Cave 1999

The CAVE project by Peter Kogler originated within the framework of the Artist-in-Residence Program.

The project seems to be a logical continuation of Kogler’s confrontation with architecture beyond space and style. Liberated from spatial and physical constraints, the CAVE offers ideal preconditions for a free-wheeling mode of dealing with elements of architectural design. As is typical of his work, Kogler employs modules–here as textures for a three-dimensional, computer-generated model. Thus, images that were previously scanned have found their way back into the digital dimension.

 

Foto: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Foto: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Analogous to the structure of the visual 3-D model, Franz Pomassl creates acoustic spaces in the form of “audio rendering pipelines,” the objectives of which are to expand the human system of perception and, in doing so, to intensify the plasticity of the application. The visitor to the auditory 3-D environment determines the interactive sound syntheses by means of his positioning in and on the visual object and the dynamics of his movements. The activity of the user in moving about in virtual space can, accordingly, be seen as an operation on a dynamic audio mixing console. In individually selectable channels, specific sound characteristics are assigned to the pipeline systems characterized by Kogler’s textures.

 

Foto: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Foto: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

At the junction of the channels, all volumes are maintained in a constant relationship to each other; if the relative position changes, the mix relationship of the volumes shifts in conformity with the distance of the coordinates to the respective sound triggers.


Artist in Residence:

Peter Kogler, Franz Pomassl

Sound Engineer:

Markus Decker

Cave Programming:

Markus Greunz

Modeling:

Jürgen Hagler

Senior Executive Developer:

Horst Hörtner

Coordination:

Werner Pötzelberger

Programming:

Pascal Maresch

Keyresearcher / Interactive Spaces:

Dietmar Offenhuber

Cave Programming:

Gerald Schröcker

Cave 1999

Das Projekt CAVE von Peter Kogler entstand im Rahmen des Artist-in-Residence-Programms.

Das Projekt erschien als logische Fortführung der Auseinandersetzung Koglers mit Architektur; jenseits von Raum und Stil. Losgelöst von räumlichen und physikalischen Einschränkungen bot der CAVE ideale Voraussetzungen für einen freien Umgang mit architektonischen Elementen. Kogler verwendete die für seine Arbeit typischen Module, diesmal als Texturen für ein dreidimensionales computergeneriertes Modell. So fanden die einst gescannten Motive ihren Weg zurück in die digitale Dimension.

 

Die Besucher und Besucherinnen des CAVE fanden sich in einer Art Rohrsystem mit allerhand abstrakter und gegenständlicher Behausung wieder.
Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Analog zu der Struktur des visuellen 3D-Modells kreierte Franz Pomassl akustische Räume, in Form von “Audio-Rendering-Pipelines”, die auf eine Erweiterung des menschlichen Wahrnehmungssystems zielten und dabei die Plastizität der Applikation intensivierten. Der Besucher dieses auditiven 3D-Environments bestimmte durch seine Positionierung und Bewegungsdynamik, in und an dem visuellen Objekt, die interaktiven Soundsynthesen. Die Bewegungsaktivität des Users im virtuellen Raum konnte demnach als Operation an einem dynamischen Audio-Mischpult gesehen werden.Den durch Koglers Texturen charakterisierten Rohrsystemen wurden, in einzeln selektierbaren Kanälen, spezifische Soundcharakteristiken zugeordnet.

 

Die Besucherinnen und Besucher als Silhouette vor einer digitalen Außenansicht des Röhrensystems.
Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Am Knotenpunkt der Kanäle standen alle Volumen in demselben Verhältnis zueinander – wurde die relative Position geändert, verschoben sich das Mixverhältnis der Volumen entsprechend dem Abstand der Koordinaten zu den jeweiligen Sound-Triggern.


Artist in Residence:

Peter Kogler, Franz Pomassl

Sound Engineer:

Markus Decker

Cave Programming:

Markus Greunz

Modeling:

Jürgen Hagler

Senior Executive Developer:

Horst Hörtner

Coordination:

Werner Pötzelberger

Programming:

Pascal Maresch

Keyresearcher / Interactive Spaces:

Dietmar Offenhuber

Cave Programming:

Gerald Schröcker