Site areas:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlights

The Practice of Art and Science

THU Sept. 7-SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 10:00 AM-7:30 PM
MON Sept. 11, 2017, 10:00 AM-6:00 PM
POSTCITY
Ready to Crawl
Credit: Hiroshi Sugihara


The rapprochement, as it were, of art and science, the artistic exploration of new applications, is a key factor in the increasingly social dimension of new technologies in order to comprehend how reciprocal human-machine relationships, interactions among individuals and globally networked systems can not only be better understood but, above all, better designed. International crews of artists and scientists have taken up this task, and now present their works in this exhibition space.

FoG_MitsuruMuramatsu2_web

F.o.G.—Face on Globe

F.o.G.—Face on Globe is a concept used to study interactions between humans and artifacts. Most interactive robots are designed to have human likeness in order to make their interactions with people more natural.

al-dente_Kotaro-Tanimichi_1_web

al-dente

al-dente is a prototype to control an object’s stiffness using a complex structure realized by additive manufacturing (AM) technology. AM, used in 3D printing, permits the fabrication of complex shapes and can be used to produce physical properties that have previously been hard to control.

ad-infinitum_Arthur-Silber_1_web

Ad Infinitum: a parasite that lives off human energy

Ad Infinitum: a parasite that lives off human energy is a parasitic entity that lives off human energy. This parasite reverses humankind’s dominant role with respect to technologies: the parasite shifts humans from “users” to “used”.

Julian Jauk

A living piece of architecture

A living piece of architecture is a conceptual utopian design for housing beyond smart homes, intended to overcome existing dualisms such as digital and material, artificial and natural.

authorrise@_2_web

(author)rise

Through author(rise), the artists investigate how this relationship evolves, when the substitution leaks out of the mental domain and into our physical body

Dermal-Abyss_XinLiu_web

The Dermal Abyss

The Dermal Abyss creates a direct access to the compartments in the body and reflects inner metabolic processes in the shape of a tattoo. Traditional tattoo inks are replaced with biosensors whose color changes.

Perpetuum-Mobile_CynthiaZaven_web

Perpetuum Mobile

Perpetuum Mobile is a composition for a twelve-channel sound installation. Twelve loudspeakers stand in a circle. Every second a note moves from one speaker to the next, clockwise.

hades2_web

Hades

Light as a reference to the soul and consciousness glows in a gelatin cube, thus at the same time serving as a source of information.

Delivery-Graphics_StefanTiefengraber_web

Delivery Graphic

Delivery Graphic is a drawing machine that creates graphics generated by being transported between two places.

Transparent-Intent_web

Transparent Intent

Exploring the future of the interface, we predict a future where objects can be controlled subconsciously. As technology evolves and the boundaries between the physical and digital begin to blur, new interfaces are needed.

MetabolAI_DaniilPrimak_web

MetabolA.I.

This work illustrates a future scenario in which an artificial intelligence creates new life forms and controls its development. This project is a techno-biological installation consisting of hardware, software and wetware.

READY-TO-CRAWL_YasushiKato_web

Ready to Crawl

Ready to Crawl is a project of 3D-printed organic-like robots. By printing everything except the motor as one unit, the robots are born with a completed shape like real creatures. After the robots have been printed by a selective laser sintering machine, excess nylon powder is removed, a motor is inserted, and then they start crawling.

Papilion_JST-ERATO-Kawahara-Universal-Information-Network-Project_2_web

Papilion

Papilion is an environmentally responsive experimental architecture making use of soft robotics technology. The surface covering the dome can change shape by the wing-like units using actuators driven by temperature conditions. It seems that the building itself is breathing.

Mythos-von-Theuth_Eva-Maria-Dreisiebner_1_web

Myth of Theuth

When he came to the alphabet, Theuth said: “This art, O king, will make the Egyptians wiser and richer in memory.” This is the myth of the invention of writing according to Plato’s Phaidros, which Myth of Theuth takes as base for a playful examination of media theories.

hananona_Yoshiyuki-Yatsuda_2_web

hananona

The latest AI research makes it possible to teach computers the names of things by showing them many examples. The key is a large amount of training data and deep learning software. By leveraging this, the artists have developed an AI capable of classifying 406 kinds of flower by using over 300,000 flower pictures.

Seitenbereiche:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlights

Die Praxis von Kunst und Wissenschaft

DO 7.9.-SO 10.9.2017, 10:00-19:30
MO 11.9.2017, 10:00-18:00
POSTCITY
Ready to Crawl
Credit: Hiroshi Sugihara


Die Annäherung zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft und die künstlerische Erkundung neuer Anwendungen bilden einen Schlüsselfaktor für das Verständnis der sozial immer relevanteren Dimensionen neuer Technologien. Sie helfen uns nicht nur zu verstehen, wie Mensch-Maschinen-Beziehungen und Interaktionen zwischen Individuen oder global vernetzten Systemen verbessert werden können, sondern vor allem auch dabei, wie schon der Designprozess selbst optimiert werden kann. Internationale Teams von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler haben sich dieser Aufgabe gestellt und präsentieren nun ihre Arbeiten im Rahmen dieser Ausstellung.

FoG_MitsuruMuramatsu2_web

F.o.G.—Face on Globe

F.o.G.—Face on Globe untersucht die Interaktionen zwischen Menschen und künstlichen Artefakten. Die meisten interaktiven Roboter sind so konzipiert, dass sie menschlich aussehen, um ihre Interaktionen natürlicher wirken zu lassen.

al-dente_Kotaro-Tanimichi_1_web

al-dente

al-dente ist ein Prototyp, der die Steifheit von Objekten regulieren kann, indem er komplexe Strukturen, hergestellt durch additive Fertigungstechnologie (AM), verwendet. AM wird bei 3-D-Drucken verwendet.

ad-infinitum_Arthur-Silber_1_web

Ad Infinitum: a parasite that lives off human energy

Ad Infinitum: a parasite that lives off human energy ist eine parasitäres Wesen, das von menschlicher Energie lebt. Dieser Parasit kehrt die Dominanz des Menschen über Technologie um: Er drängt den Menschen von der Rolle der NutzerInnen in die Rolle der Benutzten.

a-living-piece-of-architecture_JulianJauk-2_web

A living piece of architecture

A living piece of architecture (oder „Ein lebendiges Stück Architektur”) ist ein konzeptueller und utopischer Entwurf für eine Architektur jenseits von „smart homes”, der anstrebt, bestehende Dualismen wie digital und materiell, künstlich und natürlich zu überwinden.

authorrise@_2_web

(author)rise

Mit author(rise) untersuchen die Künstler, wie sich diese Beziehung verändert, wenn sich der Austausch von der mentalen auf die physische Ebene verschiebt. Sie entwickelten ein handschriftliches System, in dem die Hand als Ersatz für die künstliche Intelligenz Gedanken notiert.

Dermal-Abyss_XinLiu_web

The Dermal Abyss

The Dermal Abyss schafft einen direkten Zugang zu den verschiedenen Bereichen des menschlichen Körpers und reflektiert Stoffwechselprozesse in Form eines Tattoos. Die beim Tätowieren üblicherweise verwendeten Farben werden durch Biosensoren ersetzt, deren Farben wechseln.

Perpetuum-Mobile_CynthiaZaven_web

Perpetuum Mobile

Perpetuum Mobile ist eine Komposition für eine 12-Kanal-Klanginstallation. Zwölf Lautsprecher stehen im Kreis. Jede Sekunde erklingt eine Note, die im Uhrzeigersinn von einem zum anderen wechselt.

hades2_web

Hades

Das Licht als Referenz auf die Seele und das Bewusstsein glimmt in einem Gelantinewürfel und dient gleichzeitig als Informationsquelle der Negentropie.

Delivery-Graphics_StefanTiefengraber_web

Delivery Graphic

Delivery Graphic ist ein Zeichengerät, das Grafiken gestaltet, während es von einem Ort zum anderen transportiert wird.

Transparent-Intent_web

Transparent Intent

Indem wir Interfaces erforschen und weiterentwickeln, gestalten wir eine Zukunft, in der Objekte unbewusst kontrolliert werden können. Während neue Technologien entstehen und die Grenzen zwischen der physischen und der digitalen Welt zusehends verschwimmen, werden neue Interfaces benötigt.

MetabolAI_DaniilPrimak_web

MetabolA.I.

Diese Arbeit illustriert ein Zukunftsszenario, in welchem künstliche Intelligenz neue Lebensformen hervorbringt und deren Entwicklung steuert. Es handelt sich um eine techno-biologische Installation, die aus Hardware, Software und Wetware besteht.

READY-TO-CRAWL_YasushiKato_web

Ready to Crawl

In diesem Projekt werden 3D-gedruckte Roboter wie echte Lebewesen zur Welt gebracht – fertig geformt und bis auf den Motor in einem Stück gedruckt. Eine selektive Laser-Sinter-Maschine druckt die Roboter, danach wird das überschüssige Nylonpulver entfernt und ein Motor eingesetzt, woraufhin sie zu kriechen beginnen.

Papilion_JST-ERATO-Kawahara-Universal-Information-Network-Project_2_web

Papilion

Papilion ist eine experimentelle responsive Architektur, die Soft-Robotik-Technologie nutzt. Die Oberfläche einer Kuppel kann ihre Form durch temperaturgesteuerte Aktuatoren, die flügelartigen Einheiten bewegen, verändern. Es scheint, als würde das Gebilde selbst atmen.

Mythos-von-Theuth_Eva-Maria-Dreisiebner_1_web

Mythos von Theuth

Als er aber an die Buchstaben gekommen, habe Theuth gesagt: „Diese Kunst, o König, wird die Ägypter weiser machen und gedächtnisreicher.“ So lautet der Mythos über die Erfindung der Schrift in Platons Schrift „Phaidros“. Mythos von Theuth nimmt dies als Fundament für eine spielerische Auseinandersetzung mit Medientheorien von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart.

hananona_Yoshiyuki-Yatsuda_2_web

hananona

Die aktuelle Forschung ermöglicht künstlicher Intelligenz anhand von Beispielen und Bildern zu lernen. Das funktioniert mithilfe von großen Mengen an Übungsdaten und Deep Learning Software. hananona ist eine künstliche Intelligenz, die 406 Blumenarten und 300.000 Blumenbilder klassifizieren kann.