Linzerschnitte 2000

This was a project to control large numbers of remote devices, using a low cost programmable FM broadcast receiver. The system consists of a programmable FM receiver which can decode audio control tones and RDS commands sent from a central FM transmitter, a low power RDS FM transmitter is being planned as a parallel project.

 

Futurelab members with the shining results. Foto: Veronika Pauser
Futurelab members with the shining results. Credit: Veronika Pauser

 

On the 1st of September 2012, Linzer Klangwolke took place in a way never seen before. Taking participation as its basis, Klangwolke brought together the whole city in a one-hour event by enabling them active contributors of the show.

In the preceding two months, more than 500 people had been working to realize this whole-city event, and about 2000 people attended workshops in Ars Electronica, where they built cardboard letters and decorated them in a way that represented their characters. These letters each embodied LEDs connected to the network that would light up based in the signal they were receiving.

Implementing the LED diodes to the letters. Foto: Veronica Pauser
Implementing the LED diodes to the letters. Credit: Veronica Pauser

 

The exquisiteness of letters in this context was formed due to two facts:

First, a letter represents the minimum carries in the human language and script. However, the letter itself is not enough, you need a second person, or even a crowd, or a network of people to join, in order to propose a message. This basis provided the nature of collaboration within people.

The second property was the characterization: In the workshops, people were provided with different decoration materials like colored paper, buttons, plastic sheets, ribbons… This way, a creative space was opened up, much like creating your profile in a social network: You would find your letter and then start beautifying it. You would give it a character.

 

People of Linz gathering at the Danube for the Klangwolke event. Credit: Veronika Pauser
People of Linz gathering at the Danube for the Klangwolke event. Credit: Veronika Pauser

 

In the end, an original mean of self-expression was born. Then, the challenge was how to connect five thousand LED equipped letters to the network. This was exactly the point how LinzerSchnitte was born.

Linzerschnitte 2000

Dieses Projekt diente der Kontrolle vieler Fernbedienungen, die einen günstigen, programmierbaren UKW Empfänger eingebaut haben. Das System besteht aus einem programmierbaren UKW Empfänger, der Audio-Kontrolltöne dekodieren und RDS Befehle von einem zentralen UKW-Sender dekodieren kann, ein Niedrigstrom RDS FM Sender ist als paralleles Projekt geplant.

 

Das Team des Futurelabs sitzen auf der Treppe ihres Gebäudes und bilden den Schriftzug "Voestalpine Klangwolke" mittels der selbstgebauten und illuminierten Buchstaben.
Futurelab members with the shining results. Credit: Veronika Pauser

 

Am ersten September 2012 fand die Linzer Klangwolke in einer bisher ungewohnten Art statt. Mit Partizipation als Thema, brachte die Klangwolke die ganze Stadt zur aktiven Teilnahme an einem einstündigen Event zusammen.

In den zwei vorangegangenen Monaten, arbeiteten mehr als 500 Leute an dem Stadt-übergreifenden Event, und um die 2000 Menschen nahmen an Workshops bei Ars Electronica teil, wo sie Kartonbuchstaben bauten, und sie gemäß ihres Charakters dekorierten. Alle diese Buchstaben enthielten LEDs, die mit einem Netzwerk verbunden waren, und je nachdem welches Signal sie erhielten, aufleuchteten.

 

Implementierung der LEDs in die Letter.
Implementing the LED diodes to the letters. Credit: Veronica Pauser

 

Die Einzigartigkeit dieser Buchstaben wurde in diesem Zusammenhang durch zwei Faktoren definiert:

Erstens ist ein Buchstabe die kleinste Einheit unseres Sprachsystems. Es braucht aber um zu kommunizieren eine zweite Person, oder sogar eine Menschenmenge, oder ein Netzwerk von Menschen, um an der Kommunikation teilzunehmen. Diese Basis konstituiert die Art der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Menschen.

Die zweite Eigenschaft war die Charakterisierung: In den Workshops wurden die Menschen mit verschiedenen Dekomaterialien wie farbiges Papier, Plastikfolien oder Bänder ausgestattet… Auf diese Art wurde ein kreativer Raum geöffnet, ganz in der Art eines sozialen Netzwerks: Man fand seinen eigenen Buchstaben und fängt an ihn nach sich selbst zu gestalten.

 

Besucherstrom am Ufer der Donau während der Voestalpine Klangwolke ABC-Parade.
People of Linz gathering at the Danube for the Klangwolke event. Credit: Veronika Pauser

 

Am Ende des Tages war ein Mittel des Selbstausdrucks gefunden. Dann war die Herausforderung, wie man 5.000 LEDs auf einmal zum Leuchten bringt. Dies war die Geburtsstunde der Linzer Schnitte.