Spaxels Research Initiative

SPAXELS (space elements)[1]

 

The name “Spaxels” evokes its origins—its derivation from the term “pixels”—but, above all, it brings out a fundamental difference from them. Each medium manifests itself in terms of a “language,” a special form of expression unique to that medium.

“The media is the message” is thus both the Spaxels Research Initiative’s programmatic agenda and a challenge that it is facing in diverse ways. For one thing, the task at hand is to discover the Spaxels’ “language” and to expand that vocabulary; for another, we aim to advance the swarm medium’s infrastructure. Seeing the swarm as a conceptual and behavioral pattern that will soon pervade society as a whole opens up new potential on which the Spaxels Research Initiative will intensively focus.

The Spaxels Research Initiative’s members are industrial enterprises, innovation labs and start-ups that collaborate—each on issues specific to its respective pursuits—with the Ars Electronica Futurelab and the Ars Electronica Spaxels GmbH.

The field of spatio-temporal visual design under strong logistical constraints – an area in which the Futurelab, with its successful Spaxels project, can draw on ample experience.

 

[1] The name Spaxels is derived from the term PIXELS (picture elements), and describes the spatially constitutive function of these airborne space elements. www.spaxels.aec.at

 


Partners of the Spaxels Research Initiative

 

Related

Spaxels Research Initiative

SPAXELS (space elements)[1]

 

Der Begriff „Spaxels“ verweist, in seiner Anlehnung an den Begriff „Pixels“, einerseits auf seine Herkunft, andererseits und vor allem auf deren fundamentale Differenz. Jedem Medium ist eine „Sprache“ anheim, eine speziell diesem Medium vorbehaltene Art des Ausdrucks.

„the media is the message“ ist der Spaxels Research Initiative also gleichzeitig Programm und Herausforderung, der sie sich auf unterschiedlichste Weise stellt. Zum einen gilt es die „Sprache“ der Spaxels zu entdecken und weiter zu entwickeln, zum anderen sind die Infrastrukturen des Mediums Schwarm voran zu treiben. Der Schwarm als ein zukünftig die Gesellschaft durchdringendes Denk- und Handlungsmuster legt neue Potentiale offen, derer sich die Spaxels Research Initiative verstärkt widmet.

Die Spaxels Research Initiative besteht aus Vertretern aus Industrie, Innovation-Labs und StartUps, die gemeinsam mit dem Ars Electronica Futurelab und der Ars Electronica Spaxels GmbH, an jeweils ihren spezifischen Fragestellungen arbeiten.

 

[1] Der Begriff Spaxels ist abgeleitet vom Begriff PIXELS (Picture Elements) und beschreibt die raumkonstituierende Funktion dieser fliegenden Bild-Raum-Punkte (Space Elements). spaxels.aec.at

 


Die Partner der Spaxels Research Initiative