Site areas:
CampusExhibitions, ProjectsProgramm

Recomposition of Human Presence: Waves, Material, and Intelligence

Simulated-Percussions_Kenta_Suzuki_web
Credit: Kenta Suzuki

From Human Society towards Digital Nature and Computational Incubated Diversity

Digital Nature Group at the University of Tsukuba, Pixie Dust Technologies Inc. (JP)

How can we redefine our human presence? The Digital Nature Group has focused on researching the relationship between waves, material and intelligence by computational environments towards building feedback loops between human intelligence and machine intelligence. From the viewpoint of computer science research, they are prototyping the systems to combine wave engineering, organic and meta-materials by digital fabrication and deep learning in order to discover the new ecosystem in the digital age.

The Digital Nature Group consists of over forty people, including students, researchers and the professor, who are all interested in wave engineering, machine learning, materials research. They are promoting research and development not only for academic research but also for use in society.

Like their prototype series, they are developing software that can output the alternative clothes designs by famous designers through deep learning in order to form making loops between ordinary designers and machine intelligence, developing automated wheelchairs and prosthetic body aids, and forming loops including the spatial recognition of machine intelligence with the relationship between light, sound and human body. All of these projects are based on the link between digital fabrication technology, wave-engineering technology and machine-learning technology.

What you see in such prototypes is a direction that differs from modern standardized social forms, modern mass-production formats or mass-communication styles. They define their view of the world as computationally incubated diversity, and by tackling the expansion of the body, expansion of the production process, audiovisual communication by holographic wave engineering for individual communication, and machine intelligence. They are trying to use these emerging technologies to figure out the digital-age ecosystem. This is what they always keep in mind in the process of combining art, science and technology, and thereby trying to solve real social problems using such technologies. The technology meme known as technium, which arises here, seems to be Japanese style and has its own cultural perspective as well.

Credits

Yoichi Ochiai, Atsushi Shinoda, Akira Ishii, Keisuke Kawahara, Amy Koike, Junjian Zhang, Kazuki Takazawa, Kensuke Abe, Kotaro Omomo, Natsumi Kato, Ryota Kawamura, Satoshi Hashizume, Ooi Chun Wei, Yaohao Chen, Hiroki Hasada, Keita Kanai, Mose Sakashita, Naoya Muramatsu, Shingo Uzawa, Yuki Koyama, Yuta Sato, Chihiro Murakami, Ippei Suzuki, Kenta Yamamoto, Shinji Sakamoto, Ayaka Ebisu, Daitetsu Sato, Hiroyuki Osone, Kubokawa Kazuyoshi, Riku Iwasaki, Tatsuya Minagawa, Taisuke Ohshima, Akira Hashimoto, Wataru Kaji, Yuta Ito, Kazuki Otao, Kengo Tanaka, Kohei Ogawa, Kent Kishima, Shinnosuke Ando, Shouki Imai, Yusuke Tanemura

All projects are supervised by Prof. Yoichi Ochiai.

Supported by: Digital Nature Group, University of Tsukuba, Pixie Dust Technologies Inc.

DeepWear

Natsumi Kato (JP), Hiroyuki Osone (JP)

We present DeepWear, a method using deep learning for clothes design. DeepWear designing clothes system use DCGAN to generate images and designers make clothes by receiving inspiration from those images.

Coded Skeleton

Taisuke Ohshima (JP), Miyu Iwafune (JP)

Coded Skeleton is a material that transforms into preprogrammed motions by using simple linear actuators. This property of the material is provided by a 3D-printable geometric structure. The motion is designed by original software that generates a 3D-printable structure that is flexible only in the designed motion but stiff in other deformations. We call this property “isolated flexibility.” It realizes precisely controllable elastic motion by using simple linear actuators, and the design system that has been developed enables us to design the motion of the Coded Skeleton.

Stimulated Percussions

Ayaka Ebisu (JP), Yuta Sato (JP)

Electrical stimulation turns muscles into machines. The body controlled by the program produces rhythms. This is a new method for musical performances which aims to beat out rhythms for beginners. It is easy to play different rhythms simultaneously with the right hand and the left hand.

Live Jacket

Yoichi Ochiai (JP), HAKUHODO Inc. (JP), Go inc. (JP), Kenta Suzuki (JP), Shinji Sakamoto (JP)

Our Live Jacket demonstration allows visitors to wear a jacket with built-in speakers and to listen to music over the whole body. There are 22 built-in speakers which play music from every part of the jacket, so visitors can experience wrap-around sound. In addition, the sounds change depending on the movement of the person wearing it.

Immersive Light Field

Kazuki Otao (JP)

This head-mounted display (HMD) system makes it possible to project images directly into human pupils and to see the environment through an HMD. This system provides an unprecedentedly wide angle and shows the possibility of metamaterials that have properties that do not exist in nature.

Printed Absorbent

Kohei Ogawa (JP), Hiroki Hasada (JP), Kensuke Abe (JP), Kenta Yamamoto (JP)

In this work, we fabricated the structure which causes capillary phenomena. These plants are grown by the structure. Look forward to how it will grow.

Telewheelchair

Satoshi Hashizume (JP), Kazuki Takazawa (JP), Ippei Suzuki (JP)

This telepresence system provides remote care by installing functions such as object recognition on a wheelchair.

Seitenbereiche:
CampusExhibitions, ProjectsProgramm

Recomposition of Human Presence: Waves, Material, and Intelligence

Simulated-Percussions_Kenta_Suzuki_web
Credit: Kenta Suzuki

From Human Society towards Digital Nature and Computational Incubated Diversity

Digital Nature Group at the University of Tsukuba, Pixie Dust Technologies Inc. (JP)

Wie können wir unsere menschliche Präsenz neu definieren? Die Digital Nature Group erforscht mittels computergestützten Umgebungen die Beziehungen zwischen Wellen, Material und Intelligenz, um Feedbackschleife zwischen menschlicher Intelligenz und Maschinenintelligenz herzustellen. Vom Standpunkt der Computerwissenschaften aus entwerfen sie prototypische Systeme und kombinieren Wave-Engineering, organische und Meta-Materialien durch digitale Fabrikation und Deep Learning, in der Hoffnung, neue Ökosysteme für das digitale Zeitalter zu entdecken.

Die Digital Nature Group besteht aus über 40 Personen – Studierende, ForscherInnen und der ProfessorInenn –, die sich alle mit Wave-Engineering, Maschinelles Lernen und Materialforschung beschäftigen. Sie unterstützen die Forschung und Entwicklung nicht nur im akademischen Bereich, sondern vor allem auch für den praktischen Einsatz in der Gesellschaft.

Wie in ihren Prototypenserien entwickelt sie mittels Deep Learning Software für alternative Bekleidungsdesigns, die von berühmten Designern und Designerinnen inspiriert sind. So stellen sie eine Verbindung zwischen menschlichen Designern und Designerinnen und maschineller Intelligenz her. Desweiteren entwickeln die Mitglieder automatisierte Rollstühle und prothetische Hilfen und verbinden dank der Spatial-Recognition-Fähigkeiten maschineller Intelligenz Licht, Klang und menschliche Körper. Alle Projekte basieren auf dem Zusammenspiel von digitaler Fabrikation, Wave-Engineering und maschinellem Lernen.

Diese Prototypen weisen in eine Richtung, die sich wesentlich von modernen standardisierten gesellschaftlichen Formaten, von moderner Massenproduktion oder -kommunikation unterscheidet. Sie sehen die Welt als eine rechnerisch inkubierte Vielfalt, in der Körper, Produktionsprozesse und audiovisuelle Kommunikation mittels holografischem Wave-Engineering in der individuellen Kommunikation sowie mittels Maschinenintelligenz erweitert werden. Dabei versuchen sie mit diesen aufkommenden Technologien ein Ökosystem für das digitale Zeitalter zu entwerfen. Diese Überlegungen schwingen stets mit, wenn Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie kombiniert werden, um mittels Technologie reale gesellschaftliche Probleme zu lösen. Das Meme „Technium“, das hier ins Spiel kommt, scheint japanisch geprägt zu sein und hat folglich auch seine eigene kulturelle Perspektive.

Credits

Yoichi Ochiai, Atsushi Shinoda, Akira Ishii, Keisuke Kawahara, Amy Koike, Junjian Zhang, Kazuki Takazawa, Kensuke Abe, Kotaro Omomo, Natsumi Kato, Ryota Kawamura, Satoshi Hashizume, Ooi Chun Wei, Yaohao Chen, Hiroki Hasada, Keita Kanai, Mose Sakashita, Naoya Muramatsu, Shingo Uzawa, Yuki Koyama, Yuta Sato, Chihiro Murakami, Ippei Suzuki, Kenta Yamamoto, Shinji Sakamoto, Ayaka Ebisu, Daitetsu Sato, Hiroyuki Osone, Kubokawa Kazuyoshi, Riku Iwasaki, Tatsuya Minagawa, Taisuke Ohshima, Akira Hashimoto, Wataru Kaji, Yuta Ito, Kazuki Otao, Kengo Tanaka, Kohei Ogawa, Kent Kishima, Shinnosuke Ando, Shouki Imai, Yusuke Tanemura

All projects are supervised by Prof. Yoichi Ochiai.

Supported by: Digital Nature Group, University of Tsukuba, Pixie Dust Technologies Inc.

DeepWear

Natsumi Kato (JP), Hiroyuki Osone (JP)

Diese Bilder wurden mittels DCGAN erstellt, einer Deep-Learning-Technologie für Bildgenerierung, die lernt, welche Merkmale Kleidungsstücke des spezifische designer, um daraus entsprechende Bilder zu generieren.

Coded Skeleton

Taisuke Ohshima (JP), Miyu Iwafune (JP)

Coded Skeleton ist ein Material, das dank simpler Linearaktoren vorprogrammierte Bewegungen ausführen kann. Diese Materialeigenschaft beruht auf einer 3D-druckbaren geometrischen Struktur. Die Bewegung wird von der Originalsoftware vorgegeben, die eine 3D-druckbare Struktur generiert, die flexibel ist, solange es sich um die designte Bewegung handelt, bei anderen Deformierungen aber steif bleibt. Diese Eigenschaft kann als „isolierte Flexibilität“ beschrieben werden. Dank der Linearaktoren ergibt sich eine genau steuerbare, elastische Bewegung. Das Designsystem ermöglicht es, die Bewegung des Coded Skeleton zu bestimmen.

Stimulated Percussions

Ayaka Ebisu (JP), Yuta Sato (JP)

Elektrische Stimulierung verwandelt Muskeln in Maschinen. Der vom Programm gesteuerte Körper produziert Rhythmen. Dies ist eine neue Methode für Musikperformances, die zum Ziel hat AnfängerInnen das Schlagen von Rhythmen beizubringen. Diese können leicht verschiedene Rhythmen mit der rechten und der linken Hand gleichzeitig spielen.

Live Jacket

Yoichi Ochiai (JP), HAKUHODO Inc. (JP), Go inc. (JP), Kenta Suzuki (JP), Shinji Sakamoto (JP)

Bei unserer Live Jacket-Demonstration können BesucherInnen eine Jacke mit eingebauten Lautsprechern tragen und so Musik mit dem ganzen Körper hören. Insgesamt sind 22 Lautsprecher in die Jacke eingebaut, sodass die BesucherInnen eine Rundum-Musikerfahrung machen. Außerdem verändert sich der Sound abhängig von den Bewegungen der die Jacke tragenden Person.

Immersive Light Field

Kazuki Otao (JP)

Dieses System für ein Head-Mounted Display (HMD) projiziert Bilder direkt in die menschliche Pupille, sodass man die Umgebung durch ein HMD wahrnehmen kann. Das System weist einen völlig neuartigen Weitwinkel auf und zeigt, welche Möglichkeiten sich dank Metamaterialien auftun, die in der Natur nicht existierende Eigenschaften haben.

Printed Absorbent

Kohei Ogawa (JP), Hiroki Hasada (JP), Kensuke Abe (JP), Kenta Yamamoto (JP)

Diese Arbeit zeigt Strukturen, die aufgrund des Kapillaritäteffekts Pflanzenwachstum ermöglichen.

Telewheelchair

Satoshi Hashizume (JP), Kazuki Takazawa (JP), Ippei Suzuki (JP)

Dieses Telepresence-System bietet Fernwartung durch die Integration von Funktionen wie die der Objekterkennung auf einem Rollstuhl.