Partner Network

The basis of the „European Digital Art and Science Network“ is a big manifold network consisting of scientific mentoring institutions (ESA, CERN, ESO and Fraunhofer MEVIS), representing Europe’s peak in scientific research, the Ars Electronica Futurelab – providing state-of-the-art technical production possibilities in a trans disciplinary discourse, and seven European cultural partners (Center for the promotion of science, RS – DIG Gallery, SK – Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation, ES – Kapelica Gallery / Kersnikova, SI – GV Art, UK – Laboral, ES – Science Gallery, IE) representing strong and various European cultural- and artistic positions.

Ars Electronica

Ars Electronica (AT): Since 1979, Ars Electronica (AT) has sought out interlinkages and congruities, causes and effects between art, technology and society. The ideas circulating here are innovative, radical, eccentric in the best sense of that term. They influence our everyday life—our lifestyle, our way of life, every single day. The Festival as proving ground, the Prix as competition honoring excellence, the Center as a year-‘round setting for presentation & interaction, and the Futurelab as in-house R&D facility extend their feelers throughout the realms of science and research, art and technology. Ars Electronica’s four divisions inspire one another and put futuristic visions to the test in a unique, creative feedback loop. It’s an integrated organism continuously reinventing itself.
www.aec.at
Read more about the Ars Electronica Futurelab…

ESA

The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe’s gateway to space. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world. ESA is an international organization with 22 Member States. ESA’s job is to draw up the European space programme and carry it through. ESA’s programmes are designed to find out more about Earth, its immediate space environment, our Solar System and the Universe, as well as to develop satellite-based technologies and services, and to promote European industries. ESA also works closely with space organizations outside Europe.
www.esa.int
More about ESA…


arts@CERN

CERN (CH): As the cradle of the World Wide Web and home of the Large Hadron Collider which investigates the mysteries of our universe, the European Organization for Nuclear Research – CERN is an eminent center of the digital culture as well as science and technology. As an international center of excellence in these fields it is an inspirational place for artists and designers to explore and extend their research in order to find new artistic approaches.
www.cern.ch
More about CERN and Arts@CERN…

Arts@CERN is CERN’s arts programme, designed to make creative connections between the worlds of science, the arts and technology. It is part of CERN’s Cultural Policy, agreed in August 2010, which lead to the creation of it flagship arts programme “Collide@CERN Artists Residencies – Creative Collisions between the Arts and Science” – in 2011. The “Collide@CERN” residency programme is already well established and highly regarded, having run successfully for 4 years, with a proven track record in trans-disciplinary artistic excellence and exchange between artists and scientists.
arts.web.cern.ch

ESO

ESO (CHI): The European Southern Observatory (ESO) is an intergovernmental organization that has its headquarters in Munich and its observing facilities in Chile. Founded in 1962 today ESO consists of many different observation facilities which helped to make a lot of important discoveries in astronomy. ESO has built and operated some of the largest and most technologically-advanced telescopes in the world.
www.eso.org/public/
More about ESO…

Fraunhofer MEVIS

Fraunhofer MEVIS: Embedded in a worldwide network of clinical and academic partners, Fraunhofer MEVIS develops real-world software solutions for image-supported early detection, diagnosis, and therapy. Strong focus is placed on cancer as well as diseases of the circulatory system, brain, breast, liver, and lung. The goal is to detect diseases earlier and more reliably, tailor treatments to each individual, and make therapeutic success more measurable. In addition, Fraunhofer MEVIS is committed to raising awareness about how computerization influences health care and to inspiring the young to consider career pathways in science by showing new ideas, approaches, and possibilities that emerge from innovative R&D. The aim is to foster the engagement with, and ownership of future technology.
www.mevis.fraunhofer.de

GV art

GV Art (UK): GV Art is the UK’s leading contemporary art gallery which aims to explore and acknowledge the inter-relationship between art and science, and how the areas cross over and inform one another. The gallery curates exhibitions and events that stimulate a dialogue focused on how modern society interprets and understands the advances in both areas and how an overlap in the technological and the creative, the medical and the historical are paving the way for new aesthetic sensibilities to develop.
www.gvart.co.uk

DIG

DIG gallery (SK): DIG gallery is the alternative platform for presentation of the contemporary forms of digital and media arts. Activities of DIG gallery are focused on mapping and popularization of this area, developing the local and international connectivity, supporting the artistic practice and creativity in general. DIG gallery collaborates with several institutions and independent initiatives within the interdisciplinary research, alternative education and partnership networks. DIG gallery was founded by DIG non-profit organization in 2012 as a model of the open-source gallery based in Kosice.
diggallery.sk

Science Gallery

Science Gallery (IE): Science Gallery is an organisation dedicated to igniting creativity and discovery where science and art collide. Science Gallery, since opening in February 2008, has welcomed over a million visitors with over 24 exhibitions ranging from EDIBLE, which examined the future of food, to BIO-RHYTHM, which got to grips with music and the body, to INFECTIOUS, an exhibition which showcased the first ever live simulation of a pandemic using RFID technology. Science Gallery is ranked amongst the top ten free cultural attractions in Ireland and is all about opening science up to passionate debate. Uniquely located in Ireland’s leading research university, Trinity College Dublin, with a recognized expertise in astro physics and astronomy as well as a focus on public engagement with creative science, art and design.
dublin.sciencegallery.com

laboral

LABoral (ES): LABoral is a multidisciplinary institution which produces, disseminates and fosters access to new forms of culture rooted in the creative use of information and communication technologies (ICT). LABoral has been working in crossovers between arts, science and technology since its creation in 2007. The hybrid nature of the institution is seen through its focus on production, a practice that involves an intense knowledge exchange amongst professionals from different disciplines with a common objective. In this context, the collaboration with all these professionals has always been a new challenge, due to the differences and similarities between practices. Thus, this experience is to be shared, agreed and formalized, with similar hybrid institutions through the production of various research projects and related activities.
www.laboralcentrodearte.org

fzc etopia

Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation (ES): Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation is an independent public-private organization which is in charge of the program for the Etopia Center for Art & Technology. According with this mission they developed some interesting projects with international scope, providing a valuable experience to the Foundation. The most relevant of them are: Paseo Project (in collaboration with Ars Electronica), to promote technology-based creativity in the public space / Innovate! Europe (an European event on startup culture) / Das Detroit Projekt (coordinated by Schauspielhaus Bochum). Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation has also been quite active in participating in events and projects of the European Union, specially in the field of smart cities initiatives, urban innovation and Future Internet PPP.
www.fundacionzcc.org

kapelica gallery

Kapelica Gallery / Kersnikova (SI): Kapelica Gallery was established in 1995 as an art space with focus on Contemporary Investigative Arts and a production platform for research, investigation and experimenting with the limits of artistic discourses and art poetics. Kapelica art program is constituted by exhibitions, performances and artistic research. The gallery presents works of artists that dare to go beyond safe and pleasant themes and are challenging visitors to contemplate and wonder with them. Together with BioTehna wet lab Kapelica is an active production platform which encourages, facilitates and showcases investigative artistic production, create public debate and stimulates a critical understanding of the time we live in.
www.kapelica.org

Center for the Promotion of Science

Centre for the promotion of science (RS): Promotion of science is one of the major tasks for every European country. In this field, the Centre for the Promotion of Science (RS) is already actively engaged in bringing science community closer to a larger public, with the ambition to become the top institution that binds together, provides help and supports all science popularization organizations and initiatives throughout Serbia. Special attention is given to the cooperation with scientific institutions – the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts in the first place, but also with leading scientific institutes and all universities in the country.
www.cpn.rs

Partner-Netzwerk

Das “European Digital Art and Science Network” basiert auf einem großen vielseitigen Netzwerk. Teil dieses Netzwerkes sind wissenschaftliche Forschungsinstitutionen (ESA, CERN, ESO and Fraunhofer MEVIS), welche die Spitze wissenschaftlicher Forschung in Europa und darüber hinaus repräsentieren. Ein weiterer wichtiger Bestandteil ist das Ars Electronica Futurelab, welches über die Jahre Expertisen in Fachgebieten wie Medienkunst, Architektur, Virtual Reality etc. entwickeln konnte und über Produktionsmöglichkeiten auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik verfügt. Darüber hinaus repräsentieren die folgenden Projektpartner die ebenso starken wie unterschiedlichen kulturellen und künstlerischen Positionen in Europa: Center for the promotion of science (RS), DIG Gallery (SK), Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation (ES), Kapelica Gallery / Kersnikova (SI), GV Art (UK), Laboral (ES) und Science Gallery (IE).

Ars Electronica

Ars Electronica (AT): Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft – seit 1979 sucht die Ars Electronica (AT) nach Verbindungen und Überschneidungen, Ursachen und Auswirkungen in diesen Bereichen. Innovativ, radikal, exzentrisch im besten Sinne des Wortes sind die hier zirkulierenden Ideen. Sie beeinflussen unseren Alltag – unseren Lebensstil, unsere Lebensweise, jeden einzelnen Tag. Das Festival als Testgelände, der Prix als Bewerb zur Prämierung herausragender Leistungen, das Center als ganzjährige Präsentations- & Interaktionsplattform und das Futurelab als interne Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtung – sie alle strecken ihre Fühler in Richtung Wissenschaft und Forschung, Kunst und Technologie aus. Die vier Abteilungen der Ars Electronica inspirieren einander wechselseitig und stellen Zukunftsvisionen in einer einzigartigen kreativen Feedbackschleife auf die Probe. Ein ganzheitlicher Organismus, der sich ständig neu erfindet.

www.aec.at
Mehr über Ars Electronica Futurelab…

ESA

Die Europäische Weltraumorganisation (ESA) ist Europas Tür zum Weltraum. Die Mission der ESA ist das Vorantreiben und die Sicherstellung der Entwicklung europäischer Raumfahrtkapazitäten. Investitionen in diesem Bereich sollen langfristig vor allem Vorteile für die BürgerInnen Europas und der Welt liefern. Die ESA ist eine internationale Organisation und besteht aus 22 Mitgliedsstaaten. Zu den Aufgaben der ESA gehört die Erstellung und Umsetzung des europäischen Weltraumprogramms. Primäre Ziele dieser Programme sind die Erforschung der Erde und ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung sowie unseres Sonnensystems und des Universums. Ein weiteres wichtiges Ziel ist die Entwicklung satellitengestützter Technologien und Dienstleistungen sowie die Förderung europäischer Industrien in diesem Sektor.
www.esa.int
Mehr über ESA…

arts@CERN

CERN (CH): Als Geburtsstätte des World Wide Web und der Heimat des Large Hadron Collider, mittels welchem die Geheimnisse des Universums erforscht werden, ist das CERN – die Europäische Organisation für Kernforschung – ein bedeutender Mittelpunkt von Wissenschaft und Technologie sowie digitaler Kultur. Als internationales Kompetenzzentrum in diesem Bereich fungiert CERN als Ort der Inspiration für KünstlerInnen aus verschiedensten Bereichen.

www.cern.ch
Mehr über CERN und Arts@CERN…

Arts@CERN ist das künstlerische Programm von CERN und soll kreative Verbindungen zwischen der Welt der Wissenschaft, der Kunst und der Technik hervorbringen. Als Teil der im August 2010 unterzeichneten Kulturpolitik von CERN wurde im Jahr 2011 das renommierte „Collide@CERN Residency Programm“ ins Leben gerufen. Dieses Programm blickt heute auf eine vier-jährige Erfolgsbilanz zurück, im Rahmen welcher transdisziplinäre, künstlerische Qualität etabliert sowie der Austausch zwischen KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen gefördert wurde.

arts.web.cern.ch

ESO

ESO (CHI): Die Europäische Südsternwarte (ESO, European Southern Observatory) ist eine zwischenstaatliche Organisation für astronomische Forschung. Die 1962 gegründete ESO betreibt Teleskope an drei einzigartigen Beobachtungsstandorten in Chile, mit deren Hilfe eine Reihe bedeutender Entdeckungen in der Astronomie gemacht wurden. Die ESO konstruierte und betreibt einige der größten und technologisch modernsten Teleskope der Welt.

www.eso.org/public/
Mehr über ESO…

Fraunhofer MEVIS

Fraunhofer MEVIS: Eingebunden in ein Netzwerk aus klinischen und akademischen Partnern entwickelt Fraunhofer MEVIS praxistaugliche Softwaresysteme für die bildgestützte Früherkennung, Diagnose und Therapie. Im Mittelpunkt stehen Krebsleiden sowie Erkrankungen des Herz-Kreislaufsystems, des Gehirns, der Brust, der Leber und der Lunge. Ziele der Forschungen sind, Krankheiten früher und sicherer zu erkennen, Behandlungen individuell auf den Patienten zuzuschneiden und Therapieerfolge messbar zu machen. Fraunhofer MEVIS setzt sich dafür ein, das Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung der Informatik für die Gesundheitsversorgung zu schärfen und Jugendliche durch das Aufzeigen neuer Ideen, Ansätze und Möglichkeiten innovativer F&E für Karrierewege in der Wissenschaft zu begeistern. Ziel ist es, das Engagement für und den Umgang mit neuer Technologie zu fördern.
www.mevis.fraunhofer.de

GV art

GV Art (UK): Die GV Art ist die führende Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst in Großbritannien, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, die Wechselbeziehung zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft auszuloten und nachzuweisen, wie sich diese Disziplinen überschneiden und beeinflussen. Die Galerie kuratiert Ausstellungen und Events, die zu einem Dialog darüber anregen, wie die moderne Gesellschaft die Fortschritte in beiden Disziplinen interpretiert und versteht und wie Überschneidungen in den Bereichen Technologie und Kreativität, Medizin und Geschichte den Weg zur Entwicklung eines neuen ästhetischen Empfindens bahnen.

www.gvart.co.uk

DIG

DIG gallery (SK): Die DIG gallery ist eine alternative Plattform zur Präsentation zeitgenössischer Formen der Digital- und Medienkunst. Im Fokus der Aktivitäten der DIG gallery stehen die Verortung und Verbreitung dieser Kunstformen, die Entwicklung lokaler und internationaler Verbindungen sowie die Unterstützung der künstlerischen Praxis und von Kreativität im Allgemeinen. Die DIG gallery arbeitet mit mehreren Institutionen und unabhängigen Initiativen in den Bereichen interdisziplinäre Forschung, alternative Bildung und Partnerschaftsnetzwerke zusammen und wurde 2012 von der Non-Profit-Organisation DIG als Modell einer Opensource-Galerie in Košice gegründet.

diggallery.sk

Science Gallery

Science Gallery (IE): Die Science Gallery ist eine Organisation, die sich der Förderung von Kreativität und Innovation an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Kunst widmet. Seit ihrer Eröffnung im Februar 2008 hat die Science Gallery mehr als eine Million Besucher bei über 24 Ausstellungen zu verzeichnen, die ein breites Spektrum abdecken: von EDIBLE, einer Erforschung der Zukunft von Lebensmitteln, über BIO-RHYTHM, einer Betrachtung der Zusammenhänge zwischen Musik und Körper, bis hin zu INFECTIOUS, einer Ausstellung, bei der mithilfe von RFID-Technologie die erste Live-Simulation einer Pandemie gezeigt wurde. Die Science Gallery mit ihrem einzigartigen Standort im Areal von Irlands führender Forschungsuniversität, dem Trinity College Dublin, mit seiner weltweit anerkannten Expertise in Astrophysik und Astronomie und einem Fokus auf öffentlichem Engagement für kreative Wissenschaft, Kunst und Design, zählt mittlerweile zu den Top Ten der kulturellen Attraktionen Irlands und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, einen passionierten Diskurs über Wissenschaft zu eröffnen.

dublin.sciencegallery.com

laboral

LABoral (ES): LABoral ist eine multidisziplinäre Institution, die den Zugang zu neuen Kulturformen ermöglicht, erleichtert und fördert, die auf der kreativen Verwendung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (ICT) basieren. Seit der Gründung im Jahr 2007 arbeitet LABoral an den Schnittstellen von Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie. Der hybride Charakter der Institution zeigt sich in ihrem Fokus auf einer Produktionspraxis, die einen intensiven Wissensaustausch zwischen Experten aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen mit einem gemeinsamen Ziel impliziert. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den Experten war in diesem Kontext aufgrund der Unterschiede und Ähnlichkeiten der jeweiligen Praxen immer wieder eine neue Herausforderung. Diese Erfahrung wollen wir durch diverse Forschungsprojekte und damit verbundene Aktivitäten mit ähnlichen hybriden Institutionen teilen, verstärken und systematisieren.

www.laboralcentrodearte.org

fzc etopia

Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation (ES): Die spanische Stiftung Zaragoza Stadt des Wissens ist eine unabhängige öffentlich-private Organisation, die für das Programm des Centro de Arte y Tecnología Etopia (Etopia Zentrum für Kunst und Technologie) zuständig ist. Im Rahmen dieser Aufgabe wurden interessante Projekte internationalen Maßstabs entwickelt, die eine wertvolle Erfahrung für die Stiftung waren. Zu den wichtigsten zählen: das Paseo Project (in Zusammenarbeit mit der Ars Electronica) zur Förderung technologiebasierter Kreativität im öffentlichen Raum, Innovate! Europe (ein europäisches Event zur Förderung der Startup-Kultur) sowie das Detroit-Projekt (koordiniert vom Schauspielhaus Bochum). Die Stiftung beteiligte sich auch an Events und Projekten der Europäischen Union, insbesondere in den Bereichen urbane Innovation, Smart-City-Initiativen und Future Internet Public-Private Partnership (FI-PPP).

www.fundacionzcc.org

kapelica gallery

Kapelica Gallery / Kersnikova (SI): Kapelica Gallery ist eine gemeinnützige kulturelle Einrichtung, deren Projekte sich durch eine Kombination von computergenerierter digitaler Kunst und anderen künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen auszeichnen. Zu den aktuellen Projekten zählen: die audiovisuelle Plattform Klub K4, einer der zentralen Veranstaltungsorte der Galerija Kapelica, einer Galerie für zeitgenössische investigative Kunst, das internationale Festival für zeitgenössische künstlerische Forschung Transfer, das Computer- und Kulturzentrum Kiberpipa und die multimediale Biennale für offene Technologien HAIP. Kapelica Gallery wurde 2000 gegründet, einzelne Projekte wurden allerdings bereit 1989 realisiert. Sie ist die größte nichtstaatliche Non-Profit-Institution im Bereich Kunst und Kultur in Slowenien.

www.kapelica.org

Center for the Promotion of Science

Centre for the promotion of science (RS): Die Förderung der Wissenschaft ist eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben jedes europäischen Landes. Das Centre for the Promotion of Science in Belgrad, Serbien, setzt sich dafür ein, Wissenschaft einem breiteren Publikum näherzubringen, und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, als zentrale Institution die Organisationen und Initiativen zur Verbreitung von Wissenschaft in ganz Serbien zu verbinden und zu unterstützen. Besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei der Zusammenarbeit mit wissenschaftlichen Institutionen – allen voran mit der Serbischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste, aber auch mit führenden wissenschaftlichen Instituten und sämtlichen Universitäten des Landes.

www.cpn.rs