Spaxels 2013 2013

Star Trek Earth Hour Promotion

 

As the UK prepares to go ‘into darkness’ for WWF’s Earth Hour, Paramount Pictures is pleased to announce its support with a special ‘Star Trek’ themed light display which will dim as Earth Hour approaches.

 

At the occasion of the movie premiere of Star Trek: Into Darkness, the Ars Electronica Quadcopter Swarm animated the legendary Starfleet logo in the London night sky. An audience from all around the world was fascinated by the Spaxels’ unique performance. The Ars Electronica Quadcopter Swarm was hired by Paramount for this event and created quite a stir in the international media.

The Ars Electronica Blog provides a comprehensive overview of how this event was realized.

 

LondonMurmuration – Bergen

 

Murmuration was the Ars Electronica Futurelab’s first collaborative project with phase7, the Berlin-based artists’ network. For the opening of the Bergen (Norway) International Festival, they jointly staged an outdoor performance featuring 30 quadcopters, seven musicians, eight dancers, and a chorus of 150 youngsters. The Ars Electronica Futurelab’s spaxel extended Phase 7’s stage show into the heavens above Bergen and visualized the show’s grand finale with enchanting light formations. The upshot was a multimedia light sculpture composed of high-tech and performance that reached high up into the night sky—a resounding, constantly shifting architecture that illuminated the modern individual’s contradictory and instinctive swarm behavior on the artistic and metaphysical level. Following the tremendous success in Bergen, additional performances of Murmuration at other international venues are currently being planned. The shows in Bergen, Norway were staged in May 2013.

http://murmurationbyphase7.wordpress.com/

 

For the opening of Festspillene i Bergen, Norway phase7 staged the an 40min trans electro performance using drohnes as protagonists.

Spaxels visualisieren Tchaikovsky | Ljubljana

 

Spaxels fly over Jubiljana. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Spaxels fly over Jubiljana. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Ars Electronica’s Spaxels visualized the opening concert of the Ljubljana Festival on June 27, 2013, with a spectacular flight out of the Ljubljana Castle.

The Ars Electronica Quadcopter Swarm danced to the rhythm of Tchaikovsky’s ouverture “1812″ up into the city sky and expanded the stage show at the Ljubljana’s Congress Square to the sky.

Further information about this event can be found here.

Spaxels 2013 2013

Star Trek Earth Hour Promotion | London

 

As the UK prepares to go ‚into darkness‘ for WWF’s Earth Hour, Paramount Pictures is pleased to announce its support with a special ‚Star Trek‘ themed light display which will dim as Earth Hour approaches.

 

Anlässlich der Premiere des Films Star Trek: Into Darkness animierte der Ars Electronica Quadcopter Schwarm das legendäre Starfleet-Logo am Londoner Nachthimmel. ZuseherInnen aus aller Welt waren gebannt von der einzigartigen Performance der Spaxels, die von Paramount für diesen Event engagiert wurde und für Furore in den internationalen Medien sorgte.

Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung finden Sie hier.

Der Ars Electronica Blog gibt einen umfassenden Einblick in die Inszenierung dieses Events.

 

Murmuration – Bergen

 

Murmuration hieß das erste Kooperationsprojekt des Ars Electronica Futurelab mit dem Berliner Künstlernetzwerk phase7. Anlässlich der Eröffnung der internationalen Festspiele Bergen in Norwegen wurde gemeinsam eine Outdoor-Performance mit 30 Quadcoptern, 7 Musikern, 8 Tänzern und einem 150-köpfigen Jugendchor konzipiert. Die Spaxel des Ars Electronica Futurelab erweiterten die Bühnenshow von Phase7 in den Himmel über Bergen und visualisierten das große Finale der Show mit zauberhaften Lichtformationen. Es entstand eine multimediale Lichtskulptur aus Hightech und Performance, die bis in den Nachthimmel reichte – eine klingende, sich stetig verschiebende Architektur, die das widersprüchliche und instinktive Schwarmverhalten des modernen Individuums auf künstlerischer und metaphysischer Ebene durchleuchtete. Weitere internationale Wiederaufführungen vonMurmuration sind nach dem großen Erfolg in Bergen geplant. Die Shows in Bergen, Norwegen, fanden im Mai 2013 statt.

http://murmurationbyphase7.wordpress.com/

 

For the opening of Festspillene in Bergen, Norway phase7 staged the an 40min trans electro performance using drohnes as protagonists.

 

Spaxels visualisieren Tchaikovsky | Ljubljana

 

Die Spaxels der Ars Electronica visualisierten das Eröffnungskonzert des Ljubljana Festival am 27. Juni 2013 mit einem spektakulären Flug aus der Burg Ljubljana heraus. Zu Tschaikovsky’s Ouvertüre “1812″ tanzte der Ars Electronica Quadcopter Schwarm im Rhythmus der Musik hoch über der Stadt und erweiterte die Bühnenshow auf dem Kongressplatz von Ljubljana in den Himmel.

 

Die Spaxels der Ars Electronica visualisierten das Eröffnungskonzert des Ljubljana Festival am 27. Juni 2013. Das Bild zeigt den Quadcopterschwarm über der Skyline.
Spaxels fly over Jubiljana. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Die Spaxels der Ars Electronica visualisierten das Eröffnungskonzert des Ljubljana Festival am 27. Juni 2013 mit einem spektakulären Flug aus der Burg Ljubljana heraus.

Zu Tschaikovsky’s Ouvertüre “1812″ tanzte der Ars Electronica Quadcopter Schwarm im Rhythmus der Musik hoch über der Stadt und erweiterte die Bühnenshow auf dem Kongressplatz von Ljubljana in den Himmel.