Sparks: Residencies for Artistic Visions of Health and Medicine 2015

Ars Electronica is part of SPARKS, an EU funded communication project that reaches out to all European countries. SPARKS is an engagement project on the topic of technology shifts in health, medicine and wellbeing. It aims to raise awareness and communicate the concept of Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI) to citizens in all European countries. The activities aim at gaining common understanding of RRI applied to technology shifts in health, medicine and wellbeing. Sparks has organized an interactive touring exhibition and 230 innovative participatory activities such as science cafés, pop-up science shops, incubation activities and scenario workshops. Creative disruptions —in the form of artistic inputs and questioning— will help it to engage more stakeholders.

Sparks is an awareness-raising project to show Europeans that they can get involved in science and that various stakeholders share the responsibility for scientific research and innovation.

 

Four artists  – Anouk Wipprecht,  Lucy McRae and Jakob and Lea Illera – who are working in the field of new media and technology had the opportunity to spend time as artists in residence at Ars Electronica Futurelab to contribute to the planned activities. Each selected artist produced an artwork that is shown as part of the touring exhibition between 2016 – 2018  in 29 european countries.

The Exhibition will be showcased from march 29 – June 5 at Ars Electronica Center. You find all relevant activities around and about the exhibition on the Ars Electronica Center website!

During their residencies the artists created a vision on technology in medicine, health and wellbeing to envisage and produce compelling visual representations of innovations in order to provide a disruptive point of view about the impact of science and research.


Anouk Wipprecht

Agent Unicorn, 2016

Laser-sintered polyamide prototypes

How can design and new technology be used to improve mental health therapy? Anouk Wipprecht’s 3D-printed headsets, which take the form of unicorn horns, are designed for children with ADHD (attention deficit hyperactivity disorder). Electrodes within the headsets measure activity in the brain, triggering a built-in camera that starts filming when the wearer’s attention level spikes. This creates a visual record that children can watch to gain a better understanding of what interests and distracts them.

Credits: Developed in co-operation with Ars Electronica Futurelab (Claudia Schnugg, Roland Aigner, Michael Platz, Erwin Reitböck und Christopher Lindinger). Special thanks to Christoph Hintermüller (G.Tec), Christoph Guger (G.Tec), Dimitri Diakopoulos (Intel), Dominik Laister (klinischer Psychologe, Barmherzige Brüder Linz), Igor Knezevic (Alienology), Aduén Darriba (Studio Aduén), Shapeways und FlyWire.

 

Anouk Wipprecht is taking a picture of an Agent Unicorn that was exhibited during the Ars Electronica festival in 2016.
Anouk Wipprecht is taking a picture of an Agent Unicorn that was exhibited during the Ars Electronica festival in 2016. Credit: Florian Voggeneder

 

More information about Anouk Wipprecht unter http://www.anoukwipprecht.nl/


Lucy McRae with Lotje Sodderland

The Institute of Isolation, 2016

Film duration: 9 minutes 38 seconds

In this observational documentary, Lucy McRae tells the story of The Institute of Isolation, a fictional organisation that offers people the chance to optimise their bodies. Inspired by current developments in genetics and medical technology, McRae examines how the human brain and body might be shaped in the future through sensory deprivation and extreme isolation.

Credits: Developed at Ars Electronica Futurelab (Claudia Schnugg, Michael Mayr, Veronika Pauser, Andreas Jalsovec und Christopher Lindinger). Special thanks to: Juan Enriquez, Ricardo Bofill, Professor Nikolas Rose, Professor Emmanuele A Jannini, Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, Rombaut shoes, GSK Human Performance Lab, University of Southampton, Dr. Steve Dorney, Dr .Peter Glynne-Jones, La Sainte Union Catholic School, Fischauer Thermalbad, Klinische Abteilung für Thorax- und Hyperbare Chirurgie, LKH-Universitätsklinikum Graz, Oberösterreichische Gebietskrankenkasse, Outro Studio, Mark Ruffs and Daniel Gower.

 

Trailer of the fictional documentary “The Institute of Isolation” by Lucy McRae and Lottje Sodderland.

 

More information about Lucy McRaehttp://www.lucymcrae.net/


Jakob Illera and Lea Illera

BeBots, 2016

Speculative design objects made from 3D-printed resin

Would you insert a robot inside your body if it improved your health? Artists Jakob and Lea Illera have created the BeBot, an imaginary ‘nanobot’ that manipulates the nervous systems to suppress our conscious and subconscious desires. Designed in response to the growth in diseases like diabetes and obesity, BeBots examines a future where everyone can use DIY medical solutions to manipulate their thoughts and feelings.

Credits: Developed at Ars Electronica Futurelab (Claudia Schnugg und Christopher Lindinger). Special thanks to Christian Kittner (Inhaler-Design), Elisabeth Leuthner (graphic design), Werner Pötzelberger (Nanobots charakter-design und 3D-modelling) and Marlies Burkhard.

 

Lea and Jakob Illera on the floor of the BioLab at Ars Electronica Center showing the first drafts of their project BeBots.
Lea and Jakob Illera on the floor of the BioLab at Ars Electronica Center showing the first drafts of their project BeBots. Credit: Michael Mayr

 

More information about Jakob & Lea Illera: http://www.inseq.com/ullCms/show/inseq

THOROUGH BACKGROUND INFORMATION ABOUT THE ARTISTS AND THEIR SELCTION TO BECOME SPARKS-RESIDENTS YOU CAN FIND ON THE ARSELECTRONICA BLOG.

Sparks: Residencies für künstlerische Visionen von Gesundheit und Medizin 2015

Ars Electronica ist Teil von Sparks, einem EU geförderten Vermittlungsprojekt, das in allen europäischen Ländern Sichtbarkeit erlangt. Sparks ist ein Projekt, in dem neue Entwicklungen von Technologien im Bereich Gesundheit, Medizin und Wohlbefinden an die europäische Bevölkerung vermittelt werden sollen. Um dabei den für die Europäische Union wichtigen Forschungsgrundsatz der Responsible Research und Innovation (RRI) verdeutlichen zu können, nutzen die an Sparks beteiligten Institutionen die aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Entwicklungen und zentralen Forschungsfragen im Bereich Gesundheit, Medizin und Wohlbefinden als Beispiele für RRI. Für die Vermittlungstätigkeiten wird eine interaktive Wanderausstellung produziert und es werden europaweit 230 innovative partizipative Aktivitäten wie Science Cafés, Pop-up Science Shops, Einführungsveranstaltungen und Szenarioworkshops organisiert. Zusätzlich zur Vermittlung der wissenschaftlichen Ansätze sollen künstlerische Beiträge durch Irritation und fiktionaler Weiterentwicklung der aktuellen Trends helfen, mehr Interessensgruppen aktiv einzubinden.

 

Sparks is an awareness-raising project to show Europeans that they can get involved in science and that various stakeholders share the responsibility for scientific research and innovation.

 

In als Teil von SPARKS bekamen vier Künstler und Künstlerinnen, Anouk Wipprecht,  Lucy McRae and Jakob and Lea Illera, die im Bereich neuer Medien und Technologien arbeiten, die Möglichkeit, Residencies am Ars Elctronica Futurelab zu verbringen. Jede/r der drei ausgewählten KünstlerInnen hat ein Kunstwerk produziert, das als Teil der Wanderausstellung “Beyond the lab: The DIY Science Revolution” http://sparksproject.eu/content/beyond-lab-diy-science-revolution , von 2016 – 2018 in 29 europäischen Ländern gezeigt wird.

Von 29. März – 5. Juni 2016 ist die Wanderausstellung – begleitet von einem partizipativen Rahmenprogramm –  im Ars Electronica Center zu sehen. Alle Aktivitäten rund um die Ausstellung finden sie auf der Ars Electronica Center Webseite

Die drei KünstelrInnen wurden durch einen Open Call ermittelt.


Anouk Wipprecht

Agent Unicorn, 2016

Lasergesinterte Prototypen für Polyamide

Wie kann Design und neue Technik genutzt werden, um die Behandlung von psychischen Krankheiten zu verbessern? Anouk Wipprechts 3D-Druck-Headsets sind wie das Horn eines Einhorns geformt und wurden für Kinder mit ADHS (Aufmerksamkeits-Defizit-Hyperaktivitäts-Störung) entworfen. Elektroden innerhalb der Headsets messen die Aktivität des Gehirns. Sobald sich die Aufmerksamkeit erhöht, wird eine eingebaute Kamera aktiviert und beginnt zu filmen. Das so entstandene Videomaterial können sich die Kinder ansehen, um besser zu verstehen, was ihre Aufmerksamkeit erregt oder ablenkt.

Credits: Entwickelt mit Ars Electronica Futurelab (Claudia Schnugg, Roland Aigner, Michael Platz, Erwin Reitböck und Christopher Lindinger) und besonderer Dank gilt Christoph Hintermüller (G.Tec), Christoph Guger (G.Tec), Dimitri Diakopoulos (Intel), Dominik Laister (klinischer Psychologe, Barmherzige Brüder Linz), Igor Knezevic (Alienology), Aduén Darriba (Studio Aduén), Shapeways und FlyWire.

 

Anouk Wipprecht fotografiert ihr Exponat Agent Unicorn mit einem Smartphone während des Ars Electronica Festivals 2016.
Anouk Wipprecht mit Ihrem Projekt Agent Unicorn am Ars Electronica Festival 2016. Credit: Florian Voggeneder

 

Mehr Infos zu Anouk Wipprecht unter http://www.anoukwipprecht.nl/


Lucy McRae mit Lotje Sodderland

The Institute of Isolation, 2016

Filmdauer: 9 Min. und 38 Sek.

In diesem Kurzfilm erzählt Lucy McRae die Geschichte eines Instituts für Isolierung. Die fiktionale Einrichtung bietet Menschen an ihre Körper durch Entzug von Sinneseindrücken und die Erfahrung von Einsamkeit zu optimieren.

McRae untersucht in ihren Arbeiten wie das menschliche Gehirn und der Körper in Zukunft verändert werden könnten und bezieht sich dabei auf momentane Entwicklungen in der Genetik und Medizintechnik.

Credits: Entwickelt mit Ars Electronica Futurelab (Claudia Schnugg, Michael Mayr, Veronika Pauser, Andreas Jalsovec und Christopher Lindinger). Besonderer Dank gilt: Juan Enriquez, Ricardo Bofill, Professor Nikolas Rose, Professor Emmanuele A Jannini, Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, Rombaut shoes, GSK Human Performance Lab, University of Southampton, Dr. Steve Dorney, Dr .Peter Glynne-Jones, La Sainte Union Catholic School, Fischauer Thermalbad, Klinische Abteilung für Thorax- und Hyperbare Chirurgie, LKH-Universitätsklinikum Graz, Oberösterreichische Gebietskrankenkasse, Outro Studio, Mark Ruffs und Daniel Gower.

 

Lucy McRae während den Dreharbeiten zu „The Institute of Isolation“ im Fischauer Thermalbad. Credit: Claudia Schnugg

 

Mehr Informationen zu Lucy McRaehttp://www.lucymcrae.net/


Jakob Illera und Lea Illera

BeBots, 2016

Spekulative Designobjekte aus 3D-gedrucktem Harz

Würden Sie sich einen Roboter in Ihren Körper einsetzen lassen, wenn dieser Ihre Gesundheit verbessert? Die Künstler Jakob und Lea Illera haben den BeBot entworfen, ein imaginärer Nanoroboter, der das Nervensystem beeinflusst und so unser bewusstes und unbewusstes Verlangen auf Süßigkeiten und Fast Food reguliert. Konzipiert wurde dieses Projekt als Antwort auf den Zuwachs von Krankheiten wie Diabetes und Adipositas. BeBots entwirft eine Zukunft, in der jeder DIY-Medikamente als Lösung nutzen kann, um seine Gedanken und Gefühle zu beeinflussen.

Credits: Entwickelt mit Ars Electronica Futurelab (Claudia Schnugg und Christopher Lindinger). Besonder Dank gilt Christian Kittner (Inhalator-Design), Elisabeth Leuthner (Grafikdesign), Werner Pötzelberger (Nanobots Charakterdesign und 3D-Modellierung) und Marlies Burkhard.

 

Lea und Jako Illera zeigen die ersten Entwürfe der BeBots und eine Skizze Ihres gleichnamigen Projektes im BioLab des Ars Electronica Centers.
Lea & Jakob Illera mit den ersten Entwürfen der BeBots im Biolab des Ars Electronica Centers. Credit: Michael Mayr

 

Mehr Informationen zu Jakob & Lea Illera: http://www.inseq.com/ullCms/show/inseq


Hier http://www.sparksproject.eu/ gibt es weitere Informationen zu Sparks