenden 3D-Druck-Armprothesen angewandten Techniken miteinander verglichen. In diesem Projektstadium war der rege Gedankenaustausch über soziale Medien mit Prothesenentwicklern in Spanien und den USA von großer Bedeutung.

Perspektivenbaustelle

Perspektivenbaustelle

Bei einer Baustelle muss ja bekanntlich immer alles so effizient wie möglich ablaufen. Was, wenn aber die Maschinen plötzlich eigene Ideen bekommen und zu spielen beginnen?

MeYouUsAI_Kate-OSullivan_web

Me/You/Us + AI

In diesem Lab gehen wir dieser Frage nach, indem wir unseren Körper (und den anderer) so „kodieren“, dass er eine Reihe interaktiver, kollaborativer und sehr spielerischer Anweisungen ausführt, wofür wie Lo-fi- und Low-tech-Materialien verwenden.

ICH_ICH_WER_martinhieslmair_web

Ich + ich = #wer?

Realität, Fiktion, Wunschdenken?! Wer bin ich, wer kann ich sein? Wir benutzen Selfies, um uns selbst in Szene zu setzen. Wie kann ich mich, wie möchte ich mich inszenieren.

Whose Scalpel

Insight Inside

Während einer Live-Übertragung zum MRT-Labor schauen wir uns einen MR-Scanner und seine Funktionsweise genauer an und können direkt Fragen stellen.

Rubiks Cube Solver

Mittels Objekt- und Farberkennung einer Smartphonekamera kann mit der geschriebenen App der Rubiks Cube auf seine Komposition automatisch erfasst werden.

fahnenhoch

Die Fahnen hoch?

Der Film Die Fahnen hoch? ist eine Anspielung an das Originalmaterial des Propagandafilms Triumph des Willens von Leni Riefenstahl aus dem Jahr 1934.

emotion

Emoticon

Mit Hilfe verschiedenster Animationstechniken entstand mit der professionellen Begleitung durch MUKATO (Muzak, Karoline Riha und Thomas Renoldner) in einem sehr intensiven, anstrengenden, aber spannenden und lustvollen Prozess Emoticon.

hexapod_flickr_web

Hexapod

Der Hexapod ist ein spinnenartiger Roboter, welcher zum Forschungsziel hat, die Trainierbarkeit von biomechanischen Vorgängen neuronaler Netzwerke zu zeigen. Mit Hilfe von Objekterkennung kann der Roboter selbstständig in seinem jeweiligen Einsatzgebiet navigieren und Aufgaben ausführen.

FABLAB_textilcutting-trotec_TomMesic_web

FABLAB – Printing, Drawing, Cutting

Ob Textilcutting mit riesigen Lasercuttern, eine CNC-Fräsmaschine bedienen oder einfach selber Strukturen mit verschiedenen Materialien zusammenbasteln: Das diesjährige FabLab von u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD bietet „Do-It-Yourself“-Projekte an, die direkt beim Festival ausprobiert werden können. Alle BesucherInnen sind eingeladen, eigene Kunstobjekte zu erstellen.

Holodeck

Beim Projekt Holodeck kann man die neueste VR-Technologie gleich selber ausprobieren und viele Einzelheiten zu den Funktionen und Möglichkeiten erfahren.

Die Perspektivenmaschine

Besser, einfacher und vor allem: schneller. Diese Entwicklung hat sich in unserer Gesellschaft breit gemacht. Es ist bereits selbstverständlich, dass wir nur sehr ungern auf Antworten oder Ergebnisse warten.

Composing:Lab

Das Composing Lab gibt Einblick in die aktuellen Praktiken des musikalischen Schaffungsprozesses. Computer mit sowohl Notations- als auch DAW (digital audio workstation) Software offenbaren ihre jeweiligen Möglichkeiten und Grenzen.

comebuildwithus_Guerkan-Kurtbay_web

Come, Build With Us!

Wir laden euch alle ein, mit uns gemeinsam interaktive Visuals zu erstellen. Jede/r kann mitmachen, entweder indem ihr mit uns direkt programmiert oder uns einfach sagt, was ihr sehen möchtet.

festival_doku_Florian_Voggeneder_web

Festivaldoku – Live!

Hier kannst du kurz Regie führen, Kamerafrau/-mann sein oder einfach nur ein wenig zusehen, wie so eine Dokumentation entsteht! Fragen erlaubt!

vorderhand_power-of-the-bauer

Vorderhand

Vorderhand ist ein gemeinsames Projekt der Handwerkerzünfte Hittisau-Sibratsgfäll und Riefensberg-Krumbach mit der Mittelschule Hittisau zur Förderung von geeignetem Nachwuchs im Handwerk und zur Berufsfindung der SchülerInnen.

CoderDojo_CoderDojo_web

CoderDojo

Das CoderDojo Linz ist ein kostenloser Programmierclub für Kinder und Jugendliche. Bei CoderDojo wird Technologie entdeckt und gelernt wie man Code schreibt, Webseiten entwickelt, Apps und Spiele programmiert und vieles mehr.

BE_Chinese_Whispers_Helene_Siebermair_web

Chinese whispers

Das digitale Aktivity-Projekt der Bildnerischen Erziehung der Kunstuniversität Linz lässt die BesucherInnen zu interaktiven Playern des beliebten Gesellschaftsspiels werden.

Changing Pixels

Wie verarbeitet eine künstliche Intelligenz eigentlich Bildinformationen? Die Anordnung von unzähligen quadratischen Pixeln kann hier im umgekehrten Weg ausprobiert werden.

Borgplay_Elke-Hackl_web

BorgPlay

Im Open-Lab kannst du in der Gamestation selbst entwickelte Adventure-Spiele und an der RasPi-Station alte Nintendo- und Playstationspiele an der mit Makey Makey selbstgebauten Konsole ausprobieren.

ArduinoReload_TinyDrummer_CC0_web

Arduino Reload

In diesem offenen Lab kannst du einen motorengesteuerten Trommelschlägel bauen. Wir zeigen dir, wie du die Teile zusammensetzen musst und wie du einen Arduino-Mikrocontroller programmieren kannst.

AnimationLab_OMAi_2_web

Animation:Lab

Dieser offene und interaktive Workshop lädt Kreative jeden Alters dazu ein, in ein kollaboratives Universum der bewegten Lichtmalerei einzutauchen.

ZusammenHelfenInOberoesterreich_Land-OOE_web

ZusammenKommenLab

Das ZusammenKommenLab dient Engagierten, Interessierten und geflüchteten Menschen zudem als Ort des Austauschs und gemeinsamen Tuns.

zukunftswerkstatt_aec_web

ZUKUNFTSWERKSTATT @ Festival

In der Zukunftswerkstatt entstehen selbst produzierte Kurzfilme, Reportagen, Blogs und Animationsclips. Von der Ideenfindung über die Dreharbeiten bis hin zum Schnitt und zur finalen Präsentation wird dabei gemeinsam in Teams an der Umsetzung gearbeitet.

Symposiumsreihe_Perspektiven_politischer_Bildung_tom-mesic_web

Symposiumsreihe Perspektiven Politischer Bildung

„Ich mach’ mir die Welt, widiwidiwie sie mir gefällt …“ sang Pippi Langstrumpf in der legendären TV-Kinderserie der 60er- und 70er-Jahre des vorigen Jahrhunderts. Wie geht es Kindern, Jugendlichen, aber auch Erwachsenen heute, die in einer globalisierten und digitalisierten Welt aufwach(s)en?

Tinkerbots_Workshop-1204_Tinkerbots-Kinematics-GmbH_2_web

Tinkerbots

Tinkerbots ist ein einzigartiger Baukasten für kleine und große Kinder. Damit kann jeder auf ganz einfache Weise unzählige unterschiedliche Roboter bauen und steuern. Der Baukasten besteht aus aktiven Modulen und passiven Bausteinen.

Emergency Exit

Emergency Exit

Emergency Exit ist ein Film zum Thema Flucht, der mit einer 360-Grad-Kamera produziert und somit für eine Virtual-Reality-Brille konzipiert ist. Er handelt von einer Protagonistin, die sich aufgrund von sozialem Druck aus ihrer Realität in die Realität ihrer Computerspiele flüchtet.

TagTool_DeepSpace_MartinHieslmair_web

Tagtool Launch Event

OMAi lädt ein zum Launch-Event der neuen Tagtool-App, das am DO 7. September 2017, um 18 Uhr im CENTRAL Linz stattfinden wird. Der Eintritt ist frei. Die Tagtool-Schöpfer stellen die neue App vor, zeigen die spannenden neuen Features und sprechen über ihre Zukunftspläne.

camcar

CamCar

Die Idee hinter CamCar ist es, ein Kamerafahrzeug zu entwickeln, das mit allen Kameraarten (z. B. Spiegelreflexkameras) kompatibel ist.

StereNarrativity_ContentDemo2_KrmpfKrmpfStudios_web

Stereonarrativity

3D oder Stereoskopie ist eine im Kino weit verbreitete Technik, um dem Publikum eine immersive Erfahrung zu ermöglichen. Nichtsdestotrotz scheint niemand die Technologie dazu zu benutzen, andere immersive Geschichten zu erfinden. Stereonarrativity ist ein Versuch, diese 3D-Technologie für künstlerische Zwecke einzusetzen.

amazingcoco

BNC – The Amazing Coco Girls

In einem dreitägigen Trickfilmworkshop an der Media High School am BORG15 entwickelten die SchülerInnen den Legetrickfilm BNC – The Amazing Coco Girls.

Big Poop Data

Big Poop Data (.com)

Big Poop Data versteht sich als kritischer Kommentar zur um sich greifenden Sammelwut hinsichtlich digitaler Daten und Plädoyer für den Schutz unserer digitalen Privatsphäre.

fm4_spielekammerl_web

FM4 Spielekammerl live am Ars Electronica Festival

Beim Ars Electronica Festival bestreitet das FM4 Spielekammerl-Team seine ersten Außeneinsätze! Passend zum diesjährigen Fokus auf künstliche Intelligenz werden vor allem Sci-Fi-Games sowie Titel von jungen u19-EntwicklerInnen gespielt werden.

youarepresident

You are President

Im Spiel You are President ist der Spieler oder die Spielerin Staatsoberhaupt eines fiktiven Landes. Seine Entscheidungen haben Einfluss auf sechs Faktoren: Diplomatie, Wirtschaft, Finanzen, Bevölkerungszufriedenheit, Umwelt und Militär. Ziel des Spieles ist es, erfolgreich zu handeln und das Land positiv zu leiten. Hinter allen Faktoren stecken Scores, die der Spieler oder die Spielerin durch die jeweiligen Entscheidungen positiv oder negativ beeinflussen kann.

ROBO_CAR_Hedgehog_Practical-Robotics-Institute-Austria_web

RoboCar

Durch RoboCar sollen Jugendliche die Tätigkeiten und Perspektiven der IKT-Branche (IT, Kommunikation und Technologie) anhand eines trendigen, „coolen“ Beispiels kommuniziert werden.

Point of View

Point of View

Während im übrigen u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD FESTIVAL vieles unmittelbar an den sogenannten Open Labs ausprobiert oder in Gesprächen erfahren werden kann, gibt es hier einiges, das erst bei genauerem Hinsehen entdeckt werden kann und erst dann zur Erscheinung tritt, wenn man bereit ist, den eigenen Standpunkt zu wechseln.

AI Music

Damit der Roboter Musik spielen kann, kommt innovative 3D-Druck-Technologie zum Einsatz: Wie ein wahrer Virtuose konzentriert sich der Roboter auf seine Musik und nicht auf seine Umgebung. Deshalb benötigt der Roboter eine weiche und aufblasbare AirSkin, die durch 3D-Druck angepasst wurde.

pselernspiele

PSE-Lernspiele

Bei PSE-Lernspiele geht es ums spielerische Erarbeiten des Periodensystems der Elemente mit Karten, Würfeln, Atommodellen und anderen Spielideen – für Lehrende zur Gestaltung des Unterrichts und für Schüler und Schülerinnen zum eigenständigen und spielerischen Lernen zu Hause.

ninja-training_flickr_web

Ninja Training

Im Film „Ninja Training“ vom großen Lego-Fan Jonathan Wimmer will ein Junge ein Ninja werden und muss die verschiedenen Kampftechniken erlernen.

Show your character

Show Your Character ist ein Projekt von SchülerInnen der HBLA für künstlerische Gestaltung unter der Leitung von David Panhofer im Fach „Mediale Bildbearbeitung“. Ein gesamtes Sommersemester beschäftigte sich die Schulklasse mit dem Thema „Characterdesign“.

thaibox

Thaiboxbrüderschaft

In dem Musikvideo zum selbst komponierten bzw. produzierten Rap-Song Thaiboxbrüderschaft handelt es sich um eine Gangster-Rap-Parodie.

perspektiv

Point of View Lab

Im gesamten Festivalgelände kann man sogenannte Anamorphosen an den Wänden und Raumdecke entdecken. Bei dieser Malstation kann man selbst ausprobieren, wie solche Verzerrungen erstellt werden.

schwarzeweg

Schwarze Weg, Weiße Weg

Der Film Schwarze Weg, Weiße Weg erzählt von zwei Freunden, die nach der Flucht aus Afghanistan gemeinsam in Österreich angekommen sind.

phi

Phi – Horror Short Film

Der Kurzfilm Phi ist ein im Rahmen eines Schulprojekts entstandenes Projekt zum Thema Horror. Phi soll dieses Thema auf eine etwas andere Art beleuchten als klassische Horrorfilme.

Jospeh Herscher

Jugendbegegnungsprojekt

Das Jugendbegegnungsprojekt ist ein Workshop mit dem Künstler Jospeh Herscher, der über den gesamten Festivalzeitraum mit einer internationalen Gruppe Jugendlichen in der POSTCITY stattfindet.

u19 Ceremony

u19 Ceremony

Die u19 Ceremony versammelt alle GewinnerInnen des diesjährigen u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD Prix. Die jungen GewinnerInnen sind das Herzstück dieser Veranstaltung, denn es werden nicht nur ihre Projekte präsentiert, sondern sie erhalten auch die Möglichkeit in einem kurzen Interview ihre eigene Begeisterung direkt an uns weiterzugeben.

Workshop mit Jugendlichen des BFI Oberösterreich

Seit Frühjahr 2017 besteht zwischen Ars Electronica Center und BFI eine Kooperation, in deren Rahmen Jugendlichen die Möglichkeit haben, an Projekten des Ars Electronica Festivals im September aktiv mitzuarbeiten. Das Ziel dieser Kooperation ist es, Jugendlichen neue Perspektiven zu eröffnen und deren Selbstbewusstsein zu stärken – als Grundbaustein für deren berufliche Zukunft. Mit der Unterstützung von ExpertInnen lernen Jugendliche an fünf Terminen, wie man ein ferngesteuertes Modellauto in ein selbstfahrendes Auto umbauen kann.

Kids Tour

Kids Tour

Die Kids Tour führt Kinder zwischen 8 und 14 Jahren durch die POSTCITY. Gemeinsam entdecken wir u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD, das Zukunftsfestival der nächsten Generation, und viele andere spannende Orte.