Building Bridges 2015

“The Bridge” is one of the main passageways connecting two building complexes on the Walldorf campus and it is host to the interactive music piece Building Bridges, jointly composed with Vienna-based composer Rupert Huber. Translating the movements of the pedestrians through a compositional algorithm, The Bridge serves as stage and instrument at the same time.


Composer Rupert Huber at the opening of the Post City Festival.
Composer Rupert Huber at the opening of the Post City Festival. Credit: Tom Mesic


Every person is tracked by Ars Electronica Futurelab’s custom Pharus laser tracking system. This system can read people’s movements and consecutively triggers the playback of tones. Each of the 48 individual tones is assigned to one of the speakers that are evenly distributed in the ceiling of the 60 meter long passageway, summing up to 96 tones for both walking directions. This linear arrangement of evenly distributed sound sources in the space renders an always-unique composition created by the madding crowd. 48 meeting sounds, which become audible when people meet and pass each other by, additionally reinforce activities on The Bridge. The sounds are based on recordings of classic instruments such as piano, horn, flute, viola and contrabass—played by SAP employees, who are members of the unofficial SAP Orchestra.


Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab


Research & Development:

Peter Freudling, Horst Hörtner, Rupert Huber, Karsten Koch (SAP), Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer,


Rupert Huber

Project Management:

Peter Freudling, Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer


Otto Naderer

Technical Assistance:

Patrick Müller


Marcus Dittebrand (Garamantis), Peter Freudling, Christian Fuchs (Garamantis)