Futurelab Education Initiative

Passing on knowledge is as pivotal to the Futurelab as acquiring it. Thus the Futurelab tries to enrich its network by a series of activities in education and knowledge transfer.

The Futurelab Education Initiative encompasses a set of activities which share the common goal of transferring and exchanging knowledge – with organisations, universities and enterprises which act at the nexus of art, technology and society. The program offers the expertise of the Futurelab members as well as a broad network of close artists and institutions.

A unique feature of all such activity is how it is embedded in the infrastructure of Ars Electronica: The Ars Electronica Festival  is one of the world’s most renowned media art festivals and has a 35-year history; the Ars Electronica Center is an extraordinary “museum of the future” with exhibitions and programs spanning a range from conceptual art to knowledge transfer. Hence, the Futurelab, as a research laboratory framed by an infrastructure of education, transfer and networking, is in a unique position to teach, inspire and connect.


ARS ELECTRONICA FUTURELAB ACADEMY

A vital and visionary format is the Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy, initiated in 2012: Over a course of several months, students, scientists and tutors collaborate to develop experimental, transdisciplinary practices that eventually lead to extraordinary projects between art, technology and societal concerns; these projects are presented at the annual Ars Electronica Festival and give their creators unequalled public exposure. The Academy has already been implemented with partners in Australia, Japan and China, with new ideas and approaches every year; the goal is to continuously renew learning and development processes in higher education, with a particular focus on overcoming the borders between disciplines, cultural backgrounds and institutional settings.

Previous projects:

FUTURELAB VISITS

In the course of one or several days, students get a glimpse of the research areas and artistic strategies of the Futurelab. Talks, workshops, demos and tours are meant to confront, inspire and open new perspectives.

 

EXTENDED ACADEMY

Within the scope of individual professorships of Futurelab researchers and the realization of projects using the Ars Electronica-infrastructure, the Futurelab is in a constant exchange with universities and colleges from the region.

Hagenberg/Kunstuni – pictures


Become part of the futurelab network

A co-operation within the framework of the Futurelab Education Initiative is no service but a process of mutual learning. Knowledge and inspiration ought to be shared, foremost in an area which is changing so rapidly. In particular, the Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy does not end with the realization of a project. It is rather a step to expand the network on both sides and makes way for future collaborations. An important aspect is the widening of perspectives, which foster an intercultural exchange; thus we want to encourage cooperation by crossing every geographical, cultural and linguistic border.

If you are interested to establish a program in one of the above-mentioned frameworks, do not hesitate to get in touch with us – whether if you have a specific topic or a general interest in our work – we are convinced that we can find an exciting format for every party involved.

Futurelab Education Initiative

 

Wissen weiterzugeben ist für das Futurelab ebenso wichtig, wie es zu erwerben und zu nutzen. Daher versucht das Futurelab, sein Netzwerk durch eine Reihe an Bildungs- und Vermittlungsaktivitäten zu bereichern.

 

Die Futurelab Education Initiative umfasst eine Reihe an Aktivitäten, deren gemeinsames Ziel es ist, Wissen zu vermitteln und auszutauschen – mit Organisationen, Bildungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen, die an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Design und Technologie agieren. Das Programm bietet die Expertise der Futurelab-Mitglieder sowie ein breites Netzwerk nahe stehender Künstler und Institutionen.

Eine Besonderheit ist die Verankerung in der Ars Electronica Infrastruktur: Das Ars Electronica Festival ist eines der weltweit wichtigsten Medienkunst-Festivals mit einer 35-jährigen Geschichte; das Ars Electronica Center ist ein außergewöhnliches „Museum der Zukunft“ mit Ausstellungen und Programmen von Konzeptkunst bis zu Wissenschaftsvermittlung. Das Futurelab ist daher, als tief in eine Rahmeninfrastruktur aus Bildung, Vermittlung und Vernetzung eingebundenes Forschungs- und Entwicklungslabor, in einzigartiger Position zu lehren, zu inspirieren und zu verbinden.


Ars Electronica futurelab academy

 

Ein zentrales, zukunftsweisendes Format ist die 2012 initiierte Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy: Über einen Zeitraum von meist mehreren Monaten wird intensiv mit einer Gruppe von StudentInnen, ForscherInnen und Lehrenden gearbeitet, um experimentelle, transdisziplinäre Arbeitsprozesse zu entwickeln, mittels derer schlussendlich einzigartige Projekte an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst, Technologie und gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen hervorgebracht und beim Ars Electronica Festival präsentiert werden. Die Academy wurde u.a. bereits mit Partnern aus Australien, Japan und China umgesetzt, wobei jedes Jahr neue Visionen und Ansätze mit ins Spiel kommen; das Ziel ist die fortwährende Erneuerung der Lehr- und Entwicklungsprozesse an Hochschulen, vor allem in Bezug auf die konstruktive Hinwegsetzung über Grenzen zwischen Disziplinen, Kulturen und institutionellen Umgebungen.

Bisherige Projekte:

 

futurelab visits

Im Zuge eines ein- oder mehrtägigen Besuchs bekommen Studierende einen Einblick in die Forschungsfelder und künstlerischen Strategien des Futurelabs. Vorträge, Workshops, Demos und Führungen sollen konfrontieren, inspirieren und neue Perspektiven erschließen.

 

die erweiterte hochschule

Im Rahmen von individuellen Lehraufträgen von Futurelab-ForscherInnen und der Umsetzung von Projekten auf Basis der Ars-Electronica-Infrastruktur befindet sich das Futurelab in ständigem Austausch mit Universitäten und Fachhochschulen aus der Region.


Werden Sie Teil des Futurelab Netzwerks

Eine Kooperation im Rahmen der Futurelab Education Initiative ist keine Dienstleistung, sondern ein Prozess beidseitigen Lernens. Wissen und Inspiration wollen geteilt werden, vor Allem in einem Bereich, der sich so schnell verändert. Insbesondere die Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy endet nicht mit dem Abschluss der Projekte – sie erweitert das Netzwerk auf beiden Seiten und ebnet den Weg für zukünftige Kollaborationen. Ein wichtiger Aspekt ist die Erweiterung der Perspektiven, die ein interkultureller Austausch fördert; daher wollen wir ganz besonders die Zusammenarbeit über jede geographische, kulturelle und linguistische Distanz hinweg ermutigen.

Falls Sie interessiert sind, ein Programm mit uns im Rahmen eines der obigen Formate zu entwickeln, zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren – egal, ob Sie ein spezifisches Thema oder generelles Interesse an unserer Arbeit haben, wir sind sicher, dass wir ein für alle beteiligten spannendes Programm finden können.