Drone100: Spaxels over Linz 2016

Partnering with Intel ™ on the Drone 100 project paid off tremendously for the Spaxels crew in terms of technical impetus and media coverage. Following this momentous achievement and with the next Ars Electronica Festival coming up, it was high time to demonstrate just how far this undertaking had come at the very spot where it had begun in 2012when a formation of 50 drones took to the sky, thrilling festivalgoers in Linz and creating a media sensation worldwide.

 

Coming Home – Spaxels landing on the Urfahranermarkt in Linz. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

Setting a world record in the “Most Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) airborne simultaneously” category and the accompanying certification by Guinness World Records were the culmination of over four years of R&D. The publicity campaign leading up to the choreographed drone flight in Tornesch on the outskirts of Hamburg generated enormous public interest that manifested itself in the form of inquiries from all over the world about staging adapted Spaxels shows.

 

Approximately 100.000 visitors witnessed the flight of 100 drones at Donaupark. Credit: Robert Bauernhansel

 

The Vivid Festival in Sydney provided the ideal setting for the public debut of the Drone 100 project http://www.vividsydney.com/event/light/drone-100. On five evenings, June 8-12, 2016, spectators in Australia witnessed a performance custom-tailored to the occasion and with musical accompaniment by the Sydney Youth Orchestra. The brilliantly illuminated silhouette of Sydney’s world-famous Opera House, the city’s architectural landmark on Bennelong Point, lit up the sky above the harbor.

 

A spectacular flood of light – 100 drones during the landing – Credit: Martin Hieslmair

 

This first international public performance was based to a considerable extent, both aesthetically and acoustically, on the world-record flight in Tornesch, but substantial changes were made for the follow-up show in Linz. Whereas previous performances had gone with a strictly classical soundtrack, sound artist/composer Sam Auinger delivered modern, very rhythmical, up-tempo electronic music for the Linz performance. One of the greatest challenges in visually designing the Spaxels show was programming new motifs such as a three-dimensional ship plying the Danube; another was coordinating the constantly changing formations in an aesthetic way with Sam Auinger’s up-tempo beats during the first half of the show; the sounds and motifs of the world-record flight accompanied the choreography in second half. About 100,000 visitors gathered in Linz’s riverside Donaupark at 7:45 PM to experience the seven-minute flight over the Danube. This also meant record attendance at the Klangwolke, Linz’s annual alfresco extravaganza, which kicked off once the Spaxels landed.

 

Ars Electronica Futurelab’s senior director Horst Hörtner (left) and Ars Electronica’s artistic director Gerfried Stocker (right) enjoy the sights of Drone 100. Credit: Florian Voggeneder

 

The Linz performance was a sort of homecoming in that the Klangwolke provided the backdrop for the Spaxels’ 2012 public debut with 50 drones—which, incidentally, was a world record at the time, albeit an unregistered one since the category didn’t even exist yet. Be that as it may, it was an awesome demonstration of the unprecedented level of development of drone choreography.


Management:

Horst Hörtner, Harald Dirisamer, Chris Bruckmayr, Martin Mörth, Anna-Sofia Nikka, Andreas Jalsovec

Flight Crew:

Benjamin Olsen, Patrick Berger, Jonathan Rutherford, Simon Schmid, Samuel Eckl, Michael Platz

Airfield Crew:

Alois Wohlmuther, Brunon Drewniak, David Haider, Franz Peterseil, Josef Koll, Raphael Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe, Walter Rauchecker, Michael Gritzer, Oliver Lasch, Benjamin Gumpenberger, Bill Blair, Raffael Portugal

Drone 100: Spaxels über Linz 2016

Mit Intel ™ als Partner und dem gemeinsamen Projekt Drone 100 erreichte das Spaxels Team einen enormen Schub in technischer Hinsicht und medialer Aufmerksamkeit. Nach dieser außerordentlichen Leistung war der Zeitpunkt einer Demonstration des Projekts am Ars Electronica Festival 2016 der Moment, in dem sich der Kreis schloss, dessen Beginn auf 2012 zurückgeht- dem Jahr als 50 Drohnen nicht nur die Festivalbesucher, sondern die ganze Welt begeisterten.

 

Coming Home – Spaxels beim Landemanöver am Urfahranermarkt. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

Das  Einstellen des Weltrekords in der Rubrik „Most Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) airborne simultaneously “ und der damit einhergehende Eintrag ins Guiness Buch der Rekorde, war die Kulmination der bis dahin geleisteten Entwicklungsarbeit. Der Presselaunch zum choreografierten Drohnenflug bei Tornesch/Hamburg generierte ein enormes öffentliches Interesse, das sich in Anfragen für eine adaptierte Spaxels-Show aus aller Welt abzeichnete.

 

Ca. 100.000 BesucherInnen sahen dem Drohnenflug vom Donaupark aus zu. Credit: Robert Bauernhansel

 

Das Vivid Festival in Sydney sollte der passende Rahmen für die erste öffentliche Aufführung des Projekts Drone 100 werden. An fünf Abenden, vom 8. bis 12. Juni 2016, wurden die Besucher und Besucherinnen Zeuge eines dem Anlass angepassten Events, der vom Sydney Youth Orchestra musikalisch begleitet wurde. So erstrahlte die weltberühmte Architektur des Sydney Operahouses, Wahrzeichen am Bennelong Point, in seinen Umrissen am Himmel über dem Hafenbecken.

 

Eine spektakuläre Lichterflut – 100 Drohnen beim Landemanöver – Credit: Martin Hieslmair

 

Sollte dieser erste internationale öffentliche Auftritt ästhetisch und akustisch noch stark an den Weltrekord angelehnt sein, wurde die Folgeperformance in Linz eine Modifikation der ursprünglichen Aufführung. War die akustische Untermalung davor rein klassisch, lieferte Klangkünstler und Komponist Sam Auinger für die Linzer Performance eine moderne, sehr rhythmische und temporeiche elektronische Musik. Die Herausforderung für die visuellen Gestalter der Spaxels war nicht nur die Programmierung neuer Motive, wie ein dreidimensionales Schiff, das über die Wellen der Donau gleitet, auch das Matching des Uptempo-Beats mit ständig wechselnden Sujets galt es in ästhetischer Art und Weise zu meistern, bevor im zweiten Teil die Klänge und Motive aus dem Weltrekordflug die Choreografie begleiteten. Etwa 100.000 Besucherinnen und Besuchern des Donauparks erlebten ab 19.45 Uhr den rund 7-minütigen Drohnenflug über der Donau – auch ein Rekord was Zuschauerzahlen in punkto Klangwolke angeht, die im Anschluss stattfand.

 

Ars Electronica Futurelab’s Senior Director Horst Hörtner (links) und Ars Electronica’s künstlerischer Leiter Gerfried Stocker (rechts) genießen die Aufsicht. Credit: Florian Voggeneder

 

Die Linzer Performance war insofern eine Art Heimkommen, bildete die Klangwolke den Rahmen und den Beginn eines Siegeszuges der 2012 mit 50 Drohnen begann – schon damals ein Weltrekord, der allerdings nicht angemeldet war, da es die Rubrik damals nicht gab. Es war auch die Demonstration des bisher erreichten Entwicklungsstadiums im Bereich einer choreografierten Drohnenperformance.


Management:

Horst Hörtner, Harald Dirisamer, Chris Bruckmayr, Martin Mörth, Anna-Sofia Nikka, Andreas Jalsovec

Flight Crew:

Benjamin Olsen, Patrick Berger, Jonathan Rutherford, Simon Schmid, Samuel Eckl, Michael Platz

Airfield Crew:

Alois Wohlmuther, Brunon Drewniak, David Haider, Franz Peterseil, Josef Koll, Raphael Prinz zu Schaumburg-Lippe, Walter Rauchecker, Michael Gritzer, Oliver Lasch, Benjamin Gumpenberger, Bill Blair, Raffael Portugal