The basis of the „European Digital Art and Science Network“ is a big manifold network consisting of two scientific mentoring institutions (ESA, CERN and ESO), representing Europe’s peak in scientific research, the Ars Electronica Futurelab – providing state-of-the-art technical production possibilities in a trans disciplinary discourse, and seven European cultural partners (Center for the promotion of science, RS – DIG Gallery, SK – Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation, ES – Kapelica Gallery / Kersnikova, SI – GV Art, UK – Laboral, ES – Science Gallery, IE) representing strong and various European cultural- and artistic positions.

The main idea of the network is to draw a bow between micro- and macro-cosmos of science and digital arts.

Scientific partner institutions

Photo: ESA / Anneke Le Floc’h

ESA Logo


The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe’s gateway to space. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world. ESA is an international organization with 22 Member States. ESA’s job is to draw up the European space programme and carry it through. ESA’s programmes are designed to find out more about Earth, its immediate space environment, our Solar System and the Universe, as well as to develop satellite-based technologies and services, and to promote European industries. ESA also works closely with space organizations outside Europe.
More about ESA…

Photo: Maximilien Brice / CERN



As the cradle of the World Wide Web and home of the Large Hadron Collider which investigates the mysteries of our universe, the European Organization for Nuclear Research – CERN is an eminent center of the digital culture as well as science and technology. As an international center of excellence in these fields it is an inspirational place for artists and designers to explore and extend their research in order to find new artistic approaches. Arts@CERN is CERN’s arts programme, designed to make creative connections between the worlds of science, the arts and technology. It is part of CERN’s Cultural Policy, agreed in August 2010, which lead to the creation of it flagship arts programme “Collide@CERN Artists Residencies – Creative Collisions between the Arts and Science” – in 2011. The “Collide@CERN” residency programme is already well established and highly regarded, having run successfully for 4 years, with a proven track record in trans-disciplinary artistic excellence and exchange between artists and scientists.
More about CERN…

Photo: ESO/C. Malin

ESO Logo


The European Southern Observatory is an intergovernmental organization that has its headquarters in Munich and its observing facilities in Chile. Founded in 1962 today ESO consists of many different observation facilities which helped to make a lot of important discoveries in astronomy. ESO has built and operated some of the largest and most technologically-advanced telescopes in the world.
More about ESO…

About

Das “European Digital Art and Science Network” basiert auf einem großen vielseitigen Netzwerk. Teil dieses Netzwerkes sind wissenschaftliche Forschungsinstitutionen (ESA, CERN und ESO), welche die Spitze wissenschaftlicher Forschung in Europa und darüber hinaus repräsentieren. Ein weiterer wichtiger Bestandteil ist das Ars Electronica Futurelab, welches über die Jahre Expertisen in Fachgebieten wie Medienkunst, Architektur, Virtual Reality etc. entwickeln konnte und über Produktionsmöglichkeiten auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik verfügen. Darüber hinaus repräsentieren die folgenden Projektpartner die ebenso starken wie unterschiedlichen kulturellen und künstlerischen Positionen in Europa: Center for the promotion of science (RS), DIG Gallery (SK), Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation (ES), Kapelica Gallery / Kersnikova (SI), GV Art (UK), Laboral (ES) und Science Gallery (IE).

Der Leitgedanke des Netzwerks ist es, einen Bogen zwischen Mikro- und Makrokosmos der Wissenschaft und den digitalen Künsten zu spannen.

Wissenschaftliche Partnerinstitutionen


ESA
Foto: ESA / Anneke Le Floc’h

ESA Logo

ESA

Die Europäische Weltraumorganisation (ESA) ist Europas Tür zum Weltraum. Die Mission der ESA ist das Vorantreiben und die Sicherstellung der Entwicklung europäischer Raumfahrtkapazitäten. Investitionen in diesem Bereich sollen langfristig vor allem Vorteile für die BürgerInnen Europas und der Welt liefern. Die ESA ist eine internationale Organisation und besteht aus 22 Mitgliedsstaaten. Zu den Aufgaben der ESA gehört die Erstellung und Umsetzung des europäischen Weltraumprogramms. Primäre Ziele dieser Programme sind die Erforschung der Erde und ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung sowie unseres Sonnensystems und des Universums. Ein weiteres wichtiges Ziel ist die Entwicklung satellitengestützter Technologien und Dienstleistungen sowie die Förderung europäischer Industrien in diesem Sektor.
esa.int
Mehr über ESA…


CERN
Foto: Maximilien Brice / CERN

CERN Logo

CERN

Als Geburtsstätte des World Wide Web und der Heimat des Large Hadron Collider, mittels welchem die Geheimnisse des Universums erforscht werden, ist das CERN – die Europäische Organisation für Kernforschung – ein bedeutender Mittelpunkt von Wissenschaft und Technologie sowie digitaler Kultur. Als internationales Kompetenzzentrum in diesem Bereich fungiert CERN als Ort der Inspiration für KünstlerInnen aus verschiedensten Bereichen. Arts@CERN ist das künstlerische Programm von CERN und soll kreative Verbindungen zwischen der Welt der Wissenschaft, der Kunst und der Technik hervorbringen. Als Teil der im August 2010 unterzeichneten Kulturpolitik von CERN wurde im Jahr 2011 das renommierte „Collide@CERN Residency Programm“ ins Leben gerufen. Dieses Programm blickt heute auf eine vier-jährige Erfolgsbilanz zurück, im Rahmen welcher transdisziplinäre, künstlerische Qualität etabliert sowie der Austausch zwischen KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen gefördert wurde.
arts.web.cern.ch
Mehr über CERN…


ESO
Foto: ESO/C. Malin

ESO Logo

ESO

Die Europäische Südsternwarte (ESO, European Southern Observatory) ist eine zwischenstaatliche Organisation für astronomische Forschung. Die 1962 gegründete ESO betreibt Teleskope an drei einzigartigen Beobachtungsstandorten in Chile, mit deren Hilfe eine Reihe bedeutender Entdeckungen in der Astronomie gemacht wurden. Die ESO konstruierte und betreibt einige der größten und technologisch modernsten Teleskope der Welt.
www.eso.org
Mehr über ESO…