Oribotics 2011

In cooperation with the University of Linz’s Institute of Polymer Product Engineering, the Australian origami- and media artist Matthew Gardiner cultivated interactive flowerbeds. During the 2010 Ars Electronica Festival they brought the industrial architecture of the former tobacco processing plant into full bloom.

 

Matthew gardiner explains the principles of Oribotics.

 

As the portmanteau name Oribot suggests, these high-tech creatures were the outcome on an artistically motivated synthesis of traditional Japanese paper-folding and state-of-the-art robotics. Oribots unfold their beauty in the truest sense of the word. This Ars Electronica project featured complexly folded floral structures clasped by flexible plastic cups that open and close at the command of an ultrasonic sensor. The closer a festivalgoer got to one of the 50 Oribots in the Tabakfabrik, the wider its shiny white fabric blossom opened. This interaction concept was comprehensible by young and old alike; what’s behind it was a highly sophisticated design.

 

ARS ELECTRONICA FESTIVAL 2010: The Future Unfolds. Credit: rubra

 

All 1,050 folds of a single Oribot blossom were mechanically interlinked. As soon as one single fold of a blossom was activated, all the others went into motion too. Oribotics mastermind Matthew Gardiner—currently artist-in-residence at the Ars Electronica Futurelab—worked for three years developing the ideal folding pattern and material for his latest generation of Oribots. “I’m still fascinated by their extraordinary aesthetic and emotional quality, and I want to get this across to visitors,” said Gardiner, who became infatuated with origami as a schoolboy in Australia and has been active for many years at the nexus of bionics, technology and art.

 

Wie eine zweite Natur / Like A Second Nature
Like A Second Nature. Credit: Matthew Gardiner

 

About Matthew Gardiner: 

For the Ars Electronica Festival 2010, he also developed another attractive interaction scenario on the macro-level “When an Oribot is activated by an approaching object, the resulting movement impulse is transmitted via a network control system to the other 49 Oribots.” What ensues is a chain reaction of more than 52,000 (un)foldings. The installation visitors beheld a highly complex moving picture, the surreal spectacle of a field of flowers coming to life.


Research & Development:

Matthew Gardiner

Oribotics 2011

Der australische Origami- und Medienkünstler Matthew Gardiner kultivierte in Kooperation mit dem Institute of Polymer der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz  interaktive Blumenwiesen. Während des Ars Electronica Festivals 2010 brachten erstmals 50 der floralen Robotik-Skulpturen die industrielle Architektur der ehemaligen Tabakfabrik zum Erblühen.

 

Matthew Gardiner explains the principles of Oribotics.

 

Oribots – wie ihr Name bereits nahe legt, sind die Hightech-Kreaturen, Ergebnisse einer künstlerisch motivierten Synthese uralter japanischer Falttradition und modernster Robotik. Oribots „entfalten“ ihre Schönheit im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes. Beim gleichnamigen Projekt der Ars Electronica geschieht dies in Form komplex gefalteter Blütenstrukturen, die von flexiblen Kunststoffkelchen gehalten werden und sich auf Befehl eines Ultraschallsensors öffnen (entfalten) und wieder schließen. Je näher sich die Festival-BesucherInnen auf einen der 50 Oribots in der Tabakfabrik zubewegten, desto weiter öffnete sich dessen weiß glänzende Stoffblüte. Ein Interaktionskonzept, das von Jung und Alt intuitiv verstanden wurde.

 

Am Ars Electronic 2010 konnten die Besucher und Besucherinnen die Oribotics bewundern.
ARS ELECTRONICA FESTIVAL 2010: The Future Unfolds Credit: rubra

 

Dahinter steckt ein kniffliges Design: Alle 1.050 Falten einer einzelnen Oribot-Blüte waren mechanisch miteinander verknüpft. Wurde eine individuelle Blütenfalte aktiviert, versetzten sich daher alle weiteren ebenfalls in Bewegung. Drei Jahre lang hat Oribotics-Mastermind Matthew Gardiner am idealen Faltmuster und Material für diese Generation seiner Oribots getüftelt. „Ich will ihre unverwechselbare ästhetische und emotionale Qualität, von der ich nach wie vor fasziniert bin, an die Besucher weitergeben“, sagt Gardiner, der seine Liebe zur japanischen Faltkunst bereits im Schulalter entdeckt hat.

 

Das Öffnen und Schließen der Oribotics erinnert an Blüten - ein Bild das der natur entliehen ist.
Like A Second Nature. Credit: Matthew Gardiner

 

Über Matthew Gardiner: 

Seit vielen Jahren arbeitet der Australier nun im Schnittfeld Bionik, Technologie und Kunst. Wird ein Oribot durch ein sich näherndes Objekt aktiviert, wird dieser Bewegungsimpuls durch eine Netzwerksteuerung an alle weiteren 49 Oribots übermittelt“. Was folgt, ist eine Kettenreaktion von mehr als 52.000 (Ent-)Faltungen, die den BeobachterInnen ein hochkomplexes bewegtes Bild, ein surreal erwachendes Blütenfeld, bieten.


Research & Development:

Matthew Gardiner