Fifty Sisters 2012

As part of his Futurelab residency, Jon McCormack developed Fifty Sisters –  fifty 1m x 1m images of computer synthesised plant-forms, algorithmically “grown” from computer code using artificial evolution and generative grammars. Each plant-like form was derived from the primitive graphic elements of oil company logos. The title of the work refers to the original “Seven Sisters” – a cartel of seven oil companies that dominated the global petrochemical industry and Middle East oil production from the mid-1940s until the oil crisis of the 1970s.

 

artificial plant form by Jon mcCormack
artificial plant form by Jon mcCormack

 

Oil has shaped our civilisation and driven its unprecedented growth over the last century. We have been seduced by oil and its bi-products as they are used across almost every aspect of human endeavour, providing fuels, fertilisers, feedstocks, plastics, medicines and more. But oil has also changed the environment, evident from the petrochemical haze that hangs over many a modern metropolis, the environmental damage of major oil spills, and the looming spectre of global climate change. With worldwide demand for oil now at 93 million barrels per day, humanity’s appetite for oil is unrelenting. Oil companies regularly report many of the all-time largest annual earnings in corporate history.

 

 

Fossil fuels began as plants that over millions of years were transformed by geological processes into the coal and oil that powers modern civilisation. To create this artwork, a variety of “digital genes” (a computer equivalent of DNA) were crafted to replicate the structure and form of Mesozoic plants and their modern descendants. These digital genes were used to “grow” imaginary plant species in the computer, being then subject to evolutionary processes of mutation and selection. Through a process akin to selective breeding, new and exotic species were evolved. The geometric elements of these digital organisms were derived from the geometric abstractions of oil company logos, which often subtly reference plants and the environment. In the final images, some of the original elements remain quite obvious, others are so strangely distorted or changed by evolution, that they are only subliminally recognisable.

Weitere Informationen: http://diotima.infotech.monash.edu.au/~jonmc/sa/artworks/fifty-sisters/


Artist in Residence:

Jon McCormack

Fifty Sisters 2012

Während seiner Residency im Ars Electronica Futurelab entwickelte Jon McCormack Fifty Sisters – fünfzig 1m x 1m große Bilder von computergenerierten Pflanzenformen, die algorithmisch aus Computer-Codes “wachsen”, wobei künstliche Evolution und generative Grammatik eingesetzt werden. Jede der pflanzenähnlichen Formen wurde von einfachen grafischen Elementen von Ölkonzern-Logos hergeleitet. Der Titel der Arbeit bezieht sich auf die ursprünglichen “Seven Sisters” – ein Kartell von sieben Ölkonzernen, das die globale petrochemische Industrie und die Ölproduktion im Mittleren Osten von Mitte der 1940er-Jahre bis zur Ölkrise der 1970er-Jahre kontrollierte.

 

Eine künstliche Pflanze, die von John McCormack aus dem Shell-Logo generiert wurde.
artificial plant form by Jon MacCormack

 

Öl hat unsere Zivilisation geprägt und ihr beispielloses Wachstum im vergangenen Jahrhundert vorangetrieben. Es ist allgegenwärtig in allen Bereichen des menschlichen Lebens und wird für Treibstoff, Düngemittel, Rohstoff, Plastik, Medizin und vieles mehr verwendet. Jedoch hat Öl auch die Umwelt verändert, was sich im petrochemischen Nebel manifestiert, der über vielen modernen Großstädten hängt, in den Umweltschäden, die durch Ölkatastrophen entstehen, und durch den drohenden globalen Klimawandel. Mit einem weltweiten Ölbedarf von 93 Millionen Barrels pro Tag ist die menschliche Gier nach Öl unnachgiebig. Viele Ölkonzerne berichten regelmäßig von Jahresumsatzrekorden.

 

 

Fossile Brennstoffe begannen als Pflanzen, die im Laufe von Millionen von Jahren durch geologische Prozesse in Kohle und Öl umgewandelt wurden, das nun die moderne Zivilisation antreibt. Fifty Sisters entstand, indem eine Vielfalt an “digitalen Genen” (ein Computer-Äquivalent von DNA) gestaltet wurden, umd die Struktur und Form von mesozoischen Pflanzen und ihre zeitgenössischen Nachfahren zu replizieren. Diese digitalen Gene wurden verwendet, um imaginäre Pflanzenspezies im Computer “wachsen zu lassen”, die dann den evolutionären Prozessen der Mutation und Selektion  unterworfen waren. Durch einen Prozess ähnlich der Zuchtwahl, entstanden neue und exotische Spezies. Die geometrischen Elemente dieser digitalen Organismen wurden von den geometrischen Abstraktionen der Ölkonzern-Logos abgeleitet, die häufig subtil auf Pflanzen und die Umwelt anspielen. In den fertigen Bildern erkennt man einige der ursprünglichen Elemente offensichtlich, während andere durch die Evolution so seltsam verzerrt oder verändert wurden, dass man sie nur unterbewusst erkennt.

Weitere Informationen: http://diotima.infotech.monash.edu.au/~jonmc/sa/artworks/fifty-sisters/


Artist in Residence:

Jon McCormack