Mahler’s Resurrection Symphony Visionized 2006

As a follow-up to their “Das Rheingold – Visionized” pilot project, the Ars Electronica Futurelab again collaborated with artist Johannes Deutsch on a performance of Gustav Mahler’s Symphony Nr. 2 in C minor as an interactive visualization in three-dimensional space. This work, commissioned by WDR, Western Germany’s public broadcasting station, premiered on January 1, 2006 to kick off WDR’s 50th anniversary year. The Cologne Philharmonic’s performance got rave reviews for its visionary staging in a new dimension. For WDR’s live broadcast, Futurelab staffers worked out a concept in which the interactive environment is captured by four virtual cameras.

 

Mahler’s Resurrection Symphony comissioned by the WDR for it’s 50th anniversary.

 

The Visionized version of the Resurrection Symphony stages a three-dimensional virtual world of visual imagery that is coordinated to the tonal imagery being produced in the concert hall.

In this largely unreconnoitered experimental terrain in which innovative artistic approaches are encountering the possibilities afforded by computer technology, Mahler’s classic work was reread and interpreted anew. What was boldly daring about this visualization was the innovative fusion of different artistic genres in a then brand new staging concept that visually translates the musical composition into a three-dimensional space. The pictorial imagery, based on designs by Viennese artist Johannes Deutsch, was interpreted with the help of software developed at the Ars Electronica Futurelab and adapted for depiction in three-dimensional space. Johannes Deutsch had subjected the piece of music to a thoroughgoing analysis and executed a substantive framework for the visuals in the form of 18 objects. The design concepts for the dramaturgical transformations of the 3D elements and the overall mise en scène translate the theme of the Resurrection Symphony into an aesthetic interplay of dynamic compositions of form and color that transport their own visual language. The link-up of the latest technological innovations (audio analysis, 3D graphics, virtual camera) with the concept of the visualization of a multimedial tonal space is thus opening up new modes of staging and partaking of classical works and thus creating new artistic approaches.

 

Festkonzert zum 50 jŠhrigen Bestehen des WDR: WDR Sinfonieorchster, Ltg. Semyon Bychkov Gustav Mahler Sinfonie Nr.2 c-moll MedienkŸnstlerische Gestaltung: Johannes Deutsch und Ars Electronica Futurelab Linz Philharmonie Kšln 1.1.2006
50th anniversary concert of the WDR Symphonic Orchestra, conducted by Semyon Bychkov: Gustav Mahler, Sinfonie Nr.2 Credit: WDR

 

Link-up of a Virtual Environment and a Tonal Space
The interaction concept for the connection of the virtual environment with the tonal space in the concert hall makes possible a computer-controlled interpretation of the musical impulses, which can flow in real time via 48 channels into the visual depiction. Audio signals are analyzed according to a number of different criteria and linked up to the visuals. They influence both individual elements as well as the overall performance and lead to an interrelationship of the modulation of the spatial imagery with the playing of the musicians and spontaneous reactions by the visualization to selected tonal elements.

“Visionized”: Performance in Actual Practice
The outcome is a visionary way of performing a musical work, one that, in the words of Cologne Mayor Fritz Schramma, brings forth “a new dimension of music and optical perception.” Through stereoscopic projection, the imagery is displayed in a three-dimensional virtual space that overlays the real space of the concert hall and envelops the audience. This gives rise to the visual impression that the design elements are moving about freely in space and that those present can partake of or perceive them in a wide variety of perspectives and dimensions—from immediate proximity to seemingly endless remoteness. The use of the Pulfrich Effect also makes it possible for the TV audience to perceive the three-dimensionality of the staged performance.

 

Foto: :WDR/Thomas Kost"
Credit: WDR/Thomas Kost”

 

Intelligent Technologies

For the TV broadcast, the artificial environment is captured by a so-called virtual camera, one of the innovative new technologies that the Ars Electronica Futurelab came up with for this project. This device makes it possible to take leave of the audience’s fixed perspective and to navigate through the digitally construed world. As an “intelligent camera,” it adjusts automatically to the design criteria of the visualization and can be used to produce Pulfrich Effects via the televised image.
Several different technologies that had been developed by the Ars Electronica Futurelab were already being combined, modified, synchronized and enhanced for the production of “Das Rheingold – Visionized.” For instance, specialists took over a year to get a computer system to “learn” to “hear” the music and to interpret the modulations of the signals in accordance with design criteria. The pioneering work that was done in the follow-up project has led, in turn, to new technological innovations and software solutions.


Project Management:

Pascal Maresch

Research & Development:

Robert Abt, Florian Berger, Peter Freudling, Horst Hörtner, Andreas Jalsovec, Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth, Nina Valkanova

Keyresearcher / Virtual Environments:

Christopher Lindinger

Mahlers Auferstehungs-Sinfonie Visionized 2006

Nach dem Pilotprojekt „Das Rheingold – Visionized“ hat das Ars Electronica Futurelab zusammen mit dem Künstler Johannes Deutsch Gustav Mahlers Sinfonie Nr. 2 c-moll als interaktive Visualisierung im dreidimensionalen Raum umgesetzt. Die Premiere am 01. Januar 2006 im Auftrag des WDR (Westdeutscher Rundfunk) zum Start von dessen 50. Jubiläumsjahr in der Kölner Philharmonie überzeugte als visionäre Aufführungspraxis in einer neuen Dimension. Für die Live-Übertragung im Fernsehen wurde für den WDR ein Konzept erarbeitet, in dem sich das interaktive Environment über vier virtuelle Kameras erschließt.

 

Mahler’s Resurrection Symphony comissioned by the WDR for it’s 50th anniversary.

 

Bei der Visionized-Version der Auferstehungssinfonie wurde eine dreidimensionale virtuelle Bildwelt inszeniert, die mit der im Saal erzeugten Klangwelt in Verbindung stand.

Auf kaum erschlossenem Experimentierfeld in der Verbindung künstlerischer und computertechnischer Ansätze, wurde das klassische Werk Mahlers neu gelesen und interpretiert. Das Wagnis der Visualisierung lag in der innovativen Zusammenführung verschiedener Kunstgattungen in einem neuen Inszenierungskonzept, das die musikalische Komposition im dreidimensionalen Raum visuell umsetzte. Die auf den Entwürfen des Wiener Künstlers Johannes Deutsch basierende Bildwelt wurde mithilfe von Softwareentwicklungen des Ars Electronica Futurelab interpretiert und für die Darstellung im dreidimensionalen Raum adaptiert. Johannes Deutsch hatte das Musikstück einer eingehenden Analyse unterzogen und mit 18 Objekten einen Inhaltlichen Rahmen für die visuelle Umsetzung ausgeführt. Die Gestaltungsideen für die dramaturgischen Transformationen der 3D-Elemente und der Gesamtinszenierung übersetzen das Thema der Auferstehungssinfonie in ein ästhetisches Spiel dynamischer Form- und Farbkompositionen, die eine eigene visuelle Sprache transportierten. Die Verknüpfung von Technologie-Entwicklung (Audio-Analyse, 3D-Grafik, virtuelle Kamera) mit dem Konzept für eine multimediale Klangraum-Visualisierung erschloss so neue Modi der Gestaltung und Rezeption von klassischen Werken und schaffte neue Zugänge.

 

Festkonzert zum 50 jährigen Bestehen des WDR: WDR Sinfonieorchster, Ltg. Semyon Bychkov Gustav Mahler Sinfonie Nr.2 c-moll Medienkünstlerische Gestaltung: Johannes Deutsch und Ars Electronica Futurelab Linz Philharmonie Köln 1.1.2006
50th anniversary concert of the WDR Symphonic Orchestra, conducted by Semyon Bychkov: Gustav Mahler, Sinfonie Nr.2 c-moll
Philharmonie Köln 1.1.2006. Credit: WDR

 

Verbindung von virtueller Umgebung und Klangraum

Das Interaktionskonzept zur Verbindung des virtuellen Raums mit dem Klangraum im Konzertsaal ermöglichte eine computergestützte Interpretation der musikalischen Impulse, die in Echtzeit über 48 Kanäle in die visuelle Darstellung einfließen konnten. Audiosignale wurden nach unterschiedlichen Gesichtspunkten analysiert und mit der visuellen Darstellung verknüpft. Sie beeinflussten sowohl einzelne Elemente als auch die Gesamtinszenierung und führten zu einer Verbindung von der mit dem Spiel der Musiker synchronisierten Modulation des Raumbildes und spontanen Reaktionen der Visualisierung auf ausgewählte Klangereignisse.

Aufführungspraxis “Visionized”

Das Ergebnis war eine visionäre Aufführungspraxis, die, so auch Kölns Oberbürgermeister Fritz Schramma, in “eine neue Dimension der Musik und der optischen Wahrnehmung” führte. Durch stereoskopische Projektion wurden die Bilder in einem dreidimensionalen virtuellen Raum umgesetzt, der sich mit dem realen Raum des Konzertsaals überlagerte und das Publikum umhüllte. So entstand der visuelle Eindruck, dass sich die Gestaltungselemente frei im Raum bewegten und verschiedenste räumliche Perspektiven und Dimensionen – von unmittelbarer Nähe bis scheinbar unendliche Weite – ein- bzw. wahrgenommen werden konnten. Für das Fernseh-Publikum ermöglichte die Ausnutzung des Pulfrich-Effekts ebenfalls die dreidimensionale Wirkung der Inszenierung.

 

Festkonzert zum 50 jährigen Bestehen des WDR: WDR Sinfonieorchster, Ltg. Semyon Bychkov Gustav Mahler Sinfonie Nr.2 c-moll Medienkünstlerische Gestaltung: Johannes Deutsch und Ars Electronica Futurelab Linz Philharmonie Köln 1.1.2006
Credit :WDR/Thomas Kost“

 

Intelligente Technologien

Für die Fernsehübertragung wurde die künstlichen Umgebung durch eine „virtuelle Kamera“ erschlossen. Sie war eine der technologischen Innovationen, die das Ars Electronica Futuralab für das Projekt realisiert hatte. Sie ermöglichte, den fixierten Standpunkt des Publikums zu verlassen und durch die digital konstruierte Welt zu navigieren. Als „intelligente Kamera“ passte sie sich selbsttätig an die Gestaltungskriterien der Visualisierung an und konnte für die Erzeugung des Pulfrich-Effekts über das Fernsehbild genutzt werden.

Schon für „Das Rheingold – Visionized“ wurden unterschiedliche, vom Ars Electronica Futurelab entwickelte Technologien kombiniert, modifiziert, aufeinander abgestimmt und weiterentwickelt. So hatten Spezialisten in einem mehr als einjährigen Prozess ein Computersystem ‚lernen’ lassen, die Musik zu ‚hören’ und die Modulationen der Signale nach gestalterischen Kriterien auszulegen. Das Beschreiten neuer Wege im Folgeprojekt hat wiederum zu neuen technologischen Innovationen und Softwarelösungen geführt.


Project Management:

Pascal Maresch

Research & Development:

Robert Abt, Florian Berger, Peter Freudling, Horst Hörtner, Andreas Jalsovec, Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth, Nina Valkanova

Keyresearcher / Virtual Environments:

Christopher Lindinger