TIME OUT

TIME OUT

Linz Art University and Ars Electronica have been working together closely for many years now. One collaborative project has been the TIME OUT exhibition series that enables young media artists in the school’s Time-based and Interactive Media program to show their work in the Ars Electronica Center.

This Bachelor of Art degree program offers comprehensive and highly professional approaches to the theory, technology and design of digital media. It’s geared towards students interested in gaining in-depth skills and wide-ranging experience in the areas of video, audio, installation, interface and interaction. In this program, the accent is on providing students with plenty of creative latitude to express themselves using the means afforded by audiovisual technology, to experiment with digital media, and to bring their own ideas to fruition.

Read more about the exhibition series: Ars Electronica Blog.

Exhibits

galleya jump 590x350

Eyes to the Ground (TIME OUT .07)

The X in the middle of the trampoline serves as a button to begin taking a tour through Dominik Galleya’s everyday life. Like clicking on a camera’s shutter release, a bounce on the trampoline switches to the next photo.

Read More Eyes to the Ground (TIME OUT .07)
20170523_HIM31522_him_domas-schwarz_590x350

Wachstropf (TIME OUT .07)

Icicles symbolize aesthetically pleasing but fragile objects whose long and elaborate process of formation can be negated in seconds by an unforeseen event.

Read More Wachstropf (TIME OUT .07)
all of us narben 590x350

All of Us (TIME OUT .07)

In her interactive installation entitled “All of Us,” Marlene Reischl confronts the aesthetics of scars. In addition to the visible external marks on a human being, scars also include enduring memories of injuries or experiences.

Read More All of Us (TIME OUT .07)
Reframing_590x350

REFRAMING (TIME OUT .07)

The context in which we perceive ourselves and our environment is decisive in determining how we grasp and interpret something. Our point of view is always subjective and often constrained by social and personal norms.

Read More REFRAMING (TIME OUT .07)
greetings-3_590x350

Greetings (TIME OUT .07)

Suspended from the ceiling are numerous identical, autonomous devices controlled by infrared motion sensors. The devices’ function is to open and close greeting cards equipped with sound modules.

Read More Greetings (TIME OUT .07)
light driven stand still 590x350

A Light-Driven Standstill (TIME OUT .07)

The Experimental Procedures lecture course Katharina Gruber took at Linz Art University inspired her to investigate the dynamic relationship between movement and standstill.

Read More A Light-Driven Standstill (TIME OUT .07)
How to Infiltrate_590x350

How to Infiltrate a Group of Friends (TIME OUT .07)

This autobiographical computer game is meant as a means of dealing with lost friendships. There was no angry outburst, no argument, no triggering event—nevertheless, a group of friends went their separate ways.

Read More How to Infiltrate a Group of Friends (TIME OUT .07)
Heimkommen_590x350

Coming Home (TIME OUT .07)

In Lisa Bickel’s work “Coming Home,” she poses a series of questions: What do you hear when, after a long day, you come home and switch on the light? How is the atmosphere? Which sound do you perceive as pleasant? Which is annoying?

Read More Coming Home (TIME OUT .07)
Fabian-Erblehner-Sphäre_590x350

E + F – K = 2 (TIME OUT .07)

E + F – K = 2 (English: V – E + F = 2) is an equation known as Euler’s polyhedron formula, whereby, for any given polyhedron, the number of vertices (corners) minus the number of edges plus the number of faces equals two. Fabian Erblehner’s artistic work is just such a structure, a polyhedron consisting of multiple polygons.

Read More E + F – K = 2 (TIME OUT .07)
International Coverage_590x350

[inter]national coverage (TIME OUT .05)

“[inter]national coverage” deals with the reportage by Austrian online newspapers on matters of global importance.

Read More [inter]national coverage (TIME OUT .05)
yut

Your Unerasable Text (TIME OUT .01)

A text message is printed and seemingly irretrievably destroyed before the eyes of visitors – but on any digital node, that the message has passed, there was the option to save a copy of it.

Read More Your Unerasable Text (TIME OUT .01)

TIME OUT

TIME OUT

Die Kunstuniversität Linz und Ars Electronica stehen seit vielen Jahren in enger Verbindung. Im Rahmen der Ausstellungsreihe „TIME OUT“ stellt das Ars Electronica Center jungen MedienkünstlerInnen der Studienrichtung „Zeitbasierte und Interaktive Medien“ Raum für ihre Arbeiten zur Verfügung.

Das künstlerische Bachelorstudium bietet umfassende und professionelle Zugänge zu Theorie, Technik und Gestaltung von digitalen Medien und wendet sich damit an Studierende, die sich intensiv und umfassend mit den Bereichen Video, Audio, Installation, Interface und Interaktion beschäftigen wollen. Der Freiraum, sich in kreativer Form mithilfe audiovisueller Mittel auszudrücken, mit digitalen Medien zu experimentieren und eigene Ideen zu verwirklichen, steht im Vordergrund des Studiums.

Lesen Sie auf dem Ars Electronica Blog weiterführende Interviews mit dem Studiengangsleiter Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gerhard Funk und den KünstlerInnen.

Merken

Exponate

galleya jump 590x350

Eyes to the Ground (TIME OUT .07)

Das X in der Mitte des Trampolins dient als Button, um durch den Alltag von Dominik Galleya geführt zu werden. Mit einem Sprung auf dem Trampolin wechselt man – wie mit einem Klick auf einer Kamera – zum nächsten Foto.

Weiterlesen Eyes to the Ground (TIME OUT .07)
20170523_HIM31522_him_domas-schwarz_590x350

Wachstropf (TIME OUT .07)

Zapfen sind ästhetische, aber zerbrechliche Objekte, deren langer und aufwendiger Entstehungsprozess durch unvorhergesehene Ereignisse in Sekunden zunichte gemacht werden kann.

Weiterlesen Wachstropf (TIME OUT .07)
all of us narben 590x350

All of Us (TIME OUT .07)

In der interaktiven Installation „All of Us“ setzt sich Marlene Reischl mit der Ästhetik von Narben auseinander. Dazu gehören neben dem äußerlich sichtbaren wunden Punkt auch dauerhafte Erinnerungen an Verletzungen oder Erlebnisse.

Weiterlesen All of Us (TIME OUT .07)
Reframing_590x350

REFRAMING (TIME OUT .07)

Der Kontext, in dem wir uns selbst und unsere Umwelt wahrnehmen, ist ausschlaggebend dafür, wie wir etwas auffassen und interpretieren. Unsere Sichtweise ist immer subjektiv und oft durch gesellschaftliche und persönliche Normen eingegrenzt.

Weiterlesen REFRAMING (TIME OUT .07)
greetings-3_590x350

Greetings (TIME OUT .07)

Von der Decke hängend, wird eine Reihe von beinahe identen, autarken, durch Infrarot-Bewegungssensoren gesteuerten Gerätschaften dazu verwendet, mit Tonmodulen ausgestattete Grußkarten aufzumachen und zu schließen.

Weiterlesen Greetings (TIME OUT .07)
light driven stand still 590x350

A Light-Driven Standstill (TIME OUT .07)

Inspiriert durch die Vorlesung „Experimentelle Verfahren“ an der Kunstuniversität Linz beschäftigt sich Katharina Gruber mit dem dynamischen Verhältnis von Bewegung und Stillstand.

Weiterlesen A Light-Driven Standstill (TIME OUT .07)
How to Infiltrate_590x350

How to Infiltrate a Group of Friends (TIME OUT .07)

In diesem autobiografischen Computerspiel werden verlorene Freundschaften aufgearbeitet. Es gab keinen Knall, keinen Streit und keinen Auslöser – dennoch hat sich eine Gruppe aus FreundInnen verlaufen.

Weiterlesen How to Infiltrate a Group of Friends (TIME OUT .07)
Heimkommen_590x350

Heimkommen (TIME OUT .07)

In ihrer Arbeit „Heimkommen“ beschäftigt sich Lisa Bickel mit Fragen wie „Was hört man, wenn man nach einem langen Tag nach Hause kommt und das Licht einschaltet? Wie ist die Stimmung? Welches Geräusch empfindet man als angenehm? Welches als störend?“

Weiterlesen Heimkommen (TIME OUT .07)
Fabian-Erblehner-Sphäre_590x350

E + F – K = 2 (TIME OUT .07)

E + F – K = 2 ist die sogenannte eulersche Polyederformel. Sie beschreibt, dass bei einem Polyeder – auch Vielflächner genannt – die Anzahl der Ecken plus die Anzahl der Flächen minus die Anzahl der Kanten gleich zwei ist. Aus solch einem aus Vielecken aufgebauten Polyeder besteht die künstlerische Arbeit von Fabian Erblehner.

Weiterlesen E + F – K = 2 (TIME OUT .07)
International Coverage_590x350

[inter]national coverage (TIME OUT .05)

„[inter]national coverage“ beschäftigt sich mit der medialen Berichterstattung österreichischer Onlinezeitungen über weltweit relevante Themen.

Weiterlesen [inter]national coverage (TIME OUT .05)
yut

Your Unerasable Text (TIME OUT .01)

Eine SMS wird ausgedruckt und vor den Augen der BesucherInnen scheinbar unwiederbringlich zerstört – doch auf jedem digitalen Knoten, den die Nachricht passierte, gab es die Möglichkeit, eine Kopie davon zu speichern.

Weiterlesen Your Unerasable Text (TIME OUT .01)