Creative Robotics

Roboterzelle_590x350

The key idea of Industry 4.0—networks interlinking all the infrastructure, machines and human beings involved in production processes—currently characterizes our conception of coexistence with robots. On one hand, it’s said that automation will facilitate fabrication processes and simplify our everyday life; on the other hand, rapid progress induces anxiety and insecurity at the thought of machines gaining the upper hand over the world we inhabit.

Beyond the realm of their industrial applications, however, members of a creative young generation of architects, artists and designers are now using machines to perform tasks that are radically different than the jobs they were designed to do—applications that highlight the possibilities of cooperation and alternative utilization. Can industrial robots be used to fabricate fascinating forms in the field of fashion design or to produce intricate objects out of clay? What does a bridge assembled out of robot-formed modules look like? Will our public spaces someday be teeming with intelligent robotic-architectural structures that automatically adapt to our needs?

The Creative Robotics exhibition demonstrates once again how industrial robots are being used outside of their intended areas of application in mass manufacturing, and have become a medium of artistic and creative expression and a catalyst for the implementation of innovative ideas and the manifestation of futuristic visions. Together with our prominent associates, we are exploring new ways to utilize industrial robot technology beyond the confines of big assembly lines.

In cooperation with KUKA; Laboratory for Creative Robotics, Fashion and Technology program at Linz Art University; Institute of Robotics at JKU–University of Linz; Institute for Computational Design and Construction (ICD), University of Stuttgart; Centre for IT and Architecture (CITA) in Copenhagen; Co-de-iT in Turin; Nico Rayf @ Tree of Motion in cooperation with the Applied Robotics Lab and Wood Technology at the University of Applied Arts Vienna.

Presentation in the exhibition “Creative Robotics”: TUE–SUN 4:15 PM-4:45 PM

Exhibits

Proteus_590x350

[proteus]

“[proteus]” is the initial prototype of an analog interactive display. In this experiment, ferrofluids—liquids that react to magnetic fields without becoming rigid, and thereby often form interesting three-dimensional structures—are controlled by both electromagnetic signals and a robotic interface.

Read More [proteus]
BranchBoard_590x350

BranchBoarding

Nico Rayf launched “BranchBoarding” in 2010 in Vienna. His idea was to mount skateboard or longboard axle & wheel assemblies onto a tree branch to then be able to ride it. Over the following years, Nico Rayf experimented with several varieties of trees and woods and various riding styles.

Read More BranchBoarding
a Bridge too Far_590x350

A Bridge Too Far

The 3.5-meter-long bridge is only 0.5 mm thick yet it can support a load of up to 100 kg. This structural capability is entirely dependent on the local deformations within, and connections between, the upper and lower panels.

Read More A Bridge Too Far
Roboterzelle_590x350

Roboterzelle

The Robot Cell project entails, among other things, research on robot arms’ fine motor skills. The combination of sensitive gripper arms and intelligent perception enables two industrial robots to solve a Rubik’s Cube within a very short time and with the minimum number of pivots.

Read More Roboterzelle
Fashion and Robotics_590x350

FaR – Fashion and Robotics

Artist Anna Piecek’s main objective in this project was to come up with new and innovative ways to work with textiles by making volumes and unconventional shapes with methods that had never before been used in the context of fabric design.

Read More FaR – Fashion and Robotics
Cyber Physical Macro material_590x350

Cyber Physical Macro Material

The project Cyber Physical Macro Material demonstrates a tangible vision of a new dynamic (and intelligent) architecture for public spaces. The agile and reconfigurable canopy is enabled by a combination of distributed robotic construction and a programmable digital building material.

Read More Cyber Physical Macro Material
Informed Clay Matter_590x350

inFORMed Clay Matter

Designed to explore additive fabrication processes, the project focuses specifically on the question of how this material behaves during the fabrication process. The ceramic objects on display were made with the help of a robotic arm equipped with a custom-made tool to extrude clay and other paste-like materials.

Read More inFORMed Clay Matter

Kreative Robotik

Roboterzelle_590x350

Die Idee der Industrie 4.0 – also die Vernetzung aller an Produktionsprozessen beteiligten Maschinen, Infrastrukturen und Menschen – prägt derzeit unsere Vorstellung von einem Leben mit Robotern. Die Automatisierung soll einerseits Fertigungsprozesse erleichtern und unseren Alltag einfacher gestalten, andererseits ruft der rasante Fortschritt Unbehagen und Unsicherheit angesichts des Überhandnehmens maschineller Einflüsse auf unsere Umwelt hervor.
Abseits ihrer industriellen Anwendung werden die Maschinen jedoch von einer Generation kreativer Köpfe aus Architektur, Kunst und Design für völlig andere Fragestellungen zweckentfremdet, die die Möglichkeiten von Kooperation und alternativer Verwendung betonen: Können mit Industrierobotern spannende Formen im Modedesign kreiert oder filigrane Objekte aus Ton produziert werden? Wie sieht eine Brücke aus, die aus robotergeformten Modulen besteht? Wird unser öffentlicher Raum in Zukunft von intelligenten robotisch-architektonischen Strukturen, die sich an unsere Bedürfnisse anpassen, durchzogen sein?

Die Ausstellung „Kreative Robotik“ verfolgt einmal mehr, wie Industrieroboter außerhalb ihrer ursprünglichen Verwendung in der Massenfertigung zum Medium des künstlerischen und kreativen Ausdrucks und zum Katalysator für die Umsetzung innovativer Ideen und die Gestaltung von Zukunftsvisionen werden. Gemeinsam mit renommierten Partnern erforschen wir Anwendungsfelder der industriellen Robotertechnologien jenseits großer Fabrikhallen.

In Kooperation mit KUKA, Labor für kreative Robotik, Studiengang Fashion und Technology der Kunstuniversität Linz, Institut für Robotik der JKU, Institute for Computational Design and Construction (ICD), University of Stuttgart, Centre for IT and Architecture (CITA) in Kopenhagen, Co-de-iT in Turin, Nico Rayf @ Tree of Motion in Kooperation mit Angewandte Robotics Lab und Holztechnologie der Universität für Angewandte Kunst in Wien.

Präsentationszeiten in der Ausstellung „Kreative Robotik“: DI–SO, 16:15-16:45

Exponate

Proteus_590x350

[proteus]

„[proteus]“ ist der erste Prototyp einer analogen interaktiven Anzeige. Bei diesem Experiment werden Ferrofluide – Flüssigkeiten, die auf magnetische Felder reagieren, ohne zu verfestigen, und die dabei oft interessante dreidimensionale Strukturen bilden – sowohl durch elektromagnetische Signale als auch durch eine Roboterschnittstelle gesteuert.

Weiterlesen [proteus]
BranchBoard_590x350

BranchBoarding

2010 war die Idee entstanden, Skateboard- oder Longboardachsen mit Rädern auf einen Ast zu montieren, um auf ihm zu fahren. In den folgenden Jahren experimentierte Nico Rayf mit verschiedenen Baum- und Holztypen und unterschiedlichen Fahrweisen.

Weiterlesen BranchBoarding
a Bridge too Far_590x350

A Bridge Too Far

„A Bridge Too Far“ ist eine Brücke, die mit genau diesem Verfahren hergestellt wurde. Die 3,5 m lange Brücke hat eine Materialstärke von lediglich 0,5 mm, kann dabei aber ein Gewicht von bis zu 100 kg tragen. Dies ist nur aufgrund der Verformungen in und zwischen den oberen und unteren Blechplatten möglich.

Weiterlesen A Bridge Too Far
Roboterzelle_590x350

Roboterzelle

Beim Projekt „Roboterzelle“ wird unter anderem die Feinmotorik von Roboterarmen erforscht. Durch eine Kombination von sensiblen Greifarmen und einer intelligenten Wahrnehmung lösen zwei Industrieroboter einen Zauberwürfel (Rubik’s Cube) innerhalb kürzester Zeit, und zwar mit der Mindestanzahl an Drehungen.

Weiterlesen Roboterzelle
Fashion and Robotics_590x350

FaR – Fashion and Robotics

Die Künstlerin Anna Piecek arbeitet in ihrem Projekt auf neue, innovative Weise mit Textilien, indem sie Volumen und Formen in Stoffe integriert, die im Stoffdesign durch herkömmliche Herstellungsprozesse bisher nicht umgesetzt werden konnten.

Weiterlesen FaR – Fashion and Robotics
Cyber Physical Macro material_590x350

Cyber Physical Macro Material

Das Projekt „Cyber Physical Macro Material“ beschäftigt sich mit einer Vision für eine dynamische und intelligente Architektur für den öffentlichen Raum. Konkret geht es um eine agile und rekonfigurierbare Überdachung, die aus einer Kombination verschiedener Roboterkonstruktionen mit einem programmierbaren digitalen Baumaterial besteht.

Weiterlesen Cyber Physical Macro Material
Informed Clay Matter_590x350

inFORMed Clay Matter

Im Mittelpunkt steht die Erforschung von additiven Herstellungsprozessen. Es geht um die Frage, wie sich das Material während der Fertigung verhält. Die ausgestellten Keramikobjekte entstehen mithilfe eines Roboterarms mit einem maßgeschneiderten Werkzeug für die Abscheidung von Ton und anderen pastösen Materialien.

Weiterlesen inFORMed Clay Matter