Site areas:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlightsProgramm

STARTS Prize Exhibition 2017

THU Sept. 7-SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 10:00 AM-7:30 PM
MON Sept. 11, 2017, 10:00 AM-6:00 PM
POSTCITY, First Floor / STARTS Area
STARTS Prize 2017

Appointed by the European Commission, Ars Electronica in collaboration with BOZAR and Waag Society has launched a prize to select the most pioneering collaborations and results in the field of creativity and innovation at the nexus of science and technology with the arts. Ars Electronica 2017 presents a selection of the prizewinning and nominated works of STARTS Prize 2017.

This project is presented in the framework of STARTS Prize 2017. STARTS Prize has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 732019.

eulogos2017

Rockprint

Rock Print: a Manistone

After the groundbreaking exhibition of Rock Print at the first Chicago Architecture Biennial 2015 “Rock Print: a Manistone” demonstrates the significant advances of the ongoing research in jammed architectural structures at ETH Zurich.

imhumanity_web

I’m Humanity

The project “l’m Humanity” is based on the concept of “post-humanity music” and explores how new music will be transmitted, recorded, mutated, and diffused whether sung or played via word of mouth, as scores, through radio, records and CDs, or cloud computing.

sonicplanet

Monastic Vowels of a Computational Kind

Religion projects the design thoughts and creation laws of a super being, a creator able to demonstrate super-complex structures. The human fear of the unknown and of the inexplicable around us welcomes a super being, a common accepted way of reasoning.

makedomend

Make Do and Mend: Controlled Commodity

“Make Do and Mend: Controlled Commodity” references the 75th anniversary of the first use of penicillin in a human patient in 1941 and takes the form of an altered wartime woman’s dress marked with the British Board of Trade’s utility logo CC41, which stands for “Controlled Commodity 1941”.

algaeriumbioprinter

Algaerium Bioprinter and Algae Printing

Modern algal biotechnology is largely motivated by technocracy in response to food and energy crises. This biotechnological work seeks the utilization of microalgae not for technocratic ends but for a reconstruction of social practice at an ‘ecosophical’ intersection.

kovr

Project KOVR

We humans are creating an enormous invisible network on top of our existing biosphere–the infosphere. The infosphere consists of networks and radio waves. lt’s our new, ever-expanding environment that is growing at a staggering rate.

duoskin

DuoSkin

DuoSkin is a fabrication process that enables anyone to create customized functional devices that can be attached directly on their skin.

mimus

Mimus: Coming face-to-face with our companion species

Mimus is a giant industrial robot that’s curious about the world around her. Unlike in traditional industrial robots, Mimus has no pre-planned movements–she is programmed with the autonomy to roam about her enclosure.

ignisaer

[IGNIS AER AQUA TERRA]

Long ago in history was the belief that the four elements–fire, wind, water, and earth–could combine together as one to birth a never before known substance. Today, this is an unrealistic fantasy, however, by incorporating the latest in technology, the designer imagined the future of clothing in this collection.

sentientveil

Sentient Veil

Sentient Veil is a jewel-like canopy containing multiple miniature sound processors interwoven with hundreds of digitally controlled lights installed within the historic galleries of the lsabella Stewart Gardner Museum.

humanisingautonomy

Blink: Humanising Autonomy

Autonomous vehicles create the opportunity to redefine the relationship between pedestrians and vehicles in the city of the future.

treelab

treelab

The goal of our artistic-scientific research project trees: Rendering Ecophysiological Processes Audible, was to connect sounds that occur in trees with ecophysiological processes and thus investigate and render perceptible processes in plants that are not noticeable to humans.

riatresearch

Research Institute for Arts and Technology

Production in the 21st century works with distributed authorship and identities-artists present their processes “coded” in the fragmentations of global networks. Contemporary artistic output is developed out of collective inquiries, research processes are results of distributed agency between humans, machines, and programs.

Seitenbereiche:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlightsProgramm

STARTS Prize Exhibition 2017

DO 7.9.-SO 10.9.2017, 10:00-19:30
MO 11.9.2017, 10:00-18:00
POSTCITY, First Floor / STARTS Area
STARTS Prize 2017

Im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission hat Ars Electronica in Zusammenarbeit mit BOZAR and Waag Society einen Wettbewerb ausgeschrieben, bei dem innovative Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Kunst ausgezeichnet wurden. Ars Electronica 2017 zeigt eine Auswahl der ausgezeichneten und nominierten Arbeiten des STARTS Prize 2017.

This project is presented in the framework of STARTS Prize 2017. STARTS Prize has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 732019.

eulogos2017

Rockprint

Rock Print: a Manistone

Nach der bahnbrechenden Präsentation von Rock Print bei der ersten Chicagoer Architektur-Biennale im Jahr 2015 veranschaulicht „Rock Print: a Manistone“ die jüngsten Fortschritte der Forschung zu „Jammed Architecture“ an der ETH Zürich.

imhumanity_web

I’m Humanity

Das Projekt I’m Humanity basiert auf der Idee einer „posthumanitären Musik“ und erforscht, wie neue Musik gesungen oder gespielt, übertragen, aufgezeichnet und variiert sowie in der Folge als Partitur, via Radio, Schallplatten und CDs oder Cloud Computing verbreitet werden kann.

sonicplanet

Monastic Vowels of a Computational Kind

Religion ist der Ausdruck von Designüberlegungen und Schöpfungsgesetzen eines Superwesens, eines Schöpfers, der extrem komplexe Strukturen an den Tag legen kann. Die Angst des Menschen vor dem Unbekannten und Unerklärlichen rund um uns lässt uns ein Superwesen willkommen heißen – so eine allgemein anerkannte Vorstellung.

makedomend

Make Do and Mend: Controlled Commodity

Make Do and Mend: Controlled Commodity nimmt in Form eines bearbeiteten Damenkostüms aus der Zeit des Zweiten Weltkriegs Bezug auf den 75. Jahrestag des erstmaligen Einsatzes von Penicillin an einem Patienten im Jahr 1941.

algaeriumbioprinter

Algaerium Bioprinter and Algae Printing

Die aktuelle Algenbiotechnologie ist infolge von Nahrungsmittel- und Energiekrisen großteils von technokratischen Erwägungen bestimmt. Bei diesem biotechnologischen Projekt werden Mikroalgen nicht zu technokratischen Zwecken verwendet, sondern zur Rekonstruktion einer sozialen Praxis an einem „ökosophischen“ Schnittpunkt.

kovr

Project KOVR

Wir Menschen schaffen ein gigantisches unsichtbares Netzwerk über unserer Biosphäre: die Infosphäre. Diese aus einem unsichtbaren Netzwerk und Funkwellen bestehende Infosphäre ist unser neues, sich unablässig erweiterndes Umfeld, das in atemberaubendem Tempo wächst.

duoskin

DuoSkin

DuoSkin ist ein Verfahren, mit dem auf einfache Weise Smart Tattoos hergestellt werden können, die zur Steuerung von Geräten dienen. Wir verwenden dafür Blattgold, ein Material, das preiswert, hautfreundlich und alltagstauglich ist.

mimus

Mimus: Coming face-to-face with our companion species

Mimus ist ein gigantischer Industrieroboter, der große Neugierde an seiner Umgebung und der Welt und hat. Im Unterschied zu herkömmlichen Industrierobotern, die vorprogrammierte Bewegungen ausführen, verfügt Mimus über die Autonomie, frei umherzustreifen.

ignisaer

[IGNIS AER AQUA TERRA]

Vor langer Zeit glaubte man, dass die vier Elemente – Feuer, Wind, Wasser und Erde – durch Mischung die Vielfalt der Stoffe bilden. Zwar gilt diese Vorstellung heute als überholt, doch hat die Idee, durch Kombination eine unendliche Vielfalt schaffen zu können, Yuima Nakazato zu dieser Modekollektion inspiriert, die mithilfe neuester Technologien realisiert wird.

sentientveil

Sentient Veil

Sentient Veil ist ein an einen Baldachin erinnerndes skulpturales Gebilde aus Stoff in den historischen Galerieräume des lsabella Stewart Gardner Museum. In diese Skulptur sind zahlreiche Miniatur-Klangprozessoren verwoben, die mit Hunderten digital gesteuerten Leuchten verbunden sind.

humanisingautonomy

Blink: Humanising Autonomy

Blink ist ein bidirektionales Kommunikationsgerät, das dieser Interaktion mit fahrerlosen Autos durch eine neue Sprache einen menschlichen Zug verleiht, indem es die Intention des Fahrzeugs kommuniziert und den Einfluss der FußgängerInnen auf dessen Entscheidungen erhöht.

treelab

treelab

Ziel unseres künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Forschungsprojekts trees: Ökophysiologishce Prozesse hörbar machen war es, Klänge, die in Bäumen durch ökophysiologischer Prozesse entstehen, aufzunehmen und zu verstärken und auf diese Weise für Menschen nicht wahrnehmbare Prozesse in Pflanzen erkennbar zu machen und zu erforschen.

riatresearch

Research Institute for Arts and Technology

Im 21. Jahrhundert werden Werke mit verteilter Autorschaft und verteilten Identitäten produziert – die Künstler präsentieren ihre Arbeitsprozesse „kodiert“ in den zerstreuten Strukturen globaler Netzwerke. Das zeitgenössische künstlerische Schaffen wird in kollektiver Praxis entwickelt, Forschungsprozesse sind Ergebnisse eines zwischen Menschen, Maschinen und Programmen verteilten Agens.