The Ars Electronica Festival premiered on September 18, 1979. This pilot project was designed to take the Digital Revolution’s emergence as an occasion to scrutinize potential futures and to focus these inquiries on the nexus of art, technology and society. With this philosophy, which remains Ars Electronica’s watchwords to this day, the Festival’s founders— cyberneticist/physicist Herbert W. Franke, electronic musician Hubert Bognermayr, music producer Ulli A. Rützel and Hannes Leopoldseder, then director of the ORF–Austrian Broadcasting Company’s Upper Austria regional studio—laid the foundation for Ars Electronica’s ongoing success.

From Trial Balloon to International Success Story

Within a few years, this Linz invention developed into one of the world’s most important media art festivals. From year to year, its lineup became more extensive and multifaceted. There were symposia, exhibitions, performances, concerts and interventions spanning a broad arc from speculative futuristic scenarios to analytical considerations, from provocative actionism to philosophical debate. Each year, the Festival has been dedicated to a new theme and the organizers are also constantly on the lookout for interesting new venues—indeed, the consistent effort to break out of the narrow confines of conventional conference rooms and artistic spaces, and to stage cultural and scientific encounters in the public sphere has become something of an Ars Electronica trademark. Linz Harbor, a network of subterranean tunnels, a monastery, a tobacco processing plant and a former Austrian Postal Service logistics facility have been among the settings of this festival that defines itself as work in and with the public.

Extraordinary Spirit

In 1979, the festival lineup was a short list: 20 artists and scientists hosted the program. Now, almost four decades later, the dramatis personae include over 1,000 artists and scientists from more than 40 countries, as well as approximately 450 accredited journalists and bloggers. And the renowned artists, speakers and media outlet representatives from throughout the world are by no means the whole story of what makes this event so great. Key contributors to the festival’s incomparable spirit are the thousands of annual visitors—a colorful mix of old friends and new faces.

Artistic Directors

Gerfried StockerGerfried Stocker (AT) is a media artist and an electronic engineer. Since 1995 he has been a managing and an artistic director of Ars Electronica. 1995/1996 he developed the groundbreaking exhibition strategies of Ars Electronica Center with a small team of artists and technicians and was responsible for the set-up and establishment of Ars Electronica’s own R&D facility, Ars Electronica Futurelab. Since 2004 he has been in charge of developing Ars Electronica’s program of international exhibition tours. From 2005 on he planned the expansion of Ars Electronica Center and implemented the total substantive makeover of its exhibits. Stocker is a guest speaker at many international conferences and a Visiting Professor at Osaka University of Arts as well as guest lecturer at Deusto University Bilbao. He is also a consultant for many international companies on creativity and innovation management.

Christine SchöpfSince 1979, Christine Schöpf (AT) has been a driving force behind Ars Electronica’s development. Between 1987 and 2003, she played a key role in conceiving and organizing the Prix Ars Electronica. Since 1996, she and Gerfried Stocker have shared responsibility for the artistic direction of the Ars Electronica Festival. Christine Schöpf studied German & Romance languages and literature and then worked as a radio and TV journalist. From 1981 to 2008, she was in charge of cultural and scientific reporting at the ORF – Austrian Broadcasting Company’s Upper Austria Regional Studio. In 2009, Linz Art University bestowed the title of honorary professor on Christine Schöpf.

Am 18. September 1979 erblickt das allererste Ars Electronica Festival das Licht der Welt. Ein Pilotprojekt, das die gerade heraufziehende digitale Revolution zum Anlass nimmt, nach möglichen Zukunften zu fragen und diese Recherche an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft ansiedelt. Mit dieser bis heute gültigen Philosophie legen der Kybernetiker und Physiker Herbert W. Franke (AT), der Elektronikmusiker Hubert Bognermayr (AT), der Musikproduzent Ulli A. Rützel (AT) und Hannes Leopoldseder (AT), damaliger Intendant des ORF-Landesstudios Oberösterreich, den Grundstein für die Erfolgsgeschichte der Ars Electronica.

Vom Versuchsballon zum Welterfolg

Binnen weniger Jahre entwickelt sich die Linzer Erfindung zu einem der wichtigsten internationalen Medienkunstfestivals. Von Jahr zu Jahr wird das Festivalprogramm dichter und facettenreicher – Symposien, Ausstellungen, Performances, Konzerte und Interventionen spannen dabei den Bogen vom spekulativen Zukunftsentwurf zur analytischen Betrachtung, vom provokanten Aktionismus zur philosophischen Debatte. Jedes Jahr widmet sich das Festival zudem neuen Themen. Und sucht nach neuen Orten. Das konsequente Ver- bzw. Hintersichlassen klassischer Konferenz- und Kulturräume und Hinaustragen der künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung in den öffentlichen Raum wird schon bald zum Markenzeichen. Ob im Linzer Hafen oder Bergstollen, im Kloster, der Industriehalle oder im ehemaligen Postverteilerzentrum, Ars Electronica versteht sich stets als Arbeit in und mit Öffentlichkeit.

Einzigartiger Festivalspirit

Bestritten 1979 gerade einmal 20 KünstlerInnen und WissenschafterInnen das Programm des Festivals, beteiligen sich über 35 Jahre später mehr als 1.000 KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen aus über 40 Ländern und akkreditieren sich rund 450 JournalistInnen und BloggerInnen.  Längst sind es aber nicht mehr nur die renommierten Artists und Speakers und MedienverterInnen aus aller Welt, die den Reiz der Ars Electronica ausmachen. Es sind vor allem auch die vielen BesucherInnen, die Jahr für Jahr maßgeblich zum Festival-Spirit beitragen – ein bunter Mix aus „alten Bekannten“ und „neuen Gesichtern“.

Künstlerisches Direktorium

Gerfried StockerGerfried Stocker (AT) ist Medienkünstler und Ingenieur der Nachrichtentechnik. Seit 1995 ist Gerfried Stocker künstlerischer Geschäftsführer von Ars Electronica. 1995/96 entwickelte er mit einem kleinen Team von KünstlerInnen und TechnikerInnen die richtungsweisenden neuen Ausstellungsstrategien des Ars Electronica Center und betrieb den Aufbau einer eigenen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung, des Ars Electronica Futurelab. Unter seiner Führung wurden ab 2004 das Programm für internationale Ars Electronica Ausstellungen aufgebaut und ab 2005 die Planung und inhaltliche Neupositionierung für das neue und erweiterte Ars Electronica Center aufgenommen und umgesetzt. Stocker ist Gastredner auf zahlreichen internationalen Konferenzen und Gastprofessor der Deusto University Bilbao und berät zahlreiche Unternehmen in den Bereichen Kreativität und Innovationsmanagement.

Christine SchöpfSeit 1979 wirkt Christine Schöpf (AT) maßgeblich an der Entwicklung von Ars Electronica mit. Zwischen 1987 und 2003 war sie federführend an der Konzeption und Organisation des Prix Ars Electronica beteiligt und ist seit 1996 gemeinsam mit Gerfried Stocker für die künstlerische Leitung des Ars Electronica Festival verantwortlich. Christine Schöpf studierte Germanistik und Romanistik und war anschließend als Radio- und Fernsehjournalistin tätig. Von 1981 bis 2008 leitete sie das Kultur- und Wissenschaftsressort des ORF Oberösterreich. Seit 2009 ist Christine Schöpf Honorarprofessorin der Kunstuniversität Linz.