insight | out 2017

insight | out, a work of media art by the Ars Electronica Futurelab, is a portrait of Oberbank AG Linz rendered on a fragmented frieze made up of eight video screens. The medium itself thus evokes the multiplicity of influences that flow into this portrait – the values that this long-established financial institution represents, the names of the European regions in which Oberbank is present, customers and staff members going about their business in the facility, and, finally, environmental phenomena such as the sun’s position and the wind’s strength.

media art “insight | out” at Oberbank AG Linz – Donaulände Credit: Otto Saxinger

 

Visually, the image is characterized by particles, the movements and flows of which engender a linear aesthetic akin to a pen-and-ink drawing or a brushstroke, with the lines’ thickness varying over time. The particles have divergent mutual affinities – keeping their distance and seeking proximity. They obey the law of the swarm, attraction and repulsion, depending upon their distance from one another and the factors that influence them.

The red particles are attracted by visitors and/or by writing. Individuals interacting with each other are registered by a tracking system and “drawn” by the particles. The letters in the lines of writing that appear are “filled” by the red particles and thereby made visible. A few “lead particles” see to it that all of the particles are evenly distributed; the other particles follow them to their respectively assigned areas of the space to be drawn.

media art “insight | out” at Oberbank AG Linz – Donaulände Credit: Otto Saxinger

 

The particles have been conceived as an emergent element in the sense of “The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.” They constitute a metaphor for the interplay of diverse factors and influences, such as the people (users), monetary flows and transactions that characterize a bank.

The magnitudes derived from the building’s central control system, such as the position of the sun and brightness, minimally change the image’s coloring over the course of the day – in the morning, bluish; in the evening, reddish. The wind strength measured imparts short-duration impulses that “blow” the particles in the corresponding direction. This is a metaphor for being situated in and acting in the midst of a local culture at a specific location.

People in the lobby are registered by the system and positioned in the space depicted in the installation, where customers and staff members can visually experience their influence on the particles and the system as a whole. The visualization swarms about the interacting individuals – a person appears to be both a driving force of and a source of resistance to the current in the ongoing flow of the “aesthetic of capital.” 1

 

1 Richard Kriesche 2017 „die kunst, die freiheit und ihr wert“, FIN/2 Liquid Music, Herausgeber Heimo Ranzenbacher 2017

 

Credits:

Peter Freudling, Stefan Mittlboeck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Otto Naderer, Florian Berger, Erwin Reitböck, Nicolas Naveau

insight | out 2017

Die Medienkunstarbeit „insight | out“ des Ars Electronica Futurelab zeichnet auf einem fragmentierten Bildschirmfries, bestehend aus acht Monitoren, ein Portrait der Oberbank AG Linz, in dem sie unterschiedliche Einflüsse einbezieht. Hauptfaktoren sind zum einen die Werte, welche das Traditionsunternehmen vertritt, außerdem die Namen der Regionen Europas, in denen die Oberbank vertreten ist, und schließlich die KundInnen und MitarbeiterInnen des Gebäudes als auch Umwelteinflüsse wie Sonnenstand und Wind.

Medienkunstarbeit „insight | out“ im Foyer der Oberbank AG Filiale Linz – Donaulände Credit: Otto Saxinger

 

Visuell ist das Bild von Partikeln geprägt, die durch ihre Bewegung und ihren Fluss eine Strichästhetik, gleich einer Zeichnung oder eines Pinselduktus erscheinen lassen, welche in seinen Strichstärken über die Zeit variiert. Die Partikel haben unterschiedliche Affinitäten zueinander – sie suchen Distanz aber auch Nähe. Sie folgen dem Gesetz des Schwarmes – Attraktion, Repulsion – abhängig von der Distanz zueinander und den Sie beeinflussenden Faktoren.

Die roten Partikel werden vom Besucher bzw. von der Schrift angezogen. Die interagierenden Personen, die durch das Trackingsystem erfasst werden, werden von den Teilchen „umzeichnet“. Die Buchstaben der erscheinenden Schriftzüge werden durch die roten Partikeln „befüllt“ und so sichtbargemacht. Wenige Leitpartikel sorgen für die gleichmäßige Verteilung der Teilchenmenge – die übrigen Teile folgen diesen, in bestimmten, ihnen zugewiesenen Bereichen des zu zeichnenden Raumes.

Medienkunstarbeit „insight | out“ im Foyer der Oberbank AG Filiale Linz – Donaulände Credit: Otto Saxinger

 

Die Partikel verstehen sich als emergentes Element „Das Ganze ist mehr als die Summe seiner Teile“ und sind Metapher für das Zusammenspiel der Unterschiedlichen Faktoren und Einflüsse, wie Menschen (Nutzer), Geldflüsse, Transaktionen, etc., die eine Bank prägen.

Die Faktoren aus der Gebäudeleittechnik wie Sonnenstand und Helligkeit – verändern geringfügig das Farbbild über den Tagesverlauf – morgens bläulich, abends rötlich. Die gemessene Windstärke „verbläst“ in kurz anhaltenden Impulsen die Partikel in die entsprechende Richtung. Es ist Metapher für ein Agieren und ein Verortet sein in einer lokalen Kultur an einem bestimmten Standort.

Personen im Foyer werden vom System erfasst und im dargestellten Raum der Installation verortet, wo die KundInnen und MitarbeiterInnen ihren Einfluss auf die Partikel, das System visuell erleben können. Die Visualisierung umschwärmt die interagierenden Personen – Man selbst erscheint gleichermaßen als Antrieb wie Strömungswiderstand im fortwährenden Fluss der „Ästhetik des Kapitals“ 1.

 

1 Richard Kriesche 2017 „die kunst, die freiheit und ihr wert“, FIN/2 Liquid Music, Herausgeber Heimo Ranzenbacher 2017

 

Credits:

Peter Freudling, Stefan Mittlboeck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Otto Naderer, Florian Berger, Erwin Reitböck, Nicolas Naveau