AEC-Lift 1996

Based on an idea from Roy Ascott, computer animation sequences were created for the elevator of the Ars Electronica Center. In the Ars Electronica Center’s lift, computer animation sequences synchronized with the elevator’s movements are projected from below onto the cabin’s floor.Thus, visitors can move about within a video sequence, and the linear video becomes a transparent and interactive medium.

 

AEC-Lift
Display of the AEC Lift showing what visualisation they can expect with each floor. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

In order to provide passengers with the illusion of motion, the elevator’s movements and the animation must be synchronized as precisely as possible, especially during acceleration and deceleration phases. However, since the behavior of the lift cabin when it’s in motion cannot be predicted down to the tenth of a second, it’s impossible to work with prerecorded animation sequences. For this reason, the animation was rendered with a frame rate that is four time higher than normal, whereby the playback speed can be reduced to as low as a quarter of the regular rate.

 

 

From real-time elevator movement data, a script computes the necessary speed of the animation and transmits the appropriate frames via the perception board to the projector. At normal elevator speed, only every fourth frame is displayed. When the cabin stops at a floor or subsequently moves on, every third, every second, or every single frame is displayed during the respective deceleration and acceleration phases. In this way, the animation is always played back at a constant rate of 25 frames/second, which delivers a smooth-running video sequence to the human eye.


Development:

Volker Christian, Hermann Wakolbinger

Keyresearcher / Interactive Spaces:

Dietmar Offenhuber

AEC-Lift 1996

Basierend auf einer Idee von Roy Ascott wurden Computeranimationen für den Lift Ars Electronica Center realisiert. Auf den Boden des Liftes im Ars Electronica Center wurden von unten Computeranimationen projiziert, die zeitlich mit der tatsächlichen Bewegung des Fahrstuhls synchronisiert waren. So konnte sich der Besucher innerhalb einer Videosequenz bewegen. Das lineare Video wurde so zu einem transparenten und interaktiven Medium.

 

Die Liftkabine des Ars Electronica Center Lifts mit der Apollo 13 Applikation.
Display of the AEC Lift showing what visualisation they can expect with each floor. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Damit bei den Betrachtern die Illusion einer Bewegung entstand, mussten Liftbewegunge und Animation auch in der Beschleunigungs- und Abbremsphase möglichst genau synchronisiert werden. Da aber das Bewegungsverhalten des Lifts nicht auf die Zehntelsekunde vorhersagbar ist, konnte nicht mit vorgefertigten Animationssequenzen gearbeitet werden. Aus diesem Grund wurde die Animation mit einer vierfachen Frame-Rate gerendert, wodurch die Abspielgeschwindigkeit bis auf ein Viertel reduziert werden konnte.

 

 

Ein Script berechnete aus den aktuellen Daten der Liftsteuerung die benötigte Geschwindigkeit der Animation und gab die dazugehörigen Frames über das Perception-Board an den Projektor weiter. Bei normaler Geschwindigkeit wurde nur jeder vierte Frame angezeigt. Wenn der Lift in einem Stockwerk anhielt oder startete, wurde während des Brems- bzw. Beschleunigungsvorganges jeder dritte, jeder zweite und schließlich jeder Frame angezeigt. Dadurch wurden trotzdem immer 25 Frames pro Sekunde abgespielt und dem menschlichen Auge ein fließender Videoverlauf suggeriert.


Development:

Volker Christian, Hermann Wakolbinger

Keyresearcher / Interactive Spaces:

Dietmar Offenhuber