Future Urban Mobility TUMCREATE 2017

If a city is viewed from above, it is a world in motion: trains carry people to and from work, taxis circulate, trucks deliver goods and carry away garbage, pedestrians walk down city blocks, cyclists zip through traffic. In other words, mobility is the bloodstream of our cities and is essential for urban life. Technological innovations in the form of electrification, connectivity, and autonomy are on the horizon. The combination of urban expansion and rapid innovation will inevitably drive significant changes – what will the consequences be for future urban mobility? 1

 

The simulation of an urban landscape at Deep Space 8K and a team member of TUMCREATE walking the  virtual city. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

Urban mobility needs to be analysed holistically, so we can understand how the infrastructure and people interface and interact, and the impact it has on ecology and society. Therefore, TUMCREATE, together with ARS Electronica Future Lab, has developed an Interactive Virtual City (IVC) within the Deep Space 8K – a state-of-the-art interactive 3D visualisation platform. Using the IVC, future mobility concepts can be simulated, social acceptance of new technologies can be assessed and the impact of new transportation concepts on the infrastructure, like road, energy grid and vehicle fleets can be studied.

 

 

Furthermore, the 3D immersive and responsive environment of this novel tool is equipped with human-in-the-loop simulation to understand how people react to autonomous vehicles (AV). Human responses to various AV communication strategies can be easily sensed, tested and verified, without necessarily working on prototypes and conducting tests in real world situations, which are much more time, effort and finance intensive.

 

The Perspective of the oculus rift wearer is displayed in 3D on the 16×9 metre display behind him.  Credit: Markus Scholl

 

This research tool allows us to have an impressive, detailed visualization and to experience the vehicle concepts, mobility systems and operation strategies “live” as it were, and at city level. This rich visualization makes it understandable and transparent to scientists, students and people from all backgrounds.

 

To give the real people a sense of inner city action, there also virtual pedestrians and other vehicles roaming the city. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

1) TUMCREATE Limited, 1 Create Way, #10-02 CREATE Tower, Singapore 138602. www.tum-create.edu.sg. The project is supported by the Singapore National Research Foundation, Singapore, under its Campus for Research Excellence And Technological Enterprise (CREATE) programme.


Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab: Peter Freudling, Roland Haring, Christopher Lindinger,  Michael Mayr, Poorya Piroozan, Clemens Francis Scharfen, Marianne Ternek

TUMCREATE: Rahul Gujarathi, Yude Lee, Goran Marinkovic, Suraj Nair, Pranjal Swarup, Jiajian Xiao, Daniel Zehe

Future Urban Mobility TUMCREATE 2017

Wenn man eine Innenstadt von oben betrachtet, sieht man eine Welt in Bewegung: Züge bringen die Menschen zur und von der Arbeit, Taxis machen die Runde, Trucks transportieren Güter und sammeln den Müll, FußgängerInnen spazieren entlang der Häuserblöcke und FahrradfahrerInnen bahnen sich ihren Weg durch den Straßenverkehr. Mit anderen Worten ist Mobilität die Hauptader der Innenstädte und lebensnotwendig für das urbane Leben. Technologische Innovationen in Form von Elektrifizierung, Verbundenheit und Autonomie tauchen am Horizont auf. Die Kombination aus urbaner Expansion und wachsendem Erfindungsreichtum wird unweigerlich den Wandel unweigerlich vorantreiben – die sich stellende Frage: welche Auswirkungen wird dies auf die urbane Mobilität haben? 1

 

Die Simulation einer Innenstadt im Deep Space 8K und ein Mitarbeiter von TUMCREATE, der sich darin bewegt. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

Damit wir verstehen wie Infrastruktur und Menschen miteinander verbunden sind und interagieren und was die Auswirkungen von Verkehrskonzepten auf die Ökologie und die Gesellschaft haben, sollte Urbane Mobilität holistisch analysiert werden. Deshalb haben TUMCREATE zusammen mit dem Ars Electronica Futurelab eine interaktive, virtuelle Innenstadt für den Deep Space 8K entwickelt, eine State-of-the-art interaktive 3D Visualisierungsplattform. Diese eröffnet interdisziplinäre Forschungsfelder um direkt aufeinander reagieren zu können. Zum Beispiel können wir untersuchen wie sich die Verkehrssituation auf das Transportmittel-Design auswirkt oder wie ein Transportkonzept in die generelle Verkehrssituation von Singapur integriert werden kann.

 

 

Darüber hinaus, ist die immersive und responsive 3D-Umgebung dieses neuen Werkzeugs damit ausgestattet mit einer so genannten human-in-the-loop Simulation (Außenwelt-Simulation), die es möglich macht rauszufinden, wie Menschen auf selbstfahrende Fahrzeuge reagieren. Die menschliche Reaktion auf verschiedene Strategien der AV-Kommunikation (AV=Autonomous Vehicles) kann leicht rausgefunden, getestet und verifiziert werden ohne an Prototypen zu arbeiten oder ohne Tests in Echtzeitsituationen durchzuführen, was Zeit und Kostenintensiver wäre.

 

Die Perspektive des VR-Brillenträgers sieht das Auditorium an der 16×9 Meter großen Wand in 3D. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

Das Forschungswerkzeug ermöglicht eine eindrucksvolle, detaillierte Visualisierung und gibt uns Einblicke in die Transportmittelkonzepte, Mobilitätssysteme und Durchführungsstrategien so wie sie in echt auf einer Stadtebene ablaufen würden. Diese detailreiche Visualisierung macht die Erlebniswelt plausibel und für Forscher und Studenten aus unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen transparent.

Auch FüßgängerInnen wurden simuliert, um dem VerkehrsteilnehmerInnen ein möglichst authentisches Innenstadtgefühl zu vermitteln. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

1) TUMCREATE Limited, 1 Create Way, #10-02 CREATE Tower, Singapore 138602. www.tum-create.edu.sg. The project is supported by the Singapore National Research Foundation, Singapore, under its Campus for Research Excellence And Technological Enterprise (CREATE) programme.


 

Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab: Peter Freudling, Roland Haring, Christopher Lindinger,  Michael Mayr, Poorya Piroozan, Clemens Francis Scharfen, Marianne Ternek

TUMCREATE: Rahul Gujarathi, Yude Lee, Goran Marinkovic, Suraj Nair, Pranjal Swarup, Jiajian Xiao, Daniel Zehe