Livingroom 2003

“LivingRoom” was a multimedia installation that came alive with the contributions of its users. The open infrastructure provided an opportunity for interaction with new media ranging from playful experiences to educational project work.

 

Overview. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Overview. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

“LivingRoom” was a documentary, a game, a play, a single episode of a movie serial, animated feature, reality soap, comic strip … and schoolwork. Students could play out short stories on four stages set up at different locations throughout the school. These performances were transmitted to the school auditorium, where the various episodes displayed on four different screens merged into a single story and transformed the school’s physical premises into a narrative space. Real footage, cut-out animation sequences, live images and processed material from the Internet blended together to form partially random, partially scripted narratives.
It is not only the screens on which the short stories were displayed that make this project into a “living room.” The point of “LivingRoom” is that the school is a place that is created by the activities that go on within it and not one of passive acceptance of predetermined routines. External influences also came into play—in this application via the Web. With a custom-designed video-processing interface, a user could recompile and rework existing episodes and, in doing so, show plot and narrative elements from a new perspective and tell alternative stories.

 

 

Thus, narratives could be recorded totally spontaneously or planned in advance, and they could be realized individually or collaboratively. Virtual stage elements could be designed in different school classes or subjects and then be utilized live. Other possibilities include using “LivingRoom” for school theater performances and as an exhibition medium for school projects.
Since “LivingRoom” had been conceived as a project that would accompany whole classes throughout their school years, it had intentionally been given a modular design whereby all components could be enhanced or replaced with upgraded versions. The hardware was standard equipment readily available in retail stores; the software could be expanded or replaced depending on what users want to accomplish and their respective skill levels.


Research and Development

Dietmar Offenhuber, Nina Wenhart, Helmut Höllerl, Christopher Lindinger, Carlos Andreas Rocha, Horst Hörtner, Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth, Christian Naglhofer, Peter Brandl, Robert Abt, Robert Praxmarer, Peter Freudling, Erwin Reitböck, Martin Honzik, Christoph Scholz, Martin Bruner, Walter Steinacher, Ewald Elmecker, Florian Landerl

Livingroom 2003

„Livingroom“ war eine Multi Media Installation, die von den Beiträgen ihrer Benutzer lebte. Die offene Infrastruktur bot Raum für ganz persönliche Erfahrungen mit dem Medium bis zur Projektarbeit im Unterricht.

 

 

Zeichnung der Schulräumlichkeiten.
Overview. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

“LivingRoom” war Dokumentation, Spiel, Theater, Episodenfilm, Animation, Reality Soap, Comicstrip … Schule. Auf vier über die Räumlichkeiten der Schule verteilten Bühnen konnten die Schüler kurze Geschichten inszenieren. Diese wurden in die Aula übertragen, wo sich die verschiedenen Episoden auf vier Screens zu einer gemeinsamen Geschichte fügten und den physischen Schulraum in einen narrativen überführten. Es vermischten sich Realaufnahmen, Legetrickanimationen, Live-Bilder und über das Web bearbeitetes Material zu teils zufälligen, teils geplanten Erzählungen.

Nicht nur die Screens, auf denen die kurzen Geschichten gezeigt wurden, machten das Projekt zu einem “LivingRoom”. “LivingRoom” zeigte auf, dass die Schule ein Ort ist, der erst durch Handeln entsteht, kein passiver, der hingenommen wird. Einflüsse kamen ebenso von außen, in dieser Applikation über das Web. Mit einem eigens entworfenen Videobearbeitungs-Interface konnte man die vorgefundenen Episoden neu reihen und verändern und dadurch einen neuen Blick auf das Geschehen werfen und alternative Geschichten erzählen.

 

 

Geschichten konnten ganz spontan aufgenommen werden, sie konnten aber auch im Voraus geplant sein und alleine oder in Zusammenarbeit realisiert werden. Virtuelle Bühnenelemente konnten in den verschiedenen Unterrichtsgegenständen entworfen und dann live als Werkzeug eingesetzt werden. Ebenso gut eignete sich “LivingRoom” für Schultheateraufführungen oder bei Projektarbeiten als Ausstellungsfläche dienen …
Da das Projekt Generationen von Schülern durch ihre Schulzeit begleiten sollte, war es bewusst offen konzipiert: Sämtliche Komponenten sind ergänz- und austauschbar. Bei der Hardware wurde auf handelsübliche Ware gesetzt, die Software kann nach den Wünschen und Erkenntnissen der Benutzer erweitert und ersetzt werden.


Research and Development:

Dietmar Offenhuber, Nina Wenhart, Helmut Höllerl, Christopher Lindinger, Carlos Andreas Rocha, Horst Hörtner, Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth, Christian Naglhofer, Peter Brandl, Robert Abt, Robert Praxmarer, Peter Freudling, Erwin Reitböck, Martin Honzik, Christoph Scholz, Martin Bruner, Walter Steinacher, Ewald Elmecker, Florian Landerl