Projekt Genesis 2013

Project Genesis started from Futurelab’s partnership within the Studiolab initiative (http://studiolabproject.eu/), funded by the European Commision Seventh Framework Programme. Within Studiolab there were three main topics: Future of water, Future of Social Interaction, and Synthetic Biology. For several reasons Ars Electronica chose to focus on Synthetic Biology. Key factors such as a a S1 (security class one) level lab directly in the Ars Electronica Centre, the history of the Prix Ars Electronica having a history of granting awards to significant and powerful works of bio-art, a number of Ars Electronica Festival topics: Next Sex, Life Sciences, Genetic Art – Artificial Life, Flesh Factor, and Hybrid, all touching on the topics of scientific advances, their potential impact on society through the lens of the artist. These factors made a lot of sense that this was the topic that made most sense, as it address a new technological turn, in particular the speeding up of reading and writing of genetic material.

Studiolab spans three years, with a unique and sturdy consortium of organisations such as universities, research facilities, and art centers See http://studiolabproject.eu/partners for a full list of partners. The focus of Studiolab was to take the artist’s studio and examine how day by day it becomes more like a scientific laboratory, as place for creative invention and experimentation. The aims are to create new networks, to create incubation opportunities, to educate the general public, and to present the findings of this unique research at Ars Electronica. This timespan allowed deep investigation into the topic, and we resolved to develop a project, or a process whereby artists could undergo mentoring through a masterclass, improving their immediate networks, and from there incubate new art works.

Artists Project Genesis
Artists Project Genesis. Credit: Robertba

 

Living Logic
http://www.aec.at/futurelab/en/blog/living-logic-masterclass/

One of the early project strategies of building relationships with artists was the coordination a masterclass: Living Logic. The masterclass was designed with the intent to dig deeper into synthetic biology by inviting renowned mentors like George Church, Joe Davis, Manuel Selg, Markus Schmidt, Jens Hauser to work with a group of artists, designers, architects, musicians, biologists, ethicists, DIY biohackers, and biobrickers to join three days of informal lectures and discussions. The topic was centered on what it meant to be entering the age of living logic, where the programming, modeling and prediction of lifeforms is actually possible. Each mentor was invited to speak to their special expertise, and to open the discussion as wide as possible, and to be inspiring.

The sessions covered the field in practical and theoretical ways:

Manuel Selg led a hands-on experiment, transferring the gene coding for fluorescing protein from a jellyfish (Aequorea victoria) into harmless E.coli bacteria.http://studiolabproject.eu/event/living-logic-day-1-manuel-selg

Prof. George Church demonstrated the broad scope of synthetic biology today, through a discussion on state of the art and future potentials of synthetic biology.

http://studiolabproject.eu/media/living-logic-masterclass-synthetic-biology-lecture-george-church-ars-electronica

Joe Davis, on the other hand, delivered his insight into the life and practice of an artist in the modern age, covering a wide territory, from Vitruvius, and Plato to the genius of modern Scientists and Philosophers, to mathematics, communication with extra-terrestrials, and his bacterial radio. http://studiolabproject.eu/event/living-logic-day-2-joe-davis

Schmidt and Hauser discussed the ethical and artistic nuances of existing art works and lay out possible theoretical frameworks for dealing with and making new works.http://studiolabproject.eu/event/living-logic-day-3-church-schmidt-and-hauser

 

Living Logic Masterclass. Foto: Sonja Baeumel
Living Logic Masterclass. Credit: Sonja Baeumel

 

Project Genesis Ausstellung

The project began through an open called titled “Yours Synthetically”http://studiolabproject.eu/opencall/yours-synthetically with the aim towards creating an area for critical discussion around Synthetic Biology. The initial idea was to mount a modest exhibition in the Ars Electronica Center Biolab. However, with the richness and variety of the responses to the open call, this idea was transformed into an exhibition covering two full floors with 18 artworks from artists from within Europe and around the world. Project Genesis not only created a space for stronger relationships between different departments of Ars Electronica, but also, thanks to the Futurelab network and infrastructure, it enabled the development of three completely new bioart projects: Common Flowers / White Out by Georg Tremmel (JP/AT) and Shiho Fukuhara (JP); Metabodies by Sonja Bäumel (AT) and Manuel Selg (AT); Chroma+Phy by Theresa Schubert (DE) and Rüdiger Trojok (DE), and Synthetic Memetic by Matthew Gardiner (AU/AT).

 

Impressions of the exhibition. Foto: Martin Hieslmair
Impressions of the exhibition. Credit: Martin Hieslmair

 

Metabodies

Sonja Bäumel investigates humanity’s intimate relationship with nature and uses our skin as a location to ask questions. Allowing her work to go beyond genetic manipulation of a single organism. She actively cultivates, cares for, and observes bacterial imprints from humans. InMetabodies, she reminds us that 2-3kg of bacteria live within each of us, and that they form a vital part of our bodies flora. Using a bio-sensor of sorts, Bäumel tries to peer into the world of bacterial communication, of Quorum Sensing. Her subject’s hands are imprinted into agar gels after activities like showering, jogging and sex. The bacteria flourish with varied colours and textures from person to person, from activity to activity. She points out that even within the immediate environment of our skin, we have diverse and populous bacterial inhabitants, all playing a vital role in our biological makeup, even down to genetic expression through a phenomenon known as epigenetics.*

 

Metabodies (2013) / Sonja Bäumel / Manuel Selg. Foto: Robertba
Metabodies (2013) / Sonja Bäumel / Manuel Selg. Credit Robertba

 

Common Flowers / White Out

What happens if we consider reversing an evolution made through synthetic methods. Georg Tremmel and Shiho Fukuhara carve open a hole in genetic engineering, and state their proposition in relatively simple terms: The goal of the ‘Common Flowers / White Out’ project is to develop a toolkit and the expertise that will enable non-specialists to remove previously introduced genes from genetically-modified plants. This project is inspired by the first commercially available GM flower – a blue carnation, which has been developed and commercialised by Florigene Ltd and which is currently availably worldwide. The impact of these terms are far from simple. Hands up any scientist who can argue or define what a de-engineered organism is. Is an organism that has been engineered to add a new feature, and then had that feature removed in a clone or later decendant still engineered? Is it still a classified bio-security risk to nature? If we can determine the sequence, we could find the same as the original, and if it was the same, what is it then? Can it possibly carry a ghost-trace, a scar of technology, a memory of being changed?*

 

Common Flowers / White Out // Georg Tremmel (JP/AT), Shiho Fukurhara (JP). Foto: Robertba
Common Flowers / White Out // Georg Tremmel (JP/AT), Shiho Fukurhara (JP). Credit: Robertba

 

Synthetic Memetic

Resident Ars Electronica Futurelab artist and researcher Matthew Gardiner examined the way in which DNA can be a carrier of data. DNA can be coded to carry digital data, to be written like a hard drive, not as a living organism but a structure programmed with binary data. Gardiner chose to create a genetic sequence that coded the first line of the Rick Astley song Never Gonna Give You Up, in reference to pop-meme known as Rick-Rolling. The synthetic meme, now encoded as in the length of DNA known as a gene (ask Richard Dawkins if he agrees) was inserted into a paintball bullet and became a meme-bullet. A bullet when shot, would splatter a mixture of paint mixed with meme-paint. Gardiner’s interpretive artwork suggests that based on social media trends, the general public would faster and more readily copy and reproduce trivial data like music, movies and other slices of pop culture rather than sacred texts or deep philosophy. Cultural memes have a higher degree of integrity for short periods, relative to their time. Saving them, or blasting them in a meme-bullet is simply an acceleration of an existing trend.

 

Synthetic Memetic (2013): Matthew Gardiner. Foto: Tom Mesic
Synthetic Memetic (2013): Matthew Gardiner. Credit: Tom Mesic

 

Ars DNA

Carrying on from the research towards encoding data into DNA, we asked the question: How can the general public begin to understand this quite complicated process? How can we make data to DNA transcoding visible? If we can do this, what data would they save, given that DNA samples have been extracted from million year old animals. The idea that data can be saved in DNA, and that it could be a very stable storage mechanism, leads us to question, what would we save? Ars DNA is an instant workshop to convert your thoughts into a DNA sequence that could be synthesized by a laboratory.

*Excerpts from the Ars Electronica Catalogue Essay by Matthew Gardiner.

 

Dynamic Genetics V Mann (2013) / Superflux (UK/IN). Foto: Tom Mesic
Dynamic Genetics V Mann (2013) / Superflux (UK/IN). Credit: Tom Mesic

 


More details on the exhibition can be found here:

http://www.aec.at/center/en/ausstellungen/projekt-genesis/

Projekt Genesis 2013

Das Projekt Genesis entstand aus der Kollaboration des Futurelab mit der Studiolab-Initiative (http://studiolabproject.eu/), die vom Seventh Framework Programme der Europäischen Kommission gesponsert wird. Studiolab umfasst drei Themenschwerpunkte: die Zukunft des Wassers, die Zukunft der sozialen Interaktion und die synthetische Biologie. Aus mehreren Gründen entschied sich die Ars Electronica die synthetische Biologie in den Fokus zu nehmen: ein S1 Level Labor (Sicherheitsstufe 1) im Herzen des Ars Electronica Center, der Prix Ars Electronica, der in seiner Geschichte schon mehrfach an bedeutende und einflussreiche Projekte aus dem Gebiet der Bio-Art verliehen wurde, Themen des Ars Electronica Festivals wie Next SexLife ScienceGenetische Kunst – Künstliches Leben,Flesh Factor oder Hybrid, die alle um das Themengebiet des wissenschaftlichen Fortschritts und seines möglichen Einflusses auf die Gesellschaft kreisen, jedoch immer von einem künstlerischen Standpunkt aus betrachtet. Diese Gründe untermauern die Entscheidung, die synthetische Biologie verstärkt in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen, insbesondere die Beschäftigung mit der neuen technologischen Errungenschaft des schnelleren Lesens und Schreibens von genetischem Material.

 

Artists Project Genesis: 1. Reihe v.l.n.r.: Shiho Fukuhara, Rasa Šmite, 2. Reihe (v.l.n.r.: sitzend) Raitis Šmits, Voldemars Johansons, Matthew Gardiner, Tobias Revell, 3. Reihe stehend, v.l.n.r. Teresa Dillon, David Benqué, Andy Gracie, Sonja Bäumel, Manuel Selg, Teresa Schubert, Nicole Grüneis, Georg Tremmel
Artists Project Genesis. Credit: Robertba

 

Living Logic

http://www.aec.at/futurelab/en/blog/living-logic-masterclass/

 

Einer der ersten Schritte, um eine Beziehung zu den Künstlern aufzubauen war die Koordination einer Masterclass: Living Logic. Die Masterclass wurde mit der Intention, tiefer in das Gebiet der synthetischen Biologie einzutauchen, gestaltet. Dazu wurden renommierte Mentoren wie George Church, Joe Davis, Manuel Selg, Markus Schmidt oder Jens Hauser eingeladen, mit einer Gruppe von Künstlern, Designern, Architekten, Musikern, Biologen, Ethikern, DIY Biohackern und Biobrickern zu arbeiten und drei Tage lang an informellen Vorträgen und Diskussionen teilzunehmen. Zentrales Thema war die Bedeutung des Zeitalters „Living Logic“ – des logischen Lebens – in dem das Programmieren, Modellieren und Vorhersagen von Lebensformen tatsächlich möglich ist. Jeder Mentor konnte entsprechend seiner Expertise über ein Thema sprechen und dazu eine möglichst offene und inspirierende Diskussion eröffnen.

Die Veranstaltung deckte ein breites Feld an praktischen und theoretischen Themen ab: Manuel Selg leitete ein Hands-On Experiment bei dem er die genetische Information für ein fluoreszierendes Protein von einer Qualle (Aequorea victoria) in ein ungefährliches E. coli Bakterium transferierte. http://studiolabproject.eu/event/living-logic-day-1-manuel-selg

Prof. George Church führte die große Reichweite der heutigen synthetischen Biologie mit einer Diskussion über bereits vorhandene und in Zukunft mögliche Potentiale dieses Forschungsgebietes vor Augen. http://studiolabproject.eu/media/living-logic-masterclass-synthetic-biology-lecture-george-church-ars-electronica
Joe Davis gewährte mit seinem Bacterial Radio Einblick in das Leben und die Arbeit eines zeitgenössischen Künstlers, der versucht, einen Bogen von Vitruv über Plato bis zu den Genies der modernen Wissenschaft und Philosophie zu spannen und dabei auch Mathematik und die Kommunikation mit Außerirdischen in seine Betrachtungen miteinbezieht.http://studiolabproject.eu/event/living-logic-day-2-joe-davis
Markus Schmidt und Jens Hauser erörterten die ethischen und künstlerischen Nuancen bereits existierender Kunst, um daraus mögliche theoretische Vorgaben für den Umgang und die Entstehung neuer Kunst abzuleiten. http://studiolabproject.eu/event/living-logic-day-3-church-schmidt-and-hauser

 

Living Logic Masterclass.
Living Logic Masterclass. Credit: Sonja Baeumel

 

Project Genesis Ausstellung


Das Projekt startete mit einem open call mit dem Titel „Yours Synthetically“, der Raum für den Diskurs zur synthetischen Biologie schaffen sollte. Die Grundidee bestand in einer kleinen Ausstellung einiger Arbeiten im Biolab des Ars Electronica Center. Doch aufgrund der Vielzahl und Vielfalt der Rückmeldungen auf den open call, entschied man sich dazu, die Ausstellung auf zwei Stockwerke auszuweiten und 18 Arbeiten europäischer und internationaler Künstlern zu zeigen. Project Genesis schuf nicht nur die Möglichkeit einer engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Abteilungen der Ars Electronica sondern ermöglichte, dank des Netzwerks und der Infrastruktur des Futurelab, die Entstehung vier völlig neuer Bioart-Projekte: Common Flowers / White Out von Georg Tremmel (JP/AT) und Shiho Fukuhara (JP); Metabodies von Sonja Bäumel (AT) und Manuel Selg (AT); Chroma+Phy von Theresa Schubert (DE) und Rüdiger Trojok (DE) und Synthetic Memetic von Matthew Gardiner (AU/AT).

 

Impression von der Ausstellung Project Genesis. Foto: Martin Hieslmair
Impressions of the exhibition. Credit: Martin Hieslmair

 

Metabodies

 

Sonja Bäumel untersucht und befragt die enge Verbindung des Menschen mit der Natur, wobei sie unsere Haut als Ausgangspunkt nimmt. Sie kultiviert und beobachtet bakterielle Spuren von Menschen und geht damit über die genetische Manipulation eines einzigen Organismus hinaus. Mit ihrer Arbeit Metabodies erinnert sie uns daran, dass in jedem von uns 2 bis 3 Kilo Bakterien leben, die einen lebenswichtigen Bestandteil unserer Körperflora bilden. Mithilfe einer Art Biosensor versucht Bäumel Einblick in die Welt bakterieller Kommunikation, das Quorum Sensing, zu gewinnen. Nach Aktivitäten wie Duschen, Joggen oder Sex nimmt sie Handabdrücke von Probanden in Agar-Gel. Darin gedeihen die Bakterien je nach Person und Aktivität in unterschiedlichsten Farben und Texturen. Bäumel zeigt, dass es selbst im Milieu unserer Haut große und vielfältige Bakterienpopulationen gibt, die alle eine wesentliche Rolle in unserer biologischen Konstitution spielen, sogar an sogenannten epigenetischen Veränderungen beteiligt sind. (Auszug aus dem Katalogtext „Total Recall“, aus dem Englischen von Wilfried Prantner).

 

Metabodies von Sonja Bäumel zeigt bakterielle Spuren von Menschen - in der Gestalt von Handabdrücken wie hier gezeigt.
Metabodies (2013) / Sonja Bäumel / Manuel Selg. Credit: Robertba

 

Common Flowers / White Out

 

Was, wenn wir eine durch synthetische Methoden hervorgerufene Evolution rückgängig machten? Georg Tremmel und Shiho Fukuhara machen eine Lücke in der Gentechnik ausfindig und erklären ohne Umschweife, was sie vorhaben: „Ziel des Projekts Common Flowers / White Out ist die Entwicklung eines Baukastens und des nötigen Know-hows, um auch Nichtfachleuten das Entfernen eingeschleuster Gene auch genetisch modifizierten Pflanzen zu ermöglichen. Angeregt wurde das Projekt durch die erste kommerziell vertriebene, genmodifizierte Blume – eine von Florigene Ltd entwickelte und vermarktete, blaue Nelke, die weltweit erhältlich ist.“ Die Bedeutung solcher Aussagen ist alles andere als einfach. Jeder Wissenschaftler vor, der sagen kann, was ein demodifizierter Organismus ist. Ist ein Organismus, dem gentechnisch ein neues Merkmal hinzugefügt und dann in einem Klon oder späteren Abkömmling wieder entfernt wurde, immer noch gentechnisch modifiziert? Stellt er immer noch ein biologisches Sicherheitsrisiko für die Natur da? Würden wir die demodifiziere Blume sequenzieren und feststellen, dass sich ihre DNA mit der der ursprünglich unmodifizierten Blume deckt, worum handelt es sich dann? Ist sie nicht immer noch transgen, ist es überhaupt möglich, ihren natürlichen Zustand wiederherzustellen? Bleibt vielleicht eine Geisterspur zurück, eine technologische Narbe, eine Erinnerung an die Veränderung? (Auszug aus dem Katalogtext „Total Recall“, aus dem Englischen von Wilfried Prantner).

 

Common Flowers / White Out // Georg Tremmel (JP/AT), Shiho Fukurhara (JP). Ziel des Projekts Common Flowers / White Out ist die Entwicklung eines Baukastens und des nötigen Know-hows, um auch Nichtfachleuten das Entfernen eingeschleuster Gene auch genetisch modifizierten Pflanzen zu ermöglichen. Im Bild sieht man solche Pflanzen.
Common Flowers / White Out // Georg Tremmel (JP/AT), Shiho Fukurhara (JP). Credit: Robertba

 

Synthetic Memetic

 

Artist in Residence am Ars Electronica Futurelab und Forscher Matthew Gardiner untersuchte die Möglichkeiten, wie DNA zu einem Transportmedium für Daten werden kann. DNA wird hier nicht als lebender Organismus genutzt, sondern als Struktur, die mit binären Codes beladen wird, ähnlich einer Festplatte. Gardiner erschuf dafür eine genetische Sequenz, die den Code der ersten Zeile des Rick Astley Songs „Never Gonna Give You Up“ beinhaltet, bezugnehmend auf das Pop-Mem bekannt als Rick-Rolling. Das synthetische Mem, das nun in der Länge der DNA kodiert wieder zum Gen wird (fragen Sie Richard Dawkins, ob er dem zustimmt), wurde in ein Paintball-Projektil verpackt und so zu einem Mem-Projektil umfunktioniert. Wird das Projektil abgefeuert, explodiert eine Mischung aus Farbe und Mem-Farbe. Gardiners interpretative Arbeit suggeriert, dass die Allgemeinheit, ausgehend von Social Media Trends, triviale Daten wie Musik, Filme und andere Formen der Popkultur schneller und bereitwilliger kopiert und reproduziert als geistliche Texte oder ernsthafte Philosophie. Kulturelle Meme haben eine höhere Wahrscheinlichkeit vollständig kurze Zeitperioden zu erfassen, relativ zu ihrer Lebenszeit. Sie zu erhalten oder mit Hilfe eines Mem-Projektils zu verbreiten, ist Ausdruck der Beschleunigung eines bereits existierenden Trends.

 

Synthetic Memetic (2013): Matthew Gardiner zielt mit Fingern auf eine Single von Rick Astley. Foto: Tom Mesic
Synthetic Memetic (2013): Matthew Gardiner. Credit: Tom Mesic

 

Ars DNA

 

Ausgehend von der Überlegung die DNA als Transportmedium für Daten zu verwenden, kam die Frage auf, wie man diesen relativ komplizierten Prozess für eine breite Öffentlichkeit verständlich aufbereiten kann. Wie können wir die Transkodierung von Daten zu DNA sichtbar machen? Wenn das möglich ist, welche Daten würden gespeichert werden, angenommen die DNA-Proben würden von Millionen Jahre alten Tieren stammen. Die Idee Daten in DNA zu speichern, was ein sehr langlebiger Mechanismus zur Datenspeicherung sein könnte, wirft die Frage auf, was wir speichern würden. Ars DNA ist ein Workshop, um individuelle Gedanken unmittelbar in eine DNA Sequenz zu übersetzen, die in einem Labor synthetisiert werden könnte.

 

Dynamic Genetics V Mann (2013) / Superflux (UK/IN). Foto: Tom Mesic
Dynamic Genetics V Mann (2013) / Superflux (UK/IN). Credit: Tom Mesic

 


Weitere Informationen zur Ausstellung finden Sie hier:http://www.aec.at/center/ausstellungen/projekt-genesis/