Deformation Lamp 2016

Nippon Telephone and Telegraph Corporation (NTT), one of Japan’s leaders in Telecommunication and Ars Electronica Futurelab join forces to research on user experience enhancement through the fusion of ICT (Information & Communication Technologies) and art.

 

Michael Mayer is setting up the entrance area of the festival with ntt's and Ars Electronica's mutual projects.
Michael Mayer is setting up the entrance area of the festival with ntt’s and Ars Electronica’s mutual projects. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab Futurelab

 

As the Ars Electronica Futurelab has in its history gained an international recognition for being specialized in combining artistic concepts with scientific progress to adapt to the needs of tomorrow, the fusion with NTT’s state of the art technology has been hand in glove.Aiming at 2020 as the year of when the final results should come into fruition, the task laid out by both parties was to produce extraordinary moving experiences for audiences in public spaces. They should be touching and at the same time generate “Omotenashi”, which is the Japanese style of hospitality.

 

Thanks to Deformationlamp not only Sir Isaac Newton had animated facial expressions. Other characters and objects, were magically set in motion, which aroused curiosity with the visitors of the Ars Electronica Festival in 2016.

 

The pilot projects of this venture was showcased at the Ars Electronica Festival 2016. Besides Wild Card+, a great extension of Ars Electronica Futurelab’s predecessor Wild Card (link), the collaboration yielded a very alluring signage system that had different implementations all over the festival venue.

 

The way to the toilet at the Ars Electronica Festival 2016 was grasped via the animated man jumping out of the Emergency Exit sign.
The way to the toilet at the Ars Electronica Festival 2016 was grasped via the animated man jumping out of the Emergency Exit sign. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

What went under the title “Deformation Lamp” was a new light projection technique that NTT developed in 2015, and a magical lighting system that could bring completely novel visual experiences, making physically static objects appear to move, deform or flutter. The lamp can add a range of realistic movement impressions to static objects.

There for example was an exhibition space where next to famous faces that frequently made a change of expression, people could hang their own paintings which equally seemed to be magically stirred. Another installment featured a series of stylized figures jumping out of the well-known emergency exit-sign in order to run to the next plate, indicating its urge to seek for the toilet. Very subtle were the movements portrayed via the floor-patterns. People where walking over the laminate which seem to meander. More obvious was an array of indicator arrows that frequently seemed to float like a swarm of fish.

 

The way to go in a very fashionable way: little arrows were rhymically changing colors as if making a wave.
The way to go in a very fashionable way: little arrows were rhymically changing colors as if making a wave. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

“Deformation Lamp” is a subtle but effective motion towards a signage system which could be applied to bigger places and events. As a starting point, the Deformation Lamp has caused the festivals visitors to be surprised and produced a smile on their faces.


 

Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab: Nicolas Naveau, Hideaki Ogawa, Marianne Ternek

ntt: Hiroshi Chigara, Kyoko Hashiguchi, Shingo Kinoshita, Tomohiro Nishitani, Ryo Yamashita, Junji Watanabe

Deformation Lamp 2016

Nippon Telephone and Telegraph Corporation (NTT), eine führende Telekommunikationsgesellschaft Japans, und Ars Electronica Futurelab haben sich zusammengeschlossen um gemeinsam auf dem Gebiet verbesserter Nutzererfahrung durch eine Fusion von ITC (Information & Communication Technologies) und Kunst zu forschen.

 

Aufbau der Deformation Lamp im Eingangsbereich des Ars Electronica Festivals 2016. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Aufbau der Deformation Lamp im Eingangsbereich des Ars Electronica Festivals 2016. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Da das Ars Electronica Futurelab eine internationale Reputation in Sachen künstlerischer Konzepte kombiniert mit wissenschaftlichem Fortschritt und zur Frage zukünftiger Notwendigkeiten in großem Maße beigetragen hat, passte der Schritt einer Fusion mit NTT’s neuester Technologie geradezu perfekt. Auf 2020 hinzielend, dem Jahr in dem die Resultate angewendet werden sollen, war die selbstgestellte Aufgabe beider Parteien, außergewöhnlich bewegende Erlebnisse für ein breites Publikum in öffentlichen Plätze herzustellen. Sie sollten berühren und gleichzeitig „Omotenashi”, die japanische Art von Gastfreundschaft, generieren.

 

Dank der Deformationlamp hatte nicht nur Sir Isaac Newton animeierte Gesichtszüge. Auch andere Objekte, die auf magische Weise“ bewegt würden, zogen die Neugierde der Besucher/Innen des Ars Electronica Fetsivals 2016 auf sich.

 

Das Pilotprojekt dieser gemeinsamen Unternehmung wurde auf dem Ars Electronica Festival 2016 vorgestellt. Neben Wild Card+, eine extensive Erweiterung der Wild Card-App von Ars Electronica Futurelab, brachte die Zusammenarbeit ein faszinierendes Beschilderungssystem hervor, das in unterschiedlicher Ausformung zu sehen war.

 

Der Weg zur Toilette in der fantasievollen Projektionsvariante der Deformation Lamp.
Der Weg zur Toilette in der fantasievollen Projektionsvariante der Deformation Lamp. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Deformation Lamp ist eine von NTT entwickelte innovative Licht-Projektionstechnik, ein magisches Lichtsystem, das völlig neuartige visuelle Erfahrungen produziert: Ruhige Objekte scheinen sich plötzlich zu bewegen, verformen sich oder beginnen zu flackern. Die Lampe kann statische Objekte in mehrfacher Weise bewegt erscheinen lassen.

Es gab zum Beispiel einen Ausstellungsbereich, wo Besucher neben bekannten Gesichtern, die regelmäßig Gesichtsregungen zeigten, ihre eigenen Gemälde hängen konnten, die gleichermaßen auf magische Weise bewegt erschienen. Eine weitere Installation zeigte eine Serie von stilisierten Männchen, die aus dem bekannten Notausgangsschild sprangen um zur nächsten Hinweistafel zu eilen, was das Bedürfnis nach sanitären Anlagen versinnbildlichte und den Weg zur Toilette wies. Sehr unterschwellig waren die Bewegungen des Bodenbelags. Die Menschen liefen über das Laminat, das wellenförmig dahinfloss. Offensichtlicher gab eine Anordnung von Hinweispfeilen die Dynamik eines Fischschwarms preis.

 

Nach dem Motto "Form follows Function" machten die Pfeile eine wellenartige Bewegung in die angezeigte Richtung.
Nach dem Motto „Form follows Function“ machten die Pfeile eine wellenartige Bewegung in die angezeigte Richtung. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

“Deformation lamp” ist eine subtile aber effektive Bewegung hin zu einem Beschilderungssystem, das in größeren Plätzen und Großereignissen angewandt werden könnte. Jedenfalls hat es den Festivalbesuchern ein Lächeln auf Lippen gezaubert und überrascht.


 

Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab: Nicolas Naveau, Hideaki Ogawa, Marianne Ternek

ntt: Hiroshi Chigara, Kyoko Hashiguchi, Shingo Kinoshita, Tomohiro Nishitani, Ryo Yamashita, Junji Watanabe