(St)Age of Participation 2011

Between 2011 and 2015, under the scientific direction of Christopher Lindinger, the Ars Electronica Futurelab and media artist, choreographer and composer Klaus Obermaier have been jointly investigating innovative forms of audience involvement in stage-based media art. (St)Age of Participation was the project’s title, a reference to the contemporary paradigm of social media, user-generated content and the culture of collaboration in the digital domain. In late 2010, the FWF–Austrian Science Fund’s PEEK arts development program granted funding for this project to the Futurelab, the only non-university research facility to receive such a subsidy.

 

Apparition – An interactive dance and media performance – the first collaboration between Klaus Obermaier and the Ars Electronica Futurelab in 2004.

 

The artistic research process going on in conjunction with “(St)Age of Participation” focused on achieving exemplary conceptualization of dynamic interaction dramaturgies. This effort was based on the analysis and enhancement of useful technologies such as tracking systems, laser scans, ambient devices, 3D avatars and augmented reality apps. Moreover, the project staff was designing three settings for dramaturgical experiments and testing them in cooperation with professional performance artists in multiple trials with live audiences. Each trial was being assessed according to artistic, technological and social-scientific criteria as well as from the audience’s perspective. The ultimate aim was to impart a new quality to the audience’s emotional and social involvement in artistic experiences.

With “Letterbox”, the first series of micro performances had been successfully conducted at the Ars Electronica Center’s Deep Space. A test audience of more than 150 people participated in these events, exploring multi-media, interactive and three-dimensional technologies for stage performances of the future. After a period of reflection, a second micro performance was developed for 2013, based upon „Letterbox“.

 

With “Letterbox”, the first series of micro performances has been successfully conducted at the Ars Electronica Center’s Deep Space.

 

With “Take a Number, Leave Your Head. A Cellar Club Piece with Drinks and Dada”, a second series of micro-performances was conducted in the frame of Ars Electronica Festival 2014. Klaus Obermaier and the Ars Electronica Futurelab recoursed to an anti-art movement that still packs a punch even as it nears 100: Dada with its predilection for the anarchic and absurd. 98 years after the first Salon Dada in Zürich’s Cabaret Voltaire, the experimental piece takes the Dada mentality that once rained down abuse on the bourgeoisie and lets it loose on our high-tech present.

 

Klaus Obermaier (right) during the rehearsals with the performing artists Barbara Vuzem (left) and Katharina Pfiel (middle).

 

Kurt Schwitters’ famous sound poem Ursonate (1923-32) gets transformed into an interactive dance performance by dancer Barbara Vuzem

 


Artist & Concept:

Christopher Lindinger, Klaus Obermaier

Project Team:

Roland Aigner, Roland Haring, Martina Mara, Benjamin Mayr, Otto Naderer, Veronika Pauser, Erwin Reitböck

Performance:

Michael Gross, Katharina Pfiel, Malwina Stepien, Olga Swietlicka, Barbara Vuzem,  Olga Swietlicka

Stage Design:

Jakob Illera, Max Helbig

(St)Age of Participation 2011

Von 2011 bis 2015 erforschten das Ars Electronica Futurelab, unter der Leitung von Christopher Lindinger und dem Medienkünstler, Choreograph und Komponist Klaus Obermaier, innovative Formen von Publikumspartizipation in bühnenbasierender Medienkunst. Der Titel des Projekts war (St)Age of Participation, eine Referenz auf das immer noch aktuelle Paradigma der sozialen Medien, des user-generierten Contents  und der Kultur der Zusammenarbeit in der digitalen Domäne. Ende 2010 gewährte der FWF (Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung) im Rahmen des „PEEK Kunst und Entwicklungsprogramms“ dem Futurelab eine Förderung für dieses Projekt – der einzigen außeruniversitären Einrichtung, die eine solche Förderung erhielt.

 

Apparition – An interactive dance and media performance – the first collaboration between Klaus Obermaier and the Ars Electronica Futurelab in 2004.

 

Der künstlerische Forschungsprozess bei (St)Age of Participation, der den Fokus auf eine modellhafte Konzipierung dynamischer Interaktionsdramaturgien legte, basiert einerseits auf einer Analyse und Weiterentwicklung potenziell wertvoller Technologien wie etwa Tracking Systemen, Laser Scans, Ambient Devices, 3D-Avataren oder auch Augmented-Reality-Apps. Darüber hinaus wurden drei dramaturgische Experimental-Settings entworfen und mithilfe profesioneller Performancekünstler in mehreren Publikumsdurchläufen getestet. Jeder Testlauf wurde aus künstlerischer, technologischer und sozialwissenschaftlicher Perspektive sowie aus Sicht des Publikums reflektiert. Ziel war letztlich eine neue Qualität emotionaler und sozialer Einbindung in Kunsterlebnisse.
Mit “Letterbox” wurde eine erste Serie von Micro-Performances erfolgreich im Deep Space des Ars Electronica Centers umgesetzt. Ein Testpublikum von mehr als 150 Personen nahm an diesen Aufführungen teil, die multimediale, interaktive und dreidimensionale Technologien für Bühnen-Performances der Zukunft umfassten. Nach einer Reflexionsphase wurde auf „Letterbox“ aufbauend eine zweite Microperformance für das Jahr 2013 entwickelt.

 

With „Letterbox“, the first series of micro performances has been successfully conducted at the Ars Electronica Center’s Deep Space.

 

Unter dem Titel „Take a Number, Leave Your Head“ wurde im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festivals 2014 eine zweite Serie an Micro-Performances des künstlerischen Forschungsprojekts (St)Age of Participation durchgeführt. Klaus Obermaier und das Ars Electronica Futurelab griffen dabei auf eine Strömung zurück, die trotz ihrer fast 100 Jahre noch immer zu bewegen vermag: die Anti-Kunstbewegung Dada mit ihrer Liebe zum Archaischen und Absurden. 98 Jahre nach dem ersten “Salon Dada” im Cabaret Voltaire in Zürich übertrug das experimentelle Stück die alte dadaistische Bürgerschreck-Mentalität in die hochtechnisierte Gegenwart.

 

Klaus Obermaier (rechts im Bild) mit den Darstellerinnen Barbara Vuzem (links) und Katharina Pfiel (Mitte) während einer Probenbesprechung zu „Apparition“.

 

 

 

Kurt Schwitters’ famous sound poem Ursonate (1923-32) gets transformed into an interactive dance performance by dancer Barbara Vuzem


Artist & Concept:

Christopher Lindinger, Klaus Obermaier

Project Team:

Roland Aigner, Roland Haring, Martina Mara, Benjamin Mayr, Otto Naderer, Veronika Pauser, Erwin Reitböck

Performance:

Michael Gross, Katharina Pfiel, Malwina Stepien, Olga Swietlicka, Barbara Vuzem,  Olga Swietlicka

Stage Design:

Jakob Illera, Max Helbig