Marianne.von.Willemer. Prize for Digital Media

Stumreich_590x350

Credit: Kathrin Stumreich

The Marianne.von.Willemer. Prize for Digital Media provides financial support directly to female artists. It honors women who use digital media as an artistic tool and means of expression. This prize is meant to single out for recognition innovative works of art characterized by the use of or the explicit reference to digital media.

Kathrin Stumreich is the recipient of the 2016 Marianne.von.Willemer. Prize in recognition of her work “What would Ted Kaczynski’s daughter do…?” The jury was delighted by its sense of humor, its critique of media, and its take on an ambivalent society of technophobic users and true believers in technology.

Chrystal Tesla, the figure created by Kathrin Stumreich, is the artist’s response to issues of surveillance, anonymity and identity in a reality dependent on digital media. Tesla’s fictional backstory is loaded with allusions to the history of media and culture; her form is a reference to the stylized self-depiction of digital natives. Deploying the array of devices and DIY implements that Stumreich has placed at her artistic protagonist’s disposal, Chrystal Tesla fends off what is purportedly a system of control. In the narrative concocted by Stumreich, Chrystal Tesla’s apparatuses attract the attention of several curators, who are so delighted they resolve to showcase them in an exhibition.

The exhibition “What would Ted Kaczynski’s daughter do…” offers a glimpse into the Wunderkammer of Chrystal Tesla, the daughter of mathematician Theodore Kaczynski, the notorious Unabomber.

Chrystal Tesla shapes her character amidst, among other formative elements, the paranoia she inherited from her father and her personal affinity for technology, which manifests itself in terms of her career in engineering. She walks a thin line between a schizophrenic existence and a reality whose boundaries are adjustable depending upon the political situation and national security.

In this Wunderkammer, the degreed ethno-linguist and engineer displays her knowledge in order to confront the discipline of national security in Europe in 2015.

Constantly wary of being under surveillance by her father’s enemies, even here in Europe, she reveals her dual mindset—she’d like to be on the same level as those spying on her, to think as they do; by the same token, this implies understanding the other side, and this incessant shift plays right into the hands of Chrsystal’s diagnosis.

Chrystal responds to her encounters with various national security practices in the form of apparatuses inspired by and archive material adapted from those very practices. She builds absurd but rationally thought-out objects that integrate everything from state-of-the-art devices to the most primitive construction methods researched in the archives of ethnological science. Chrystal defines and orders their deployability within her idiosyncratic system of thinking, and goes into a spiral that drives her to act and create.

In stark contrast to her father’s hostility towards technology, her aspiration is to participate without constraint in high-tech developments, and to take a DIY approach to forming them to advance her own interests.

Interview

Read an interview with Kathrin Stumreich on our Ars Electronica Blog: Resistance from Below

Exhibits

Laserspy_590x350

650 nm Laserspy

The Laserspy apparatus that Chrystal Tesla built herself makes it possible to eavesdrop over long distances. A laser beam is aimed at a window pane. The laser is reflected by the plate of glass and received by a light-sensitive cell positioned far away.

Read More 650 nm Laserspy
Audio watch_590x350

Audio Watch surveille

The apparatus constantly rotates and, via a lens, takes in the light reflected by its surroundings. The lens is focused and the light’s values are amplified and made audible by a sensor corresponding to a pixel.

Read More Audio Watch surveille
Brettchengewebe_590x350

2.4 GHz Weaving

2.4 GHz Weaving is based on the idea of manually producing a copper fabric that can shield various electromagnetic wave bands.

Read More 2.4 GHz Weaving

Marianne.von.Willemer.-Preis für digitale Medien

Stumreich_590x350

Credit: Kathrin Stumreich

Der Marianne.von.Willemer.-Preis für digitale Medien ist eine direkte Förderung von Künstlerinnen und zeichnet Frauen aus, die digitale Medien als künstlerisches Werkzeug und Ausdrucksmittel nutzen. Gesucht werden innovative künstlerische Arbeiten, die durch den Einsatz oder die explizite Bezugnahme auf digitale Medien gekennzeichnet sind. Der Marianne.von.Willemer.2016-Preis ging an Kathrin Stumreich. Ihre Arbeit „What would Ted Kaczynski’s daughter do …?” überzeugte aufgrund des humorvollen und medienkritischen Blicks auf eine ambivalente Gesellschaft von technophoben und technikgläubigen NutzerInnen.

Mit der von ihr geschaffenen Figur Crystal Tesla antwortet die Künstlerin auf Fragen zu Überwachung, Anonymität und Identität in einer von digitalen Medien abhängigen Realität. Teslas fiktionale Geschichte ist durch medien- und kulturhistorische Zitate aufgeladen und verweist in ihrer Form auf die Selbstinszenierung der Digital Natives. Mit dem Instrumentarium aus Apparaturen und DIY-Werkzeugen, das Stumreich ihrer Kunstfigur zur Verfügung stellt, wehrt Crystal Tesla vermeintlich ein System der Kontrolle ab. In dem von der Künstlerin erdachten Szenario erregen Teslas Apparaturen die Aufmerksamkeit einiger KuratorInnen, die sie im Rahmen einer Ausstellung zeigen wollen.

Die Ausstellung „What would Ted Kaczynski’s daughter do…“ bietet einen Einblick in die „Wunderkammer“ von Chrystal Tesla, der Tochter des Mathematikers Theodore Kaczynski, später bekannt als Unabomber.

Chrystal Tesla bildet ihren Charakter unter anderem angesichts ihrer vom Vater vererbten Paranoia und ihrer persönlichen Technikaffinität – durch ihren Beruf als Ingenieurin naheliegend – heraus. Sie wandelt auf dem schmalen Grat zwischen schizophrenem Dasein und einer Realität, deren Grenzen je nach politischer Lage und nationaler Sicherheit verschiebbar sind.

Die studierte Ethnolinguistin und Ingenieurin manifestiert in dieser Wunderkammer ihr Wissen, um der Disziplin der „National Security“ im Europa des Jahres 2015 zu begegnen.

Ständig auf der Hut, von den Feinden ihres Vaters auch hier in Europa überwacht zu werden, wendet sie ihr Denken in zwei Richtungen: Es geht nicht nur um Abwehr, sondern sie möchte mit den Überwachern auf einer Ebene sein, so denken wie sie; dies impliziert das Verstehen der Gegenseite. Dieser ständige Wechsel spielt Chrystals Diagnose in die Hände.

Chrystal antwortet auf ihre Begegnungen mit verschiedensten Praktiken der National Security mit davon inspirierten Apparaturen und adaptiertem Archivmaterial. Sie baut absurde, aber auch nachvollziehbar gedachte Objekte, die von primitivsten Bauweisen, in Archiven ethnologischer Wissenschaften recherchiert, bis zu hoch technologisierten Devices alles integrieren. Chrystal definiert und ordnet deren Anwendbarkeit innerhalb ihres eigenwilligen Denksystems und befindet sich in einer Spirale, die zum Tun und Schaffen antreibt.

Anders als bei ihrem technikfeindlichen Vater ist es ihr Bestreben, an hoch technologisierten Entwicklungen uneingeschränkt teilhaben zu können und diese in DIY-Manier für ihre Interessen zu formieren.

Interview

Lesen Sie am Ars Electronica Blog ein Interview mit Kathrin Stumreich: Der Widerstand von unten

Exponate

Laserspy_590x350

650 nm Laserspy

Die von Chrystal Tesla selbst gebaute Laserspy-Apparatur ermöglicht das Abhören über lange Distanzen. Ein Laserstrahl wird auf eine Fensterscheibe gerichtet. Der Laser wird von der Scheibe reflektiert und über weite Entfernung von einer lichtsensiblen Zelle empfangen.

Weiterlesen 650 nm Laserspy
Audio watch_590x350

Audio Watch surveille

Die Apparatur dreht sich fortwährend um 360 Grad und nimmt das Licht, das von der Umgebung reflektiert wird, über eine Linse auf. Die Linse wird scharf gestellt und die Lichtwerte werden über einen Lichtsensor, der einem Pixel entspricht, verstärkt und hörbar gemacht.

Weiterlesen Audio Watch surveille
Brettchengewebe_590x350

Brettchengewebe für 2,4 GHz

„Brettchengewebe für 2,4 GHz“ basiert auf der Idee, manuell Kupfergewebe herzustellen, die verschiedene elektromagnetische Wellenbereiche abschirmen können.

Weiterlesen Brettchengewebe für 2,4 GHz