CandleScape 2013

Following the big success of Switch, Futurelab was having its second involvement with Elekit. After the so-called 3/11 in Japan, the requests for educational kits, especially addressing the topic of energy, have been on the rise. Focused on this demand, Elekit has already been a provider for ecological products, considering solar and new energies. Futurelab’s collaboration with Elekit, therefore, has resulted in Candlescape, a solar energy based creative kit where people can construct their own worlds inside this magical candle.

 

Futurelab’s collaboration with Elekit, therefore, has resulted in Candlescape, a solar energy based creative kit where people can construct their own worlds inside this magical candle.

Previously, Switch had been studying the experience design by using the simple metaphor of “on” and “off”. CandleScape followed a similar fashion by providing two layers of canvas, which the participants in the workshop could use to bring their own worlds into. The two layers of rotating domes, along with the light options, created a platform for the expression of magical worlds inside the CandleScape. This product orientated creative platform has constituted the second intention of the collaboration.

candlescape
Thinking creatively about alternative energy supply leads to enjoyable results. Drawings: Emiko Ogawa

 

Futurelab’s focus during the project was, in a wide sense, bringing the magic of Ars Electronica into an Elekit product. The first part of this magic, as the title suggests, was the candle: Creating a magical analogy for expressing an imaginary world. The second part was the participation of people: Constructing CandleScape and using various tools like cutters or printers to decorate it. This combination resulted in the exclusive form and structure of CandleScape, a representation of the unique flavor of Ars Electronica and its magical moment.

 

DSC_8611
Printer and Cutter are the tools to obtain an eye-catching decoration. Foto: Nicolas Naveau

 


Research & Concept:

Tamer Aslan, Peter Freudling, Roland Haring, Nicolas Naveau, Emiko Ogawa, Hideaki Ogawa

CandleScape 2013

Anknüpfend an den Erfolg von Switch, arbeitete das Futurelab ein zweites Mal mit Elekit zusammen. Nach dem Vorfall 3/11 in Japan stieg die Nachfrage nach pädagogischen Hilfsmitteln, die insbesondere das Thema Energie zum Inhalt haben. Elekit entwickelte bereits in der Vergangenheit Produkte, die sich dem Thema Solar- und Alternativenergie widmeten. Aus der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Futurelab entstand jetzt CandleScape, ein Bausatz, mit dem individuelle Welten erdacht und erschaffen werden können.

 

Futurelab’s collaboration with Elekit, therefore, has resulted in Candlescape, a solar energy based creative kit where people can construct their own worlds inside this magical candle.

 

Switch thematisierte im Feld des experience design die simple Metapher von „an“ und „aus“. CandleScape folgte einem ähnlichen Schema: zwei Lagen eines transparenten Materials konnten je nach Vorliebe in einem Workshop gestaltet werden. Durch die Rotation und die Möglichkeit Licht einzuschalten, wurde eine Plattform für kreativen und individuellen Ausdruck geboten. Diese produktorientierte, kreative Plattform diente als Ausgangspunkt der zweiten Idee, die in dieser Zusammenarbeit realisiert werden sollte.

Die Zeichnungen von Emiko Ogawa illustrieren den Weg von der Gestaltung über das Laden der Lichtquelle mit Solarenergie bis zum zufriedenen Lächeln des Erbauers über das Resultat.
Thinking creatively about alternative energy supply leads to enjoyable results. Drawings: Emiko Ogawa

 

Ziel des Futurelab im weiteren Sinne war es, ein Elekit-Produkt mit der Magie der Ars Electronica zu beleben. Ein Teil dieser Magie war, wie der Titel verrät, die Kerze und die damit entstehende Analogie zum Ausdruck einer imaginären Welt. Die Partizipation, das Verwenden von Werkzeugen wie Cuttern oder Printern, die man für die Dekoration des Materials benötigte, stellt den zweiten Part dar. Diese Kombination machte die exklusive Form und Struktur von CandleScape aus und wurde so zu einem repräsentativen Element der Philosophie der Ars Electronica.

 

Die Außenhülle wird mittels Ausdruck und geschnittener Folie im typischen Ars Electronica Design gestaltet.
Printer and Cutter are the tools to obtain an eye-catching decoration. Credit: Nicolas Naveau

 


Research & Concept:

Tamer Aslan, Peter Freudling, Roland Haring, Nicolas Naveau, Emiko Ogawa, Hideaki Ogawa