Papyrus 2006

Vodafone Group R&D commissioned the Linz lab-atelier to come up with an interaction concept for their eInk-Newspaper Project Papyrus. The result is a context-sensitive device featuring a double-page eInk display that can be folded together. Navigation through the paper’s content dispenses with menu functions and other conventional user interface elements, and works on the basis of physical interaction metaphors we’re all familiar with from reading ink-on-paper dailies: turning the page, skipping to the next section, rotating an image (portrait/landscape format), swapping pages and articles with other readers, marking and describing, cutting out and archiving, folding up and putting away.

 

The future of reading newspaper in 2008.

.

This e-Newspaper device is an attempt to design utilization characteristics and utilization scenarios of future cultural technologies in such a way that new cultural practices can establish themselves in conjunction with familiar media. The combination of the interaction concept with state-of-the-art eInk technology is a reaction to the inability of devices currently on the market to replace a centuries-old cultural technique with mini-PCs and multifunction cellphones.

 

Sharing newspaper content via Papyrus. Credit: Ars Electronica

 

The concept developed by Vodafone Group R&D and the Ars Electronica Futurelab places the distinctive aspects of reading a newspaper at the focal point of the product and interaction design processes. The device’s high degree of context sensitivity is meant to afford the reader intuitive haptic interaction with the newspaper’s content and to shift the device itself as a physical artifact into the background. Thus, thanks to the double-page eInk display, all the reader needs to do to browse through the newspaper’s sections, pages and articles is to rotate the open eInk newspaper once on its vertical or horizontal axis. And all it takes to swap newspaper content is to stack the sending and receiving devices.

This concept also embodies the Ars Electronica Futurelab’s specific approach to the theory and practice of interaction design. Conceptualizing a human-computer interface doesn’t take the end points (device and user) as its starting point; rather, it begins with the aesthetic, substantive and functional dramaturgies that develop within the interaction. Thus the technological solution is a secondary consideration in the design of the interaction process, since the technological solution is actually derived from the demands placed by the content on the interaction, so that the content and the physical medium that transports it can be perceived as identical.

Vodafone Group R&D has presented the prototype concept for its “Papyrus” project developed jointly with the Ars Electronica Futurelab March 4-9 at CeBIT 2008 (Booth Vodafone D2, Future Zone).


 Reasearch & Development

Horst Hörtner, Christopher Lindinger, Daniela Kuka, Michael Badics, Travis Kirton

Papyrus 2006

Vodafone Group R&D hat das Labor-Atelier mit der Konzeption der Interaktion für das eInk-Newspaper-Projekt Papyrus beauftragt. Das Ergebnis ist ein kontextsensitives Device mit doppelseitigem eInk-Display, zusammenfaltbar. Die Navigation durch die Zeitungsinhalte ist ohne Menüfunktionen und Bedienelemente möglich und erfolgt auf der Basis physischer Interaktionsmetaphern, die vom Lesen der Papierzeitung vertraut sind: Umblättern, Wenden, Seiten und Artikel mit anderen Lesern tauschen, Markieren und Beschreiben, Ausschneiden und Archivieren, Zusammenlegen und Einstecken.

 

The future of reading newspaper in 2008.

.

Das e-Newspaper-Device ist ein Versuch, die Gebrauchseigenschaften und Nutzungsszenarien von zukünftigen Kultur-Technologien so zu gestalten, dass sich neue kulturelle Praktiken im Umgang mit vertrauten Medien etablieren können. Die Kombination des Interaktionskonzepts mit neuester eInk-Technologie soll auf die Untauglichkeit am Markt befindlicher Geräte reagieren, eine jahrhundertealte Kulturtechnik durch Mini-PCs und Multifunktionshandys zu ersetzen.

 

Papyrus ermöglichte das Teilen von Zeitungsartikeln.
Sharing newspaper content via Papyrus. Credit: Ars Electronica

 

Das Konzept der Vodafone Group R&D und des Ars Electronica Futurelab macht die Besonderheiten des Zeitungslesens zum Schwerpunkt des Produkt- und Interaktionsdesignprozesses: Eine hohe Kontextsensitivität des Devices soll dem Leser die intuitive haptische Interaktion mit den Inhalten der Zeitung ermöglichen und das Device als Artefakt zum Verschwinden bringen. So bedarf es zum Blättern durch die Zeitungssektionen, – seiten und –artikel aufgrund des doppelseitigen eInk-Displays nur ein Wenden des aktuell angezeigten Inhalts um die vertikale oder horizontale Achse; zum Austausch von Zeitungsinhalten genügt das Aufeinanderlegen von sendendem und empfangendem Gerät.

Das Konzept steht auch prototypisch für die spezifische Herangehensweise des Ars Electronica Futurelab an die Theorie und Praxis des Interaktionsdesigns. Das Human Computer Interface wird nicht von den Endpunkten [Gerät – Nutzer] aus gedacht, sondern von den sich in der Interaktion entwickelnden ästhetischen, inhaltlichen und funktionalen Dramaturgien. Das Design des Interaktionsprozesses liegt damit nur sekundär in der technologischen Lösung, denn diese leitet sich aus den Anforderungen der Inhalte an die Interaktion ab, damit Inhalt und Träger als identisch angenommen werden können.

Vom 4. – 9. März präsentierte Vodafone Group R&D das Prototypenkonzept, das im Rahmen der Forschungskooperation mit dem Ars Electronica Futurelab entstanden ist, auf der CeBIT 2008 (CeBIT-Stand: Vodafone D2, Future Zone).


Reasearch & Development

Horst Hörtner, Christopher Lindinger, Daniela Kuka, Michael Badics, Travis Kirton