VRLab

VRLab_Rob_590x350

Photo: Robert Bauernhansl

In early September—just in time for the 2017 Ars Electronica Festival—we opened a new VRLab in our main exhibition, New Views of Humankind.

Virtual reality, augmented reality and mixed reality, total immersion in virtual worlds and superimposing data onto our reality—for several years now, everybody’s been talking up these concepts and ideas once again.

The enthusiasm that accompanied the dawn of this new high-tech age in the 1980s and ’90s is back, whereby the technology deployed in today’s data glasses (head-mounted displays) seems to finally be able to live up to the visions that preceded it. VR, AR and MR have become a playground of multifarious pursuits: the gaming sector and film industry, applications in the educational field and tourism market, works of art and architecture, the creative economy, performance and the theater.

The VRLab in the Ars Electronica Center’s Main Gallery showcases the latest VR, AR and MR technologies. In addition to applications by filmmakers and animators as well as artistic approaches, the VRLab relates the history of virtual and augmented reality’s development. What did 18th-century spatial illusions look like, how did we progress from the stereoscope to the Oculus Rift, and in which directions will VR and AR be advancing in days to come? The VRLab provides insights into these questions.

Exhibits

Hololens_590x350

Mixed Reality with Microsoft HoloLens

Microsoft HoloLens is a mixed reality headset that blends the digital world into the real one. Digital contents appear like holograms amidst a real-world setting.

Read More Mixed Reality with Microsoft HoloLens
HTC Vive_590x350

Virtual Reality with Vive and Oculus Rift

Vive, one of the first commercially available Virtual Reality systems, has made quite a name for itself among a variety of solutions that have recently hit the market. It enables users to experience games and other digital content as if you were right inside them. Oculus Rift is a virtual reality headset that was developed by Oculus VR and has been on the market since early 2016. Just like HTC Vive, Oculus Rift totally immerses the wearer in virtual worlds.

Read More Virtual Reality with Vive and Oculus Rift
MasterWorks_590x350

MasterWorks

In this virtual reality application, you travel to various historically significant locations around the world and discover the fate of the ancient capital of Thailand, the mysteries of a pre-Incan temple in the Peruvian Andes, the astonishing Native American cliff dwellings of Colorado and the monumental stone carvings of Mount Rushmore in South Dakota.

Read More MasterWorks
lacuna ahifts_590x350

The Lacuna Shifts

Alice in Wonderland inspired the artists’ collective named DEPART to create this Virtual Reality application that immerses users into a world behind the looking glass in which nothing is the way it seems.

Read More The Lacuna Shifts
dsl_haus-der-medusa_590x350

The House of Medusa

In 2000, fragments of Roman mural paintings were discovered and recovered during an archaeological emergency excavation prior to the construction of a car park in Enns. Enter the virtual house of Medusa in this VR application.

Read More The House of Medusa
Hyper Reality_590x350

HYPER-REALITY

HYPER-REALITY is a concept film, presenting a provocative and kaleidoscopic new vision of the future, where physical and virtual realities have merged, and the city is saturated in media.

Read More HYPER-REALITY
LOGIN_590x350

LOGIN

This installation invites visitors to physically experience the login process, which normally isn’t visible. The transition from physical to digital states is manifested by an experience in which the perception of one’s body melds with its representation in the form of data.

Read More LOGIN
projectINEOscreenshotheaderimage_590x350

Project INEO

INEO is a virtual reality experience designed especially with the interests and needs of non-tech-savvy seniors in mind. The whole experience—beginning with the choice of scenery—was developed in cooperation with members of the Pensioners Club of the City of Vienna.

Read More Project INEO

VRLab

VRLab_Rob_590x350

Foto: Robert Bauernhansl

Zum Ars Electronica Festival 2017 eröffneten wir Anfang September in der Hauptausstellung Neue Bilder vom Menschen das neue VRLab.

Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality und Mixed Reality, das Eintauchen in virtuelle Welten und die Überlagerung unserer Realität mit Daten: Begriffe und Ideen, die seit einigen Jahren wieder in aller Munde sind.

Der Aufbruchsgeist, der die Entwicklung und Diskussion dieser Technologien in den 1980er- und 1990er-Jahren bestimmt hat, ist wieder zu spüren, und die Technik, die bei den aktuellen Datenbrillen (Head Mounted Displays) zum Einsatz kommt, scheint endlich auf dem besten Wege zu sein, mit den Visionen mithalten zu können. VR, AR und MR sind zum Spielplatz unterschiedlichster Bereiche geworden: von der Gaming- und Filmindustrie über Applikationen im Bildungs- und Tourismusbereich bis hin zu Arbeiten aus Architektur, Kunst, Kreativindustrie, Performance und Theater.

Das Ars Electronica Center zeigt im VRLab in der Main Gallery die neuesten VR-, AR-und MR-Technologien. Neben der Präsentation von Applikationen aus Film und Animation sowie künstlerischen Ansätzen wird erzählt, wie sich die virtuelle und erweiterte Realität entwickelt haben. Wie sahen die frühen Illusionsräume des 18. Jahrhunderts aus, wie kamen wir vom Stereoskop zur Oculus Rift, und wohin entwickeln sich VR und AR in der Zukunft? Das VRLab vermittelt einen Einblick in diese Fragen.

Exponate

Hololens_590x350

Mixed Reality mit Microsoft HoloLens

Die Microsoft HoloLens ist ein Mixed-Rality-Headset, das die reale Welt mit der digitalen Welt verschmelzen lässt. Digitale Inhalte erscheinen in der realen Umgebung wie Hologramme.

Weiterlesen Mixed Reality mit Microsoft HoloLens
HTC Vive_590x350

Virtual Reality mit Vive und Oculus Rift

Vive ist eines der ersten kommerziell verfügbaren Virtual-Reality-Systeme, das aktuell am Markt erhältlich ist. Die Kombination aus Headset und Bewegungssteuerung ist derzeit eines der kompromisslosesten Produkte seiner Art und ermöglicht es, Spiele und andere digitale Inhalte so zu erleben, als wäre man selbst in ihnen. Oculus Rift ist eine Virtual Reality Brille, die seit Anfang 2016 am Markt erhältlich ist und von Oculus VR entwickelt wurde. Ähnlich wie mit der HTC Vive taucht man mit der Oculus Rift voll und ganz in virtuelle Welten ein.

Weiterlesen Virtual Reality mit Vive und Oculus Rift
MasterWorks_590x350

MasterWorks

In dieser Virtual-Reality-Applikation reist man zu verschiedenen historisch bedeutsamen Orten der Welt und entdeckt das Schicksal der alten Hauptstadt Thailands, die Geheimnisse eines präinkaischen Tempels in den peruanischen Anden, die erstaunlichen indianischen Klippenwohnungen von Colorado und die monumentalen Steinschnitzereien des Mount Rushmore in South Dakota.

Weiterlesen MasterWorks
lacuna ahifts_590x350

The Lacuna Shifts

In Anlehnung an Alice im Wunderland taucht man in der Virtual-Reality-Applikation des Künstlerkollektivs DEPART in eine Welt hinter einem Spiegel ein, in der nichts ist, wie es scheint.

Weiterlesen The Lacuna Shifts
dsl_haus-der-medusa_590x350

Das Haus der Medusa

Im Jahr 2000 wurden im Vorfeld der Errichtung eines Parkplatzes in Enns im Rahmen einer archäologischen Notgrabung Fragmente von römischen Wandmalereien entdeckt und geborgen. Betreten Sie in dieser VR-Applikation das virtuelle Haus der Medusa.

Weiterlesen Das Haus der Medusa
Hyper Reality_590x350

HYPER-REALITY

HYPER-REALITY ist ein Konzeptfilm, der eine provokante und kaleidoskopische neue Vision der Zukunft präsentiert, in der physische und virtuelle Realitäten verschmelzen und die Stadt medial durchdrungen ist.

Weiterlesen HYPER-REALITY
LOGIN_590x350

LOGIN

In der Installation LOGIN werden die BenutzerInnen dazu eingeladen, den Prozess des Einloggens, der für gewöhnlich nicht visuell erfahrbar ist, körperlich zu erleben. Der Übergang zwischen Physischem und Digitalem wird durch eine Erfahrung abgebildet, in der die Körperwahrnehmung mit ihrer Repräsentation in Form von Daten verschmilzt.

Weiterlesen LOGIN
projectINEOscreenshotheaderimage_590x350

Projekt INEO

Das Projekt INEO ist eine Virtual-Reality-Experience, die auf die Interessen und Bedürfnisse auch nicht technikaffiner Menschen der älteren Generation abgestimmt ist. Angefangen bei der Wahl der Szenerie, wurde die Experience in Zusammenarbeit mit Mitgliedern des Pensionistenklubs der Stadt Wien entwickelt.

Weiterlesen Projekt INEO