Creative Robotics

Past Exhibition
Begin: 31.01.2017
End: 12.03.2017

Kinetic Weaving_590x350

Industry 4.0, the Internet of Things and omnipresent automation give rise to fear on the part of many people that they’re replaceable by machines. But hasn’t humankind long dreamed of mechanical helpers that could act autonomously, understand us, and perform arduous tasks we gladly dispense with? Are robots taking over work for us, or are they taking it away from us? Or is it rather the case that they’re tools that enhance our capabilities and expand the horizon of our possibilities?

The Creative Robotics exhibition showcases industrial robots outside of their natural habitat—the factory floor—and deals with them as tools of creative expression. In cooperation with KUKA, Linz Art University’s Creative Robotics Lab, the Department of Robotics at the Johannes Kepler University Linz, the Robotic Woodcraft research project carried out jointly by the University of Applied Arts Vienna and the Association for Robots in Architecture, RWTH Aachen University’s Faculty of Architecture, and the Institute for Computational Design at the University of Stuttgart, we consider new areas of deployment and fields of application of industrial robotic technology. Even the creative economy has been increasingly discovering the multifarious possibilities afforded by these innovations. Here, robotic arms aren’t being utilized in conventional fashion for mass fabrication but rather as catalysts for innovation in the visual arts, design and architecture.

The exhibition ends March 12, 2017

Exhibits

Fluxuri3_590x350

Fluxuri

Fluxuri consists of a new surface material that’s thin and flexible and can be painted by merely touching it. Fluxuri can be painted manually or mechatronically. All it takes to do the former is to stroke the surface with your hands or fingers. For the latter, special plotters could be deployed, or robots could paint on the panels.

Read More Fluxuri
Robot, Doing Nothing2_590x350

Robot, Doing Nothing

The work entitled “Robot, Doing Nothing” accuses our modern society of being incessantly busy even beyond the confines of everyday life in the workplace.

Read More Robot, Doing Nothing

Seitenbereiche:

Kreative Robotik

Ehemalige Ausstellung
Beginn: 31.01.2017
Ende: 12.03.2017

Kinetic Weaving_590x350

Industrie 4.0, das Internet der Dinge und die allgegenwärtige Automatisierung lassen bei vielen Menschen die Angst aufkommen, durch Maschinen ersetzbar zu sein. Doch haben wir nicht lange davon geträumt, dass maschinelle Helfer autonom handeln, uns verstehen und mühselige Arbeiten für uns erledigen? Nehmen uns Roboter die Arbeit ab, oder nehmen sie sie uns weg? Oder sind sie vielmehr ein Werkzeug, um unsere Fähigkeiten zu verbessern und den Horizont unserer Möglichkeiten zu erweitern?

Die Ausstellung „Kreative Robotik“ zeigt Industrieroboter abseits ihres natürlichen Lebensraumes, der Fabrikhallen, und beschäftigt sich mit ihnen als Werkzeug kreativen Ausdrucks. In Kooperation mit KUKA, dem Labor für kreative Robotik der Kunstuniversität Linz, dem Institut für Robotik der JKU, dem Forschungsprojekt „Robotic Woodcraft“ der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien / Robots in Architecture, der Fakultät für Architektur der RWTH Aachen University, dem Institut für Computerbasiertes Entwerfen der Universität Stuttgart und Marc Printz/Fluxuri™ betrachten wir neue Einsatzgebiete und Anwendungsfelder für industrielle Robotertechnologien. Auch die Kreativszene beschäftigt sich heute vermehrt mit deren vielfältigen Möglichkeiten. Roboterarme werden hier nicht wie sonst für die Massenfertigung eingesetzt, sondern als Katalysator für Innovation in bildender Kunst, Design und Architektur.

Die Ausstellung endet am 12.3.2017

Exponate

Fluxuri3_590x350

Fluxuri

„Fluxuri“ besteht aus einem neuartigen dünnen und flexiblen Oberflächenmaterial, das durch bloße Berührung bemalt werden kann. „Fluxuri“ kann manuell – durch Darüberstreichen mit den Fingern oder Handflächen –, aber auch mechatronisch – beispielsweise durch den Einsatz spezieller Roboter – bemalt werden.

Weiterlesen Fluxuri
Robot, Doing Nothing2_590x350

Robot, Doing Nothing

Die Arbeit „Robot, Doing Nothing“ wirft unserer derzeitigen Gesellschaft vor, auch abseits des Arbeitsalltages durchgehend beschäftigt zu sein. Vor allem durch den Einsatz digitaler Technologien ist unsere permanente Präsenz, Kommunikationsbereitschaft und Informationsaufnahmefähigkeit gefragt.

Weiterlesen Robot, Doing Nothing