FESTIVAL TO PLAY

u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD is the future festival of the next generation. It’s dedicated to the development and exchange of ideas, solutions to problems, concepts and experiments for the future. This year’s hub is the courtyard of the Akademisches Gymnasium, a high school in downtown Linz, where artists, programmers and tinkerers age 18 and under show how they’d like the world of tomorrow to be. Here’s the lineup: http://www.aec.at/u19/festival-about/programm-2014.

LipDub
If you happen to see a torrent of merry folks from diverse ethnic and social backgrounds dancing their way through downtown Linz while lip-syncing a blaring playback of ABBA’s hit song Take A Chance on Me, then you might think that Mardi Gras is awfully late this year or mass lunacy has broken out. But never mind, what’s underway is merely a collective emotional experiment.

Connecting Cities: A European Network of Media Facades
Connecting Cities is a worldwide expanding network aiming to build up a connected infrastructure of media facades, urban screens and other digital projection sites to circulate artistic and socially relevant content.

u19 Exhibit
Film is the theme of the 2014 u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD Future Festival of the Next Generation. And that’s a happy happenstance, since this year’s Golden Nica winner in the Prix Ars Electronica’s u19 - CREATE YOUR WORLD category, Sarah Oos, is being honored for “Femme Chanel – Emma Fenchel”, a film montage that makes use of found footage.

Archifon III
As different as the Ars Electronica Center and Linz’s St. Mary’s Cathedral may be in every imaginable respect, they’ll have something in common during Ars Electronica 2014: festivalgoers will be able to employ the façades of both buildings as projection surfaces.

Teh House of Pong
To illustrate the evolution of computer games Teh House of Pong compares iconic games from the past with recent games. The direct comparison of old and recent games shows both breaks and continuities in the technology, the game design and the visual style.

PLEN
PLEN is an open source printable bipedal walking humanoid robot. Since all its constituent control circuits, software and mechanical designs are universally accessible, technicians and artists can use PLEN as a platform for their own diversifying development processes.

Iris
Iris is a pair of hands that communicates with participants by hand gestures solely. Through interacting with Iris, audience will then discover and create the language to “talk” with her, which leads to the investigation of human’s behavioural codes by manifesting hand gestures in a mischievous manner.

FESTIVAL TO PLAY

u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD ist das Zukunftsfestival der nächsten Generation und widmet sich der Entwicklung und dem Austauschen von Ideen, Problemlösungen, Konzepten und Experimenten für die Zukunft. Im Innenhof des Akademischen Gymnasiums  – mitten in der Linz Innenstadt – zeigen junge KünstlerInnen, ProgrammiererInnen und TüftlerInnen (unter 19), wie die Welt von morgen aussehen könnte. Das gesamte Programm von U19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD findet sich unter http://www.aec.at/u19/festival-about/programm-2014.

LipDub
Wenn sich ein Strom vergnügter Menschen unterschiedlichster Herkunft und Milieus tanzend durch die Linzer Innenstadt schiebt, die ihre Lippen synchron zum laut schallenden ABBA-Klassiker Take A Chance on me bewegen: dann ist weder der Fasching verfrüht an- noch der kollektive Irrsinn ausgebrochen, sondern lediglich ein kollektives emotionales Experiment im Gang.

Connecting Cities: A European Network of Media Facades
Connecting Cities ist ein weltweit wachsendes Netzwerk rund um Medienfassaden, Infoscreens und andere digitale Projektionsflächen im öffentlichen Raum der Stadt.

u19 Exhibit
Film ist das große Thema des u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD Zukunftsfestival der nächsten Generation 2014. Da trifft es sich mehr als gut, dass sich auch die diesjährige Prix-Ars-Electronica-Preisträgerin Sarah Oos für ihre Filmmontage klug und gezielt in der Filmgeschichte bedient hat: Ihre mit der Goldenen Nica in der Kategorie u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD ausgezeichnete Found-Footage-Arbeit Femme Chanel – Emma Fenchel ist eine aus einzelnen Filmzitaten zusammengesetzte (aber ganz neue) Geschichte.

Archifon III
So verschieden das Ars Electronica Center und der Linzer Mariendom in jeder Hinsicht auch sein mögen – während des Ars Electronica Festival 2014 gleichen sie sich darin, dass die FestivalbesucherInnen ihre Fassaden spielerisch mitgestalten können.

Teh House of Pong
Wie sehr sich Computerspiele im Lauf der Jahre verändert haben, führt Teh House of Pong im direkten Vergleich legendärer Spiele von einst mit den beliebtesten Spielen von jetzt vor Augen. Dabei werden Brüche wie auch Traditionslinien in Technologie, Spielgestaltung und visueller Anmutung sichtbar.

Game Changer
Die eigens für den Deep Space zusammengestellte Digitalspielsuite Game Changer begibt sich in einen unerforschten Bereich. Sie besteht aus mehreren Multiplayer-Spielprototypen, die nur durch körperliche Anwesenheit und Bewegung der SpielerInnen funktionieren und verschiedenste Varianten des gemeinsamen Spielens erlauben.

PLEN
PLEN ist ein menschenähnlicher Roboter und mit seinen beiden Beinen in der Lage zu gehen. Ihn zu bauen oder weiterzuentwickeln, ist längst nicht mehr nur Fachleuten möglich. Denn PLEN ist ein Open-Source-Roboter, dessen Bestandteile sich mit jedem 3-D-Drucker selbst herstellen lassen.

Iris
Iris besteht aus einem gesprächigen Paar Hände, das sich mit seinem Gegenüber allerdings nur durch Gesten verständigen kann. Eine Verständigung mit der Installation ist tatsächlich möglich. Durch Versuch und Irrtum in der Aktion entdecken die BesucherInnen, auf welche Gesten Iris reagiert.