Virtuelles Millionenzimmer 2011

In creating the media installation *Millionenzimmer* (“million room”), the Ars Electronica Futurelab had attempted to restage the Schönbrunn experience in a virtual environment. The aim was to create a mobile representation of a part of the imperial palace in Vienna and thereby provide a transportable glimpse of Austrian culture.

 

Virtual Million Chamber: A mobile representation of Schloss Schönbrunn.

 

At the same time, this pilot project has been able to set new standards for the digital conservation of irreplaceable, priceless cultural objects that comprise an important part of the nation’s precious cultural heritage. With this mission in mind, pioneering 3D software was developed to produce the graphic representations, and the latest techniques from the field of real-time computer graphics (like Pixelshader etc.) were implemented. Beyond the pure visualization of the historical setting, research work for the development of the virtual counterpart concentrated on the reconstruction of an authentic impression of this space.

 

Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

The name of the original *Millionenzimmer* in Vienna’s Schönbrunn Palace is derived from the room’s wall paneling—extraordinarily opulent even in this magnificent context—and its rare Indian-Persian miniatures. Making it possible for visitors to a virtual environment to experience the artistic and material quality was one of the challenges that the Ars Electronica Futurelab staffers faced in visualizing this historical cultural treasure. Throughout the project, engineers used highest resolution digital technology ranging from laser scanning to meticulously created photographic material. This made it possible for the final visualization to depict all miniatures larger than life-size and in ultra-close-up.

 

ARS ELECTRONICA 2005: Tag der offenen Tür im AEC. Im Bild die Installation: Millionenzimmer. Foto: rubra
ARS ELECTRONICA 2005: Tag der offenen Tür iin the AEC. Foto: rubra

 

If one compares the density of information available during an average tourist’s visit to the *Millionenzimmer* with that of a viewing of its virtual counterpart, then the simulation comes out on top. Tourists who take the guided tour through Schönbrunn Palace are, of course, limited by gravity to an inspection of the portions of the walls down near floor level; furthermore, in consideration of these priceless works of art, a passageway demarcated by velvet ropes keeps tour-group participants at a distance from the walls. Even so, these precautions do not really trouble most tourists since the usual purpose of a general guided tour through these sumptuous interiors is to get a whiff of the atmosphere of the imperial residence—to have “been there, done that,” so to speak. The (digital) replica cannot hold a candle to the historicity and authenticity of these centuries-old imperial rooms; nevertheless, having “taken a stroll” through the virtual *Millionenzimmer* means having experienced the superb quality that has been achieved by this project, and that is, at the very least, a comparably thrilling experience.


Senior Executive Developer:

Horst Hörtner

Keyresearcher / Visualization:

Andreas Jalsovec

Development:

Florian Berger, Friedrich Kirschner, Peter Freudling, Martin Bruner, Stefan Feldler, Erwin Reitböck

Virtuelles Millionenzimmer 2004

Das Ars Electronica Futurelab unternimmt mit der Medieninstallation “Millionenzimmer” den Versuch, das Erlebnis Schönbrunn in einer virtuellen Umgebung zu inszenieren, und erstellte damit eine mobile Repräsentanz für das Schloss – einen mobilen Einblick in die österreichische Kultur.

 

Virtual Million Chamber: A mobile representation of Schloss Schönbrunn.

 

Gleichzeitig konnten mit dem Pilotprojekt neue Maßstäbe für die digitale Konservierung unwiederbringlicher Kulturgüter im Sinne der *cultural heritage* gesetzt werden. Diesen Ansatz vor Augen, wurde für die grafische Darstellung eine zukunftsweisende 3D-Software entwickelt und neueste Techniken aus dem Bereich der Echtzeit-Computergrafik (etwa Pixelshader etc.) implementiert. Über die reine Visualisierung der historischen Umgebung hinaus konzentrierte sich die Forschungsarbeit bei der Entwicklung des virtuellen Pendants auf die Rekonstruktion des authentischen Raumeindrucks.

 

Das virtuelle Millionenzimmer im Schloss Schönbrunn in seiner virtuellen Reinkarnation.
Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Das originale Millionenzimmer in der Wiener Schlossanlage Schönbrunn erhielt seinen Namen aufgrund der – selbst in diesem Umfeld auffällig kostbaren – Wandvertäfelung und der seltenen indisch-persischen Miniaturarbeiten. Diese künstlerische und materielle Qualität in einer virtuellen Umgebung erfahrbar zu machen, war eine der Zielsetzungen, die sich das Ars Electronica Futurelab bei der Visualisierung des historischen Kulturguts stellte. Die durchgängige Verwendung höchstauflösender Digitaltechniken, von der Laserpunktvermessung über das eigens akribisch erstellte fotografische Material bis zur finalen Visualisierung, ermöglicht es, alle Miniaturen überlebensgroß und aus nächster Nähe zu betrachten. Wollte man die

 

Beim Tag der offenen Tür im AEC. Im Bild die Installation: Millionenzimmer.
ARS ELECTRONICA 2005: Tag der offenen Tür iin the AEC. Credit: rubra

 

Informationsdichte eines durchschnittlichen touristischen Besuchs des Millionenzimmers, der des Besuchs der virtuellen Variante gegenüberstellen, so wäre hier die Simulation im Vorteil. Im Rahmen einer Schlossbesichtigung ist man bei seinen Betrachtungen nicht nur an die Schwerkraft gebunden und damit auf die unteren Wandabschnitte beschränkt, sondern wird zur Schonung der Substanz innerhalb von Absperrungen durch den Raum geleitet. Dieser Umstand fällt jedoch nicht wirklich ins Gewicht, da es im Allgemeinen beim Rundgang durch die Prunkräume der Residenz eher um das Einatmen der kaiserlichen Atmosphäre geht – um das Erlebnis, einmal dort gewesen zu sein. Die (digitale) Replica kann sich nicht mit einer über Jahrhunderte gewachsenen kaiserlichen Atmosphäre messen. Einmal dort – also im virtuellen *Millionenzimmer* – gewesen zu sein, birgt durch die im Zuge des Projekts erzielte Qualität jedoch ein zumindest vergleichbares Erlebnispotenzial.


Senior Executive Developer:

Horst Hörtner

Keyresearcher / Visualization:

Andreas Jalsovec

Development:

Florian Berger, Friedrich Kirschner, Peter Freudling, Martin Bruner, Stefan Feldler, Erwin Reitböck