People Thinking Lab 2016

New technologies are shaping the world in which we’ll be living. But the facts & circumstances of everyday life in the future won’t be determined by these technologies alone. The ideas, attitudes, needs and relationships of the human beings who populate that future will play just as big a part. Therefore, the People Thinking Lab is querying festivalgoers about their wishes, visions and expectations as a way of bringing about a bit of that future world together with them.

 

Great interest in the entrance area’s People Thinking Lab during the Ars Electronica Festivals 2016.. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

In fulfilling its function as a pop-up lab, PostCity is morphing into an open setting for research. By making a contribution to the People Thinking Wall, a festivalgoer becomes a Radical Atom in human form and can also consider what her/his peers think about issues of key importance to our future.

 

In the first step, people strike a pose to obtain a Shadowgram. Credit: Florian Voggeneder

 

By posting an entry on the People Thinking Wall, festivalgoers became a Radical Atom in human form. The technology that made this possible is called Shadowgram, an installation developed by the Ars Electronica Futurelab that let people create a sticker shaped like their own silhouette. Attaching a speech balloon to it let them state their ideas, expectations and wishes for the future, and post them for other festivalgoers to see.

 

Last but not least, by placing a speech bubbe, people state their wishes  for the future. Credit: Florian Voggenender

 

By  filling out the speech balloon by means of an Anoto pen, the anonymous statements written on paper were digitized in real time. That collection of data gave a representation on peoples’ perspectives on life and the future. Moreover, the audience could partake in an evaluation called  „Humankind in 2030 – Wishes and Values“.

 

 

The People Thinking Lab is an initiative of Future Catalysts, a partnership formed in 2014 by Hakuhodo, Japan’s leading media agency, and the Futurelab, Ars Electronica’s dynamically innovative R&D facility.

 

Read the full story behind the People Thinking Lab on the Ars Electronica Blog.


Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab : Roland Haring. Anna Kuthan, Martina Mara, Hideaki Ogawa, Shoko Takahashi,  Marianne Ternek,

Hakuhodo Institute of Life and Living

HAKUHODO Inc.

People Thinking Lab 2016

Neue Technologien formen die Welt, in der wir leben werden. Wie unser zukünftiger Alltag aussieht, wird aber nicht durch sie allein bestimmt, sondern genauso durch die Ideen, Einstellungen, Bedürfnisse und Beziehungen der Menschen, die ihn beleben. Das People Thinking Lab fragte die Besucherinnen und Besucher des Ars Electronica Festivals 2016 nach ihren Wünschen, Vorstellungen und Erwartungen, um gemeinsam mit ihnen ein Stück Zukunftswelt zu kreieren.

 

Großer Andrang im Eingangsbereich des Ars Electronica Festivals 2016, wo da People Think Lab eingerichtet war. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

In seiner Rolle als Pop-Up-Labor verwandelte es die Post City zum offenen Forschungsraum. Durch einen Beitrag auf der People Thinking Wall wurde man so zum Radical Atom in Menschengestalt und konnte vergleichen, was andere Festivalgäste über zentrale Fragen der Zukunft denken.

 

Im ersten Schritt posieren die Teilnehmenden um ein Shadowgram herzustellen. Credit: Florian Voggeneder

 

Das Werkzeug dazu liefert das „Shadowgram“, eine von Ars Electronica entwickelte Intallation, bei der Klebebild der eigenen Körpersilhouette angefertigt wird. In Kombination mit einem Sprechblasen-Sticker konnten die FestivalbesucherInnen ein Statement zu ihren persönlichen Ideen, Erwartungen und Wünschen an die Zukunft hinterlassen. Vorhergehend sollten sie am Shadowgram posieren und einen Schatten als Klebebild ausdrucken.

 

Das Shadowgram mit einer Sprechblase auf der People Thinking Wall platzieren und damit mitteilen, was man sich für die Zukunft wünscht. Credit: Florian Voggenender

 

Danach suchten sie sich unter fünf Stickern eine darauf abgebildete Zukunftsfrage aus, die per Ausfüllen der Sprechblase beantwortet werden konnte. Durch die Anoto-Technologie des Stiftes wurden anonymen Angaben am Papier in Echtzeit digitalisiert. So kam man auf Daten, die einige Rückschlüsse auf die Zeilnehmenden zuließen. Darüber hinaus gab es die Möglichkeit, an einer schriftlichen Befragung „Humankind in 2030 – Wishes and Values“ teilzunehmen.

 

 

Das People Thinking Lab war eine Initiative der Future Catalysts (Hakuhodo & Ars Electronica). Future Catalysts beschreibt eine seit 2014 bestehende Partnerschaft zwischen Hakuhodo, Japans führender Medienagentur, und dem Ars Electronica Futurelab, Forschungs- und Entwicklungsmotor der Ars Electronica in Linz.

 

Zum People Thinking Lab gibt es eine Blog Story auf dem Ars Electronica Blog.


Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab : Roland Haring. Anna Kuthan, Martina Mara, Hideaki Ogawa, Shoko Takahashi,  Marianne Ternek,

Hakuhodo Institute of Life and Living

HAKUHODO Inc.