Die Welt in 100 Jahren 2010

“Everyone will have his own pocket telephone that will enable him to get in touch with anyone he wishes. People living in the Wireless Age will be able to go everywhere with their transceivers, which they will be able to affix wherever they like— to their hat, for instance …“

Robert Sloss: Das drahtlose Jahrhundert, aus: „Die Welt in 100 Jahren“, Berlin 1910

 

Photo showing visitors looking at digitized drawings related to the topic of future. Foto: rubra
Photo showing visitors looking at digitized drawings related to the topic of future. Credit: rubra

 

The exhibition in the Ars Electronica Center Linz payed tribute to the creativity, courage and inventiveness of those men and women who have totally committed their energies, abilities and knowledge to a vision of the future. This exhibition surveyed a 200-year time span: looking back at what people about a century ago anticipated for this day and age, and showcasing what contemporary thinkers foresee 100 years from now.

 

As proxies standing for all the visionaries and trailblazers who have worked on their respective „futures“ over the course of humankind‘s history, French writer, illustrator and caricaturist Albert Robida (1848–1926) and Belgian visionary Paul Otlet (1868–1944) occupied this exhibition‘s spotlight.

 

4705803010_87ec077aa0_o
Visitors in front of a visualization of Albert Robida’s (BE) world. Credit: rubra

Die Welt in 100 Jahren 2010

„Jedermann wird sein eigenes Taschentelefon haben, durch welches er sich, mit wem er will, wird verbinden können. Die Bürger der drahtlosen Zeit werden überall mit ihrem Empfänger herumgehen, der irgendwo, im Hut oder anderswo, angebracht sein wird …“ 

Robert Sloss: Das drahtlose Jahrhundert, aus: „Die Welt in 100 Jahren“, Berlin 1910

 

Besucher des Ars Electronica Centers bewundern die digitalisierten Grafiken der Künstler, die während der Ausstellung "Die Welt vor 100 Jahren" ausgestellt wurden.
Photo showing visitors looking at digitized drawings related to the topic of future. Credit: rubra

 

Die Ausstellung „Die Welt in 100 Jahren“ im Ars Electronica Center Linz war eine Hommage an die Kreativität, den Mut und den Einfallsreichtum jener Menschen, die sich mit ihrer ganzen Persönlichkeit, ihrem Können und Wissen für eine Vision der Zukunft eingesetzt haben oder einsetzen. Die Ausstellung blickte auf einen Zeitraum von 200 Jahren: auf Zukunftsentwürfe, die vor rund 100 Jahren für unser Jetzt erdacht wurden und auf Visionen, die momentan für die nächsten 100 Jahre entwickelt werden.

 

 

Als Vertreter aller VisionärInnen und WegbereiterInnen, die im Laufe der Menschheitsgeschichte an verschiedenen „Zukünften“ gearbeitet haben, standen der französische Schriftsteller, Zeichner und Karikaturist Albert Robida (1848–1926) und der belgische Visionär Paul Otlet (1868–1944) im Zentrum der Ausstellung.

 

Besucher der Ausstellung "Die Welt vor 100 Jahren" animieren eine imaginäre Welt von Albert Robida.
Visitors in front of a visualization of Albert Robida’s (BE) world. Credit: rubra