The Ars Electronica Festival will envelop downtown Linz in a creative maelstrom September 6-10, 2018. The array of 10 festival locations starts at Linz’s main train station and extends along Landstraße, the city’s prime boulevard, to Pöstlingberg.

Die Locations

POSTCITY
POSTCITY

POSTCITY is the hub of the festival. The Austrian Postal Service’s mothballed logistics facility on the grounds of the downtown train station provides a total of 80,000 square meters of space on five levels. Your festival tour proceeds from the rooftop vantage point to the basement bomb shelter, and from one inspiring futuristic idea to the next!

Ars Electronica Center
Ars Electronica Center

This striking work of modern architecture set on the north bank of the Danube has been a highlight of the Linz cityscape since 2009. Throughout the festival, Ars Electronica’s headquarters will host several exhibitions and open labs. And, of course, there’s Deep Space 8K. www.aec.at/center

OK
OK Center for Contemporary Art

The OK marks the approximate geographic center of the festival grounds. This exhibition space and contemporary art laboratory provides the perfect setting for the world’s best media artists and their prizewinning works. Go here to take in the CyberArts exhibition and to meet this year’s Prix Ars Electronica prizewinners. www.ok-centrum.at

Central
CENTRAL

Immediately adjacent to the OK is the CENTRAL, a former first-run movie theater in which this year’s Expanded Animation symposium will be staged. www.centrallinz.at

Moviemento
Moviemento

The Moviemento cinema is connected to the OK by a pedestrian bridge, so the best Prix Ars Electronica animated films are just a short stroll away. www.moviemento.at

Kunstuniversität
Kunstuniversität

The recently renovated premises of Linz Art University are located on the northern end of Hauptplatz, Linz’s main square. Here, you’re invited to attend in the Campus Exhibition curated by a renowned school of art. www.ufg.ac.at

Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität
Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität

Anton Bruckner Private University for music, acting and dance features eye-catching architecture and state-of-the-art infrastructure. This is the site of Sonic Saturday and some of the Music Monday events. www.bruckneruni.at

Mariendom
Mariendom

St. Mary’s Cathedral is Austria’s largest church and an extraordinary festival location—a heavenly setting for sound installations, performances and concerts. www.dioezese-linz.at/mariendom

LENTOS Kunstmuseum
LENTOS Art Museum

The LENTOS Art Museum is on the south bank of the Danube directly opposite the Ars Electronica Center. This structure features Austria’s largest museum space and annually hosts Ars Electronica’s Featured Artist exhibition. www.lentos.at

Brucknerhaus
Brucknerhaus

Brucknerhaus has been an Ars Electronica mainstay since 1979. Its concert hall is traditionally the venue of the Ars Electronica Gala at which the Prix Ars Electronica prizewinners receive their Golden Nicas. www.brucknerhaus.at

Von 6. bis 10. September 2018 versetzt die diesjährige Ars Electronica die Linzer Innenstadt in einen kreativen Ausnahmezustand. Die Festivalmeile umfasst 10 Locations, sie beginnt am Linzer Hauptbahnhof und führt entlang der Landstraße zum Pöstlingberg.

Die Locations

POSTCITY
POSTCITY

Die POSTCITY ist der Hotspot des Festivals. Das aufgelassene Post- und Paketverteilzentrum befindet sich auf dem Areal des Linzer Hauptbahnhofs und verfügt über insgesamt 80.000 Quadratmeter Nutzfläche auf fünf Etagen. Ihre Festivaltour führt Sie vom Dach bis zum Atombunker und von einer inspirierenden Zukunftsidee zur nächsten!

Ars Electronica Center
Ars Electronica Center

Am nördlichen Ufer der Donau gelegen, prägt seine markante Architektur seit 2009 das Linzer Stadtbild. Das Stammhaus der Ars Electronica präsentiert Ihnen während des Festivals gleich mehrere Ausstellungen, OpenLabs und natürlich den Deep Space 8K. www.aec.at/center

OK
OK im OÖ Kulturquartier

Ziemlich genau in der Mitte der Festivalmeile befindet sich das Offene Kulturhaus im ÖO Kulturquartier. Das Ausstellungshaus und Labor für zeitgenössische Kunst bildet die perfekte Bühne für die weltbesten MedienkünstlerInnen und ihre preisgekrönten Arbeiten. Hier erleben Sie die CyberArts-Exhibition und treffen die GewinnerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica. www.ok-centrum.at

Central
CENTRAL

Gegenüber des OK befindet sich das CENTRAL. Das ehemalige Programmkino ist Schauplatz des Expanded Animation-Symposium. www.centrallinz.at

Moviemento
Moviemento

Das Moviemento-Kino ist über eine Fußgängerbrücke mit dem OK verbunden – hier sehen Sie die besten Animationen des Prix Ars Electronica. www.moviemento.at

Kunstuniversität
Kunstuniversität

Die frisch renovierten Räumlichkeiten der Kunstuniversität befinden sich am nördlichen Ende des Linzer Hauptplatzes. Hier können Sie die „Campus-Ausstellung“ sehen, die traditionell von einer renommierten Kunstuniversität bespielt wird. www.ufg.ac.at

Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität
Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität

Die Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität für Musik, Schauspiel und Tanz besticht durch ihre Architektur und technische Ausstattung. Hier findet der Sonic Saturday statt und Teile des Music Monday. www.bruckneruni.at

Mariendom
Mariendom

Der Linzer Mariendom ist der größte Kirchenraum Österreichs und eine einzigartige Festival-Location. Sie erleben hier Soundinstallationen, Performances und Konzerte. www.dioezese-linz.at/mariendom

LENTOS Kunstmuseum
LENTOS Kunstmuseum

Das LENTOS Kunstmuseum liegt vis à vis des Ars Electronica Center am südlichen Ufer der Donau. Das Haus verfügt über den größten Museumsraum Österreichs und beherbergt die Ausstellung der Featured Artists jeder Ars Electronica. www.lentos.at

Brucknerhaus
Brucknerhaus

Das Brucknerhaus ist seit 1979 Partner der Ars Electronica. Das Konzerthaus ist traditionell Schauplatz der großen Ars Electronica Gala, in deren Rahmen die GewinnerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica ihre Goldenen Nicas überreicht bekommen. www.brucknerhaus.at