Shadowgram 2010

Ars Electronica Futurelab developed Shadowgram as a method for combining the aesthetic entertainment of creating a physical object, a sticker cut out in the shape of your shadow with the intention of participating in social brainstorming. The core artistic intention was to create what we call a ‘creative catalyst’, a system that enables the audience to discover, play with, and use their creativity. This extension of the FabLab concept to the next stage of interactive fabrication is an important part of technical and conceptual research, one that has the potential to yield highly entertaining works.

 

A ‘creative catalyst’ is a system that enables the audience to discover, play with, and use their creativity.

.

The term shadowgram refers to an analogue photographic technique whereby an object placed on a sheet of photosensitized paper is exposed to light and developed chemically, thus creating a shadow-image of the object.  Shadowgram is a conceptual extension of this idea, by combining a video camera, a human scale light box, image analysis software, and a vinyl cutter, we conceived a system whereby the shadow or outline of any object can be instantly, and interactively fabricated into a vinyl sticker.

 

PIC_30000_AEC_AEI_2010_flickr_5123093082_jpeg
An image of a person’s shadow is printed out on an adhesive label. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Modelling for the silhouette. Foto: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Modelling for the silhouette. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

A conceptual extension to the term shadowgram is to consider the words literally. ‘Gram’ can mean a measurement of weight, and as a postfix it means a form of recording or writing. In the prior, we consider that a shadow has no weight, and the product of this work is a tangible shadow with weight.  Shadowgram ‘gives weight’ to the users’ shadow, encouraging them to consider positive use of their shadow-image to communicate.  This metaphor effectively plays with the relative anonymity of the shadow, as it affords a detachment from a public statement, while anyone who knows the person could recognize their shadow, others will only recognize gender and age at the most, so the feeling of being able to make a public statement associated with your image is relatively unrestrained.


Reasearch & Development

Roland Haring, Hideaki Ogawa, Christopher Lindinger, Emiko Ogawa, Matthew Gardiner, David Stolarsky, Martina Mara

Shadowgram 2010

Das Ars Electronica Futurelab entwickelte das Shadowgram als eine Methode, welche das ästhetische Erlebnis, ein physisches Objekt zu kreieren – einen Sticker, der in der Form eines Personenschattens ausgeschnitten wird – mit der Idee kombiniert, an einem gesellschaftlichen Brainstorming teilzunehmen. Die grundlegende künstlerische Absicht war es, einen „Katalysator für Kreativität“ zu schaffen – ein System, das es dem Publikum ermöglicht, seine Kreativität zu entdecken und anzuwenden. Diese Weiterführung des FabLab-Konzepts zur nächsten Stufe der „Interactive Fabrication“ ist ein wichtiger Teil der technischen und konzeptionellen Forschung.

 

A ‚creative catalyst‘ is a system that enables the audience to discover, play with, and use their creativity.

.

Der Begriff Shadowgram bezieht sich auf eine analoge fotografische Technik, bei der ein Objekt auf einem Blatt photosensibilisiertem Papier dem Licht ausgesetzt wird und chemisch entwickelt wird, womit ein Schattenbild des Objekts geschaffen wird. Shadowgram ist eine konzeptionelle Erweiterung dieser Idee. Durch die Kombination einer Videokamera, einer menschengroßen Leuchtplatte, Bildanalyse-Software und eines Vinyl-Cutters wurde ein System geschaffen, bei dem der Schatten oder Umriss jedes Objekts sofort und interaktiv in die Form eines Vinyl-Stickers gebracht wird.

 

Das Abbild eines menschlichen Schattens als selbstklebender Folienschnitt.
An image of a person’s shadow is printed out on an adhesive label. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Emiko Ogawa posiert für das Abbild einer Silhouette.
Modelling for the silhouette. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Als konzeptionelle Erweiterung des Begriffs Shadowgram kann man den Begriff auch wörtlich nehmen. „Gram(m)“ kann auch eine Gewichtseinheit sein –  und als Affix bedeutet es eine Form der Aufnahme oder des Schreibens. Ein Schatten hat zwar eigentlich kein Gewicht, doch das Resultat dieser Arbeit ist ein greifbarer Schatten mit Gewicht: Shadowgram verleiht dem Schatten der User ein Gewicht  und ermutigt sie, ihr Schattenbild auf positive Weise zu verwenden, um zu kommunizieren. Diese Metapher spielt mit der relativen Anonymität des Schattens, da sie eine Distanz zum öffentlichen Statement schafft: Während jemand, der die Person kennt, den Schatten erkennen könnte, werden andere höchstens Alter und Geschlecht erkennen können. Daher wird das Gefühl, ein öffentliches Statement abzugeben, das mit dem eigenen Bild assoziiert wird, nicht eingeschränkt.


Reasearch & Development

Roland Haring, Hideaki Ogawa, Christopher Lindinger, Emiko Ogawa, Matthew Gardiner, David Stolarsky, Martina Mara