Semiconductor (UK)

semiconductorartistsPhoto Credits: Semiconductor

Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt, two English artists collaborating under the name Semiconductor, are this year’s recipients of the Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award. In the coming months, they will begin a two-month residency at CERN, the world’s largest particle physics research facility in Geneva. Then, their next stop is Linz, where they will spend a month at the Ars Electronica Futurelab.

During their residency, Gerhardt and Jarman aim to create a digital artwork elaborating on the nature of the world and our perception of it, including consideration of how scientific instruments and particle physics discoveries influence our perception of nature.

magmovie

The Collide@CERN Ars Electronica jury, formed by Mónica Bello (ES), Michael Doser (AT), Horst Hörtner (AT), Gerfried Stocker (AT) and Mike Stubbs (UK) has selected the British artist duo Semiconductor (Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt) as the winners of the international competition to provide them with a fully funded 2-months residency at CERN in Geneva and 1-month at Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz. Kerstin Ergenzinger (DE) and Antje Greie-Ripatti (DE) were chosen as the two Honorary Mentions in this fourth edition of the prize. A good field of 161 projects from 53 countries was reviewed by the jury leading to a great debate, discussing what was of value and who would gain most from the opportunity from the Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award. The winning-artists managed to demonstrate through their previous projects a broad sense of speculation, complexity and wonder, using strategies of analysis and translation of the phenomena into tangible and often beautiful forms.

Biography

semiconductorbio

Semiconductor is UK artist duo Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt. In their art works they explore the material nature of our world and how we experience it through the lens of science and technology, questioning how they mediate our experiences. Their unique approach has been singled out for recognition with numerous honours and grants including the Samsung Art + Prize for New Media, a Smithsonian Artist Research Fellowship, a NASA Space Sciences Fellowship and were recipients of a Jerwood Open Forest commission. They have exhibited and screened their works at the House of Electronic Arts in Basel, FACT in Liverpool, the ArtScience Museum in Singapore, the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Royal Academy of Arts in London, the Sundance Film Festival in Utah and at the International Film Festival Rotterdam. Their works “Magnetic Movie” and “Brilliant Noise” are in the permanent collection of the Hirshhorn Museum in Washington DC and the Centre Pompidou in Paris.

More impressions and interviews

Read an interview with the artist duo on our Ars Electronica Blog and take a look at their residency at CERN on our image-rich feature: www.aec.at/feature.

Semiconductor (UK)

semiconductorartistsFoto Credits: Semiconductor

Der Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award geht in diesem Jahr an Ruth Jarman und Joe Gerhardt, ein englisches Künstlerduo, das unter dem Namen Semiconductor auftritt. Gemeinsam werden sie eine zweimonatige Residency am CERN antreten, dem weltgrößten Forschungszentrum für Teilchenphysik in Genf. Im Anschluss steht dann ein einmonatiger Aufenthalt am Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz auf dem Programm.

Im Rahmen ihrer Residency werden Gerhardt und Jarmann an einer digitalen Installation arbeiten, die sich mit der Beschaffenheit und unserer Wahrnehmung der Welt beschäftigt. Darüber hinaus stellen sie die Frage, wie wissenschaftliche Werkzeuge und Entdeckungen aus dem Bereich der Teilchenphysik unsere Wahrnehmung der Natur beeinflussen.

magmovie

Monica Bello (ES), Michael Doser (AT), Horst Hörtner (AT), Gerfried Stocker (AT) und Mike Stubbs (UK) bildeten die Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award Jury. Nach Sichtung aller Einreichungen entschieden sie sich für das englische Künstlerduo Semiconductor (Ruth Jarman und Joe Gerhardt). Die beiden erwartet nun eine vollständig finanzierte zweimonatige Residency am CERN in Genf, gefolgt von einem Monat im Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz. Kerstin Ergenzinger (DE) and Antje Greie-Ripatti (DE) wurden mit Honorary Mentions bedacht. 161 Einreichungen aus 53 Ländern wurden von der Jury gesichtet. Die Gewinner bewiesen bei ihren früheren Arbeiten bereits viel Sinn für Gedankenspiele und komplexe Sachverhalte. bei denen Sie verschiedene Phänomene in konkrete, oftmals wunderschöne Formen verbrachten.

Kurzbiographie

semiconductorbio

Semiconductor, das sind Ruth Jarman und Joe Gerhardt, ein Künstlerduo aus England. In ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten beschäftigen sie sich mit der grundlegenden Beschaffenheit unserer Natur und wie wir diese durch die „Augen“ der Wissenschaft wahrnehmen bzw. wie diese unsere Wahrnehmung der Dinge beeinflusst. Ihr einzigartiger Zugang wurde bereits mehrmals ausgezeichnet und mit diversen Stipendiums-Programmen ausgezeichnet, wie den Samsung  Art + Prize für neue Medien, ein Smithsonian Künstler-Forschungsstipendium, ein NASA Raumforschungs-Stipendium und waren Teilnehmer der Jerwood Open Forest Kommission. Ihre Ausstellungen und Screenings wurden bereits im House of Electronic Arts in Basel, bei FACT in Liverpool, im ArtScience Museum in Singapur, im San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, in der Royal Academy of Arts in London, beim Sundance Film Festival in Utah und beim Film-Festival in Rotterdam gezeigt. Ihre Arbeiten Magnetic Movie und Brillian Noise sind fixer Bestandteil der Sammlung des Hirshhorn Museum in Washington DC und dem Centre Pompidou in Paris/Frankreich.

Weitere Impressionen und Interviews

Lesen Sie ein Interview mit dem Künstlerduo auf unserem Ars Electronica Blog, und werfen Sie einen Blick auf ihre Residency am CERN in unserem bildreichen Feature: www.aec.at/feature.