Nitsch Retrospektive: Sinne und Sein 2014

The nitsch museum was marking Hermann Nitsch’s 75th birthday with an exhibition entitled “HERMANN NITSCH – SINNE UND SEIN” (SENSE AND BEING). It featured works created over six decades and, for the first time at this facility, an interactive jumbo projection screen designed by the Ars Electronica Futurelab. The show ran from April 7, 2013 to July 31, 2014.

 

Hermann Nitsch speaks about his work, his approach to new media.

 

Interactive World of Experience in the Nitsch Museum’s “Chapel”

 

The 8×4-meter panorama projection in the “Chapel” at the nitsch museum in Mistelbach, Lower Austria opened up totally new insights into the artist’s work. Users could navigate via touchscreen through gigapixel images and explore the most finely rendered details within Hermann Nitsch’s world of imagery, structures inaccessible to the naked eye. The selection of works on display accurately reflected the diversity of this important painter’s artistic creativity. The installation was accompanied by tonal environments that were also composed by the artist. The interplay of visual, tactile and acoustic stimuli engendered a mode of experiencing Nitsch’s work that’s was as novel as it was intense.

 

 

The installation venue was the Chapel, a separate building in the courtyard of Nitsch Museum (which is part of the Museum Center Mistelbach (MZM) where a Nitsch retrospective entitled “Süße Lust – Geschichte(n) der Mehlspeise” (Sweet Lust – (Hi)Stories of Pastry) was running simultaneously in another exhibition space.) In the Chapel, the Ars Electronica Futurelab had installed a miniature version of Deep Space, but just because it was small in comparison to the original doesn’t necessarily mean that all they’ve done was hang a tablet on the wall. Measuring 8×4 meters and displaying images up to 38,000 pixels wide, the dimensions were quite impressive here too, especially since the whole space was pretty much dedicated to this installation. On display were four of Nitsch’s works, two of which were reconfigurations never before seen in this form. They were controlled, as in the Ars Electronica Center, via a multi-touch terminal that let users zoom in and discover details that might previously have been unknown to anyone but the artist. Each image had been virtually cut up into thousands of individual pieces; the wealth of detail is impressive.

 

The artist and his art. Hermann Nitsch talks with Gerfried Stocker about his body of work. Foto: Tom Mesic
The artist and his art. Hermann Nitsch talks with Gerfried Stocker about his body of work. Credit: Tom Mesic

 

But visual components weren’t all there is to admire. “Concert for 1,000 Fingers,” (Hermann Nitsch/Peter Jan Marthé, „KLAVIER-SINFONIE FÜR 100 PIANISTEN“, Uraufführung: 25. 11. 2012 im „Kulturquartier“ Linz, Ausführende: Pianisten des O.Ö. Musikschulwerks & der Musikuniversität Wien. Dirigent: Peter Jan Marthé) was piped in on specially installed speakers that impart every single decibel of this piece loud and clear. If you went with the flow, the works of art in this setting and the combination of imagery and sound made an even more intense impact, an experience that came close to involving all the senses.


Concept and Idea:

Christoph Lindinger, Horst Hörtner, Gerfried Stocker

Project Management:

Patrick Müller

Programming:

Benjamin Mayr

Construction and Hardware:

AEC FL, Ton + Bild Medientechnik GmbH

Nitsch Retrospektive: Sinne und Sein 2014

Anlässlich des 75sten Geburtstag von Hermann Nitsch zeigte das nitsch museum die Ausstellung „HERMANN NITSCH – SINNE UND SEIN“. Zu erleben waren Werke aus sechs Dekaden und erstmals auch eine interaktive Großbildprojektion, die vom Linzer Ars Electronica Futurelab gestaltet wurde. Die Schau war von 7. April 2013 bis 31. Juli 2014 zu sehen.

 

Hermann Nitsch speaks about his work, his approach to new media.

Interaktive Erlebniswelt in der „Kapelle“ des nitsch museums

 

Die 8 mal 4 Meter große Panoramaprojektion in der „Kapelle“ des Mistelbacher nitsch museums eröffnete völlig neue Einblicke in das Werk des Künstlers. Via Touchscreen konnten die BesucherInnen durch Gigapixel Bilder navigieren und dabei feinste Strukturen und Details in Hermann Nitschs Bildwelten erkunden, die mit bloßem Auge nicht erkennbar sind. Die Auswahl der gezeigten Werke spiegelte die Vielfalt des künstlerischen Schaffens von Hermann Nitsch wider. Unterstützt wurde die Installation durch Klangwelten, die ebenfalls vom Künstler selbst stammten. Das Zusammenspiel von visuellen, taktilen und akustischen Reizen eröffnete dabei ein ebenso neuartiges wie intensives Erleben der Arbeit von Hermann Nitsch.

 

 

In der Kapelle bzw. Installationsraum, einem eigenen Gebäude im Hof des Nitsch Museum (das Nitsch Museum ist Teil des Museumszentrum Mistelbach, in den anderen Ausstellungsräumen lief parallel zur Nitsch-Retrospektive übrigens “Süße Lust – Geschichte(en) der Mehlspeise), hatte das Ars Electronica Futurelab eine Miniversion des Deep Space installiert. Dass sie im Vergleich zum Original klein war, heißt allerdings nicht, dass es sich um ein Tablett an der Wand handelte. Mit 8×4 Metern und Bildern in einer Breite von bis zu 38 000 px waren nämlich auch hier die Dimensionen recht beeindruckend, zumal der ganze Raum quasi ausschließlich für diese Installation reserviert wurde. 4 Kunstwerke Nitsch’ wurden gezeigt, davon 2, die es bis dahin noch nicht zu sehen gab. Bedient wurde die Installation wie im Ars Electronica Center mittels Multi-Touch-Terminal, man konnte in die Bilder hineinzoomen und Details entdecken, die bislang nur dem Künstler selbst bekannt waren. Jedes der Bilder war virtuell in tausende Einzelteile geschnitten worden, der Detailreichtum deshalb beeindruckend.

 

Der Künstler Herrmann Nitsch diskutiert mit Gerfried Stocker über sein Gesamtkunstwerk im Deep Space 8K.
The artist and his art. Hermann Nitsch talks with Gerfried Stocker about his body of work. Credit: Tom Mesic

 

Doch gab es nicht nur die visuelle Komponente zu bestaunen, aus eigenes installierten Lautsprechern tönte dazu Nitsch’ “Konzert für 1000 Finger” (Hermann Nitsch/Peter Jan Marthé, „KLAVIER-SINFONIE FÜR 100 PIANISTEN“, Uraufführung war am 25. 11. 2012 im „Kulturquartier“ Linz, Ausführende: Pianisten des O.Ö. Musikschulwerks & der Musikuniversität Wien. Dirigent: Peter Jan Marthé) und das in durchaus solider Lautstärke. Lässt man sich darauf ein, wirkte diese Kombination aus Bild und Ton sehr intensiv.


Concept and Idea:

Christoph Lindinger, Horst Hörtner, Gerfried Stocker

Project Management:

Patrick Müller

Programming:

Benjamin Mayr

Construction and Hardware:

AEC FL, Ton + Bild Medientechnik GmbH