Sky Compass 2017

A collaboration between Japanese telecommunications giant NTT and the Ars Electronica Futurelab, Sky Compass is the first step towards a vision of employing drones (or UAVs, Unmanned Aerial Vehicles) in public signage, guidance and the facilitation of traffic. It manifested in a series of special demonstrations at the NTT R&D Forum 2017 in Musashino, Tokyo.

 

The vision for animating Tokyo together in the year 2020 is to guide people by a signage that can be seen from great distances. Credit: Markus Scholl

The aim of this co-operation is an appealing annimated guiding aid for the world’s largest metropolitan area as well as a high-powered economy driven by technological innovation. In this scenario, as a visitor to a densely populated urban expanse, unfamiliar with the place’s language and topography, imagine: Personal drones guiding you to your desired destinations; intelligent airborne agents regulating the flow of traffic; swarms of brightly lit quadcopters forming glowing signs and symbols in the night sky…

 

 

Keeping an eye on the different scenes performed by the drones by NTT’s Hirochi Chigira (links) and Ars Electronica Futurelab’s Peter Holzkorn. Credit: Michael Mayr

 

Realising this vision requires a number of technological advances and a commitment for intense research and development – the aim of the Sky Compass prototype at the R&D Forum was to convey a feeling for the possibilities by means of a first physical demonstration: A number of “scenes” in which up to five drones at a time moved around a volume in the NTT building, performing synchronised dances and reacting to the movement of people in the space. Researchers from the Futurelab and NTT used this display to talk about the research that is not as obvious as the purely technical kind, but equally necessary: How would we communicate with such robotic agents? What kind of language would we need to design for them in order to make themselves understood, and, an even bigger challenge, for them to understand us?

 

A guidedog-drone as a possible scenario on the personal level – a perspective scenario for using drones to guide people in the Tokyo of 2020. Credit: Michael Mayr

 

Research Questions: “Sky Language” and “User Responsibility Design”

On a personal scale, the Guide Drone enters into a one-to-one relationship with its (possibly temporary) owner. As it takes the owner to a destination, it has to negotiate a complex urban landscape; the user, tethered to the drone via a physical or metaphorical leash, follows it as they would a guide dog, and has some extent of control over it; and like with a dog, they are not free of responsibility – accounting for the distribution of this responsibility between the drone (and its operating authority) on the one hand, and the owner/user on the other hand will be a crucial design task.

 

5 Drohnen formieren sich zu einem Pfeil - Die Spaxels als Naviagationssystem im Versuchsstadium.
The sky language in the embryonal stadium: 5 drones form to become an indent. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

On a group level, drones may form shapes that act as signage in public space; globally, a well-understood symbolic language for traffic and public navigation has been well-established – but how can this be transferred to the dynamic shape (and extended capabilities) of small drone swarms?

Finally, on a city-wide scale, organising swarms of hundreds (or even thousands) of drones in the sky to display information recognisable from a number of vantage points opens up research questions in the field of spatio-temporal visual design under strong logistical constraints – an area in which the Futurelab, with its successful Spaxels project, can draw on ample experience.

 

Hideaki Ogawa führt durch die Präsentation des Sky Compass im R&D Forum von NTT.
Hideaki Ogawa is leading through the presentation of the sky compass at NTT’s R&D Forum. Credit: Michael Mayr

 

Demonstration: Technology

For the five days of demonstrations, an 8x8x5 metre volume was constructed as a tarp-covered enclosure on a terrace of the NTT building; inside this volume, sixteen OptiTrack cameras were used in conjunction with the Futurelab’s custom Ground Control software to allow up to five drones simultaneously to precisely navigate. The presenter’s movements were tracked by a custom solution based on laser rangers, and for a special experiment in which a visual mode of communication was explored, a mirror head was used to achieve realtime projection mapping on the moving drone. Technologies being researched at NTT, namely speech recognition and live density maps based on wi-fi signals, were added to the demonstrated possible capacities of the drone agents.

 

Envisioning  a future in which drones become a vital part in forming a universal language. Credit: Andreas Röbl

 

The faster miniaturisation and lightweight material technology progresses, the more easily we will be able to integrate all such technologies onto the UAVs themselves, rather than stationary periphery – and in a few years it might easily be possible to have a personal quadcopter take us to all the best spots in an unfamiliar city…

Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab: Hideaki Ogawa, Roland Haring, Peter Holzkorn, Michael Platz, Michael Mayr, Otto Naderer, Nicolas Naveau, Martin Mörth

ntt: Shingo Kinoshita, Hiroshi Chigira Kyoko Hashiguchi

Sky Compass 2017

Als eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem japanischen Telekommunikationsgiganten NTT und dem Ars Electronica Futurelab ist Sky Compass der erste Schritt in Richtung Verwirklichung einer Vision des Gebrauchs von Drohnen (oder unbemannten Luftfahrzeugen) als öffentliche Beschilderung und im Zeichen einer Erleichterung des Verkehrsflusses. Ihre Manifestation erfuhr es in einer Serie von speziellen Demonstrationen am NTT R&D Forum 2017 in Musashino, Tokyo.

 

Die Vision Tokyo gemeinsam im Jahr 2020 zu annimieren zielt darauf ab ein Drohnenschwarm-basiertes  Beschilderungssystem zu entwerfen, das von großen Entfernungen aus gelesen werden kann.Credit: Markus Scholl

 

Ziel der Zusammenarbeit ist eine ansprechend animierte Orientierungshilfe für eine Stadtlandschaft, die von einer hochentwickelten Industrie genauso gekennzeichnet ist wie von technologischer Innovation. Stelle man sich einen Besucher oder eine Besucherin vor, der oder die einer dichtbesiedelten Kulisse gegenübersteht, ohne die Landessprache oder die örtliche Lage zu kennen, wie es wäre, wenn es eine Führung durch eine persönliche Drohne gäbe, die einen zu dem gewünschten Ort führte? Oder intelligente, hell erleuchtete Quadcopter-Schwärme die den Verkehr regeln, die scheinende Zeichen und Symbole in den Nachhimmel zeichnen….?

 

Die Überwachung der einzelnen Szenarien der Demonstration von NTT’s Hierochi Chigira (links) und Ars Electronica Futurelab’s Peter Holzkorn. Credit: Michael Mayr

 

Um diese Vision zu realisieren braucht es eine Anzahl technischer Entwicklungen und eine Selbstverpflichtung zur intensiven Forschung und Entwicklung – die Absicht der Präsentation von Sky Compass-Prototypen im R&D Forum war, ein Gefühl für die Möglichkeiten durch physische Demonstrationen zu vermitteln: Dazu tanzte eine Anzahl von bis zu 5 synchronisierten Drohnen verschiedene „Szenen“, während sie auch auf die Leute im Raum reagierten. Forscher des Futurelab und NTT benutzen diese Demonstration als Ausgangspunkt zu einer Diskussion, die nicht nur technische Implikationen hat: Wie würden wir mit Robotern kommunizieren? Welche Art der Sprache würden wir brauchen um sie in der Zukunft verständlich zu machen, und – als noch größere Herausforderung – damit SIE uns zukünftig verstehen?

 

Eine Drohne als „Blindenhund“ and der physischen und metaphorischen Leine – ein mögliches Szenario für die Navigation durch Tokyo 2020. Credit: Michael Mayr

 

Forschungsfragen: „Sky Language“ und „User Responsibilty Design“

Auf einer persönlichen Skala kommt die Führ-Drohne in eine eins-zu-eins Beziehung mit seinem/-r potenziell (zeitlich begrenztem/-n) Besitzer/-in. Da es diesen oder diese zu seinem oder ihrem Ziel führt, muss sie eine komplexe städtische Landschaft vermitteln; der oder die Besitzer/-in ist mit der Drohne durch eine physische oder metaphorische Leine verbunden, ihr folgend als wäre sie ein Blindenhund. Dabei hat er oder sie eine Kontrolle über die Drohne und genau wie in einem Verhältnis zum Hund gibt es eine relative Unabhängigkeit zwischen Drohne und ihrem „Besitzers“ oder ihrer „Besitzerin“.

Die Sky Language im Entwicklungsstadium: 5 Drohnen formieren sich zu einem Pfeil. Credit: Markus Scholl

 

Auf einer Gruppenebene formieren Drohnen Figuren die als Beschilderung des öffentlichen Raumes dienen; weltweit ist ein einvernehmliches Verständnis für Verkehrszeichen bereits entwickelt worden. Aber wie kann dieses zu einer dynamischen Form (und erweiterten Möglichkeiten) von kleinen Drohnenschwärmen transferiert werden?

Letztendlich eröffnet die Organisation von Hunderterschwärmen (oder zu Tausenden) auf einem stadtweiten Maßstab transferiert, die darüber hinaus von vielen Beobachtungspunkten gesehen werden sollen, eine Menge von Forschungsfragen. Diese müssen unter der Maßgabe von zeitlich-räumlichen, temporären und unter streng logistische Einschränkungen gestellt werden.

 

Hideaki Ogawa führt durch die Präsentation des Sky Compass im R&D Forum von NTT.
Hideaki Ogawa führt durch die Präsentation des Sky Compass im R&D Forum von NTT. Credit: Michael Mayr

 

Demonstration: Technologie

Über die fünf Tage Demonstrationszeitraum wurde innerhalb des NTT Gebäudes ein 8x8x5 Meter großer Bereich durch Netze abgesperrt: darin wurden 16 OptiTrack Kameras dazu eingesetzt, um in Verbindung mit der vom Ars Electronica Futurelab eigens entwickelter GroundControl-Software Figuren von bis zu 5 Drohnen zu fliegen. Die Bewegungen des Präsentators wurden dabei von einer maßgeschneiderten Lösung, die auf Laser Rangern basiert, verfolgt. Bei einer speziellen Experimentanordnung, dessen visueller Aspekt der Kommunikation eine Rolle spielt, wurde ein Mirror Head benutzt um Echtzeit-Projektions-Mapping auf der Drohne zu ermöglichen. Die Technologien, die bei NTT zum Einsatz kamen, nämlich Spracherkennung und Live Density Maps, die auf wi-fi Signalen basieren, wurden dazu eingesetzt um die Möglichkeiten der Drohnen zu demonstrieren.

 

Eine Vision für die Zukunft: Drohnen formieren sich zu einer universell verständlichen Sprache um Menschen an den Ort ihres Verlangen zu geleiten. Credit: Andreas Röbl

 

Je schneller die Miniaturisierung und Leichtmaterial-Technologie voranschreitet, desto unkomplizierter wird die Integrierbarkeit dieser Technologien direkt in die UAVs. Und in ein paar Jahren wird es vielleicht möglich sein, dass persönliche Quadcopter uns an die schönsten unbekannten Orte dieser Welt geleiten!

Credits:

Ars Electronica Futurelab: Roland Haring, Peter Holzkorn, Michael Mayr, Martin Mörth, Otto Naderer, Nicolas Naveau, Hideaki Ogawa, Michael Platz

ntt: Hiroshi Chigira, Kyoko Hashiguchi, Shingo Kinoshita