SUN_D 2007

SUN_D depicts information via sunlight and extant natural light sources. To counteract the general sensory overload due to digital media that frequently put a real strain on users, we intentionally work with a way of depicting graphics whose naturally engendered glow is quite pleasant for the human eye to behold.

 

The SUN_D Project promotional reel.

 

SUN_D takes a radical new approach—one that doesn’t regard daylight as a problem, but instead sees its tremendous potential for information design, and reveals possibilities that have been totally neglected up to now. SUN_D considers sunlight and ambient light as a resource that’s natural, free and abundantly available, and builds sun monitors that adapt to natural lighting conditions. The upshot is the emergence of a revolutionary new aesthetic in information dissemination. This aesthetic is most notably characterized by the effect of natural forces on the on-screen composition and appearance of the image. A sun-display isn’t just a screen that lets users see an image; it’s a symbiosis of nature, design and information.

 

Sonnenuntergang. Foto: Jonas Burki
Sonnenuntergang. Foto: Jonas Burki

 

This project by Jonas Burki received the [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant in 2007. During a three months residency at the Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz, Jonas produced a first protoype of SUN_D and as a result he has developed a completely new approach to surface and light design . Back home he founded a start up company with the aim to sell his product on the market and is now owner of a successful company named after his first prototype: SUN_D.

 


Artist in Residence

Jonas Burki

SUN_D 2007

SUN_D nutzt Sonnenlicht und andere bestehende natürliche Lichtquellen, um Information darzustellen. Um dem allgemeinen Overload an Sinneseindrücken, der oft eine echte Belastung für UserInnen darstellt, zu konterkarieren, bedienen wir uns ganz bewusst einer Methode zur Darstellung von Grafiken, bei der das natürlich erzeugte Leuchten angenehm für das menschliche Auge ist.

 

The SUN_D Project promotional reel.

 

SUN_D geht von einem radikal neuen Ansatz aus: Tageslicht wird nicht als Problem gesehen, sondern als wertvolles Potenzial für Informationsgestaltung. Es eröffnet Möglichkeiten, die bislang gänzlich vernachlässigt wurden. SUN_D betrachtet Sonnenlicht und Umgebungslicht als eine natürliche Ressource, die frei und im Überfluss verfügbar ist, und baut „Sonnenmonitore“, die sich den natürlichen Lichtbedingungen anpassen. Als Ergebnis kristallisiert sich eine revolutionäre neue Ästhetik in der Informationsvermittlung heraus. Diese Ästhetik zeichnet sich vor allem dadurch aus, wie die natürlichen Kräfte sich auf die Komposition und das Erscheinen des Bildes auf dem Bildschirm auswirken. Einen Sonnen-Display ist nicht nur ein Bildschirm, auf dem der Betrachter ein Bild sehen kann: Es ist eine Symbiose aus Natur, Design und Information.

 

Ein Baum bei Sonnenuntergang wird durch das SUND Display nebenstehend wieder gegeben.
Sonnenuntergang. Credit: Jonas Burki

 

Jonas Burki erhielt 2007 für dieses Projekt den [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant. Während einer dreimonatigen Residency im Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz stellte Jonas den ersten Prototypen von SUN_D her. Damit entwickelte er einen vollkommen neuen Ansatz, mit Oberfläche und Lichtdesign umzugehen. Er gründete daraufhin ein Start-up in der Schweiz, mit dem Ziel, sein Produkt zu vermarkten. Heute ist er der Besitzer einer erfolgreichen Firma, die den Namen des ersten Prototypen trägt: SUN_D.

 


Artist in Residence

Jonas Burki

http://www.sun-d.ch/