New Views of Humankind

Neue Bilder vom Menschen Übersichtsplan

How real can virtual reality really be and what can you experience in it? Will we print our food with the 3-D printer in the future? And what possibilities are there to explore the activities of our brain, and how do we use these results? Look with us in the human body, find out what scientists are doing today, and meet artworks with current technological developments. You can do all this and lots more in the MainGallery of the Ars Electronica Center Linz!

RESEARCH & DEVELOPMENT, UP CLOSE & PERSONAL

The featured installation, “New Views of Humankind,” is something truly extraordinary. This exhibit consists of four domains—laboratories, if you will: BrainLab, which makes you aware of how you perceive your surroundings and all that your brain leads you to believe as you do so; BioLab, the place to go for hands-on experience with state-of-the-art microscopes amidst cloned plants; FabLab that lets you take the fabrication technology of tomorrow out for a spin today; and the new VRLab, where you can immerse yourself in fictional worlds with so-called VR-glasses and learn more about the history of virtual reality, augmented reality and mixed reality.

PLAYFULLY EXPLORE WHAT’S NEW

No matter which direction your curiosity takes you, you’ll get your hands on stuff you’ve never encountered, and you’ll see some things you’ve most assuredly never seen before. Experience how exciting and even thrilling, how promising but also how risky, science and R&D can be.

BEHOLD NEW VIEWS OF HUMANKIND

Just because all our labs are outfitted with state-of-the-art equipment, that doesn’t mean that experts are the only ones who’ll feel comfortable. Nearly everything on display here can be operated by anyone. There are no prerequisites; check your inhibitions at the door. It’s all up to you—enjoy a fun, hand’s-on, learning-by-doing approach to innovation!

Exhibits

Hololens_590x350

Mixed Reality with Microsoft HoloLens

Microsoft HoloLens is a mixed reality headset that blends the digital world into the real one. Digital contents appear like holograms amidst a real-world setting.

Read More Mixed Reality with Microsoft HoloLens
HTC Vive_590x350

Virtual Reality with Vive and Oculus Rift

Vive, one of the first commercially available Virtual Reality systems, has made quite a name for itself among a variety of solutions that have recently hit the market. It enables users to experience games and other digital content as if you were right inside them. Oculus Rift is a virtual reality headset that was developed by Oculus VR and has been on the market since early 2016. Just like HTC Vive, Oculus Rift totally immerses the wearer in virtual worlds.

Read More Virtual Reality with Vive and Oculus Rift
homo digitalis_590x350

Homo Digitalis: What’s the Digital Revolution Doing to Us?

How long will we actually still be human and what does the exponential growth of progress have in store for us next? Have we already begun to morph into a new species, Homo Digitalis?

Read More Homo Digitalis: What’s the Digital Revolution Doing to Us?
Speaker Dress_590x350

Speaker Dress

Speaker Dress, the latest in Anouk Wipprecht’s ongoing series of interactive articles of clothing, augments the wearer’s body with sonic features. Speaker Dress transforms the body into a mobile hi-fi system that is also capable of composing and producing music autonomously.

Read More Speaker Dress
Hyper Reality_590x350

HYPER-REALITY

HYPER-REALITY is a concept film, presenting a provocative and kaleidoscopic new vision of the future, where physical and virtual realities have merged, and the city is saturated in media.

Read More HYPER-REALITY
LOGIN_590x350

LOGIN

This installation invites visitors to physically experience the login process, which normally isn’t visible. The transition from physical to digital states is manifested by an experience in which the perception of one’s body melds with its representation in the form of data.

Read More LOGIN
projectINEOscreenshotheaderimage_590x350

Project INEO

INEO is a virtual reality experience designed especially with the interests and needs of non-tech-savvy seniors in mind. The whole experience—beginning with the choice of scenery—was developed in cooperation with members of the Pensioners Club of the City of Vienna.

Read More Project INEO
training2038_590x350

Training 2038

In contrast to the perceived obfuscation in much of the computational protocols today, Training 2038 stages a scenario where people are given a voice to provide feedback on systems that are just taking shape.

Read More Training 2038
Fight_590x350

Fight

Fight is an artwork that lets viewers behold a virtual world in which each of their two eyes is presented with a different image. This results in a phenomenon known as binocular rivalry.

Read More Fight
reise in den körper_590x350

Journey into the Human Body: The Heart

The gaming & entertainment industries aren’t the only fields utilizing virtual reality applications; conveying information is another area with huge potential. For instance, a new project entitled “Journey into the Human Body: The Heart” provides innovative teaching material for elementary school pupils.

Read More Journey into the Human Body: The Heart
Agent Unicorn_590x350

Agent Unicorn

How can design and new technology be used to improve mental health therapy? Anouk Wipprecht’s 3D-printed headsets, which take the form of unicorn horns, are designed for children with ADHD (attention deficit hyperactivity disorder).

Read More Agent Unicorn
Sculptures of Time_590x350

Sculpture of Time

Goto’s works of art translate time—something that is inherently invisible—into three-dimensional space via 3-D printing. Those viewing them recognize, at first glance, only an undulating stack of more or less concentric silver circuits, but when light is projected through the interstices, series of motions become visible.

Read More Sculpture of Time
paro

Paro

“Paro” is a cute baby seal robot that responds when it hears its name, can recognize 50 different voices, and reacts when you touch it…

Read More Paro
sakkadendisplay_100

Saccade Based Display

Only while standing in front of the LED – pillars and performing a specific eye movment – a so called saccade – images of human eyes become visible.

Read More Saccade Based Display
insideout_100

Inside/Out

The retina has long been underrated. Is its job strictly to forward information to the brain? The latest studies say: No, it does much more!

Read More Inside/Out
retina-(1)_100

Visucam

Look yourself in the eyes and take a picture of your retina.

Read More Visucam
brainatlas_100

Brainatlas

The human brain is one of our most complicated and most vital organs. It’s also among our body’s biggest puzzles.

Read More Brainatlas
fmrt_100

fMRT

Functional Magnetic resonance tomography delivers images of the brain’s functions and activities.

Read More fMRT
holoman_100

Holoman

Step in front of the mirror and discover the fascination of the human body! Human anatomy has always fascinated artists no less than physicians. Anatomical representations from different historical epochs let us see how knowledge of the body has changed over the course of time. “Holoman” is a modern magical mirror that gives us a … Continue reading “Holoman”

Read More Holoman
seekid_100

SEE-KID

SEE++ is a high-performance computer program that makes it possible to simulate our eyes’ complex sequences of movements. With it, operations on the eye muscles can be planned.

Read More SEE-KID
aufdenerstenblick_100

At first Sight

Decision-making processes in the brain are lightening fast and often proceed unconsciously. Explaining how this works is the aim of several different research fields—from the neurosciences to artificial intelligence all the way to psychology.

Read More At first Sight
optischetaeuschung_100

Optical Illusions

There are certain things we can rely on: the sky is blue, the world is three-dimensional, and the further away an object is, the smaller it gets. Do you truly believe that?

Read More Optical Illusions
Gehirn für alle_Gedankenkraft_590x350

Brain Computer Interface

The brain-computer interface conveys information directly from the brain to the computer. Serving as the interface is usually an EEG cap placed on the subject’s head. Electrodes implanted directly into the brain enable, for example, severely physically handicapped persons to use a computer and to communicate more easily.

Read More Brain Computer Interface

Neue Bilder vom Menschen

Neue Bilder vom Menschen Übersichtsplan

Wie wirklich kann virtuelle Realität sein und was kann man darin alles erleben? Drucken wir in Zukunft unser Essen mit dem 3-D Drucker? Und welche Möglichkeiten gibt es eigentlich, die Aktivitäten unseres Gehirns zu erforschen, und wie nutzen wir diese Ergebnisse? Blicken Sie mit uns in den menschlichen Körper, finden Sie heraus, woran WissenschaftlerInnen heute forschen, und treffen Sie auf künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen mit aktuellen technologischen Entwicklungen. Das alles und noch viel mehr können Sie in der MainGallery des Ars Electronica Center Linz tun!

FORSCHUNG HAUTNAH ERLEBEN

„Neue Bilder vom Menschen“ lautet der Titel jener einzigartigen Ausstellung, die Sie hier erwartet. Eine Ausstellung, die aus vier Bereichen – aus vier Labors – besteht: Dem BrainLab, das bewusst macht, wie Sie Ihre Umgebung wahrnehmen und was Ihnen Ihr Gehirn dabei so alles vorgaukelt. Dem BioLab, in dem Sie inmitten geklonter Pflanzen hochmoderne Mikroskope ausprobieren. Dem FabLab, wo Sie schon heute die Fabrikation der Zukunft testen können und dem neuen VRLab, in dem Sie mit sogenannten VR-Brillen in fiktive Welten eintauchen und mehr über die Geschichte von Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality und Mixed Reality erfahren.

SPIELEND NEUES ENTDECKEN

Egal in welchem unserer Labors Sie Ihre Neugier stillen, Sie werden Dinge ausprobieren, die Sie noch nie probiert haben. Und Sie werden Dinge sehen, die Sie so noch nie gesehen haben. Sie werden erleben, wie spannend und aufregend, wie vielversprechend aber auch riskant Wissenschaft und Forschung sein können.

NEUE BILDER VOM MENSCHEN SEHEN

Auch wenn unsere Labors allesamt technisch hochwertig ausgestattet sind heißt das nicht, dass sich hier nur ExpertInnen zuhause fühlen würden. Im Gegenteil. Nahezu alles in unserer Ausstellung kann von jeder und jedem bedient und genutzt werden. Ohne jedes Vorwissen und Scheu. Denn falsch machen kann hier niemand etwas – nur Neues herausfinden!

Exponate

Hololens_590x350

Mixed Reality mit Microsoft HoloLens

Die Microsoft HoloLens ist ein Mixed-Rality-Headset, das die reale Welt mit der digitalen Welt verschmelzen lässt. Digitale Inhalte erscheinen in der realen Umgebung wie Hologramme.

Weiterlesen Mixed Reality mit Microsoft HoloLens
HTC Vive_590x350

Virtual Reality mit Vive und Oculus Rift

Vive ist eines der ersten kommerziell verfügbaren Virtual-Reality-Systeme, das aktuell am Markt erhältlich ist. Die Kombination aus Headset und Bewegungssteuerung ist derzeit eines der kompromisslosesten Produkte seiner Art und ermöglicht es, Spiele und andere digitale Inhalte so zu erleben, als wäre man selbst in ihnen. Oculus Rift ist eine Virtual Reality Brille, die seit Anfang 2016 am Markt erhältlich ist und von Oculus VR entwickelt wurde. Ähnlich wie mit der HTC Vive taucht man mit der Oculus Rift voll und ganz in virtuelle Welten ein.

Weiterlesen Virtual Reality mit Vive und Oculus Rift
homo digitalis_590x350

Homo Digitalis: Was macht die digitale Revolution mit uns?

Wie lange werden wir noch Mensch sein und wie geht es weiter mit dem rasend schnellen Voranschreiten der technologischen Entwicklungen? Verwandeln wir uns bereits vom Homo sapiens in eine neue Spezies – den „Homo digitalis“?

Weiterlesen Homo Digitalis: Was macht die digitale Revolution mit uns?
Speaker Dress_590x350

Speaker Dress

Das Speaker Dress ist eine Weiterführung von Anouk Wipprechts Serie mit interaktiven Kleidungsstücken. Dieses Kleid erweitert den Körper um klangliche Eigenschaften. Das Speaker Dress verwandelt den Körper in ein mobiles Hi-Fi-System und ist gleichzeitig in der Lage, Musik autonom zu komponieren und zu erzeugen.

Weiterlesen Speaker Dress
Hyper Reality_590x350

HYPER-REALITY

HYPER-REALITY ist ein Konzeptfilm, der eine provokante und kaleidoskopische neue Vision der Zukunft präsentiert, in der physische und virtuelle Realitäten verschmelzen und die Stadt medial durchdrungen ist.

Weiterlesen HYPER-REALITY
LOGIN_590x350

LOGIN

In der Installation LOGIN werden die BenutzerInnen dazu eingeladen, den Prozess des Einloggens, der für gewöhnlich nicht visuell erfahrbar ist, körperlich zu erleben. Der Übergang zwischen Physischem und Digitalem wird durch eine Erfahrung abgebildet, in der die Körperwahrnehmung mit ihrer Repräsentation in Form von Daten verschmilzt.

Weiterlesen LOGIN
projectINEOscreenshotheaderimage_590x350

Projekt INEO

Das Projekt INEO ist eine Virtual-Reality-Experience, die auf die Interessen und Bedürfnisse auch nicht technikaffiner Menschen der älteren Generation abgestimmt ist. Angefangen bei der Wahl der Szenerie, wurde die Experience in Zusammenarbeit mit Mitgliedern des Pensionistenklubs der Stadt Wien entwickelt.

Weiterlesen Projekt INEO
training2038_590x350

Training 2038

Training 2038 setzt dem für viele undurchschaubaren, technologisierten Alltag das Szenario entgegen, in dem Menschen die Möglichkeit bekommen, Feedback über Entwicklungen abzugeben, die erst Form annehmen.

Weiterlesen Training 2038
Fight_590x350

Fight

Das Kunstwerk Fight verschafft den BetrachterInnen Zugang zu einer virtuellen Welt, in der sie für jedes Auge ein unterschiedliches Bild zu sehen bekommen – auf diese Weise kommt es zum Phänomen der sogenannten „binokularen Rivalität“.

Weiterlesen Fight
reise in den körper_590x350

Reise in den Körper – Das Herz

Virtual Reality findet nicht nur in der Spiele- und Unterhaltungsindustrie Anwendung, sondern hat auch im Bereich der Wissensvermittlung enormes Potenzial. Reise in den Körper – Das Herz ist ein neuartiges Projekt und ein innovatives Lehrmittel für Schülerinnen und Schüler.

Weiterlesen Reise in den Körper – Das Herz
Agent Unicorn_590x350

Agent Unicorn

Wie kann Design und neue Technik genutzt werden, um die Behandlung von psychischen Krankheiten zu verbessern? Anouk Wipprechts 3D-Druck-Headsets sind wie das Horn eines Einhorns geformt und wurden für Kinder mit ADHS (Aufmerksamkeits-Defizit-Hyperaktivitäts-Störung) entworfen.

Weiterlesen Agent Unicorn
Sculptures of Time_590x350

Sculpture of Time

Gotos Kunstwerke übertragen Zeit – etwas, das an sich nicht sichtbar ist – mittels 3-D-Druck in den dreidimensionalen Raum. Auf den ersten Blick erkennen die BetrachterInnen nur weiße Schlingen oder Netze, doch indem Licht durch Schlitze hindurch projiziert wird, lässt sich eine Bewegung sichtbar machen.

Weiterlesen Sculpture of Time
paro

Paro

„Paro“ ist eine niedliche Roboter-Robbe, die auf ihren Namen hört, bis zu 50 Stimmen unterscheiden kann und auf jede Berührung reagiert.

Weiterlesen Paro
sakkadendisplay_100

Sakkaden-basiertes Display

Nur wenn man vor den LED-Säulen steht und eine ganz bestimmte Augenbewegung vollzieht – eine so genannte Sakkade – offenbaren sich Bilder menschlicher Augen.

Weiterlesen Sakkaden-basiertes Display
insideout_100

Inside/Out

Lange Zeit wurde die Retina unterschätzt. Liegt ihre Aufgabe wirklich nur darin, Informationen ans Gehirn weiterzuleiten? Jüngste Untersuchungen zeigen: nein! Sie leistet viel mehr!

Weiterlesen Inside/Out
retina-(1)_100

Visucam

Blicken Sie sich selbst in die Augen und machen Sie ein Foto Ihrer Netzhaut.

Weiterlesen Visucam
brainatlas_100

Brainatlas

Das menschliche Gehirn ist eines unserer kompliziertesten und wichtigsten Organe. Es zählt aber auch zu den größten Rätseln unseres Körpers.

Weiterlesen Brainatlas
fmrt_100

fMRT

Mit der funktionellen Magnetresonanztomographie können Funktionen und Aktivitäten des Gehirns abgebildet werden.

Weiterlesen fMRT
holoman_100

Holoman

Treten Sie vor den Spiegel und entdecken Sie die Faszination des menschlichen Körpers! Die Anatomie des Menschen fasziniert seit jeher sowohl Medizin als auch Kunst. Anatomische Darstellungen aus verschiedenen Jahrhunderten geben uns ein Bild davon, wie sich das Wissen über den Körper im Laufe der Zeit verändert hat. „Holoman“ ist ein moderner Zauberspiegel, der einen … Continue reading „Holoman“

Weiterlesen Holoman
seekid_100

SEE-KID

SEE++ ist eine hoch entwickelte Software, die es erlaubt, die komplexen Bewegungsabläufe unserer Augen zu simulieren. Damit können Operationen an der Muskulatur des Auges geplant werden.

Weiterlesen SEE-KID
aufdenerstenblick_100

Auf den ersten Blick

Entscheidungsprozesse im Gehirn laufen blitzartig und oftmals unbewusst ab. Ihnen auf die Spur zu kommen, ist das Anliegen zahlreicher Forschungsgebiete – von den Neurowissenschaften über die künstliche Intelligenz bis hin zur Psychologie.

Weiterlesen Auf den ersten Blick
optischetaeuschung_100

Optische Täuschungen

Auf gewisse Dinge können wir uns verlassen: Der Himmel ist blau, die Welt dreidimensional, ein Gegenstand umso kleiner, je weiter er weg ist. Glauben Sie das wirklich?

Weiterlesen Optische Täuschungen
Gehirn für alle_Gedankenkraft_590x350

Brain-Computer-Interface

Das „Brain-Computer-Interface“ leitet Informationen vom Gehirn an den Computer weiter. Als Verbindung dient meist eine EEG-Haube. Direkt ins Hirn eingepflanzt ermöglichen Elektroden z. B. körperlich schwer eingeschränkten Personen eine leichtere Kommunikation oder die Bedienung eines Computers.

Weiterlesen Brain-Computer-Interface