Encounters 2015

Encounters are the starting points as well as the results in the work of María Ignacia Edwards that she has finished under the aegis of the Art & Science Networks. Since September 2015, the installation “Encounters” can be looked at and listened to in the foyer of the Ars Electronica Center.

 

Credit. Tom Mesic
Credit. Tom Mesic

 

It comprises a soundbox in the shape of a piano which gets triggered by a swing. The harmony you hear is composed of several piano strings, set in oscillation by e-bows, an electromagnetic device. There are eleven additional swings which are hanging above the visitor’s heads like a mobile, envisaged for later transport to various destinations. They too will produce sounds via seesawing. The tonal encounters of rocking visitors will produce different harmonies at various places. Thus, the piano-shaped soundbox does not only play back the locally produced sounds, but also the ones which are “rocked” everywhere else. Therefore, there’ll always be random compositions – just like encounters happen randomly.

 

Credit: Tom Mesic
Credit: Tom Mesic

 

During her residency at ESO and Ars Electronica Futurelab, María Ignacia Edwards developed her idea, which is guided by the relation from the individual to the whole. Inspired by the world of natural sciences, the new array of telescopes ALMA in the Chilean Atacama desert and the vibes at the observatory La Silla, both ignited “Encounters”. A translation of those experiences into a comprehensive concept for a project and the integration of new media and the tonal interpretation succeeded in the Ars Electronica Futurelab, where the operational software for the e-bows was developed as well as the hardware and the mechanical solution.

 

Building the swing at Ars Electronica Futurelab: Maria Ignacia Edwards and Stefan Mittelböck. Credit: Magdalena leitner
Building the swing at Ars Electronica Futurelab: Maria Ignacia Edwards and Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer. Foto: Magdalena Leitner

 


Artist in Residence:

María Ignacia Edwards

Ars Electronica Futurelab Collaborators & Support:

Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Martin Gösweiner, Erwin Reitböck, Claudia Schnugg

Encounters 2015

Begegnungen“ (Encounters) sind sowohl Ausgangspunkte als auch Ergebnisse der Arbeit von María Ignacia Edwards, die sie unter der Ägide des European Digital Art & Science Networks abgeschlossen hat. Diese sind in Form einer Installation mit mehreren Schaukeln und einer Soundbox im Foyer des Ars Electronica Centers seit September 2015 zu betrachten und zu hören.

 

Besucher im Foyer des Ars Electronica Centers erleben mittels eines schaukelnden Kindes die Installation "Encounters". In der Mitte des Raumes steht das Klavier, dessen Saiten durch so genannte E-bows in Schwingung gebracht werden.
Credit: Tom Mesic

 

Eigentlich ist es erstmal nur eine Schaukel, die ein technisch manipuliertes Klavier über so genannte E-Bows (Elektromagneten) in Schwingung versetzt. Weitere elf Schaukeln, die wie Mobilees über den Köpfen der BesucherInnen hängen, sind für eine spätere Überführung an verschiedene Orte vorgesehen. Auch dort werden sie mit Schwüngen Schwingungen erzeugen. Die tonale Begegnung der schaukelnden BesucherInnen findet in Zukunft zufällig statt und erzeugt je nach Anzahl immer einen anderen Mehrklang. Die in Klavierform installierte Soundbox gibt also nicht nur die vor Ort erzeugten Töne wieder, sondern auch die der an anderer Stelle „geschaukelten“ Klänge. So entsteht je nach Betriebsamkeit eine zufällige Komposition.

 

Detailausschnitt des Klaviers, dessen Saiten durch E-Bows zum Klingen gebracht werden.
Credit: Tom Mesic

 

Bei ihrem Aufenthalt am ESO und im Ars Electronica Futurelab entwickelte María Ignacia Edwards ihre Idee, die von dem Verhältnis zwischen dem Einzelnen zum Ganzen geleitet ist. Inspiriert von naturwissenschaftlichen Zusammenhängen war der neue Teleskopverbund ALMA in der chilenischen Atacama-Wüste und die Stimmung am Observatorium La Silla ein Initialfunke für „Encounters“. Eine Überführung der Erfahrung in ein umfassendes Konzept für eine Arbeit und die Einbindung neuer Medien und die Interpretation auf der tonalen Ebene erfolgte im Ars Electronica Futurelab, wo sowohl die Software zur Steuerung der E-Bows als auch die Hardware und die mechanische Lösung zur Installation entwickelt wurde.

 

Die Schaukel wie sie in der Werkstatt Ars Electronica Futurelab gebaut wurde: Maria Ignacia Edwards and Stefan Mittelböck.
Building the swing at Ars Electronica Futurelab: Maria Ignacia Edwards and Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer. Credit: Magdalena Leitner

 


Artist in Residence:

María Ignacia Edwards

Ars Electronica Futurelab Collaborators & Support:

Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Martin Gösweiner, Erwin Reitböck, Claudia Schnugg