Alchemists of Art and Science

ghost_cell_2

Credit: Ghost Cell / Antoine Delacharlery

The huge current interest in forms of interdisciplinary collaboration shines what or many people is a long-overdue spotlight on the multifarious possibilities that can emerge from exchange and cooperation among, on one hand, art and creativity, and, on the other hand, science and technology. Moreover, an increasing number of observers are applauding the fact that, above all, there is finally widespread realization of a paradigm shift having occurred in a world that is  now globalized not only geographically and economically but intellectually as well. Driven by correspondingly wide-ranging motivations, more and more artists are lighting out to explore these territories. They are in search of new sources of inspiration, and they also want their artistic work to make an impact beyond the confines of the art world. In going about this, they often pursue trails that were blazed long ago, and sometimes without knowing too much about that back story.

What is striking is the greatly increased readiness on the part of both individual scientists and a growing number of institutions to make a commitment to these liaisons. Such prestigious research institutions as CERN–European Organization for Nuclear Research, the European Southern Observatory and the European Space Agency now host artist-in-residence programs under the aegis of the European Digital Art and Science Network subsidized by the EU.

As a member of an extensive network of cultural institutions in Europe and other parts of the world, Ars Electronica will be displaying works created in conjunction with these artist-in-residence programs and also staging a series of exhibitions showcasing exciting, innovative projects at the nexus of art and science. New methods of fabrication and of 3-D printing, concepts for rapid prototyping, work in the field of 3-D animation, and artistic strategies for the visualization of scientific data—the exhibitions cover a broad range of approaches, many of which are still in the prototype stage. “The Alchemists of Art and Science,” the second installment in this series, spotlights speculative, futuristic visions that have emerged from the amalgamation of artistic and scientific approaches—for instance, wearables that measure cosmic radiation in their immediate surroundings; clothing grown out of fungi; a 3-D-printed lamp you can create at home with an app and a laser scanner, wearable devices designed to reduce your CO2 output; and concepts for interactive windshields.

 

Merken

Exhibits

RoBoHoN_tom mesic_590x350

RoBoHoN

It stands only 19.5 centimeters tall and weighs in at a mere 390 grams: RoBoHoN, the world’s first mobile robotic cell phone. Tomotaka Takahashi, internationally renowned robot developer, CEO of Robot Garage, and University of Tokyo professor, created it in cooperation with SHARP.

Read More RoBoHoN
Interface I_tom mesic

Interface I documentation

Interface I manifests the essence of a phenomenon that various experts such as biologists and political strategists seek to come to terms with—how complex systems go about reciprocally influencing and adjusting to each other. Ralf Baecker puts this into a physical form in terms of the interaction of two systems consisting of motors, wire and elastic band.

Read More Interface I documentation
Single Stroke Structures_Yasuaki Kakehi und Takahiro Hasegawa_590x350

Single Stroke Structures

Among the facts of life in the Age of Mobility are urban traffic jams and overpopulation. This project’s aim is to improve the quality of life in crowded metropolises by means of a portable tool that city dwellers can use to partition off a space of their own.

Read More Single Stroke Structures
floraform_590x350

Floraform

Floraform is a generative design system inspired by the biomechanics of growing leaves and blooming flowers which explores the development of surfaces through differential growth. The artists created a simulation of a differentially growing elastic surface that functions as a digital garden.

Read More Floraform
MycoTEX_NEFFA_590x350

MycoTex – Neffa

Mycelia are thread-like fungal cells. In nature, they branch out into subterranean networks of filigree fibers that can extend over hundreds of hectares and live for millennia. Textile designer Aniela Hoitink has taken advantage of these extraordinary characteristics in her R&D work on innovative fabrics made of pure mycelium.

Read More MycoTex – Neffa
beyond

Beyond Prototyping

A work of light art created with the help of a 3-D printer (Highlight), an encoded ring (Ciphering), and an abstract representation of a network of city streets engraved into a tabletop and depicting a location with a special personal meaning (Locatable)—these three creations can serve as prototypical examples of Industrial Design 4.0.

Read More Beyond Prototyping
Can you hear me_590x350

„Can you hear me?“

Edward Snowden’s disclosures shined the spotlight of public attention on, among other locations, Berlin’s federal government district, revealing it to be the site of extremely intense surveillance and espionage by intelligence agencies. So this is precisely where Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud wanted to set up a temporary installation on the subject of power and powerlessness in the Digital Age.

Read More „Can you hear me?“
Anarchive˚6_Florian Voggeneder_590x350

Anarchive˚6

Anarchive is a series of interactive multimedia projects designed to enable users to explore the work of individual artists. Masaki Fujihata is the sixth artist in this series that began with Antoni Muntada in 1999. Anarchive 6 is a book containing almost all works created by Masaki Fujihata between 1972 and 2016.

Read More Anarchive˚6
Spiritum_590x350

CIID-Showcase

Selected works of the CIID Copenhagen Institute of Interaction Design.

Read More CIID-Showcase
Obscurity-Mugshot.com-N1-frontal

Obscurity

For Obscurity Paolo Cirio cloned mug shots of over 15 million U.S. prison inmates from various websites and then disguised the photos. An algorithm systematically scrambled the names, while other appurtenant information such as age, race, location, and charges was kept accurate.

Read More Obscurity

Seitenbereiche:

The Alchemists of Art and Science

ghost_cell_2

Credit: Ghost Cell / Antoine Delacharlery

In unserer nicht nur geographisch und ökonomisch sondern auch intellektuell globalisierten Welt, steigt das Interesse an interdiziplinären Kooperationen stetig an. Der Austausch und die Zusammenarbeit von Kunst und Wissenschaft, von Kreativität und Technologie inspiriert  immer mehr KünstlerInnen. Aus unterschiedlichen Motivlagen machen sie sich auf, um diese Territorien zu erkunden. Sie sind auf der Suche nach neuen Inspirationen und wollen ihre künstlerische Arbeit auch über den Kunstbereich hinaus zur Wirkung bringen. Oft folgen sie dabei Pfaden, die schon vor langer Zeit gelegt worden sind.

Die stark gestiegene Bereitschaft zur interdisziplinären Kooperation, wird nicht nur von WissenschaftlerInnen und KünstlerInnen gelebt – sondern immer mehr auch von  Institutionen. So stehen im Rahmen des EU-geförderten Projekts EDASN (European Digital Art and Science Network) nach CERN und ESO nun auch Forschungseinrichtungen der ESA für Artists in Residence offen. Im Netzwerk mit vielen anderen europäischen aber auch internationalen Kultureinrichtungen werden nicht nur die Ergebnisse dieser Artist in Residence Programme gezeigt, sondern auch eine Ausstellungsreihe, die sich der Präsentation spannender, innovativer Projekte and der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft widmet. Neue Methoden der Fabrication und des 3D-Drucks, Konzepte des Rapid Prototyping, Arbeiten aus dem Bereich der 3D-Animation und künstlerische Strategien zur Visualisierung wissenschaftlicher Daten: die Ausstellungen decken ein breites Feld oft noch prototypischer Ansätze ab. The Alchemists of Art and Science ist die zweite Edition dieser Reihe, und zeigt spekulative Visionen der Zukunft, die aus der Verschmelzung künstlerisch-wissenschaftlicher Ansätze entstehen: neben Wearables, die die kosmische Strahlung in unserem Umfeld messen, aus Pilzen gewachsener Kleidung und einer 3D-gedruckten Lampe, die mit Hilfe einer App und einem Laserscanner im eigenen Wohnzimmer kreiert wird, sind auch tragbare Geräte zur Reduktion des eigenen CO2-Verbrauchs oder Konzepte interaktiver Windschutzscheiben zu sehen.

Merken

Merken

Merken

Exponate

RoBoHoN_tom mesic_590x350

RoBoHoN

Er ist nur 19,5 Zentimeter groß und wiegt gerade mal 390 Gramm: RoBoHoN, das erste mobile Roboterhandy der Welt. Der weltweit bekannte Roboterentwickler Tomotaka Takahashi, CEO der Firma Robot Garage und Professor an der Universität Tokio, kreierte ihn in Zusammenarbeit mit SHARP.

Weiterlesen RoBoHoN
Interface I_tom mesic

Interface I Doku

Interface I zeigt in Reinkultur, was so unterschiedliche Fachleute wie BiologInnen oder PolitikstrategInnen zu verstehen versuchen: wie sich komplexe Systeme gegenseitig beeinflussen und aufeinander einzustellen versuchen. Ralf Baecker veranschaulicht dies mit der Interaktion zweier Systeme aus Motoren, Draht und elastischem Band.

Weiterlesen Interface I Doku
Single Stroke Structures_Yasuaki Kakehi und Takahiro Hasegawa_590x350

Single Stroke Structures

Zum Zeitalter der Mobilität gehören auch Verkehrschaos und Übervölkerung. Dieses Projekt will die Lebensqualität in überfüllten Städten steigern. Ein portables Werkzeug, durch das man seinen eigenen Raum schaffen kann, soll dafür sorgen.

Weiterlesen Single Stroke Structures
Florence_Helene Steiner_350x590

Florence

Wir sind es gewohnt, uns „Natur“ und „Technik“ als Gegensätze vorzustellen. Helene Steiner und ihre KollegInnen im Forschungsprogramm Studio99 bahnen die Auflösung dieses Gegensatzes durch die Entwicklung einer gemeinsamen Sprache von Menschen und Pflanzen an.

Weiterlesen Florence
floraform_590x350

Floraform

Floraform ist ein von der Biomechanik des Blätter- und Blütenwachstums inspiriertes Generatives Gestaltungssystem, das die Entwicklung von Oberflächen durch Differenzialwachstum erforscht. Die KünstlerInnen haben dafür eine Simulation einer differenziell wachsenden elastischen Oberfläche entwickelt, die als digitaler Garten fungiert.

Weiterlesen Floraform
MycoTEX_NEFFA_590x350

MycoTex – Neffa

Myzel heißen die fadenförmigen Zellen der Pilze. In der Natur können sie sich unterirdisch zu quadratkilometergroßen Geflechten von feinster Beschaffenheit und hoher Lebensdauer verbinden – Eigenschaften, die Textildesignerin Aniela Hoitink in ihrer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit an neuartigen Geweben aus reinem Myzel nutzt.

Weiterlesen MycoTex – Neffa
beyond

Beyond Prototyping

Ein Lichtspiel unter Mitwirkung eines 3-D-Druckers (Highlight), ein codierter Ring (Ciphering) und eine Tischgravur, die einen Ort mit besonderer persönlicher Bedeutung in einem abstrakten Straßennetzwerk lokalisiert (Locatable) – das sind drei bespielhafte, ja prototypische Beispiele für Industriedesign 4.0.

Weiterlesen Beyond Prototyping
Can you hear me_590x350

„Can you hear me?“

Edward Snowdens Enthüllungen ließen Berlins Regierungsviertel als einen jener Spots in den Blickpunkt der Öffentlichkeit geraten, die von Geheimdiensten lückenlos überwacht und ausspioniert werden. Genau hier wollten Christoph Wachter und Mathias Jud deshalb auch mit einer temporären Installation nach Macht und Machtlosigkeit im digitalen Zeitalter fragen.

Weiterlesen „Can you hear me?“
Anarchive˚6_Florian Voggeneder_590x350

Anarchive˚6

Anarchive ist eine Serie interaktiver Multimediaprojekte, mit deren Hilfe man die Werke einzelner KünstlerInnen erkunden kann. Masaki Fujihata ist der sechste Künstler in der Reihe, die 1999 mit Antoni Muntada begann. Anarchive˚6 ist ein Buch, das fast alle Werke von Masaki Fujihata enthält, die zwischen 1972 und 2016 entstanden sind.

Weiterlesen Anarchive˚6
Spiritum_590x350

CIID-Showcase

Ausgewählte Arbeiten des CIID Copenhagen Institute of Interaction Design.

Weiterlesen CIID-Showcase
Obscurity-Mugshot.com-N1-frontal

Obscurity

Für Obscurity hat Paolo Cirio die Daten von über 15 Millionen US-Häftlingen von verschiedenen mugshot-Websites geklont. Ein Algorithmus machte die Polizeifotos unkenntlich und brachte die Namen systematisch durcheinander. Andere Merkmale – wie Alter, Straftat und Haftdauer– blieben unverändert.

Weiterlesen Obscurity