Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy @ QUT 2017 2017

The Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy was created to support students and educators from international partner universities to engage in transdisciplinary practice. Futurelab researchers act as mentors and collaborators, supporting creative exchange with the Academy participants. Participants come from a range of backgrounds; art and design through to science, engineering and technology. Since 2012, collaborations with renowned universities in China, Japan and Australia have resulted in a diversity of exhibits and performances being presented at the Ars Electronica Festival. Some of these project outcomes have gone on to win prestigious awards and accelerated the artists’ research and practice trajectories.

 

Collective Brainstorming. Greg Jenkins

 

In 2017, the Futurelab partnered with Brisbane’s Queensland University of Technology for a fourth Academy. Drawing on the success of the previous years’ the 2017 format took an adventurous leap into unchartered curricular territory and brought together leading QUT educators and researchers, an independent international curator and a host of Ars Electronica Futurelab members to create a first-of-a-kind education experience.

 

 

Development of the project “Teaching City” Credit: Greg Jenkins

 

More than 50 participants from across the creative industries, greater university faculties and external local leading creative practitioners engaged in a unique collaborative process.  The Academy took them through discipline decontamination and into a journey of collective brainstorming and eventually new enquiry-driven research models and creative visions, the Academy enabled participants to both uncover their discipline-specific ontology sphere and paradigm, whilst supporting them in discovering new emergent methodologies of practice and creative outcome possibilities.

 

Development of the project “Synapsense” Credit: Greg Jenkins

 

This year’s Academy developed several creative projects, ranging from technically augmented performances to site-specific intervention prototypes. It also provided the platform for the Guerrilla Knowledge Unit (GKU) initiative that introduces pre-service teachers to Art Thinking as a basis for the development of curriculum-linked learning outcomes that push current pedagogical norms. GKU is presenting education workshops as part of this year’s u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD program.

 

Those are the Participants in the Ars Electronica Festival 2017:

 

1:1

Credit: Jacob Watton

 

The 1:1 project is about the relationship between a human and a robot camera – how they grow to be able to imagine each other complexly; seeing each other on a 1:1 scale. Incorporating elements of dance, theatre, and new technology, this work resides at an interstice between human and Other.

Team: Artists: Jacob Watton, Briony Law, Jaymis Loveday Cinema Swarm Inventor: Jaymis Loveday Programmer: Charles Hendon Producer: Lincoln Savage Associate Producer: Quinty Pinxit-Gregg Researcher: Nicole Robinson Dramaturg: Kathryn Kelly Roboticists: Marisa Bucolo, David Hedger and Paco Sanchez-Ray Project consultant (dramaturg & choreographic development): Dr Stephanine Hutchinson. The 1:1 project was realized through the generous support of QUT Creative Lab, Robotronica and QUT Robotics Lab.

 

Teaching City

 

Credit: Jessica Cheers

 

T

Teaching City

Teaching City is an experiential learning framework, highlighting urban issues through playful interactions. It offers an antidote to the industrial-age pedagogy of the classroom, subverting the preconceptions of citizens through ‘knowledge interventions’ embedded in urban spaces –  The city is the teacher.

 

Team: Artists: Jessica Cheers, Leah Gustafson, Samantha Glennie Associate Producer: Quinty Pinxit-Gregg Technical Support: Matthew Strachan

 

Synapsense

Credit: James Dillon

 

 

SynapSense: a performative installation heightening our bodily awareness. Sensorial understanding through enactment is revealed via 3 modes: Explore, Calibrate and Create. Interaction creates the soundscape – touch enables investigation and sound reflects exploration.

Team: Choreography: Felix Palmerson Dance: Georgia Pierce, Felix Palmerson, Sophie Barendse, Jayden Grogan, Oscar Connor, Isabella Hood, Matilda Skelhorn, Phillipa Chapman Visual Design: Peter Lloyd Music and Sound: Yanto Browning, Cameron Whelan, Greg Jenkins Tech: Matthew Strachan Lighting Design: Glen Hughes Artistic Direction: Stephanie Hutchison Producer: Quinty Pinxit-Gregg

 

Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab: Peter Holzkorn, Horst Hörtner, Kristefan Minski QUT: Yanto Browning, Stephanie Hutchison, Greg Jenkins, Matthew Strachan,  Independent Artist and Curator: Lubi Thomas

Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy @ QUT 2017 2017

Die Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy wurde ins Leben gerufen, um Studierende und Lehrkräfte von internationalen Partner-Universitäten zur transdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit einzuladen. Futurelab Forscher/-innen fungieren als Mentor/-innen und Kollaborateur/-innen, indem sie kreativen Austausch mit den Akademie Teilnehmer/-innen betreiben. Diese kommen aus einem weitgefassten Forschungsbereich; Kunst und Design bis hin zur Wissenschaft, Ingenieurswesen und Technologie. Seit 2012 haben Kollaborationen mit bekannten Universitäten in China, Japan und Australien in unterschiedlichen Ausstellungen und Vorführungen, die jährlich am Ars Electronica Festival gezeigt worden sind, hervorgebracht.

 

Kollektives Brainstormen. Greg Jenkins

 

2017 hat sich das Ars Electronia Futurelab mit Brisbanes Queensland University of Technology (QUT) zu einer vierten Academy zusammengeschlossen. Von den Erfolgen vergangener Jahren profitierend, besticht das Curriculum 2017 durch bisher unerforschtes Terrain, indem es führende QUT Lehrkräfte und Forscher-/innen, ein unabhängiger internationaler Kurator und eine Zahl von Ars Electronica Futurelab Mitgliedern zusammenbrachte, um eine einmalige Lehrerfahrung zu initiieren.

 

Entwicklung des Projektes „Teaching City“ Credit: Greg Jenkins

 

Mehr als 50 Teilnehmende aus allen möglichen Kreativindustrien, mehreren Universitätsfakultäten und externen lokalen Kreativkräften kamen bei einem einzigartigen gemeinschaftlichen Prozess zusammen. Durch das Aufweichen disziplinärer Grenzen führte die Academy die Partizipierenden zum kollektiven Brainstormen und schließlich Bedarfsgetrieben zu neuen Modellen und Visionen. Die Academy ermöglichte es Partizipient-Innen, ihre disziplin-spezifische Ontologie-Sphäre und Paradigmen aufzudecken und gleichzeitig, sie durch aufkeimende Praxis-Methodologien und kreative Ergebnis-Möglichkeiten zu unterstützten.

 

Entwicklung des Projektes Synapsense Credit: Greg Jenkins

 

Die diesjährige Academy entwickelte verschiedene kreative Projekte, von technisch erweiterten Vorführungen zu standortspezifischen Interventions-Prototypen. Sie ermöglichte auch die Plattform für die Guerrilla Knowledge Unit (GKU) Initiative, die Lehrer/-Innen in der Ausbildung mit Art Thinking vertraut macht, eine Methode, die als Basis für die Entwicklung von Curriculum-vernetzten Lernprozessen dient, welche die momentane pädagogische Norm abbilden. GKU präsentiert Lern-Workshops als Teil seines diesjährigen u19 – Create Your World Programms.

 

Die am Ars Electronica Festival vorgestellten Academy Teilnehmenden:

 

1:1

Credit: Jacob Watton

 

Das 1:1 Projekt dreht sich um das Verhältnis zwischen einem Menschen und einer Roboterkamera – wie diese es bewerkstelligen, sich des Anderen Komplexität vorzustellen, indem sie sich auf einer 1:1 Ebene begegnen. Indem sie Elemente von Tanz, Theater und neuer Technologie einbezieht, befindet sich diese Arbeit an der Schwelle zwischen Mensch und dem Anderen.

Team: Artists: Jacob Watton, Briony Law, Jaymis Loveday Cinema Swarm Inventor: Jaymis Loveday Programmer: Charles Hendon Producer: Lincoln Savage Associate Producer: Quinty Pinxit-Gregg Researcher: Nicole Robinson Dramaturg: Kathryn Kelly Roboticists: Marisa Bucolo, David Hedger and Paco Sanchez-Ray Project consultant (dramaturg & choreographic development): Dr Stephanine Hutchinson. The 1:1 project was realized through the generous support of QUT Creative Lab, Robotronica and QUT Robotics Lab.

 

Teaching City

 

Credit: Jessica Cheers

 

Teaching City ist ein experimentelles Lerngerüst, das urbane Themen durch spielerische Interaktion hervorhebt. Es offeriert eine Gegenposition zur industriell geprägten Methode des Klassenzimmers, unterwandert die vorgefertigte Meinung von Bürgern durch Wissensinterventionen, die in urbane Plätze eingebettet sind.

Team: Artists: Jessica Cheers, Leah Gustafson, Samantha Glennie Associate Producer: Quinty Pinxit-Gregg Technical Support: Matthew Strachan

 

Synapsense

Credit: James Dillon

 

 

Synapsense ist eine performative Installation, die unsere körperliche Wahrnehmung erhöht. Sensorisches Verstehen durch Inszenierung wird in 3 Etappen erreicht: Erkunde, Kalibriere und Kreiere. Interaktion schafft den Klangteppich, Berührung ermöglicht Investigation und Sound spiegelt die Erkundung wider.

Team: Choreography: Felix Palmerson Dance: Georgia Pierce, Felix Palmerson, Sophie Barendse, Jayden Grogan, Oscar Connor, Isabella Hood, Matilda Skelhorn, Phillipa Chapman Visual Design: Peter Lloyd Music and Sound: Yanto Browning, Cameron Whelan, Greg Jenkins Tech: Matthew Strachan Lighting Design: Glen Hughes Artistic Direction: Stephanie Hutchison Producer: Quinty Pinxit-Gregg

 

Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab: Peter Holzkorn, Horst Hörtner, Kristefan Minski QUT: Yanto Browning, Stephanie Hutchison, Greg Jenkins, Matthew Strachan,  Independent Artist and Curator: Lubi Thomas